CTNF 18/826,425 CTNF 96707 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein. Priority The instant application is a continuation of U.S. App. no. 17/881,260 filed 08/04/2022 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional App. no. 63/230,268 filed 08/06/2021. Claims 1-20 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 08/06/2021. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The term includes is spelled incorrectly (para. 0032:1) . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent no. 9,872,943 B1 to Hall . Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses an on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid from a patient (Fig. 3, on/off valve 10; col. 5:13-18), the on/off valve comprising: a fluid inlet for receiving fluid from a first medical device (Fig. 1, second leg 16 connected to suction wand 22; Fig. 5, fluid inlet at threading connection 23 connected to suction wand 22; col. 5:13-18); a fluid outlet in selective fluid communication with the fluid inlet (Fig. 5, first leg 14 comprising fluid outlet; col. 6:40-62); a spring (Fig. 5, spring 30); an actuation button coupled to the spring (Fig. 5, button 28 connected to spring 30); and a valve seat disk coupled to the spring and positioned between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (Fig. 5, valve seat disk 24a coupled to spring 30 positioned between fluid inlet and outlet), the valve seat disk movable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (col. 6:40-62). Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Hall further discloses wherein the spring is configured to bias the valve seat disk to the closed configuration (col. 6:40-62). Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. Hall further discloses wherein when in the closed configuration, the valve seat disk rests against a valve seat (Fig. 5, valve sear 25a; col. 6:40-62) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent no. 5,456,448 A to Chou . Chou teaches an on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid in a water pipe (Fig. 1 showing on/off valve; Fig. 9-10 showing configuration of on/off valve within water pipe), the on/off valve comprising: a fluid inlet for receiving fluid (Fig. 9, fluid inlet on right end of pipe 5); and a fluid outlet in selective fluid communication with the fluid outlet (col. 3:3-41; col. 4:6-25; Fig. 9, fluid outlet on left end of pipe 5); a spring; an actuation button coupled to the spring; and a valve seat plunger coupled to the spring and positioned between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23 positioned between fluid inlet and outlet), the valve seat plunger moveable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (col. 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5, movement of valve between two positions). Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose the on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid from a patient and the fluid inlet for receiving fluid from a first medical device. This is considered to be functional language (in view of the specific use case claimed). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114. Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Chou is capable of being used in the tubing of a liquid flow system (col. 4:6-25). As such, it is capable of performing the function as claimed (i.e. it is capable of controlling a flow of fluid within a liquid flow system, such as one comprising flow of fluid from a patient or a first medical device). Further, Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose wherein the valve seat plunger is a disk. Chou does disclose other shapes of the valve seat plunger (Fig. 7-8, valve seat plunger 23 having two flat ends similar to a disk), indicating that the shape of the valve seat plunger in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 is not important to the functioning of the valve seat plunger. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve seat plunger of Chou to be a disk, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein the spring is configured to bias the valve seat plunger to the closed configuration (col. 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5, movement of valve between two positions; Fig. 9, closed configuration of valve wherein valve seat plunger 23 rests against a valve seat 56 wherein at least one spring shown is at an open biased configuration). Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Chou further discloses wherein when in the closed configuration, the valve seat plunger rests against a valve seat (col. 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5, movement of valve between two positions; Fig. 9, closed configuration of valve wherein valve seat plunger 23 rests against a valve seat 56). Regarding claim 7, Chou discloses an on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid in a water pipe (Fig. 1, showing on/off valve; Fig. 9-10 showing configuration of on/off valve within water pipe), the on/off valve comprising: a fluid inlet for receiving fluid (Fig. 9, fluid inlet on right end of pipe 5); and a fluid outlet in selective fluid communication with the fluid outlet (col. 3:3-41; col. 4:6-25; Fig. 9, fluid outlet on left end of pipe 5); a pen click actuation mechanism (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23 positioned between fluid inlet and outlet); and a valve seat plunger coupled to the pen click actuation mechanism and positioned between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23 positioned between fluid inlet and outlet), the valve seat plunger moveable between an open configuration to fluidly couple the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet and a closed configuration to fluidly isolate the fluid outlet from the fluid inlet (col. 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5, movement of valve between two positions; Fig. 9, closed configuration of valve wherein valve seat plunger 23 rests against a valve seat 56). Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose the on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid from a patient and the fluid inlet for receiving fluid from a first medical device. This is considered to be functional language (in view of the specific use case claimed). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114. Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Chou is capable of being used in the tubing of a liquid flow system (col. 4:6-25). As such, it is capable of performing the function as claimed (i.e. it is capable of controlling a flow of fluid within a liquid flow system, such as one comprising flow of fluid from a patient or a first medical device). Further, Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose wherein the valve seat plunger is a disk. Chou does disclose other shapes of the valve seat plunger (Fig. 7-8, valve seat plunger 23 having two flat ends similar to a disk), indicating that the shape of the valve seat plunger in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 is not important to the functioning of the valve seat. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve seat plunger of Chou to be a disk, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 7. Chou further discloses wherein the pen click actuation mechanism comprises; an actuatable button; a cam; and a spring (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23). Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 8. Chou further discloses wherein the cam includes a plurality of grooves (col. 4:34-36, plurality of dual raised blocks each having longitudinal groove therein; Fig. 1, cam comprising outer sleeve 18 comprising 1821 groove), a plurality of slants (col. 3:3-41, cam comprising upper toothed ring 19 comprising slant surfaces of teeth 191, cam comprising lower toothed ring 20 comprising slant surfaces of teeth 201, cam comprising outer sleeve 18 comprising slant surfaces 1823), and a plurality of ledges (col. 3:3-41, cam comprising upper toothed ring 19 comprising raised blocks 192, cam comprising lower toothed ring 20 comprising raised blocks 202). Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 8. Chou further discloses wherein when a downward force is applied to the actuatable button to depress the actuatable button, the spring is compressed by the cam (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 10. Chou further discloses wherein the cam is configured to rotate as the actuatable button is depressed (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 10. Chou further discloses wherein when the downward force is released from the actuatable button, the spring moves the cam into a closed position or an open position (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 12. Chou further discloses wherein each time a downward force is applied to the actuatable button, the cam is moved into an opposing position (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou as applied above, and further in view of GB/1279521 to Richter . Regarding claims 2-3 and 14-15, the cited prior art discloses the invention of either of claim 1 and claim 7. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose (Claims 2 and 14) an adjustment mechanism coupled to the spring; and (Claims 3 and 15) wherein the adjustment mechanism is movable to adjust a position of the spring. Richter teaches an on/off valve comprising an adjustment mechanism coupled to a spring, wherein the adjustment mechanism is movable to adjust a position of the spring (Fig. 1, poppet valve comprising adjustment mechanism 7/8 comprising rotatable nut 7 and spring retainer 8; pg. 1:20-41; pg. 2:60-71), and wherein the adjustment mechanism allows a user to the adjust the valve clearance (pg. 1:20-41). It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve of Chou to comprise an adjustment mechanism as taught by Richter, because Richter teaches that the adjustment mechanism of their valve allows a user to easily adjust the valve clearance (pg. 1:20-41), which would affect flow through the valve . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou and Richter as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 6,364,853 B1 to French . Regarding claims 4 and 16, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 3 or claim 15. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose (Claims 4 and 16) wherein the position of the spring is adjusted to adjust a suction pressure of a device fluidly coupled to the fluid outlet. French teaches an on/off valve on a suction tube that is fluidly coupled to a suction device to adjust a suction pressure of a device to provide tactile and audible clicks to notify an operator of the state of the valve in a suction line during a medical procedure (col. 3:63-67 and col. 4:1-6; col. 6:51-67 and col. 7:1-16; Fig. 6, valve 10 ). It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve of Chou and Richter to be connected within a suction system such as that of French, because Chou discloses that their valve is capable of being used in the tubing of a liquid flow system (col. 4:6-25), and French teaches that an on/off valve comprising a pen click actuation mechanism is particularly preferred to provide tactile and audible clicks to notify an operator of the state of the valve in a suction line during a medical procedure (col. 3:63-67 and col. 4:1-6) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,456,448 A to Chou, in view of GB/1279521 A to Richter and U.S. Patent no. 6,364,853 B1 to French . Regarding claim 17, Chou discloses an on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid in a water pipe (Fig. 1, showing on/off valve; Fig. 9-10 showing configuration of on/off valve within water pipe), the on/off valve comprising: a fluid inlet for receiving fluid (Fig. 9, fluid inlet on right end of pipe 5); and a fluid outlet in selective fluid communication with the fluid outlet (col. 3:3-41; col. 4:6-25; Fig. 9, fluid outlet on left end of pipe 5); a pen click actuation mechanism comprising an actuatable button; a cam including a plurality of grooves (col. 4:34-36, plurality of dual raised blocks each having longitudinal groove therein; Fig. 1, cam comprising outer sleeve 18 comprising 1821 groove), a plurality of slants (col. 3:3-41, cam comprising upper toothed ring 19 comprising slant surfaces of teeth 191, cam comprising lower toothed ring 20 comprising slant surfaces of teeth 201, cam comprising outer sleeve 18 comprising slant surfaces 1823), and a plurality of ledges (col. 3:3-41, cam comprising upper toothed ring 19 comprising raised blocks 192, cam comprising lower toothed ring 20 comprising raised blocks 202); and a spring (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23); and a valve seat plunger coupled to the pen click actuation mechanism and positioned between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 1, actuatable button 12, cam 18-20, springs 14/22, valve seat plunger 23; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23 positioned between fluid inlet and outlet), wherein the actuatable button is depressible to move the valve seat plunger moveable between an open configuration to fluidly couple the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet and a closed configuration to fluidly isolate the fluid outlet from the fluid inlet (col. 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5, movement of valve between two positions; Fig. 9, closed configuration of valve wherein valve seat plunger 23 rests against a valve seat 56; Fig. 9-10, actuatable button within pipe 5 considered to be pin 51 configured to move steel ball 52 which activates change of position of valve seat plunger 23). Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose the on/off valve configured to control a flow of fluid from a patient and the fluid inlet for receiving fluid from a first medical device. This is considered to be functional language (in view of the specific use case claimed). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2114. Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Chou is capable of being used in the tubing of a liquid flow system (col. 4:6-25). As such, it is capable of performing the function as claimed (i.e. it is capable of controlling a flow of fluid within a liquid flow system, such as one comprising flow of fluid from a patient or a first medical device). Further, Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to explicitly disclose wherein the valve seat plunger is a disk. Chou does disclose other shapes of the valve seat plunger (Fig. 7-8, valve seat plunger 23 having two flat ends similar to a disk), indicating that the shape of the valve seat plunger in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 is not important to the functioning of the valve seat plunger. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve seat plunger of Chou to be a disk, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Further still, Chou differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Chou fails to disclose an adjustment mechanism coupled to the spring, the adjustment mechanism configured to move a position of the spring. Richter teaches an on/off valve comprising an adjustment mechanism coupled to a spring, wherein the adjustment mechanism is movable to adjust a position of the spring (Fig. 1, poppet valve comprising adjustment mechanism 7/8 comprising rotatable nut 7 and spring retainer 8; pg. 1:20-41; pg. 2:60-71), and wherein the adjustment mechanism allows a user to the adjust the valve clearance (pg. 1:20-41). It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve of Chou to comprise an adjustment mechanism as taught by Richter, because Richter teaches that the adjustment mechanism of their valve allows a user to easily adjust the valve clearance (pg. 1:20-41), which would affect flow through the valve. Even further still, the cited prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the cited prior art fails to disclose wherein the movement of the position of the spring adjusts a suction pressure. French teaches an on/off valve on a suction tube that is fluidly coupled to a suction device to adjust a suction pressure of a device to provide tactile and audible clicks to notify an operator of the state of the valve in a suction line during a medical procedure (col. 3:63-67 and col. 4:1-6; col. 6:51-67 and col. 7:1-16; Fig. 6, valve 10 ). It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the valve of Chou and Richter to be connected within a suction system such as that of French, because Chou discloses that their valve is capable of being used in the tubing of a liquid flow system (col. 4:6-25), and French teaches that an on/off valve comprising a pen click actuation mechanism is particularly preferred to provide tactile and audible clicks to notify an operator of the state of the valve in a suction line during a medical procedure (col. 3:63-67 and col. 4:1-6). Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 17. Chou further discloses wherein the plurality of grooves, the plurality of slants, and the plurality of ledges cause the cam to rotate as the actuatable button is depressed (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 17. Chou further discloses wherein when the downward force is released from the actuatable button, the spring moves the cam into a closed position or an open position (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 20, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 19. Chou further discloses wherein each time a downward force is applied to the actuatable button, the cam is moved into an opposing position (col. 2:34-67 and col. 3:1-2, parts of valve; col 3:3-41, principles of determining positioning of valve seat plunger 23, cam comprising lower toothed ring configured to rotate; col. 4:6-25, the two positions of valve seat plunger 23 are determined by the same principles as described previously; Fig. 2-5) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent no. 3,220,695 A to Jones discloses an on/off valve comprising a pen click actuation mechanism. U.S. Patent no. 4,451,257 A to Atchley discloses a poppet valve in a surgical aspirator. US/2005/0197645 A1 to Karpowicz discloses a poppet valve in a vacuum-assisted irrigation system . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Linnae Raymond whose telephone number is (571)272-6894. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00am to 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sarah Al-Hashimi can be reached at (571)272-7159. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781 /LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 12 June 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 2 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 3 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 4 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 6 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 7 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 8 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 9 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 10 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 12 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 13 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 14 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 15 Art Unit: 3781 Application/Control Number: 18/826,425 Page 16 Art Unit: 3781