DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 8, 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12113749. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chou (US-20180183551).
As to claim 1: Chou teaches a method for processing Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, Downlink Control Information (DCI), the DCI carrying indication information ([0109-111]); and performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on a second BWP ([0109-111] The UE may switch to configured BWP 890A based on the decoded BWP index) and deactivation processing on a first BWP based on an information field of the indication information ([0112, 126, 127] On or before the UE switching to configured BWP 890A, default BWP 880A is de-activated).
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chou (US-20180183551).
As to claim 2, 9, 16: Chou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication information comprises first indication information, the first indication information comprises a first information field ([0109, 126] DCI message may include a Bandwidth Part indicator field (BIF)), and the terminal device performs activation processing on the second BWP ([0109-111] When configured BWP 890A is activated by DCI #1, the UE may know how to receive the CORESET of configured BWP 890A) and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on a value of the first information field (TABLE 1 [0126-128] after receiving the DCI, for example, having a CIF (e.g., pointing to SCell #1) and a BIF (e.g., BIF=01), the UE may know that it needs to activate/de-activate BWP configuration #1 in SCell #1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US-20180183551) in view of 3GPP TS 38.213 v.15.1.0, 3GPP TS 38.321 v15.1.0.
As to claim 3, 10: Chou teaches the method of claim 2.
Chou may not explicitly teach wherein performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on the information field of the indication information comprises: if the first information field is a first value. However, TS38.213 teaches wherein performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on the information field of the indication information comprises: if the first information field is a first value (p.66 If a bandwidth part indicator field is configured in DCI format 1_1, the bandwidth part indicator field value indicates the active DL BWP, from the configured DL BWP set, for DL receptions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement BWP fields, taught by TS38.213, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable activation of BWP. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS38.213 and Chou in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Chou may not explicitly teach performing, by the terminal device, deactivation processing on the first BWP when activating the second BWP. However, TS38.321 teaches performing, by the terminal device, deactivation processing on the first BWP when activating the second BWP (p.42 The BWP switching for a Serving Cell is used to activate an inactive BWP and deactivate an active BWP at a time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement activate / deactivate BWP, taught by TS38.321, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and control activation / deactivation of BWP and conserve resources. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chou and TS38.321 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 4, 11: Chou teaches the method of claim 3.
Chou may not explicitly teach wherein performing deactivation processing on the first BWP comprises: performing deactivation processing on the first BWP meeting a deactivation condition. However, TS38.213 teaches wherein performing deactivation processing on the first BWP comprises: performing deactivation processing on the first BWP meeting a deactivation condition (p.43 bwp-InactivityTimer).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement BWP fields, taught by TS38.213, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and trigger activation / deactivation of BWP. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS38.213 and Chou in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US-20180183551) in view of Lee (US-20190103954).
As to claim 5, 12, 17: Chou teaches the method of claim 1.
Chou may not explicitly teach wherein the indication information comprises second indication information, the second indication information comprises a third information field and the third information field is a bitmap, and the terminal device performs activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on a value of a bit in the bitmap. However, Lee teaches wherein the indication information comprises second indication information, the second indication information comprises a third information field and the third information field is a bitmap ([0084, 93] DCI may include a bitmap in which each bit indicates activated and deactivated BWPs in accordance with the order of the number of BWPs), and the terminal device performs activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on a value of a bit in the bitmap ([0084, 93] The UE 115-a, upon receiving the DCI, may activate the BWPs indicated as active, and deactivate any previously active BWPs that are no longer indicated as being active).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement bitmap, taught by Lee, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and control multiple BWP. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chou and Lee in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 7, 14: Chou teaches the method of claim 5.
Chou may not explicitly teach wherein the second BWP comprises a plurality of BWPs, and performing activation processing on the second BWP comprises activating the plurality of BWPs simultaneously; and wherein the first BWP comprises a plurality of BWPs, and performing deactivation processing on the first BWP comprises deactivating the plurality of BWPs simultaneously. However, Lee teaches wherein the second BWP comprises a plurality of BWPs ([0097, 98]), and performing activation processing on the second BWP comprises activating the plurality of BWPs simultaneously ([0079] the base station 105 may simultaneously activate the secondary CC and one or more BWPs of the secondary CC by using the first DCI); and wherein the first BWP comprises a plurality of BWPs ([0097, 98]), and performing deactivation processing on the first BWP comprises deactivating the plurality of BWPs simultaneously ([0097, 98] UE 115 may deactivate each of the other BWPs 310 at point 350, which may be prior to the expiration of the BWP time period).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement bitmap, taught by Lee, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and control multiple BWP. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chou and Lee in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US-20180183551), Lee (US-20190103954) in view of Feuersanger (US-20130039202).
As to claim 6, 13: Chou teaches the method of claim 5.
Chou may not explicitly teach wherein performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on the information field of the indication information comprises: when the value of a bit is a first value, performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP which corresponds to the bit; and when the value of the bit is a second value, performing, by the terminal device, deactivation processing on the first BWP which corresponds to the bit. However, Feuersanger teaches wherein performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP and deactivation processing on the first BWP based on the information field of the indication information comprises: when the value of a bit is a first value, performing, by the terminal device, activation processing on the second BWP which corresponds to the bit ([0197, 213] a bit set to 0 could mean that the corresponding component carrier is to be deactivated and the bit set to 1 could mean the activation of the component carrier, or vice versa); and when the value of the bit is a second value, performing, by the terminal device, deactivation processing on the first BWP which corresponds to the bit ([0197, 214, 217] the mobile terminal would determine whether there is a change of the activation state for a component carrier and activates or deactivates the respective component carrier accordingly).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement bit activation / deactivation, taught by Feuersanger, into the communication system, taught by Chou, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and efficiently activate / deactivate BWP. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Chou and Feuersanger in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466