DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US20190159156 herein after Abe) in view of Venugopal et al. (US20210306994 herein after Venu)
Regarding claim 1, 14 Abe teaches a terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising ([0007] “The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory”):
receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling comprises configuration information of a target timing advance group (TAG) (Fig. 6 “615”[0064] “a wireless communications system may use one or more timing advance groups formed of multiple serving cells. A timing advance group may be configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) messages”, [0121-122] “For example, a beam TAG may include BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3. Each of BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3 may carry transmissions that become misaligned for transmission timings 305, 310, and 315 … configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)”, [0146] “UE 115-d may receive, from base station 105-e, a TA command for a beam TAG comprising a set of BPLs. The set of BPLs may be used for communications between UE 115-d and base station 105-e. The TA command for the beam TAG may be based at least in part on a common timing reference value. In some examples, the TA command for the beam TAG may include a set of TA commands, each TA command of the set of TA commands corresponding to one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs”),
wherein the configuration information of the target TAG comprises a plurality of sets of timing advance (TA) configuration–related information associated with different target objects [0146] “UE 115-d may receive, from base station 105-e, a TA command for a beam TAG comprising a set of BPLs. The set of BPLs may be used for communications between UE 115-d and base station 105-e. The TA command for the beam TAG may be based at least in part on a common timing reference value. In some examples, the TA command for the beam TAG may include a set of TA commands, each TA command of the set of TA commands corresponding to one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs”),
and adjusting, based on a first target timing advance command (TAC) ([0152] “At 630, UE 115-d may adjust a communication timing for one or more of the set of BPLs based at least in part on the identified common timing reference value and the determined TA value. In some examples, UE 115-d may identify one or more TA constraints on the TA command, wherein the adjusting the transmission timing may be based at least in part on the constraints. The TA constraints may include, for example, a maximum magnitude of change in one adjustment or a maximum magnitude of change over a predetermined duration. In some examples, a first set of TA constraints may apply to the set of BPLs of the beam TAG, and a second set of TA constraints may apply to BPLs of a second beam TAG”, [0146] “At 615, UE 115-d may receive, from base station 105-e, a TA command for a beam TAG comprising a set of BPLs. The set of BPLs may be used for communications between UE 115-d and base station 105-e. The TA command for the beam TAG may be based at least in part on a common timing reference value. In some examples, the TA command for the beam TAG may include a set of TA commands, each TA command of the set of TA commands corresponding to one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs. In other examples, the TA command may include an identifier providing a correspondence between a TA value of the TA command and a BPL of the set of BPLs”)),
Abe does not teach wherein each target object comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; timing of a target uplink transmission corresponding to a first target TCI state,
wherein the first target TAC is associated with the first target TCI state.
Venu teaches wherein each target object comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0061] “within a timing advance group (TAG), a sub-TAG definition is supported. This sub-TAG definition may be RRC configured or more dynamically updated/activated with a media access control-control element (MAC-CE). The UE may indicate support of sub-TAGs via capability signaling including a maximum number of sub-TAGs. The exchange of capability information between the base station and UE occurs prior to the timing adjustment procedure. Each UL TCI state may be tagged with a sub-TAG index and each sub-TAG may contain one or more UL TCI states”);
timing of a target uplink transmission corresponding to a first target TCI state ([0059] “different transmit timing may be calculated and applied for different uplink channels/SRS (e.g., TCI state). Each uplink beam may have its own uplink TCI state. The TCI states need not be different for each beam, however…adjusted by the timing advance (TA) command for the timing advance group (TAG), and Δi is the adjustment for each channel/SRS (UL ICI state)”),
wherein the first target TAC is associated with the first target TCI state ([0059] “Different transmit timing may be calculated and applied for different uplink channels/SRS (e.g., TCI state). Each uplink beam may have its own uplink TCI state. The TCI states need not be different for each beam, however. Multiple beams may have the same uplink timing parameter. The transmit timing ti of the channel/SRS (UL TCI state) … where TRef is the common reference timing calculated/adjusted by the timing advance (TA) command for the timing advance group (TAG), and Δi is the adjustment for each channel/SRS (UL ICI state)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Venu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 11, Abe teaches A method for uplink transmission, comprising: sending, by a network side device, radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Fig. 6 “615”[0064] “a wireless communications system may use one or more timing advance groups formed of multiple serving cells. A timing advance group may be configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) messages”, [0121-122] “For example, a beam TAG may include BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3. Each of BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3 may carry transmissions that become misaligned for transmission timings 305, 310, and 315 … configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)”, (Examiner’s Note: Fig. 6 shows 105e transmitting 615),
wherein the RRC signaling comprises configuration information of a target timing advance group (TAG) (Fig. 6 “615”[0064] “a wireless communications system may use one or more timing advance groups formed of multiple serving cells. A timing advance group may be configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) messages”, [0121-122] “For example, a beam TAG may include BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3. Each of BPL1, BPL2, and BPL3 may carry transmissions that become misaligned for transmission timings 305, 310, and 315 … configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., an RRC message)”,
wherein the configuration information of the target TAG comprises a plurality of sets of timing advance (TA) configuration–related information associated with different target objects [0146] “UE 115-d may receive, from base station 105-e, a TA command for a beam TAG comprising a set of BPLs. The set of BPLs may be used for communications between UE 115-d and base station 105-e. The TA command for the beam TAG may be based at least in part on a common timing reference value. In some examples, the TA command for the beam TAG may include a set of TA commands, each TA command of the set of TA commands corresponding to one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs”),
wherein each target object comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
Abe does not teach wherein each target object comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state.
Venu teaches wherein each target object comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0061] “within a timing advance group (TAG), a sub-TAG definition is supported. This sub-TAG definition may be RRC configured or more dynamically updated/activated with a media access control-control element (MAC-CE). The UE may indicate support of sub-TAGs via capability signaling including a maximum number of sub-TAGs. The exchange of capability information between the base station and UE occurs prior to the timing adjustment procedure. Each UL TCI state may be tagged with a sub-TAG index and each sub-TAG may contain one or more UL TCI states”).
t would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Venu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 2, 15, Abe teaches wherein the operations further comprise: Receiving a media access control control unit (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE comprises at least one of the following: the first target TAC ([0147] “In some examples, base station 105-e may transmit a BPL-specific offset value for one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs in the TA command, or a RAR, or a MAC CE, or an RRC message, or a combination thereof”); or an identifier of a first TAG ([0125] “The TA command may include an identifier corresponding to the beam TAG to which the TA command corresponds”).
Regarding claim 3, 16, Abe does not teach wherein adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state comprises: when the first target TCI state comprises a first TCI state and a second TCI state, and a first TAC is associated with the first TCI state and a second TAC is associated with the second TCI state, calculating, by the terminal, a first TA based on the first TAC, and calculating a second TA based on the second TAC; and adjusting, based on the first TA, timing of a target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state, and adjusting, based on the second TA, timing of a target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state ([0064] “For example, TRS1 and TRS2 may be configured for QCL-Type C in UL TCI1 and TCI2, respectively. It is assumed that TRS1 is configured as the timingReferenceRS. It is assumed, based on the UE time tracking loop, TRS1 and TRS2 have a ΔT Rx timing difference. Thus, when the UE transmits UL beams with TCI2, on top of the current TA value, T, the UE applies compensation (e.g., T+ΔT). Beam reciprocity is assumed. Details of the TA compensation with respect to the timingReferenceRS are specified based on UE implementation”).
Regarding claims 4, 17, Abe does not teach wherein adjusting, based on the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state, and adjusting, based on the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state comprises any one of the following: adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing corresponding to a reference object and the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state, and adjusting, based on the downlink transmission timing corresponding to the reference object and the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state, wherein the reference object is the first TCI or the second TCI state; or adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing of the first TCI state and the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state, and adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing of the second TCI state and the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state.
Venu teaches wherein adjusting, based on the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state, and adjusting, based on the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state comprises any one of the following:
adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing corresponding to a reference object and the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state ([0017] “n the second case, the QCL type source reference signal in the UL TCI is a DL RS, such as the SSB. In the second case, the UE may calculate a beam-specific delay adjustment from the DL RS, if the DL RS is a TRS (e.g., configurations 2, 3, and 4 in Table 1). The tracking reference signal (TRS) enables the UE to define the timing parameter. The beam-specific delay adjustment may be applied to the common TA (timing advance) value, to determine beam-specific transmit timing”),
and adjusting, based on the downlink transmission timing corresponding to the reference object and the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state, wherein the reference object is the first TCI or the second TCI state ([0064] “For example, TRS1 and TRS2 may be configured for QCL-Type C in UL TCI1 and TCI2, respectively. It is assumed that TRS1 is configured as the timingReferenceRS. It is assumed, based on the UE time tracking loop, TRS1 and TRS2 have a ΔT Rx timing difference. Thus, when the UE transmits UL beams with TCI2, on top of the current TA value, T, the UE applies compensation (e.g., T+ΔT). Beam reciprocity is assumed. Details of the TA compensation with respect to the timingReferenceRS are specified based on UE implementation”);
or adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing of the first TCI state and the first TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first TCI state ([0017] “n the second case, the QCL type source reference signal in the UL TCI is a DL RS, such as the SSB. In the second case, the UE may calculate a beam-specific delay adjustment from the DL RS, if the DL RS is a TRS (e.g., configurations 2, 3, and 4 in Table 1). The tracking reference signal (TRS) enables the UE to define the timing parameter. The beam-specific delay adjustment may be applied to the common TA (timing advance) value, to determine beam-specific transmit timing”),
and adjusting, based on downlink transmission timing of the second TCI state and the second TA, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the second TCI state ([0064] “For example, TRS1 and TRS2 may be configured for QCL-Type C in UL TCI1 and TCI2, respectively. It is assumed that TRS1 is configured as the timingReferenceRS. It is assumed, based on the UE time tracking loop, TRS1 and TRS2 have a ΔT Rx timing difference. Thus, when the UE transmits UL beams with TCI2, on top of the current TA value, T, the UE applies compensation (e.g., T+ΔT). Beam reciprocity is assumed. Details of the TA compensation with respect to the timingReferenceRS are specified based on UE implementation”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Venu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 5, 18, Abe does not teach further comprising: receiving configured grant information of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state; and determining, based on the configured grant information, the first target TAC as a TAC of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state.
Venu teaches further comprising: receiving configured grant information of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state; and determining, based on the configured grant information, the first target TAC as a TAC of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state ([0066] “setting uplink timing based on a strongest path, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. An example will now be provided for a codebook-based PUSCH. Along with scheduling DCI, the UL beam is indicated by a QCL reference to a DL NZP-CSI-RS or SSB. The UE is configured with a TRS quasi-co-located with the same NZP-CSI-RS or SSB. The UE estimates the power delay profile (PDP) of the DL multipath channel from the TRS, as seen in FIG. 4. The Rx reference time (time 0) is determined based on Rx fast Fourier transform (FFT) timing. From the estimated PDP, a strongest path delay or root mean square (RMS) delay spread may be used for the UL timing adjustment Δi=−α×tDL, where a is a scaling factor. For example, the estimated PDP can be scaled and used to adjust the timing parameter for the beam”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Venu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 6, 19, Abe does not teach wherein adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state comprises: periodically adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state.
Venu teaches wherein adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state comprises: periodically adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state ([0065] “If the UL Tx beam is quasi-co-located with a DL RS (SSB or non-zero power (NZP)-CSI-RS), the timing adjustment may be calculated from the Rx timing of the DL RS. If the UE is configured with a tracking reference signal (TRS) spatially quasi-co-located with the same DL RS, the Rx timing adjustment may be derived from a time tracking loop”, (Examiner’s Note: periodic adjusting == timing adjustment may be derived from a time tracking loop).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Abe to incorporate the teachings of Venu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Abe teaches further comprising: reporting, by the terminal, at least one of the following: UE capability information, wherein the UE capability information comprises that the terminal supports a TA adjustment mode corresponding to one TA, or the terminal supports TA adjustment modes corresponding to a plurality of TAs ([0024] “the one or more TA constraints include a maximum magnitude of change in one adjustment or a maximum magnitude of change over a predetermined duration”);
a quantity of TAs preferred by the terminal, wherein the quantity of TAs is determined by the terminal based on downlink measurement ([0138] “A capability indicator may indicate whether a UE can support receiving a single TA command, multiple TA commands, a common TA value, or multiple BPL-specific values, whether a UE 115 can autonomously determine BPL-specific TA offsets or whether BPL-specific TA values and TA offsets should be indicated explicitly to the UE 115. In some cases, a capacity or capabilities indicator may indicate which of the above mentioned cases the UE 115 supports or prefers”);
or the downlink time difference, wherein the downlink time difference is determined by the terminal based on the downlink measurement ([0148] “may determine a timing alignment timer corresponding to a BPL of the set of BPLs, or the beam TAG, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the TA command may be based at least in part on the timing alignment timer. In other examples, base station 105-e may determine that one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs may be operating above a maximum transmission timing difference for the set of BPLs, wherein transmitting the TA command is based at least in part on the determining”).
Regarding claim 10, Abe teaches further comprising: within application duration of the first target TAC, the terminal performs at least one of the following: not expecting to receive uplink transmission scheduling information of a target object other than the first target TCI state associated with the first target TAC ([0022] “ identifying that a second TA command may have not been received during a predetermined duration”);
and determining a second signal generated within the application duration of the first target TAC as the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state, wherein the second signal comprises at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0062] “A base station may then regularly (e.g., in connected mode operation) estimate uplink timing based on uplink transmissions from the UE, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS)”), or a configured grant (CG).
Regarding claim 12, Abe teaches further comprising: sending, by the network side device, a media access control control unit (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE comprises at least one of the following: a first target timing advance command (TAC), wherein the first target TAC is associated with a first target TCI state; ([0147] “In some examples, base station 105-e may transmit a BPL-specific offset value for one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs in the TA command, or a RAR, or a MAC CE, or an RRC message, or a combination thereof”); or an identifier of a first TAG ([0125] “The TA command may include an identifier corresponding to the beam TAG to which the TA command corresponds”).
Regarding claim 13, Abe teaches further comprising: receiving, by the network side device, at least one of the following reported by a terminal: UE capability information, wherein the UE capability information comprises that the terminal supports a TA adjustment mode corresponding to one TA, or the terminal supports TA adjustment modes corresponding to a plurality of TAs ([0024] “the one or more TA constraints include a maximum magnitude of change in one adjustment or a maximum magnitude of change over a predetermined duration”);
a quantity of TAs preferred by the terminal, wherein the quantity of TAs is determined by the terminal based on downlink measurement ([0138] “A capability indicator may indicate whether a UE can support receiving a single TA command, multiple TA commands, a common TA value, or multiple BPL-specific values, whether a UE 115 can autonomously determine BPL-specific TA offsets or whether BPL-specific TA values and TA offsets should be indicated explicitly to the UE 115. In some cases, a capacity or capabilities indicator may indicate which of the above mentioned cases the UE 115 supports or prefers”);
or a downlink time difference, wherein the downlink time difference is determined by the terminal based on the downlink measurement ([0148] “may determine a timing alignment timer corresponding to a BPL of the set of BPLs, or the beam TAG, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the TA command may be based at least in part on the timing alignment timer. In other examples, base station 105-e may determine that one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs may be operating above a maximum transmission timing difference for the set of BPLs, wherein transmitting the TA command is based at least in part on the determining”).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Venu further in view of Huang et al. (US20220086826).
Regarding claim 9, Abe, Venu does not teach further comprising: when time domain resources of target uplink transmissions associated with different target objects overlaps, selecting a target uplink transmission associated with the target object indicated by the DCI signaling for transmission, and discarding a target uplink transmission associated with another target object.
Huang teaches further comprising: when time domain resources of target uplink transmissions associated with different target objects overlaps ([0032] “ For example, the uplink control information and the uplink data may overlap in a time domain. In such cases, some UEs may be configured to multiplex the uplink control information on to the uplink data and transmit the uplink data including the multiplexed uplink control information using the SCC. Some UEs may be configured to check the priorities of the uplink control information and the uplink data and modify the overlapping uplink transmission based on the priorities”),
selecting a target uplink transmission associated with the target object indicated by the DCI signaling for transmission ([0088] “The base station 502 may transmit the configuration 514 using RRC signaling, through a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or through DCI”), and discarding a target uplink transmission associated with another target object ([0032] “For example, the UE may multiplex the uplink control information on to the uplink data when the priorities are the same, and the UE may drop the transmission with the lower priority when the priorities are different”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Abe, Venu to incorporate the teachings of Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Venu further in view of Ying et al. (US20210345279).
Regarding claim 7, 20, Abe teaches and TA is a TA indicated by the first target TAC ([0146] “At 615, UE 115-d may receive, from base station 105-e, a TA command for a beam TAG comprising a set of BPLs. The set of BPLs may be used for communications between UE 115-d and base station 105-e. The TA command for the beam TAG may be based at least in part on a common timing reference value. In some examples, the TA command for the beam TAG may include a set of TA commands, each TA command of the set of TA commands corresponding to one or more BPLs of the set of BPLs. In other examples, the TA command may include an identifier providing a correspondence between a TA value of the TA command and a BPL of the set of BPLs”).
Abe and Venu does not teach wherein adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state comprises:
, wherein
is adjusted timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target object,
is unadjusted timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state.
Ying teaches wherein adjusting, based on the first target TAC, the timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state comprises:
, wherein
is adjusted timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target object,
is unadjusted timing of the target uplink transmission corresponding to the first target TCI state ([0087] “After the UE 102 is in connected mode, the base station keep estimating TA and sends TA Command in MAC CE to the UE 102, if TA correction is required. In this case, the TA Command 855 is transmitted in MAC CE 850 as shown in FIG. 8. The size of the TA Command field is 6 bits. With the MAC CE TA Command, it indicates an index value of TA=0, 1, 2, . . . , 63. For subcarrier spacing of it indicates an index value of TA=0, 1, 2, . . . , 3846. For a subcarrier spacing of 2μ*15 kHz, with a current NTA value, NTA_old, the new NTA value, NTA_new, can be calculated as NTA_new=NTA_old+(TA−31)*16*64/2μ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Abe, Venu to incorporate the teachings of Ying. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411