DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-13 are currently pending, with claims 7-13 withdrawn from consideration and claims 1-6 considered.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/15/2025. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 8-15-2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Applicant respectfully submits that the USPTO asserts that the product can be made by a process different from the claimed process, but has failed to allege a specific process or establish that the alleged process would produce the same product. Additionally, claim 6 has been amended to recite the crosslinking agents utilized in process claim 7. Accordingly, claim 6 now functions as a linking claim and renders moot the assertion that a search of Group II would require an additional search of that subject matter not required for the search of Group I”. This is not found persuasive because examiner maintains that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially difference process (e.g., a process that does not require drying coated coir pots of step c) for 30-120min at 90-150 degrees C to crosslink the latex, and repeating steps c) and d) once).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “the coating layer has a thickness of 0.3-0.7mm, and the claim also recites “and more preferably about 0.5mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouellet et al. (US 20100000149 A1), hereafter referred to as “Ouellet”.
Regarding claim 1, Ouellet discloses a coir pot (30; figs. 3A-4) for indoor horticultural applications (abstract, title) having an inner surface wherein the inner surface is at least partially covered with a coating layer (paragraph [0021]),
wherein said coating layer (table 1 and claim 6) comprises at least a crosslinked latex (table 1 and claim 6 disclosing known crosslinking agents, e.g., sulfur, zinc diethyldithiocarbamate (ZDC), and zinc-2-mercaptobenzothiazole; see also paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclosing a curing process), clay (table 1 and claim 6) and a non-ionic surface-active agent (table 1 and claim 6, e.g., teaching Wettem, see also paragraph [0040] and the instant specification at page 6, lines 6-11),
wherein the weight-ratio of crosslinked latex to clay is between 3:1 and 1:1 (table 1 and claim 6 teaching a ratio of approximately 2.4:1).
Regarding claim 2, Ouellet discloses the coir pot according to claim 1, and further discloses that the weight-ratio of crosslinked latex to clay is between 2.5:1 and 2:1 (table 1 and claim 6 teaching a ratio of approximately 2.4:1).
Regarding claim 5, Ouellet discloses the coir pot according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the coir pot has a bottom (fig. 3B) and an upper end (figs. 3A-3B) and wherein the coating layer extends from the bottom to the upper end over at least 1/2 of the height (paragraphs [0023]-[0024] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Ouellet discloses the coir pot according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein the crosslinked latex is crosslinked with crosslinking agent selected from the group consisting of sulfur (table 1 and claim 6), zinc diethyldithiocarbamate (table 1 and claim 6, disclosing ZDC), and zinc-2- mercaptobenzothiazole (table 1 and claim 6) or combinations thereof (table 1 and claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellet as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Athalage (US 20230397744 A1), hereafter referred to as “Athalage”.
Regarding claim 3, Ouellet teaches the coir pot according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the coating layer further comprises an additive selected from the group consisting of fragrance, dye, tebuconazole and combinations thereof.
Athalage teaches a coir pot (abstract, fig. 1-5) including a coating layer with a dye (paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coir pot of Ouellet, such that the coating layer includes dye, as taught by Athalage, in order to improve the aesthetics of the pot (paragraph [0027]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellet as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 115612144 A), hereafter referred to as “Chen”.
Regarding claim 4, Ouellet teaches the coir pot according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the coating layer has a thickness of 0.3 - 0.7mm and more preferably about 0.5mm.
Chen teaches a pot (abstract, see attached machine translation) including a coating layer with a thickness of 0.3 - 0.7mm and more preferably about 0.5mm (machine translation, claim 1 and machine translation at page 7, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coir pot of Ouellet, such that the coating layer has a thickness of 0.3-0.7 mm, as taught by Chen, in order to provide a uniform coating, and because it is well settled, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144, citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643