Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, 13-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai (2024/0063929).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an electronic device (abstract) comprising: at least one memory and processor which function as (para 24 – device includes memory and processor): a receiving unit configured to receive, from a first access point to which the electronic device is currently connected, a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from the first access point to the second access point (Figure 2, para 28, switching from a first access point to a second access point based on signal strengths received while at AP1). Tsai discloses a control unit configure to perform control to change the connection from the first to the second access point based on the change request being received (para 29 -confirmed that the handoff between access points happens) and a notification unit configured to make a notification that the connection has been c hanged when the connection destination is changed between the first and second access point (para 32 and 38-41, displaying information regarding the handoff operation being completed).
Regarding claims 2-4, Tsai discloses wherein the memory and processor cause a further function as a display control unit to control to display the notification made in a predetermined screen (para 59-60), wherein the notification indicates that the connection has been changed to the second access point that has a better communication environment than the first access point (para 57-58, better RSSI at the AP2 versus the original AP1) and the display controls performs control to display as information about the notification, at least one of the identification of the access points and information about the communication environment (para 39 – showing both SSID and RSSI strength on display).
Regarding claims 5-6, Tsai discloses wherein the information is at least one of information indicating radio wave strength (RSSI, para 39) and wherein the identification information indicates one of a SSID or MAC address (para 39- SSID displayed for each access point)
Regarding claim 11, Tsai also discloses in the case that the user decides not to confirm a handoff, a change is not made via the display device, which is a second interface, i.e. a different display (Figures 4a-4c and para 61-62).
Regarding claims 13-14, Tsai further discloses wherein an instruction to change is an instruction to execute a function for switching based on the change request (para 61-62, user confirmation of the switch is a change request which causes the access point connection to be changed)
Regarding claim 19, Tsai discloses a method for controlling an electronic apparatus, the method comprising: receiving from a first access point to which the electronic device is currently connected, a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from the first access point to the second access point (Figure 2, para 28, switching from a first access point to a second access point based on signal strengths received while at AP1). Tsai discloses performing control to change the connection from the first to the second access point based on the change request being received (para 29 -confirmed that the handoff between access points happens) and notifying that the connection has been c hanged when the connection destination is changed between the first and second access point (para 32 and 38-41, displaying information regarding the handoff operation being completed).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause a computer (para 24 computer readable storage medium) to: receive, from a first access point to which the electronic device is currently connected, a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from the first access point to the second access point (Figure 2, para 28, switching from a first access point to a second access point based on signal strengths received while at AP1). Tsai discloses performing control to change the connection from the first to the second access point based on the change request being received (para 29 -confirmed that the handoff between access points happens) and a notifying that the connection has been c hanged when the connection destination is changed between the first and second access point (para 32 and 38-41, displaying information regarding the handoff operation being completed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5, Claim(s) 7-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Morimoto (2019/0239036).
Regarding claims 7-9, Tsai discloses all the particulars of the claim except for a notification is not displayed even if a connection changes, controlling a display to not display for a predetermined time, or performing control such that the connection is not changed even if a change request is received. However, Morimoto teaches in an analogous art, the use of an electronic apparatus, in which a display control is configured to set whether or not to display a notification, and not displaying the notification for a predetermined length of time (para 11-14, controlling the alert to be non-displayed for a predetermined time) as well as control unit performing control such that the connection is not changed based on a change request (para 08, user requests a change but the connection request does not change the connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to inhibit displays in order to not overload the user with too much information.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses a second interface in which an instruction not to change is accepted (para 61-62, user rejects the switch between access point 1 and access point 2) and that the connection is not changed based on the change request. Tsai does not disclose a responses to the change request indicates that the change is rejected. However, Morimoto discloses that a change request can be rejected and indicated to the user (Figure 15, S501-504, trying to change an access point indicates that a connection is not established and therefore rejected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a notification of rejection in order to positively confirm the failure to change the connection, as taught by Morimoto.
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Nogawa (2013/0079056).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses that an electronic device can display information about the connections between access points as well as discovering that neither access point could potentially meet the signal requirements (para 56, AP1 and AP2 not able to operate stably). Tsai also discloses that the AP signal strengths must be stable for a period of time (para 55Tsai fails to explicitly disclose changing back to the first access point before the connection was changed to the second access point. However, Nogawa teaches that an electronic device may switch back to the first access point before a connection is changed to a second access point (Figure 8, reconnecting back to a previously connected access point before switching connections to another access point). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to reconnect back to a first access point before switching to a new access point as taught by Nogawa, in order to provide restoration of communications quickly upon a disconnection.
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses all the particulars of the claim except for a printer that prints an image on to a print media. However, Nogawa teaches in an analogous art, a multifunction device (10) which includes a printer to print an image on to print media (printer 16, para 27-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a printer in order to provide the printer to allow for different media to be reproduced via an electronic device.
Claims 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tsai in view of Hirano (2025/0008591).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 15-17, Tsai discloses all the particulars of the claim except for the electronic device connecting in a 802.11ax standard, use of OFDMA/TWT processing, or 6 GHz connection via access point. However, Hirano teaches that an electronic device that can operate on a 802.11ax standard, OFDMA or TWT processing, or 6 GHz connection via the access point (para 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the wireless standards as taught by Hirano in order to provide connection to access point using the latest 802.11 standards.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogura (2012/0076069) discloses a denial of setting change in an electronic device.
Yoshida (2021/0377835) discloses displaying AP switching on a multi-funciton device.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641