DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 18/826,332 filed 9/6/2024 which claims benefit of 63/599,174 11/15/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14, and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2010/0289302 A1)(hereinafter Cheng).
RE Claim 1: Cheng discloses an assembly (Fig 3) comprising:
a plurality of fluid bladders (30) including at least a first fluid bladder (see annotated Fig 3 below) and a second fluid bladder (see annotated Fig 3 below);
a fluid manifold (Fig 3) in fluid communication with the plurality of bladders (30), wherein the fluid manifold includes at least a first passage (see annotated Fig 3 below) and a second passage (see annotated Fig 3 below);
a first port fluidly connecting the first fluid bladder to the first passage (where 47 attaches to first fluid bladder 30);
a second port fluidly connecting the second fluid bladder to the first passage (47 between second fluid bladder 30 and first passage);
a third port fluidly connecting the second fluid bladder to the second passage (vertical tube between the first and second passage, upper portion above 43)(in fluid mechanics tubes can be considered ports as they are connections for components on manifolds); and
a first check valve (43) positioned in the second passage, wherein the first check valve is moveable between a first position where fluid enters the third port and inflates the second fluid bladder (para 0030-0034), and a second position where fluid is directed through the third port to a vent (labeled in annotated Fig 3 below)(para 0030-0034).
RE Claim 12: Cheng discloses a seat assembly (Figs 3-4) comprising:
a seat component (Fig 4) comprising an exterior facing surface (part which a user’s back and bottom rest against),
a plurality of fluid bladders (30) associated with the exterior facing surface (Fig 4), the plurality of fluid bladders including at least a first fluid bladder and a second fluid bladder (see annotated Fig 3);
a fluid manifold (Fig 3) fluidly connecting a fluid supply source (42) with the plurality of bladders (30), wherein the fluid manifold includes at least a first passage (see annotated Fig 3) and a second passage (see annotated Fig 3);
a valve assembly fluidly connecting the fluid supply source to the fluid manifold (where 42 attaches to second passage);
a first port fluidly connecting the first fluid bladder to the first passage (where 47 attaches to first fluid bladder 30);
a second port fluidly connecting the second fluid bladder to the first passage (47 between second fluid bladder 30 and first passage);
a third port fluidly connecting the second fluid bladder to the second passage (vertical tube between the first and second passage, upper portion above 43)(in fluid mechanics tubes can be considered ports as they are connections for components on manifolds); and
a first check valve (43) positioned in the second passage, wherein the first check valve is moveable between a first position where fluid enters the third port and inflates the second fluid bladder (para 0030-0034), and a second position where fluid is directed through the third port to a vent (labeled in annotated Fig 3 below)(para 0030-0034); and
one or more controllers (41) selectively controlling the valve assembly between the first position and the second position (using info from stress sensors 20).
RE Claims 2 and 13: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1 (and 12),
including a fourth port fluidly connecting the first fluid bladder to the second passage (where 47 extending from first fluid bladder 30 connects to the second passage)(in fluid mechanics tubes can be considered ports as they are connections for components on manifolds),
wherein the first check valve (43) is positioned in the second passage between the third port and the fourth port (43 on 47).
Annotated Fig 3
RE Claims 3 and 14: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1 (and 12),
wherein the first check valve is in the first position during an inflation condition for the first fluid bladder and the second fluid bladder (para 0031-0033), and
wherein the first check valve is in the second position during a deflation condition for the first fluid bladder and the second fluid bladder (para 0031-0033).
RE Claim 5: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1, including:
a fluid supply source (42);
a valve assembly fluidly connecting the fluid supply source to the fluid manifold (where 42 attaches to second passage); and
one or more controllers (41) selectively controlling the valve assembly between the first position and the second position (using info from stress sensors 20).
RE Claim 7: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 5,
including a connecting passage fluidly connecting the vale assembly to the first passage and the second passage (all in fluid communication with each other; Fig 3).
RE Claims 8 and 16: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1 (and 12),
wherein the plurality of bladders includes at least a third bladder (see annotated Fig 3), and further including:
a fifth port fluidly connecting the third fluid bladder to the first passage (tube 47 which connects third bladder 30 to first passage);
a sixth port fluidly connecting the third fluid bladder to the second passage (portion of 47 which connects to second passage) ; and
a second check valve (43 on corresponding 47) positioned in the second passage between the third port and the sixth port, the second check valve being moveable between a first position where fluid enters the sixth port and inflates the third fluid bladder, and a second position where fluid is directed through the sixth port to the vent (para 0031-0033).
RE Claims 9 and 17: The assembly of claim 8 (and claim 16),
wherein the plurality of bladders includes at least a fourth bladder (another one of 30 on the left side), and further including:
a seventh port fluidly connecting the fourth fluid bladder to the first passage (where 30 connects to respective 47);
an eighth port fluidly connecting the fourth fluid bladder to the second passage (all of 30, 47, connected fluidly to those identified in annotated Fig 3, claim does not require direct connection); and
a third check valve (respective 43) positioned in the second passage between the sixth port and the eighth port, the third check valve being moveable between a first position where fluid enters the eighth port and inflates the fourth fluid bladder, and a second position where fluid is directed through the eighth port to the vent (para 0031-0033).
RE Claims 10 and 18: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1 (and 12),
wherein the plurality of fluid bladders including the first fluid bladder and the second fluid bladder comprise a first set of fluid bladders, and wherein the fluid manifold includes a third passage, and further (on left side of Fig 3) including:
a second set of fluid bladders (30 on left side of Fig 3) comprising at least a third fluid bladder and a fourth fluid bladder, the second set of fluid bladders being in a parallel fluid flow arrangement with the first set of fluid bladders (Fig 3);
a fourth port fluidly connecting the third fluid bladder to the third passage (Fig 3);
a fifth port fluidly connecting the fourth fluid bladder to the third passage; a sixth port fluidly connecting the fourth fluid bladder to the second passage (Fig 3); and
wherein, when the first check valve is in the first position, where fluid enters the third port and the sixth port and inflates the second fluid bladder and the fourth fluid bladder, and when the first check valve is in the second position, fluid is directed through the third port and the sixth port to the vent (para 0031-0033).
RE Claim 11: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1,
including a seat component (Fig 4) comprising an exterior facing surface (part which a user’s back and bottom rest against), and wherein the first fluid bladder and the second fluid bladder are positioned adjacent to the exterior facing surface (Fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng.
RE Claims 4 and 15: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 1 (and 12).
Regarding the following limitation: “wherein a cross-sectional flow area of the first port is greater than a cross-sectional flow area of the second port.”
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cheng such that a cross-sectional flow area of the first port is greater than a cross-sectional flow area, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges only involve routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) Routine Optimization citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). This would be done to ensure uniformity of flow throughout the system manifold.
Claims 6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claims 5 and 18 above, and further in view of Scott (US 4,938,528)(hereinafter Scott).
RE Claims 6 and 19: Cheng discloses the assembly of claim 5 and 18.
Cheng does not explicitly teach wherein the valve assembly comprises a single three position valve.
However, Scott teaches a seat assembly with an inflatable bladder (analogous art).
Scott further teaches wherein the valve assembly comprises a single three position valve (64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cheng in view of Scott such that the valve is a single three position valve as taught by Scott for the advantages of managing air flow.
RE Claim 20: Cheng as modified discloses the seat assembly of claim 19,
Cheng further discloses including a connecting passage fluidly connecting the valve assembly to the first passage, the second passage, and the third passage (all of the manifold is fluidly connected)(Fig 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various fluid flow assemblies in seats with bladders, ports, valves, and controls.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644