CTNF 18/826,490 CTNF 82476 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-4 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 09/06/2024 and 03/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith. Specification The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transport section”, “imaging section”, “printing section”, and “control section” in claims 1-3. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification, according to PG-Pub, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: printing section - printing section 17 performs printing on the medium transported by the transport section 16 under the control of the control section 11, paragraph 29. transport section - transport section 16 is a mechanism for transporting the medium in a predetermined transport direction under the control of the control section 11, paragraph 26. imaging section - imaging section 15 captures an image of the medium transported by the transport section 16 under the control of the control section 11. , paragraph 28. control section - control section 11, paragraph 22. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kayahara, US 2022/0169041 in view of Douady-Pleven et al., US 2019/0098274 . Regarding claim 1, Kayahara discloses a printing device ( printing apparatus 10, fig. 1, paragraph 28 ) comprising: a transport section ( transport unit 16 ) that transports in a transport direction a medium on which a pattern is formed ( transport unit 16 is a mechanism for transporting a printing medium where a fabric is printed as the printing medium in which a stereoscopic pattern is formed by devising a weaving method of yarns and fibers including a feeding roller for feeding a fabric before printing, which is wound in a roll shape, to downstream of transport, paragraphs 31-32 ); an imaging section ( imaging unit 15 ) that captures an image of the medium transported by the transport section ( imaging unit 15 images the fabric transported by the transport unit 16, and generates and outputs image data as an imaging result, paragraph 33 ); a printing section ( printing unit 17 ) configured to print on the medium transported by the transport section ( printing unit 17 performs printing on the fabric transported by the transport unit 16 under control by the control unit 11 by printing on the fabric based on printing image data transmitted, paragraph 34 ); and a control section ( control unit 11 ), wherein the control section, as preparation processing for print production processing, which includes printing by the printing section ( control unit 11 functions, in accordance with the program 12, as a pattern registration unit 12 a , a pattern correction unit 12 b , a pattern extracting unit 12 c , an image correction unit 12 d , a printing image generation unit 12 e , a printing control unit 12 f , paragraph 29, wherein, printing unit 17 performs printing on the fabric transported by the transport unit 16 under control by the control unit 11, paragraph 34 ), acquires first pattern image data having information of the shape of the pattern ( the pattern registration unit 12 a of the control unit 11 registers pattern image data representing a pattern formed in the fabric 30 with the storage unit 18. The pattern image data corresponds to “first image data”, and step S100 corresponds to a registration step, paragraph 46 ) and first captured image data that was generated by the imaging section capturing the image of the medium ( step S120, the control unit 11 causes the imaging unit 15 to start imaging with the fabric 30 as a target that the transport unit 16 transports at predetermined velocity, paragraph 60 ), specifies, from the first captured image data, a first feature color and a second feature color that is a match (equivalent or better) with the first feature color ( the colored image data 60 is color image data representing colors to be colored overlaid on the first pattern designed with petals and a reference sign 61a denotes colored image data 61a after the colored image data 60 is deformed so as to match a shape of one region (first region) having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as four corners. Similarly, a reference sign 61b denotes colored image data 61b after the colored image data 60 is deformed so as to match a shape of one region (second region) having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as four corners, that is adjacent to the first region in the width direction D2 such that the printing image generation unit 12e can arrange the colored image data 60 so as to match a region having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as four corners to arrange the colored image data 60 so as to match the pattern region 51 representing the first pattern, paragraphs 70-71 ), generates binary image data with a first color and a second color that is a match with the first color by binarization of the first pattern image data ( in step S130, the pattern extracting unit 12 c compares corrected pattern image data converted from the pattern image data by the division data shift in step S110 with the imaging data generated by the imaging in step S120 to extract a pattern region corresponding to the second pattern represented by the corrected pattern image data from captured image data. In the imaging data generated by the imaging of the fabric 30, of course, a plurality of the first patterns are represented side by side. Step S130 corresponds to a “pattern extraction step”, paragraph 61 ), generates second pattern image data by replacing the first color of the binary image data with the first feature color and replacing the second color with the second feature color ( see dashed arrow in fig. 3, the control unit 11, after starting imaging of the fabric 30 in step S120, repeats steps S130 to S150 in accordance with the imaging data obtained sequentially from the imaging unit 15. In other words, the control unit 11 performs step S130 using imaging data of a predetermined size obtained sequentially from the imaging unit 15 as a target, and performs steps S140 and S150 in response to a result of step S130. The printing image data 61 illustrated in fig. 7 may be interpreted as an example of the printing image data obtained as a result of one cycle of such steps S130 to S150, paragraph 72 ), and sets a feature point for an edge of a pattern in the second pattern image data ( the pattern extracting unit 12 c extracts an edge of an image in the corrected pattern image data, and similarly extracts an edge of an image in the imaging data, paragraph 62 ) and as the print production process, acquires second captured image data generated by capturing an image of the medium by the imaging section ( as emphasized with dashed arrow in fig. 3 that the steps S130 to S150 are repeated in accordance with the imaging data obtained sequentially from the imaging unit 15 such that the printing image data 61 illustrated in fig. 7 may be interpreted as an example of the printing image data obtained as a result of one cycle of such steps S130 to S150 and thereafter for example, the second captured image data is acquired as the image of the fabric captured by imaging unit in S130 after the one such cycle with dashed arrow as shown in fig. 3, paragraph 72 ), calculates, based on collation between the second captured image data and the second pattern image data, a correction value of the feature point required to match the shape of the pattern in the second pattern image data with the shape of the pattern in the second captured image data ( an edge distribution in the corrected pattern image data is repeatedly compared with an edge distribution in the imaging data, while a position is shifted, and while the corrected pattern image data is deformed, and a region in which a degree of match between the edge distributions is highly evaluated above a predetermined level is extracted as one pattern region. For example, as in the process in step S130, the pattern registration unit 12 a can extract a pattern region in pre-scan data according to a degree of match of edge distributions between images to be compared, paragraph 63 ), applies the correction value to a colored image for coloring the pattern in order to deform the colored image ( printing image generation unit 12e deforms the shape of the colored image data so as to match the shape of each of the regions having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as the four corners, such that colored image data 60 may be interpreted as an image having the same or substantially the same size as the pattern image data 40 and the corrected pattern image data 42 vertically and horizontally, paragraphs 68-70 ), and causes the printing section to print, on the medium, the colored image that was captured by the imaging section for generation of the second captured image data and that was deformed ( step S160, the printing control unit 12f starts printing of the printing image data generated in step S150 on the fabric 30. In other words, a “printing step” is started by step S160. The printing image generation unit 12e sequentially generates printing image data by repeating steps S140 and S150, and outputs the printing image data sequentially to the printing control unit 12f in an order of generation. The printing control unit 12f appropriately performs various types of necessary processing such as so-called color conversion processing and halftone processing on the printing image data acquired from the printing image generation unit 12e, to convert the printing image data into printing image data in a format used by the printing unit 17 for printing, paragraph 73 ). Kayahara fails to explicitly disclose specifying a first feature color and a second feature color that is brighter than the first feature color and generating a first color and a second color that is brighter than the first color. However, Douady-Pleven teaches image capturing of image data to perform further image processing, paragraph 147 including specifying a first feature color ( first portion/feature of a blue color for an object is captured and specified/generated by a first pixel in an input image, paragraph 146 ) and a second feature color that is brighter than the first feature color ( second portion/feature of the blue color for the object is captured and specified/generated by a second pixel in an input image, wherein, second portion may be brighter than the first portion, paragraph 146 ) and generating binary image data ( captured image data can be in binary runtime environment, paragraphs 147, 269 ) with a first color ( first portion/feature of a blue color for an object is captured and specified/generated by a first pixel in an input image, paragraph 146 ) and a second color that is brighter than the first color by binarization of image data ( second portion/feature of the blue color for the object is captured and specified/generated by a second pixel in an input image, wherein, second portion may be brighter than the first portion, paragraph 146 ). Kayahara and Douady-Pleven are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing color image processing on captured image data. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kayahara to incorporate the teachings of Douady-Pleven for the benefit of efficiently and effectively providing a color corrected image based on the input image using color correction with desaturation control such that inaccurate colorization of the color corrected image is minimized, and outputting the color corrected image as taught by Douady-Pleven at paragraph 6. Regarding claim 3, Combination of Kayahara with Douady-Pleven further teaches wherein the control section, in the preparation process, generates a plurality of second pattern image data in which a shape of the pattern is made different according to a degree of distortion of the medium according to position in a width direction, which intersects the transport direction and in the print production process (Kayahara , for the imaging data, the center coordinates of the respective pattern regions are ideally present at constant intervals along each of the transport direction D1 and the width direction D2. In addition, the pattern region is ideally a rectangle in which each of vertical and lateral lengths has a predetermined value. However, distortion, expansion and contraction (hereinafter, distortion, and the like) may be generated in the fabric 30 being transported as such intervals, an arrangement direction, and the like of the center coordinates of the plurality of pattern regions extracted from the imaging data in step S130 or the like may also be arranged in an affected manner such as such distortion, paragraphs 65-71 ), calculates the correction value by collation between the second captured image data and the second pattern image data for each position in the width direction and applying the correction value according to position in the width direction to each of a plurality of colored images which are deformed in advance according to the degree of distortion according to position in the width direction (Kayahara , each rectangle indicated by solid lines in the imaging data 50 is a pattern region 52 corresponding to a second pattern represented by the corrected pattern image data 42. In other words, the pattern extracting unit 12c acquires information of center coordinates of each pattern region 52 from a plurality of locations in the imaging data 50 by performing extraction based on the corrected pattern image data 42 and the printing image generation unit 12e deforms the shape of the colored image data so as to match the shape of each of the regions having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as the four corners and depending on the shape of the region having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as the four corners, for instance, the reference sign 61a denotes colored image data 61a after the colored image data 60 is deformed so as to match a shape of first region having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 as four corners and reference sign 61b denotes deformed colored image data 60 so as to match a shape of second region having the center coordinates extracted in step S130 which is adjacent to the first region in the width direction, paragraphs 65-71 ). Regarding claim 4, is a method version of claim 1 reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kayahara, US 2022/0169041 in view of Douady-Pleven et al., US 2019/0098274 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Morgan-Mar et al., AU 2019-201825 . Regarding claim 2, Combination of Kayahara with Douady-Pleven further teaches wherein in the preparation process, the control section generates colors in first captured image data as first feature color and the second feature color (Kayahara, as described above, see paragraphs 70-71 ). Combination of Kayahara with Douady-Pleven fails to further teach generating a histogram of colors and specifying colors corresponding to peaks of a distribution appearing in the histogram as first feature color and second feature color. However, Morgan-Mar teaches generating a histogram of colors in captured image data and specifying colors corresponding to peaks of a distribution appearing in the histogram as first feature color and second feature color ( color label for each pixel in the image is assigned, for example, a first pixel is selected in the transformed distorted image, and a second pixel is determined in the reference image, similarly, using Partial Volume Interpolation, histograms involving the transformed distorted image are instead calculated by first transforming first and second color pixel positions of the distorted image onto the coordinate space of the reference image using the mapping. Then the color label is associated with each pixel of the distorted image is spatially distributed across pixel positions surrounding the associated transformed coordinate. Then histograms of colors involving the transformed distorted image are instead calculated using the spatially distributed labels concerning the first and second color pixel positions as first and second color features, see page 14, last paragraph – page 15, last paragraph ). Kayahara and Douady-Pleven are combinable with Morgan-Mar because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with performing image processing based on pixel values using captured images. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kayahara with Douady-Pleven to incorporate the teachings of Morgan-Mar for the benefit of efficiently and effectively still be able to have the pattern be detected with color feature points identified even when captured images may be defocused to some degree as taught by Morgan-Mar at page 36 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okuwa, US 2023/0129982 Xu et al., EP 3653391A Ohnishi, US 2018/0311969 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAWANDEEP DHINGRA whose telephone number is (571) 270-1231. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at (571) 270-5254. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683 /ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/826,490 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683