DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanase et al US 2017/0015314 in view of Moriya et al US 2022/0063633.
Regarding claim 1, Moriya et al discloses a vehicle (see paragraph [0015]) comprising: a sensor configured to detect a state of a driver of the vehicle (see paragraph [0042]); and, in response to a determination that the vehicle has stopped, acquire information indicating the state of the driver from the sensor while the vehicle remains stopped, determine whether the driver is in an abnormal state based on the information, in response to a determination that the driver is not in the abnormal state, release the brake after a first threshold time has elapsed since the vehicle has stopped, and in response to a determination that the driver is in the abnormal state, release the brake after a second threshold time has elapsed since the vehicle has stopped, the second threshold time being longer than the first threshold time. See FIG. 3 and 4 and corresponding text.
Moriya et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Tanase et al discloses a processor (50, 70) configured to calculate a predicted collision time, the predicted collision time being a time until the vehicle collides with an obstacle (see paragraphs [0072]-[0075]), determine whether the predicted collision time is equal to or less than a threshold time, in response to a determination that the predicted collision time is equal to or less than the threshold time, operate a brake actuator of the vehicle to stop the vehicle, determine whether the vehicle has stopped after starting to operate the brake actuator. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0082]-[0088].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Moriya et al in the system of Tanase et al for safety purposes.
Regarding claim 2, Moriya et al discloses wherein the sensor includes a camera
configured to capture an image of the driver. See paragraphs [0042] and [0043].
Regarding claim 6, Moriya et al discloses wherein the sensor includes a seating sensor
configured to detect a seating position of the driver. See paragraphs [0043], [0057], [0075], and [0120].
Regarding claim 7, Moriya et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine whether gaze direction of the driver is outside a predetermined range including a front of the vehicle, and
in a case where the gaze direction of the driver is outside the predetermined range, determine that the driver is in the abnormal state. See paragraphs [0041], [0068], [0073], and [0077].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanase et al and Moriya et al, as applied above, in view of Roh US 2022/0017098.
Regarding claim 5, Moriya discloses wherein the sensor includes a physiological measurement device configured to detect a pulse rate of the driver. See paragraphs [0042] and [0043].
Tanase et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Roh discloses wherein the sensor includes a physiological measurement device configured to detect a heart rate of the driver. See Abstract and claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Roh in the system of Tanase et al for safety purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747