DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,706,214. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims relate to a similar concept.
18/826359
11,706,214
A method comprising:
receiving a request from a user device to authenticate a person as an authenticated user by an authentication system;
receiving image data of the person captured by the user device;
determining, based on facial recognition, the person in the image data does not sufficiently match a reference model of the authenticated user; and
in response to the person in the image data not sufficiently matching the reference model, comparing the image data of the person with image data of the authenticated user stored in a corporate service.
A method for increasing security of devices that leverages an integration of an authentication system with at least one corporate service comprising:
receiving a request from a user device to authenticate a person as a particular user by the authentication system;
capturing a photo of the person attempting to be authenticated as the particular user;
mapping nodal points to the captured photo of the person attempting to be authenticated as the particular user to a device or service;
comparing the nodal points from the photo against a reference model for facial recognition of the particular user;
determining that the nodal points of the person in the photo does not match the reference model for the particular user; and
based on the determination that the person in the photo is not the particular user, initiating a request to a second device associated with the particular user to verify whether the photo is the particular user;
receiving, from the second device, a disavowal of the photo from the particular user; and
based on the disavowal, determining the person is an adversary and initiating identification of the person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10-14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al., (US Publication No. 2016/0180068), hereinafter “Das”, and further in view of Dow et al., (US Publication No. 2018/0114054), hereinafter “Dow”.
Regarding claims 1, 13, Das discloses
receiving a request from a user device to authenticate a person as an authenticated user by an authentication system [Das, paragraph 17];
receiving image data of the person captured by the user device [Das, paragraphs 17-18];
Das does not specifically disclose, however Dow teaches
determining, based on facial recognition, the person in the image data does not sufficiently match a reference model of the authenticated user [Dow, paragraph 55, the accessibility system may first compare the facial image to images stored in a cache and then if no matches are found, the accessibility system may send the facial image to a remote server for facial recognition]; and
in response to the person in the image data not sufficiently matching the reference model, comparing the image data of the person with image data of the authenticated user stored in a corporate service [Dow, paragraph 55, the accessibility system may first compare the facial image to images stored in a cache and then if no matches are found, the accessibility system may send the facial image to a remote server for facial recognition].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compare the images locally, determining a match does not exist and send the image to a remote (corporate service) for identification in order to determine if the user is authorized to access the system.
It would have been obvious to combine Dow with Das as both arts relate to authentication of a user on a device.
Regarding claims 2, 14, Das-Dow further discloses
wherein the authentication system is integrated with the corporate service [Das, paragraphs 17-21, figure 1].
Regarding claims 5, 17, Das-Dow further discloses
wherein the image data of the person is from a video captured by the user device [Das, paragraphs 34-35].
Regarding claims 6, 18, Das-Dow further discloses
wherein the image data of the person is from a photo captured by the user device [Das, paragraphs 34-35].
Regarding claim 10, Das-Dow further discloses
mapping nodal points to the image data of the person attempting to be authenticated as the authenticated user [Das, paragraphs 34-35]; comparing the nodal points against the reference model for facial recognition of the authenticated user [Das, paragraphs 43, 67]; and determining that the nodal points do not sufficiently match the reference model for the authenticated user [Das, paragraphs 43, 67].
Regarding claim 11, Das-Dow further discloses
wherein the user device is configured to send the image data of the person and a location of the user device to the authentication system [Das, paragraphs 17-21].
Regarding claim 12, Das-Dow further discloses
wherein the user device is configured to record and send video and/or audio data of the person who attempted to be authenticated as the authenticated user [Das, paragraphs 17-21, 35].
Claim(s) 3, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das-Dow as applied to claims 1, 13 above, and further in view of Ikehara et al., (US Publication No. 2005/0057339), hereinafter “Ikehara”.
Regarding claims 3, 15, Das-Dow does not specifically disclose, however Ikehara teaches
wherein the authentication of the person is continuous [Ikehara, paragraph 12].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain continuous authentication in order to ensure the security of the system.
It would have been obvious to combine Dow with Das and Ikehara as all arts relate to authentication of a user on a device.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das-Dow as applied to claims 1, 13 above, and further in view of Patel et al., (US Publication No. 2008/0088698), hereinafter “Patel”.
Regarding claims 4, 16, Das-Dow does not specifically disclose, however Ikehara teaches
wherein the corporate service is a corporate directory [Patel, paragraph 33].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to check with a corporate directory for a user’s authorization in order to protect the security of the system.
It would have been obvious to combine Dow with Das and Patel as all arts relate to authentication of a user on a device.
Regarding claims 7, 19, Das-Dow-Patel further discloses
wherein in response to the person in the image data not sufficiently matching the image data of the authenticated user stored in the corporate service [Patel, paragraph 33], sending a notification to the authentication system that the person has unsuccessfully attempted to authenticate as the authenticated user [Das, paragraph 67].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433