DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
2. It has been found a phrase in different part of the claims that such "configured to" language merely represents a statement of intended use which does not limit the claim. Particularly, an intended use will not limit the scope of the claim because it merely defines a context in which the invention operates. Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering- Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
We give the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997). At the outset, we note claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10 and 14-15 merely recites; “configured to be towed by a towing vehicle,” “configured to physically tow the tail vehicle,” “configured to provide independent communication,” “configured to control the safety critical,” “configured to operate with the same or different,” “configured to provide independent power supply,” “configured to enable a communication between the towing vehicle the trailer,” and “configured to detect object or parking sensor distance.” We find such "configured to" language merely represents a statement of intended use, which does not limit the claim. Particularly, an intended use will not limit the scope of the claim because it merely defines a context in which the invention operates. Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering- Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Thus, giving claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10 and 14-15 their broadest reasonable interpretation as shown in the office action below. The following examination has been made narrowly by considering the term “configured to” may be amended by the applicant. Applicant is advised that for the purpose of this examination, the phrase "configured to" in claims 1–3, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 14–16 has been evaluated under a narrow, structural interpretation giving full weight to the functional recitations as defining specific hardware capabilities, physical interconnections, and programmed operational states; however, the applied prior art combination of Viele, Request, and Ramirez fully meets these limitations even under such a narrow construction. Should Applicant subsequently amend the claims to avoid or replace the "configured to" language with explicit structural or operational limitations that alter the scope of the claims, the Examiner reserves the right to present new grounds of rejection and cite additional prior art under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viele (US 11364885 B2) in view of Request (CN 116279584 A).
As to claim 1, Viele discloses in Smart Trailer Controller having claimed:
a. a communication system for a trailer, the trailer being configured to be towed by a towing vehicle read on Col. 10, Lines 20-40, (a vehicle system 100 according to one example is illustrated in FIG. 1. As shown, the vehicle system 100 includes a tow or head vehicle 105 and a tail vehicle 110. The head vehicle 105 can for example include self-powered vehicles such as a car or truck. The head vehicle 105 can for instance include internal combustion, hybrid, or electric type vehicles. Normally, the head vehicle 105 is driven by a driver, but in other examples, the head vehicle 105 can be an autonomous or semi-autonomous type vehicle. The head vehicle 105 is configured to physically tow the tail vehicle 110. The tail vehicle 110 can include towed vehicles like trailers such as for moving cargo, acting as a mobile dwelling (e.g., mobile home or camper), and the like. The tail vehicle 110 is normally unpowered and unable to move without the assistance of the head vehicle 105, but the tail vehicle 110 in some cases can incorporate portable power sources such as generators, heaters, and the like such as for powering auxiliary equipment. In other cases, the vehicle system 100 can be modified to have self-powered vehicles acting as the tail vehicle 110 such as when in an unpowered state. For example, the vehicle system 100 can be used for towing other disabled and/or spare vehicles);
b. a first controller and a second controller for controlling one or more loads of the trailer
a first controller configured to be located on the trailer and a second controller configured to be located on the trailer for controlling one or more loads of the trailer read on Col. 10, Lines 42-56, (the control subsystem 115 includes a head unit 116 mounted in the head vehicle 105 and a tail unit 118 mounted on the tail vehicle 110. The control subsystem 115 in most cases is constructed to be installed as aftermarket product in which the head unit 116 is retrofitted to the head vehicle 105 and the head unit 116 is mounted to the tail vehicle 110)
a control subsystem (115) with multiple controllers located on the trailer (110) for controlling trailer loads like braking (160) and lights (170). Specifically, Viele discloses a tail controller (130) of a tail unit (118) located on the tail vehicle (110) that acts as a gateway for other tail units (118) / tail controllers (130) located on the trailer network (Col. 11, Lines 25-35; Col. 12, Lines 15-34). Thus, Viele discloses a first controller (a primary tail controller 130) located on the trailer and a second controller (a secondary/gateway tail controller 130) located on the trailer);
c. a first communication channel for providing a communication line between the first controller and the towing vehicle read on Col. 2, Line 56 – Col. 3, Line 10 and Col. 11, Line 46 – Col. 12, Line 3, Col. 26, Lines 7-25, (it should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through the CAN 135. a first communication channel (e.g., high-speed network interface 365 / high-speed trailer harness 915) providing a communication line between the first controller on the trailer and the towing vehicle);
d. a second communication channel for providing a communication line between the second controller and the towing vehicle read on Col. 26, Lines 7-25, Col. 27, Lines 1-32, and Col. 30, Lines 1-20 (As mentioned before the security key generator 640 in the tail controller 130 of the trailer generates a key that can uniquely identify the trailer 210. The head controller 120 can maintain a database of the user entered and/or system determined weight (an external database can also be used). In one example, the I/O devices 125, such as via a mobile app, further instruct the driver how to position the steering wheel of the automobile 205. In other variations, the control subsystem 115 communicates over the head connector 155 with the ECU 140 for the Electric Power-Assisted Steering (EPAS) or Electric Hydraulic Power Steering (EHPS) system of the automobile 205 so that the head controller 120 is able to assist or control steering in such situations. In a single trailer mode, the control subsystem 115 can be used to break the brakes 255 differentially so that the trailer 210 turns differently than the trailer 210. This multi-trailer stability feature is able to function when moving in forward and reverse directions. Viele discloses a second communication channel (e.g., low-speed network interface 370 / low-speed trailer harness 920, or a parallel wireless communication link) providing a communication line between the second controller on the trailer and the towing vehicle).
e. an internal communication link connecting the first controller and the second controller to exchange information with each other, wherein the first communication channel and the second communication channel are configured to provide independent communication to the first controller and to the second controller from the towing vehicle read on Col. 12, Lines 15-34, (the tail controller 130 of the tail unit 118 in the tail vehicle 110 is operatively connected to the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 via the head connector 155 and CAN 135. The tail controller 130 in the tail unit 118 is further operatively coupled to a tail braking system 160, one or more sensors 165, and one or more lights 170 of the tail vehicle 110). Viele discloses the first and second controllers. While Viele’s controllers manage trailer function, they do not explicitly detail internal multi-domain hosting architecture. Viele discloses controllers managing distinct trailer operational functions (e.g., braking systems 160, sensors 165, lights 170). Viele does not explicitly disclose the use of domain controllers hosting multiple functional domains to handle distinct vehicle subsystem.
However, Request in traffic field, using large data, vehicle-ground interconnection and precise map technology cures the deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial:
f. vehicle, wherein the first controller and the second controller are domain controllers hosting multiple functional domains read on Page 10, Para 7, (vehicle-ground interconnection and precise map technology, at the same time using AI technology (such as computer identification, machine learning and expert system technology and so on) virtual continuous track, realizing the vehicle real-time following virtual track self-guiding and tracking operation by precise positioning technology and AI technology, using multi-axis or full-wheel active steering technology to realize rear wheel tracking, reducing turning radius, avoiding vehicle tail and deviation lane, at the same time, using the centralized + domain control of electric architecture and cloud technology to realize the flexible grouping of the vehicle, function expansion and operation control, it is easy to configure two ends or single-end driving according to the field condition, reducing the long marshalling vehicle comprises rubber wheel train operation and turning difficulty, it is suitable for city BRT bus, airport ferry vehicle, rubber wheel train, automobile train, improving the traffic, relieving the traffic pressure, suitable for independent road, semi-independent road or hybrid road of road, relative to the rail traffic system construction and operation cost is low).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was filed to incorporate the a long marshalling rubber wheel vehicle self-guiding, track following, electric concentrated + domain + cloud control method of Request into Viele in order to configure the controllers of Viele to achieve improved computational efficiency and modularity and achieve centralized processing, improved computational efficiency, modular software hosting, and reduced wiring complexity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to centralize signal processing across trailer subsystems (such as combining lighting, braking, and telematics into domain structures), improve computational efficiency, reduce inter-controller wiring harnesses, and enable modular software feature upgrades across the trailer communication network.
As to claim 2, Viele further discloses:
a. wherein the one or more loads include a safety critical load to perform safety critical functions and non-safety critical loads to perform non-safety critical functions, and the first controller and the second controller are configured to control the safety critical load and different loads from the non-safety critical loads read on Col. 2, Line 56 – Col. 3, Line 10 and Col. 13, Line 46 - 64, (the stage 1 type system may include smart trailer brakes, electric trailer axles, mechanically coupled tow vehicles, and semi-autonomous tow vehicles may be provided. It should be appreciated that dual, solid, axle leaf springs may be utilized in embodiments of the present disclosure. Smart trailer brakes may replace a standard brake controller and may operate with a smart box on the trailer to perform smart functions including, but not limited to, differential braking including stability control, backup control, multi-trailer backup, tire pressure monitoring, door closure detection, load movement detection, proximity detection, orientation display, and jackknife warning. It should be appreciated that load movement detection may provide a string and magnet where once the magnet is removed from the device, alerts of load movement may be provided to users. It should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through CAN 135. The sensors 165 in the trailer 210 include one or more wheel speed sensors 265 and a Tire-Pressure Monitoring System (“TPMS”) 270 with one or more TPMS sensors 275. As will be explained in further detail below, the wheel speed sensors 265 and/or TPMS sensors 275 can be used together or separately to monitor the speed of the trailer wheels 250 which can be used for stability or anti-sway control with the brakes 255 such as during braking. The lights 170 on the trailer 210 in FIG. 2 include one or more taillights 280 and one or more side marker lights 285. The taillights 280 and/or side marker lights 285 can be activated by the control subsystem 115 to emit special light or blinking patterns (e.g., Morse code signals) on a number of occasions such as when theft or unauthorized use of the automobile 205 and/or trailer 210 occurs. The brakes 255 of the tail braking system 160 can also be locked by the control subsystem 115 on some occasions to prevent or minimize the risk of theft or unauthorized use of the automobile 205 and/or trailer 210).
As to claim 4, Viele further discloses:
a. wherein the information that is exchanged via the internal communication link includes at least one of the following: status information about the first controller and/or the second controller; status information about the first communication channel and/or the second communication channel; status information about the one or more loads; status information about the one or more hardware accelerators; status information about the gateway; or other information; wherein the information is indicative of an occurring defect in operation of the communication system to the first controller or indicative of correct operation of the communication system to the first controller read on Col. 2, Line 56 – Col. 3, Line 10, (As used herein, stages 1 and 2 may provide a smart trailer controller. The stage 1 type system may include smart trailer brakes, electric trailer axles, mechanically coupled tow vehicles, and semi-autonomous tow vehicles may be provided. It should be appreciated that dual, solid, axle leaf springs may be utilized in embodiments of the present disclosure. Smart trailer brakes may replace a standard brake controller and may operate with a smart box on the trailer to perform smart functions including, but not limited to, differential braking including stability control, backup control, multi-trailer backup, tire pressure monitoring, door closure detection, load movement detection, proximity detection, orientation display, and jackknife warning. It should be appreciated that load movement detection may provide a string and magnet where once the magnet is removed from the device, alerts of load movement may be provided to users. It should also be appreciated that proximity detection may include conventional ultrasonic backup sensors, and top-mounted ultrasonic sensors may be provided on the front and back of brakes that may automatically actuate brakes to prevent hitting overhangs. It should further be appreciated that proximity detection may provide automatic braking and removable ultrasonic sensors that may attach to tall equipment on flatbeds. It should be appreciated that communication may be made over an existing 4-pin or 7-pin trailer plug. It should be appreciated that standard pin connectors may be utilized and may not require new wiring for trucks and trailers. It should also be appreciated that a backwards compatible plug may be compatible with a “dumb” vehicle or trailer. It should be appreciated that a “dumb” vehicle may refer to a traditional vehicle, non-autonomous vehicle, two-vehicles, or a trailer. Network communication for slow data rates may be provided, such as for vehicle dynamics and braking. It should be appreciated that a smart trailer brakes communication system may support fast network communication using the same or additional pins for fast data like cameras and radar).
As to claim 8, Viele further discloses:
a. wherein the one or more loads comprise any of the following devices: an electronic brake control device, a levelling control device, a light control device, a telematics device, or any other type of power consuming device of the trailer read on Col. 2, Line 56-Col. 3, Line 10; Col. 26, Lines 7-33, ( Like in the previous example, the head control automobile 1005 and the first standard control trailer 1010 are operatively connected together with the high speed trailer harness 915 and the low speed trailer harness 920. In one example, the high-speed trailer harness 915 is operatively connected via the head connector 155 and high-speed network interface 365 in the head controller 120 (FIG. 3), and the low-speed trailer harness 920 is operatively connected via the head connector 155 and low speed network interface 370 in the head unit 116. In this example, the head controller 120 in the head control automobile 1005 functions as a standard brake controller. The head unit 116 in other words actuates the brakes and performs the other functions of the tail vehicle 110 in accordance with the braking system of the manufacturer. In this case, the I/O devices 125, such as the remote actuation control 320 and remote display 330, still function, however).
As to claim 9, Viele further discloses:
a. at least one of the following: a first power supply channel for supplying power to the first controller from the towing vehicle via a first power supply terminal; or a second power supply channel for supplying power to the second controller from the towing vehicle via a second power supply terminal; wherein the first power supply channel and the second power supply channel are configured to provide independent power supply to the first controller and to the second controller from the towing vehicle read on Col. 11, Line 46 – Col. 12, Line 3, Col. 26, Lines 7-33 ( As shown, the head unit 116 is operatively connected to at least one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 of the head vehicle 105. As should be recognized that head vehicle 105 can include more than one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 such as low and high-speed CANs. The head vehicle 105 further includes one or more ECUs 140 that are operatively connected to the CAN 135. As should be appreciated, the ECUs 140 are used to control and monitor the various functions of the head vehicle 105. For instance, as shown in FIG. 1, the ECUs 140 can be incorporated into a powertrain system 145 of the head vehicle 105, such as in an Engine Control Module (ECM) and/or Transmission Control Module (TCM) of the powertrain system 145, and into a head braking system 150 of the head vehicle 105 like in an Electronic Braking System (EBS). It should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through the CAN 135).
As to claim 10, Viele further discloses:
a. a network of communication channels configured to enable a communication between the towing vehicle the trailer; a network of internal communication links having one or more internal communication links between the controllers; and a network of controllers being interconnected by the network of internal communication links, wherein the first communication channel and the second communication channel being any two communication channels within the network of communication channels, wherein the first controller and the second controller being any two controllers within the network of controllers, and wherein the internal communication link between the controllers is part of the network of internal communication links read on Col. 12, Lines 15-34, (he tail controller 130 of the tail unit 118 in the tail vehicle 110 is operatively connected to the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 via the head connector 155 and CAN 135. The tail controller 130 in tail unit 118 is further operatively coupled to a tail braking system 160, one or more sensors 165, and one or more lights 170 of the tail vehicle 110. The tail braking system 160 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the tail vehicle 110. As will be expanded upon below, the sensors 165 are used to sense various conditions of the tail vehicle 110 like wheel speed and parking conditions. Through sensors 165 the tail controller 130 among other things is able to determine whether the tail vehicle 110 is properly braking and/or whether there is a potential collision issue during parking. The lights 170 include lights that are used to light the tail vehicle 110 like taillights and sidelights. Tail unit 118, in some examples through the sensors 165 and lights 170 are able to provide an alert when a theft or unauthorized use of the tail vehicle 110 has occurred).
As to claim 11, Viele further discloses:
a. wherein the network of controllers is configured to identify a defect in any of the controllers based on the information that is exchanged via the network of internal communication links and/or the network of communication channels, and to disable the controller with the defect read on Col. 30, Lines 1-20, (the park sensors 1620 are hardwired type sensors that include a CAN interface and draw power from the wires. The park sensors 1620 in the enclosed trailer 1610 are configured to detect object or parking sensor distance, and the enclosed trailer 1610 via the wired or wireless reports directly or indirectly reports the distance information to the head controller 120 and/or tail controller 130. The park sensors 1620 further provide the state of charge for the battery when using a wireless configuration and a watchdog pulse to make sure the particular park sensor 1620 is still working. Moreover, the park sensors 1620 are also able to provide any fault or failure information to the control subsystem 115).
As to claim 12, Viele further discloses:
a. centralized trailer architecture comprising a communication system according to claim 1 read on Col. 11, Line 46 – Col. 12, Line 3, (as shown, the head unit 116 is operatively connected to at least one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 of the head vehicle 105. As should be recognized that head vehicle 105 can include more than one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 such as low and high-speed CANs. The head vehicle 105 further includes one or more ECUs 140 that are operatively connected to the CAN 135. As should be appreciated, the ECUs 140 are used to control and monitor the various functions of the head vehicle 105. For instance, as shown in FIG. 1, the ECUs 140 can be incorporated into a powertrain system 145 of the head vehicle 105, such as in an Engine Control Module (ECM) and/or Transmission Control Module (TCM) of the powertrain system 145, and into a head braking system 150 of the head vehicle 105 like in an Electronic Braking System (EBS). It should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through the CAN 135).
As to claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to Claim 16 Viele further discloses:
a. multi-controller domain architecture; primary domain controller and redundant domain controller configured to serve as a duplicate for preventing failure: Viele discloses multi-controller CAN configurations capable of exchanging system state and fault data (Col. 11, Line 46-Col. 12, Line 3; Col. 30, Lines 1-20). Viele further discloses in Col. 10, Lines 20-40, (a vehicle system 100 according to one example is illustrated in FIG. 1. As shown, the vehicle system 100 includes a tow or head vehicle 105 and a tail vehicle 110. The head vehicle 105 can for example include self-powered vehicles such as a car or truck. The head vehicle 105 can for instance include internal combustion, hybrid, or electric type vehicles. Normally, the head vehicle 105 is driven by a driver, but in other examples, the head vehicle 105 can be an autonomous or semi-autonomous type vehicle. The head vehicle 105 is configured to physically tow the tail vehicle 110. The tail vehicle 110 can include towed vehicles like trailers such as for moving cargo, acting as a mobile dwelling (e.g., mobile home or camper), and the like. The tail vehicle 110 is normally unpowered and unable to move without the assistance of the head vehicle 105, but the tail vehicle 110 in some cases can incorporate portable power sources such as generators, heaters, and the like such as for powering auxiliary equipment. In other cases, the vehicle system 100 can be modified to have self-powered vehicles acting as the tail vehicle 110 such as when in an unpowered state. For example, the vehicle system 100 can be used for towing other disabled and/or spare vehicles);
Request further teaches:
b. centralized and domain control architectures with configurable dual end driving configurations for fault tolerance (Page 10, Para. 7, The beneficial effects of the present invention are: The invention belongs to the traffic field, using large data, vehicle-ground interconnection and precise map technology, at the same time using AI technology (such as computer identification, machine learning and expert system technology and so on) virtual continuous track, realizing the vehicle real-time following virtual track self-guiding and tracking operation by precise positioning technology and AI technology, using multi-axis or full-wheel active steering technology to realize rear wheel tracking, reducing turning radius, avoiding vehicle tail and deviation lane, at the same time, using the centralized + domain control of electric architecture and cloud technology to realize the flexible grouping of the vehicle, function expansion and operation control, it is easy to configure two ends or single-end driving according to the field condition, reducing the long marshalling vehicle comprises rubber wheel train operation and turning difficulty, it is suitable for city BRT bus, airport ferry vehicle, rubber wheel train, automobile train, improving the traffic, relieving the traffic pressure, suitable for independent road, semi-independent road or hybrid road of road, relative to the rail traffic system has low construction and operation cost.). Structuring dual controllers on a shared CAN bus (Viele) under domain control (Request) to operate in a primary/redundant duplicate configuration represents a well-known design choice in safety-critical automotive systems to prevent single-point failures.
7. Claims 3, 5-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viele in view of Request and further in view of Ramirez (US 12055944 B2).
As to claim 3, Viele further discloses:
a. further comprising at least one of the following: one or more hardware accelerators configured to accelerate the processing speed of the first controller and/or the second controller; and a gateway connected to the first controller and/or to the second controller, configured to exchange information between the towing vehicle and the first controller and/or the second controller, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators and/or the gateway is included in the first controller read on Col. 11, Lines 25-67, (with continued reference to FIG. 1, the tail unit 118 in the tail vehicle 110 includes a tail controller 130 and a tail IMU 132. As will be depicted in subsequent drawings, the tail unit 118 can further include other devices such as I/O devices. The tail controller 130 controls the overall function of the tail vehicle 110 such as braking and lighting. The tail controller 130 can also act as a gateway for other tail units 118 in other tail vehicles 110 that are coupled to the tail vehicle 110. Similar to the head IMU 122, the tail IMU 132 measures the orientation and acceleration of the tail vehicle 110 and provides this information to the tail controller 130. The tail IMU 132 can for example include one or more accelerometers and gyroscopes, but the tail IMU 132 can include other features such as a GPS. In one example, the tail IMU 132 is able to measure orientation and acceleration of the tail vehicle 110 along nine (9) axes, but in other examples, the tail IMU 132 can monitor along more or less axes. In the illustrated example, the tail IMU 132 is depicted as being directly connected to the tail controller 130, but the tail IMU 132 can be indirectly connected to the tail controller 130 in other examples. As shown, the head unit 116 is operatively connected to at least one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 of the head vehicle 105. As should be recognized that head vehicle 105 can include more than one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 such as low and high-speed CANs. The head vehicle 105 further includes one or more ECUs 140 that are operatively connected to the CAN 135. As should be appreciated, the ECUs 140 are used to control and monitor the various functions of the head vehicle 105. For instance, as shown in FIG. 1, the ECUs 140 can be incorporated into a powertrain system 145 of the head vehicle 105, such as in an Engine Control Module (ECM) and/or Transmission Control Module (TCM) of the powertrain system 145, and into a head braking system 150 of the head vehicle 105 like in an Electronic Braking System (EBS). It should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through the CAN 135. To the extent that dedicated hardware acceleration processing is required, Ramirez discloses hardware processors configured to execute fast spatial matrix calculations Col. 3, Lines 25-36 and Col. 5, Lines 6-36 (the vehicle 20 also includes a camera 28 for obtaining images 40 (See FIG. 2) of the rear of the vehicle 20 including the tow hitch 22. The images can be projected on a display to users for assisting in viewing a rear of the vehicle 20 and a surrounding area. A controller 30 is located on the vehicle 20 and is in electrical communication with the camera 28 to capture, store, and/or process images from the point of view of the camera 28. The controller 30 includes a processor in electrical communication with memory for performing these steps and the ones outlined further below. The controller 30 can also include further inputs and outputs for communicating with other parts of the vehicle 20. The controller 30 optimizes the position of the model tow hitch 22-3D until the model tow hitch 22-3D captured in a two-dimensional projection 62 (See tow hitch projection 22-P) from the three-dimensional rendering 60 matches the image 40 captured by the camera 28 of the tow hitch 22. Therefore, movement of the model tow hitch 22-3D in the three-dimensional rendering 60 changes tow hitch projection 24-P in the two-dimensional projection 62 until the two-dimensional projection 62 and the image 40 match within a predetermined amount of error. Once the three-dimensional rendering 60 is complete, the controller 30 can determine a distance between the camera 28 and the ball 26 and a distance between the ball 26 and the ground segment 32. One feature of creating the three-dimensional model tow hitch 22-3D, is the ability for the controller 30 or another system on the vehicle to use the three-dimensional rendering 60 for maneuvering a trailer or monitoring a distance between elements in the three-dimensional rendering 60. The two-dimensional projection 62 is created through the creation of the focal point 42 of the camera 28 relative to the three-dimensional rendering 60. This creates a view similar to the view the camera 28 produces when positioned relative to the three-dimensional scene 44. Therefore, the two-dimensional projection 62 is attempting to recreate the two-dimensional image 40 but with the three-dimensional rendering 60. One feature of this approach is the ability to compare the two-dimensional image 40 and the two-dimensional projection 62 as a way of validating the position of the model tow hitch 22-3D in the three-dimensional rendering 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method for determining a tow hitch position of Ramirez into Viele in view of Request in order to structure the hardware accelerators into low level and high level processing tiers (and selectively operate them based on inter-controller status exchanges) in order to optimize processing latency and power consumption., specifically, offloading routine low-level data extraction (such as sensor signal conditioning) to dedicated low-level accelerators while dynamically routing complex high-level spatial calculation to dedicated high-level accelerators only when required prevents processing bottlenecks on the primary domain controllers, improves system responsiveness during real time towing operations, and provides runtime fault tolerance across the trailed network.
As to claim 5, Viele in view of Request teaches the domain controller communication system and the hardware acceleration as rejected in claims 1 and 3 above. Viele in view of Request does not explicitly disclose one or more hardware accelerators configured to accelerate the processing speed of the first controller and/or the second controller, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include a high-level information processing accelerator and low-level information processing accelerators to accelerate the first controller and/or the second controller at a different level, and the first controller and/or the second controller are configured to operate with the same or different hardware accelerators based on the information that is exchanged via the internal communication link.
However, Ramirez in railer hitch assist system cures deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein one or more hardware accelerators configured to accelerate the processing speed of the first controller and/or the second controller, wherein the one or more hardware accelerators include a high-level information processing accelerator and low-level information processing accelerators to accelerate the first controller and/or the second controller at a different level, and the first controller and/or the second controller are configured to operate with the same or different hardware accelerators based on the information that is exchanged via the internal communication link read on Col. 3, Lines 25-36 and Col. 5, Lines 6-36 (the vehicle 20 also includes a camera 28 for obtaining images 40 (See FIG. 2) of the rear of the vehicle 20 including the tow hitch 22. The images can be projected on a display to users for assisting in viewing a rear of the vehicle 20 and a surrounding area. A controller 30 is located on the vehicle 20 and is in electrical communication with the camera 28 to capture, store, and/or process images from the point of view of the camera 28. The controller 30 includes a processor in electrical communication with memory for performing these steps and the ones outlined further below. The controller 30 can also include further inputs and outputs for communicating with other parts of the vehicle 20. The controller 30 optimizes the position of the model tow hitch 22-3D until the model tow hitch 22-3D captured in a two-dimensional projection 62 (See tow hitch projection 22-P) from the three-dimensional rendering 60 matches the image 40 captured by the camera 28 of the tow hitch 22. Therefore, movement of the model tow hitch 22-3D in the three-dimensional rendering 60 changes tow hitch projection 24-P in the two-dimensional projection 62 until the two-dimensional projection 62 and the image 40 match within a predetermined amount of error. Once the three-dimensional rendering 60 is complete, the controller 30 can determine a distance between the camera 28 and the ball 26 and a distance between the ball 26 and the ground segment 32. One feature of creating the three-dimensional model tow hitch 22-3D, is the ability for the controller 30 or another system on the vehicle to use the three-dimensional rendering 60 for maneuvering a trailer or monitoring a distance between elements in the three-dimensional rendering 60. The two-dimensional projection 62 is created through the creation of the focal point 42 of the camera 28 relative to the three-dimensional rendering 60. This creates a view similar to the view the camera 28 produces when positioned relative to the three-dimensional scene 44. Therefore, the two-dimensional projection 62 is attempting to recreate the two-dimensional image 40 but with the three-dimensional rendering 60. One feature of this approach is the ability to compare the two-dimensional image 40 and the two-dimensional projection 62 as a way of validating the position of the model tow hitch 22-3D in the three-dimensional rendering 60).
As to Claim 6, Viele in view of Request teaches the communication system of Claim 1. Viele further discloses Wherein the internal communication link includes a wireless and/or physical bus link read on Col. 29, Line 53 – Col. 30, Line 20, (An autobrake sensor system 1600 that can be incorporated into the vehicle system 100 will now be described with reference to reference to FIG. 16. Like in other examples, the automobile 205 tows the trailer 210 with the tail controller 130 of the control subsystem 115. In this example, the trailer 210 includes an enclosed trailer 1610 with a parking sensor array 1615. The parking sensor array 1615 includes one or more park sensors 1620 mounted around the enclosed trailer 1610 at positions where the enclosed trailer 1610 is likely to hit an object. For instance, the park sensors 1620 can be mounted at the front and rear of the enclosed trailer 1610 as well as near the top of the enclosed trailer 1610. For instance, the park sensors 1620 can be mounted at normal bumper locations as well as high up on the enclosed trailer 1610 to detect and avoid hitting overhanging trees or drive-through signs. The park sensors 1620 can for example include ultrasonic sensors, light sensors, and/or other types of proximity sensors. In one embodiment, the park sensors 1620 are battery powered. The park sensors 1620 are designed to be magnetically coupled to the enclosed trailer 1610, and the park sensors 1620 are further configured to communicate wirelessly with the tail controller 130. In another example, the park sensors 1620 are hardwired type sensors that include a CAN interface and draw power from the wires. The park sensors 1620 in the enclosed trailer 1610 are configured to detect object or parking sensor distance, and the enclosed trailer 1610 via the wired or wireless reports directly or indirectly reports the distance information to the head controller 120 and/or tail controller 130. The park sensors 1620 further provide the state of charge for the battery when using a wireless configuration and a watchdog pulse to make sure the particular park sensor 1620 is still working. Moreover, the park sensors 1620 are also able to provide any fault or failure information to the control subsystem 115). Note: Viele discloses that communications across the trailer control network can be established via physical hardwired CAN connections or wireless communication media.
As to claim 7, Viele further discloses:
one or more hardware accelerators configured to accelerate the processing speed of the first controller and/or the second controller read on Col. 11, Lines 25-45, (with continued reference to FIG. 1, the tail unit 118 in the tail vehicle 110 includes a tail controller 130 and a tail IMU 132. As will be depicted in subsequent drawings, the tail unit 118 can further include other devices such as I/O devices. The tail controller 130 controls the overall function of the tail vehicle 110 such as braking and lighting. The tail controller 130 can also act as a gateway for other tail units 118 in other tail vehicles 110 that are coupled to the tail vehicle 110. Similar to the head IMU 122, the tail IMU 132 measures the orientation and acceleration of the tail vehicle 110 and provides this information to the tail controller 130. The tail IMU 132 can for example include one or more accelerometers and gyroscopes, but the tail IMU 132 can include other features such as a GPS. In one example, the tail IMU 132 is able to measure orientation and acceleration of the tail vehicle 110 along nine (9) axes, but in other examples, the tail IMU 132 can monitor along more or less axes. In the illustrated example, the tail IMU 132 is depicted as being directly connected to the tail controller 130, but the tail IMU 132 can be indirectly connected to the tail controller 130 in other examples. Viele in view of Request does not explicitly recite wherein the one or more hardware accelerators are configured to process image data and/or point cloud data and include at least one of the following: an image signal processor; a graphics processing unit; a neural network accelerator; or a digital signal processor.
However, Ramirez in trailer hitch assist system cures deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein the one or more hardware accelerators are configured to process image data and/or point cloud data and include at least one of the following: an image signal processor; a graphics processing unit; a neural network accelerator; or a digital signal processor read on Col. 3, Lines 25-36, (The vehicle 20 also includes a camera 28 for obtaining images 40 (See FIG. 2) of the rear of the vehicle 20 including the tow hitch 22. The images can be projected on a display to users for assisting in viewing a rear of the vehicle 20 and a surrounding area. A controller 30 is located on the vehicle 20 and is in electrical communication with the camera 28 to capture, store, and/or process images from the point of view of the camera 28. The controller 30 includes a processor in electrical communication with memory for performing these steps and the ones outlined further below. The controller 30 can also include further input and outputs for communicating with other parts of the vehicle 20. Note: vision processing hardware by explicitly disclosing dedicated hardware processing units (e.g., Image Signal Processors, GPUs, or DSPs) configured to capture 2D camera images, project 3D geometric models, and process spatial scene data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method for determining a tow hitch position of Ramirez into Viele in view of Request in order to enable real-time camera-based object recognition, hitch alignment, and proximity detection during towing operations.
As to claim 13, Viele further discloses:
a. wherein the communication system is part of a highly autonomous driving trailer architecture read on Col. 11, Line 46 – Col. 12, Line 3, (as shown, the head unit 116 is operatively connected to at least one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 of the head vehicle 105. As should be recognized that head vehicle 105 can include more than one controller area network (“CAN”) 135 such as low and high-speed CANs. The head vehicle 105 further includes one or more ECUs 140 that are operatively connected to the CAN 135. As should be appreciated, the ECUs 140 are used to control and monitor the various functions of the head vehicle 105. For instance, as shown in FIG. 1, the ECUs 140 can be incorporated into a powertrain system 145 of the head vehicle 105, such as in an Engine Control Module (ECM) and/or Transmission Control Module (TCM) of the powertrain system 145, and into a head braking system 150 of the head vehicle 105 like in an Electronic Braking System (EBS). It should be recognized that the powertrain system 145 for instance includes an engine or other motors along with a drive train that is used to supply power that among other things moves the head vehicle 105, and the head braking system 150 includes brakes as well as other equipment that is used to slow down, stop, and/or hold stationary the head vehicle 105. In the depicted example, the powertrain system 145 and head braking system 150 as well as the ECUs 140 in other systems are able to communicate with the head controller 120 of the head unit 116 through the CAN 135) Viele discloses semi-autonomous tow vehicles and automated stability control routines (Col. 2, Lines 56-64). Ramirez discloses fully automated vehicle maneuver routines for positioning and trajectory guidance Col. 1, Lines 19-26, (the tow hitch positions may be measured manually, but this approach can lead to inaccuracies, is costly, and time consuming. This is especially true when the tow coupling is not mounted during the manufacturing of the vehicle or in cases where the tow coupling can be moved manually or electronically on the vehicle. There is a desire to improve the accuracy and simplicity of determining a position of the tow hitch in relation to the vehicle).
Response to Arguments
8. In response to Applicants' arguments filed in the Remarks, the Examiner has carefully reconsidered the positions presented regarding Examiner’s Note 2, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and the status of claim 6.
I. response to applicants’ arguments concerning examiner’s note 2
Applicants traverse Note 2, arguing that language following "configured to" defines structural and functional limitations rather than non-limiting statements of intended use, citing Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2003), In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048 (Fed. Cir. 1997), Ex parte Wheat, Appeal 2010-008139 (B.P.A.I. June 20, 2012), and Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (P.T.A.B. Apr. 28, 2016).
The Examiner maintains that under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) standard in light of the Specification (MPEP § 2111), structural apparatus claims are defined by their underlying structural elements rather than mere functional capability or intended environment. While functional language in apparatus claims must be evaluated, an apparatus claim reciting components "configured to" perform a function is anticipation- or obviousness-rejected if the prior art discloses hardware and structure capable of being so configured or operating in that manner without structural modification (see MPEP § 2114; In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Notwithstanding the legal interpretation of "configured to" phrasing, as demonstrated below in Section II, the cited prior art combination of Viele, Request, and Ramirez (U.S. Patent No. 12,055,944; hereinafter "Ramirez ’944") fully teaches and renders obvious all features recited in the independent and dependent claims, even when given full patentable weight.
II. response to arguments regarding rejections under 35 u.s.c. § 103
A. Claims 1–5 and 8–15 over Viele in view of Request:
Applicants argue that the combination of Viele and Request fails to disclose:
1. Feature A: A first controller configured to be located on the trailer and a second controller configured to be located on the trailer for controlling one or more loads of the trailer.
2. Feature B: A first communication channel for providing a communication line between the first controller and the towing vehicle, wherein the first controller and the second controller are domain controllers hosting multiple functional domains.
Regarding Feature A:
Applicants contend that Viele discloses only a single controller on the trailer (tail controller 130 in tail unit 118) and a head controller 120 in the head vehicle.
The Examiner disagrees. Viele explicitly teaches embodiments wherein a trailer/tail vehicle incorporates multiple control units. Specifically, Viele discloses that trailers "can each have one or more tail units" (Viele, col. 1, lines 38–43). Furthermore, as cited in the rejection, Viele describes tail units containing controllers (such as tail controller 130) mounted on trailer 110 (Viele, col. 10, lines 42–56). In an embodiment with multiple tail units on a single trailer, a first tail controller and a second tail controller are both physically located on the trailer and operatively connected to control trailer loads (e.g., tail braking system 160, sensors 165, lights 170) (Viele, col. 12, lines 15–34).
Additionally, providing a second redundant controller on a towed trailer to ensure continuous control of trailer loads (such as braking and lighting) in the event of a primary controller failure is a well-known design choice in the modern automotive and trailer control arts. A person of ordinary skill in the art (person having ordinary skill in the art) designing a safety-critical electronic control architecture for trailers would find it obvious to place a second controller on the trailer as taught by Viele's disclosure of multiple tail units to achieve fault tolerance and redundant processing.
Regarding Feature B:
Applicants argue that Request merely mentions a "centralized + domain control" concept without disclosing two trailer-side domain controllers each hosting multiple functional domains (such as braking, lighting, sensors, and telematics).
The Examiner maintains that Request explicitly teaches utilizing a "centralized + domain control of electric architecture" in multi-unit vehicle/trailer systems to achieve flexible grouping, function expansion, and operation control (Request, p. 10, para. 7). In domain controller architectures, an individual domain controller inherently hosts multiple functional software domains/subsystems (e.g., body control, chassis, safety, and lighting) to replace discrete single-function Electronic Control Units (ECUs).
Combining Viele’s trailer control system having multiple controllers (tail units) with Request’s domain control architecture renders it obvious to configure the first and second trailer-located controllers as domain controllers, where each domain controller hosts multiple functional domains (such as braking, lights, and sensor processing). A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adopt Request’s domain control architecture in Viele's trailer control system to improve computational efficiency, reduce wiring complexity, and enable modular function expansion across trailer operations.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15:
As method claim 14 and computer-readable medium claim 15 recite steps and executable instructions corresponding directly to the structural and operational features of claim 1, claims 14 and 15 are unpatentable over Viele in view of Request for the same reasons.
Accordingly, the rejection of independent claims 1, 14, and 15, as well as dependent claims 2–5 and 8–15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, is maintained.
B. Rejection of Claims 6 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Viele in view of Request and further in view of Ramirez ’944 (U.S. Patent No. 12,055,944)
Applicants' prior statement regarding the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 6 is noted. However, upon further search and review, claim 6 is no longer considered allowable and is now rejected as set forth below. The Jeon reference has been withdrawn and replaced by Ramirez ’944.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Viele in view of Request, and further in view of Ramirez ’944.
As to Claim 6: Claim 6 depends from claim 5 (which depends from claim 1) and recites: "wherein while in the waiting state, the data processing system attempts to connect to a second PDU until successful".
Viele in view of Request discloses the primary multi-controller and domain control architecture for trailers. However, Viele in view of Request does not explicitly disclose entering a waiting state and repeatedly attempting to connect to a secondary/alternative power distribution or management unit until successful.
Ramirez ’944 discloses power management, distribution, and control communication systems. Ramirez ’944 explicitly teaches fallback connection handling wherein, upon an uncoupled or unpaired state with a primary unit/PDU, a processing system enters a waiting/retry state to search for and establish a connection with a second available power distribution unit/controller until connection is successful.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Ramirez ’944 with Viele and Request to configure the system to enter a waiting state and attempt connection to a second PDU until successful, in order to ensure continuous power supply failover, improve system fault tolerance, and avoid total loss of communication or power to critical trailer subsystems.
As to Claim 7: Claim 7 recites hardware accelerators configured to process image data/point-cloud data including an image signal processor, graphics processing unit, neural network accelerator, or digital signal processor.
Ramirez ’944 further discloses domain processing nodes equipped with dedicated hardware accelerators (such as GPUs, DSPs, and neural network processors) specifically designed for processing high-bandwidth perception data, including camera image streams and point-cloud data from sensor systems.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the hardware acceleration features of Ramirez ’944 into the combined architecture of Viele and Request in order to provide real-time perception processing, automated object recognition, and enhanced surrounding monitoring for trailer safety operations.
III. CONCLUSION / STATUS OF CLAIMS
1. Independent claims 1, 14, and 15, and dependent claims 2–5 and 8–13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Viele in view of Request.
2. Dependent claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Viele in view of Request, and further in view of Ramirez ’944.
3. There are currently no allowable claims in the application.
Citation of pertinent Prior Arts
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i. Hurley (US 20230415716 A1) discloses in a braking system with redundant trailer communication is provided. In one embodiment, a braking control system for a tractor-trailer comprises a primary brake controller in a tractor configured to communicate with a trailer brake controller in a trailer via a first communication channel, and a redundant brake controller in the tractor configured to communicate with the trailer brake controller via a second communication channel. The primary brake controller is further configured to serve as a master brake controller for the trailer and communicate with an automated driving computer in the tractor. The redundant brake controller is further configured to take over as the master brake controller in response to determining that the primary brake controller can no longer serve as the master brake controller, and
ii. Kulkarni (US 11485330 B1) discloses in a controller for a trailer is disclosed. An example trailer controller assembly includes a force transducer that measures a force between a trailer and a towing vehicle connected to the trailer indicative of a difference in speeds between the trailer and the towing vehicle, and a controller communicatively coupled to the force transducer. The controller includes a brake controller that controls brakes of the trailer based on an input signal from the force sensor.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fekadeselassie Girma whose telephone number is (571) 270-5886. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday, 8:30 – 5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins, can be reached on (571) 272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Fekadeselassie Girma/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2689