DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: split section, transmission section, and reception section in claims 1-4 and 6, .
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses the split section, transmission section and reception section are functions realized by the PC CPU running the PC application at ¶ [63].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akihiko Niwa (US 6113294 A).
Regarding claim 1, Niwa discloses an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with a tape printing apparatus (Col. 4 lines 25-35) configured to perform feeding operation of a tape in a first direction (Col. 4 lines 59-63), printing on the tape, a full cut of the tape (Col. 11 lines 42-64), and boundary formation processing forming a boundary between labels on the tape (Col. 8 lines 48-54), the information processing apparatus comprising:
a split section configured to split a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs (Col. 7 line 66 through Col. 8 line 9); and
a transmission section configured to transmit a plurality of the split print jobs to the tape printing apparatus, wherein the transmission section performs the full cut at an end in a second direction opposite to the first direction of the label to be printed last among one or more of the labels to be printed in accordance with the split print jobs (Col. 8 line 55 through Col. 9 line 8), and when a plurality of the labels are printed in accordance with the split print jobs, the transmission section transmits a plurality of the split print jobs, the individual split print jobs with added first cut information instructing the tape printing apparatus to perform the boundary formation processing between labels of a plurality of the labels, to the tape printing apparatus (Col. 8 lines 59 through Col. 9 line 2).
Regarding claim 2, Niwa discloses the information processing apparatus to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), further comprising a reception section that receives a setting value y indicating into how many pieces to split a plurality of the labels to be printed in accordance with the print job, wherein when a number of pieces of a plurality of the labels is x, in a case in which there is no remainder in x/y, the split section splits the print job into x/y the split print jobs, whereas in a case in which there is a remainder in x/y, the split section splits the print job into ([x/y] + 1) the split print jobs (Col. 10 line 63 through Col. 11 line 16 and Col. 11 line 47 through Col. 12 line 12).
Regarding claim 4, Niwa discloses the information processing apparatus to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), further comprising
a transmission controller configured to control the transmission section such that
the transmission section has any one of a plurality of settings including a first cut setting to add the first cut information to the print job and a second cut setting to add second cut information to perform the full cut at an end in the second direction of one or more of the labels to the print job (Col. 10 lines 25-45 and Col. 2 lines 12-18 wherein the number of printed areas designated by the user determines the full cut position), and
when the print job is split by the split section, and in a case in which the cut setting in the transmission section is not the first cut setting, by changing the cut setting of the transmission section to the first cut setting, the first cut information is added to a plurality of the individual split print jobs, and a plurality of the individual split print jobs with the first cut information added are transmitted to the tape printing apparatus (Col. 7 line 66 through Col. 8 line 15 and Col. 9 line 65 through Col. 10 line 6).
Regarding claim 5, Niwa discloses a control method of an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with a tape printing apparatus configured to perform feeding operation of a tape in a first direction, printing on the tape, a full cut of the tape, and boundary formation processing forming a boundary between labels on the tape, the control method causing the information processing apparatus to perform processing (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
splitting a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1); and
transmitting a plurality of the split print jobs to the tape printing apparatus, wherein, in the transmitting, performing the full cut at an end in a second direction opposite to the first direction of the label to be printed last among one or more of the labels to be printed in accordance with the split print jobs, and when a plurality of the labels are printed in accordance with the split print jobs, transmitting a plurality of the split print jobs, the individual split print jobs with added first cut information instructing the tape printing apparatus to perform the boundary formation processing between labels of a plurality of the labels, to the tape printing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Niwa discloses a printing system including a tape printing apparatus configured to perform feeding operation of a tape in a first direction, printing on the tape, a full cut of the tape, and boundary formation processing forming a boundary between labels on the tape (see rejection of claim 1), and an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with the tape printing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1), the information processing apparatus comprising:
a split section configured to split a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1); and
a transmission section configured to transmit a plurality of the split print jobs to the tape printing apparatus, wherein the transmission section performs the full cut at an end in a second direction opposite to the first direction of the label to be printed last among one or more of the labels to be printed in accordance with the split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1), and when a plurality of the labels are printed in accordance with the split print jobs, the transmission section transmits a plurality of the split print jobs, the individual split print jobs with added first cut information instructing the tape printing apparatus to perform the boundary formation processing between labels of a plurality of the labels, to the tape printing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Niwa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (Col. 7 lines 22-28), the program causing an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with a tape printing apparatus configured to perform feeding operation of a tape in a first direction, printing on the tape, a full cut of the tape, and boundary formation processing forming a boundary between labels on the tape to perform processing (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
splitting a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1); and
transmission controlling of a transmission section so that a plurality of the split print jobs are transmitted to the tape printing apparatus, wherein in the transmission controlling, performing the full cut at an end in a second direction opposite to the first direction of the label to be printed last among one or more of the labels to be printed in accordance with the split print jobs, and when a plurality of the labels are printed in accordance with the split print jobs, controlling the transmission section so that the transmission section adds first cut information instructing the tape printing apparatus to perform the boundary formation processing between labels of a plurality of the labels to the individual split print jobs, and transmits a plurality of the split print jobs, the individual split print jobs with the first cut information added, to the tape printing apparatus (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Niwa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (Col. 7 lines 22-28), the program causing an information processing apparatus configured to transmit a print job to a tape printing apparatus configured to perform feeding operation of a tape in a first direction, printing on the tape, a full cut of the tape, and boundary formation processing forming a boundary between labels on the tape (see rejection of claim 1), to perform processing comprising:
splitting a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1);
performing the full cut at an end in a second direction opposite to the first direction of the label to be printed last among one or more of the labels to be printed in accordance with the split print jobs (see rejection of claim 1); and
when a plurality of the labels are printed in accordance with the split print jobs, adding first cut information instructing the tape printing apparatus to perform the boundary formation processing between labels of a plurality of the labels to a plurality of the individual split print jobs (Col. 9 line 65 through Col. 10 line 6 and Col. 10 line 25-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiko Niwa (US 6113294 A) in view of Ono Mitsuko et al (JP 2003285486 A).
Regarding claim 3, Niwa discloses the information processing apparatus to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Niwa fails to disclose a display controller that displays a visual image indicating that a plurality of label sets with a boundary formed between labels, the individual label sets including one or more of the labels, are created on a display section.
Mitsuko et al, in the same field of endeavor of tape printing producing printed labels (¶ [1]), teaches a display controller that displays a visual image indicating that a plurality of label sets with a boundary formed between labels, the individual label sets including one or more of the labels, are created on a display section (¶ [8] and ¶ [27-28]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Niwa comprising a split section configured to split a print job causing the tape printing apparatus to print a plurality of labels into a plurality of split print jobs to utilize the teachings of Mitsuko et al which teaches a display controller that displays a visual image indicating that a plurality of label sets with a boundary formed between labels, the individual label sets including one or more of the labels, are created on a display section to enable confirmation of the cut positions in relation to the character prior to execution.
Conclusion
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
June 24, 2026