DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 12/03/2024 is entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2024, 12/26/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDSs have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) in the IDS that they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this Office Action. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551,32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994) The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No., IN202041033947, IN202041033947 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the priority documents explicitly or implicitly disclose claim limitations as required by all independent claims. Therefore, the effective filing date of the application has been deemed to be the CON of parent application, 17/397,128, filing date, 08/09/2021 , of the instant application.
Per MPEP §2152.06 “(C). Submitting a claim to priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) - (d) within the time period set in 37 CFR 1.55 by identifying a prior foreign application in a corrected application data sheet under 37 CFR 1.76 and by establishing that the prior foreign application satisfies the enablement and written description requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or filing a grantable petition to accept a delayed priority claim under 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 213 - 216. The foreign priority filing date must antedate the reference and be perfected. The filing date of the priority document is not perfected unless applicant has filed a certified priority document in the application (and an English language translation, if the document is not in English) (see 37 CFR 1.55(g))”. The applicant must show that the Applicant has all the support for the claim languages in all the prior documents.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 114,286 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 114,286 B2.. Thus, the claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by the claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12, 114,286 B2.. Following is side by side of comparison of the at least independent claims of the instant application against the claims U.S. Patent No. US 12, 114,286 B2.
Current application’s claims: 18/826,508
U.S. Patent No. US 12, 114,286 B2.
1. (Currently amended) A network entity for reducing paging in a wireless communication, comprising:
a transceiver;
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory,
the processor is configured to:
transmit a network message to a plurality of user equipment (UE), wherein the network message carries a network parameter and configuration information of a paging message scheduled to be transmitted at a predetermined time, wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, a number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), an indicating signal offset (ISO) and paging sub-groups information; and
transmit an indicating signal at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to the scheduled transmission of the paging message, wherein the indicating signal indicates if at least one of the plurality of UE will be paged in next paging occasion.
1.A method for reducing paging in a wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a network entity, a network message to a plurality of user equipment (UE), wherein the network message carries a network parameter and configuration information of a paging message scheduled to be transmitted at a predetermined time, wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, a number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), an indicating signal offset (ISO) and paging sub-groups information;
and
transmitting, by the network entity, an indicating signal at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to the scheduled transmission of the paging message, wherein the indicating signal indicates if at least one of the plurality of UE will be paged in next paging occasion, wherein transmitting the indicating signal comprises: dividing a group of the plurality of user equipment associated with a common paging occasion (PO) into a plurality of paging sub-groups of the user equipment;
assigning each paging sub-group of the plurality of paging sub-groups, a unique paging sub-group identity; and associating the paging sub-group identity to the indicating signal to indicate one of presence or absence of a paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) for each paging sub-group of the plurality of paging sub-groups,
wherein the paging sub-group identity is determined based on a pre-specified formula including the Nps, wherein the pre-specified formula is:
a paging_sub_group Identity=floor(User Equipment(UE)Identity(UE_ID)/(N*Ns)) mod Nps, wherein N is number of paging frames and Ns is number of paging occasion per paging frame.
18. (New) A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indicating signal from a network entity at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to receiving a transmission of a paging message at a predetermined time; decoding the indicating signal to determine if the UE will be paged in next paging occasion based on the indicating signal; and
entering in a sleep mode upon determination that it will not be paged in the next paging occasion, wherein the decoding the indicating signal comprises determining if a paging sub-group identity associated with the indicating signal matches with paging sub-group identity of the UE, and wherein the paging sub-group identity indicates a paging sub-group with which the UE is associated.
13. A method for reducing paging in a wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a network message transmitted by a network entity, wherein the network message carries a network parameter and configuration information of a paging message scheduled to be transmitted at a predetermined time, wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), an indicating signal offset (ISO) and paging sub-groups information;
determining, by the UE, the paging cycle, the paging frame (PF), the paging occasion (PO) and the paging-subgroups information, according to the network parameter; receiving, by the UE, an indicating signal at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to receiving the scheduled transmission of the paging message at a predetermined time; decoding, by the UE, the indicating signal to determine if the UE will be paged in next paging occasion based on the indicating signal; and entering, by the UE, in a sleep mode upon determination that it will not be paged in the next paging occasion, wherein decoding the indicating signal comprises: determining if a paging sub-group identity associated with the indicating signal matches with paging sub-group identity of the UE, wherein the paging sub-group identity indicates a paging sub-group of UE's with which the UE is associated, wherein the paging sub-group identity is determined as:
a paging_sub_group Identity=floor(User Equipment(UE)Identity(UE_ID)/(N*Ns))mod Nps, wherein N is number of paging frames, Ns is number of paging occasion per paging frame and the Nps is number of paging sub-groups in a cell.
15. (New) A method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: dividing a group of a plurality of user equipment (UE) associated with a common paging occasion (PO) into a plurality paging sub-groups; assigning a unique paging sub-group identity to each of the plurality of paging sub- groups; associating the paging sub-group identity to an indicating signal; and transmitting the indicating signal at an indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to a transmission of a paging message, wherein the indicating signal indicates if at least one of the plurality of UE will be paged in next paging occasion.
18. A user equipment (UE) for reducing paging in a wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor is configured to: receive a network message transmitted by a network entity, wherein the network message carries a network parameter and configuration information of a paging message scheduled to be transmitted at a predetermined time, wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), an indicating signal offset (ISO) and paging sub-groups information; determine the paging cycle, the paging frame (PF), the paging occasion (PO) and the paging sub-groups information, according to the network parameter; receive an indicating signal at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to receiving the scheduled transmission of the paging message at a predetermined time; decode the indicating signal to determine if the UE will be paged in the paging occasion based on the indicating signal; and enter by the UE, in a sleep mode upon determination that it will not be paged in next paging occasion, wherein the processor decodes the indicating signal by: determining if a paging sub-group identity associated with the indicating signal matches with a paging sub-group identity of the UE, wherein the paging sub-group identity indicates a paging sub-group of UE's with which the UE is associated, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the paging sub-group identity as:
a paging_sub_group Identity=floor(User Equipment(UE)Identity(UE_ID)/(N*Ns))mod Nps, wherein N is number of paging frames, Ns is number of paging occasion per paging frame and the Nps is number of paging sub-groups in a cell.
Claims 1-4, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) ) as being anticipated by XU et al. (US 20220312327 A1; hereinafter as “XU2327”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to XU2327 unless otherwise mentioned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al. (US 20220312327 A1; hereinafter as “XU2327”) in view of SELVAGANAPATHY et al. (US 20210337507 A1; hereinafter as “SELVAGANAPATHY”).
Regarding claim 1, XU2327 teaches,
A network entity (fig. 1, fig. 4; eNB 120A ) for reducing paging in a wireless communication (group paging to reduce paging: : [0009]-[0012]; “FIG. 5 illustrates examples of the relationship between a WUS occasion and a PO when one WUS is configured to control one PO for one paging group according to various exemplary embodiments. ”: [0060], paging groups: [0009]-][0012]; [abstract] ), comprising:
a transceiver (“ base station having a transceiver and a processor. ”: [0003]);
a memory (see fig. 2: UE or eNB with memory ) and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory ( “ A base station, comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE); and a processor configured to perform operations,”: claim 10 ),
the processor is configured to:
transmit a network message (==WUS/Wake-up Signal) to a plurality of user equipment (UE) (fig.1 UE 110 , Fig. Fig. 2 UE 110); reducing paging from gNB 120A to UE 110 in Fig. 1: reducing repetitive paging using a WUS for power consumption: [0037]); aforesaid UE receives paging when needed only to conserve power: [0054]; (see fig. 4, element 415; aforesaid UE receives WUS from gNB in Fig. 1: using DCI based wake-up signal (WUS), aforesaid UE receives WUS signal from gNB: [0050]; WUS transmitted by the gNB/Network: [0022]; “ To provide an example, consider a scenario in which eight UEs are in the same paging group and configured to use the WUS occasion set 920 and the PO 912. In this example, WUS occasion 922 is assigned to UE1 and UE5, WUS occasion 923 is assigned to UE 2 and UE 6, WUS occasion 924 is assigned to UE 3 and UE 7 and WUS occasion 925 is assigned to UE 4 and UE 8. ”:[0078]; “In some embodiments, a WUS may be used to indicate a wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups (==network parameter). The timing diagram 710 includes a line 711 that represents time. In this example, the WUS occasion 712 is shown to include a WUS that is associated with PO 714 and PO 716. The PO 714 is assigned to a first paging group and the PO 716 is assigned to a second different paging group (==configuration information)) ”:[0068]- [0069]),
wherein the network message (==WUS/Wake-up Signal) carries a network parameter and configuration information of a paging message scheduled to be transmitted at a predetermined time (aforesaid “WUS may indicate that a paging transmission is not scheduled for a subsequent PO (==network parameter, ==network parameter)). During the subsequent PO, the UE may remain in the sleep mode of inactivity instead of waking up to use the active mode of data exchange processing because the WUS indicated that there no paging transmission scheduled for this PO.”: [0022]; Aforesaid “WUS may indicate that a paging transmission intended for the UE 110 is to be performed during the corresponding PO (==predetermine time). In another example, the WUS may indicate that a paging transmission is not scheduled for the UE 110.”: [0051]; WUS has upcoming paging information including scheduling paging message: [0054]),
wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, an indicating signal offset (ISO) (see fig. 5: Paging configuration information including, inter alia, DRX Cycle (==paging cycle in claim ), Paging Occasion (PO) (==PO in claim ), paging offset (==paging offset in claim ) , subgroup information: “FIG. 5 illustrates examples of the relationship between a WUS occasion and a Paging Occasion (PO) when one WUS is configured to control one PO for one paging group according to various exemplary embodiments. FIG. 5 includes three timing diagrams 510, 520, 530 that each correspond to a different configuration.”: [0060]; aforesaid “WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO”: [0061]; Paging frame (PF), DRX Cycle; : [0061]-[0062]; see Fig. 7: WUS is configured to control Paging Occasion (PO) with multiple paging groups, sub-groups: [0068]-[0070]; Indication signal offset: “the WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO”: [0061]; ; NOTE: Crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below ); and
transmit an indicating signal at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to the scheduled transmission of the paging message ( aforesaid “WUS may be located at a predetermined offset from the PO and thus, once the PO is known the WUS occasion may be derived. In another example, the WUS occasion and/or PO location may be explicitly or implicitly indicated by the network using any appropriate type of signaling. Specific examples of the relationship between the WUS occasion and the PO will be described below with regard to FIGS. 5-9. ”: [0048]; aforesaid “WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]),
wherein the indicating signal indicates if at least one of the plurality of UE will be paged in next paging occasion (“ WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]; see figs 7-8 ; paging groups with offset/gaps: “WUS may indicate a common wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. Thus, if the WUS includes a wake-up indication the UEs of both paging groups will wake-up and enter the active mode of data exchange processing during their respective POs. In other embodiments, the WUS may indicate individual wake-up/sleep state for each paging group. For example, the WUS may include a set of bits. A first subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a first paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO and a second subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a second paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO. ”: [0069]-[0070]).
While XU2327 teaches wherein the configuration information includes a paging cycle, a paging frame (PF), a paging occasion (PO), a paging offset, an indicating signal offset (ISO) , XU2327 does not expressively teaches,
wherein the configuration information includes … , a number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), and paging sub-groups information
SELVAGANAPATHY, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the configuration information includes … , a number of paging sub-groups in the cell (Nps), and paging sub-groups information (paging subgroup based on UE profiles of some specific type (==pre-specified formula) : [0025]; “ identifying a paging occasion (PO) subgroup corresponding to a user equipment to be paged from the multiple paging occasion subgroups and selecting a paging occasion corresponding to the user equipment from the paging occasion subgroup according to the paging message; ”: [0005] ; “A unique GWUS identifies each UE subgroup, GWUSs associated with the different UE subgroups can be multiplexed (e.g., FDM, TDM, or CDM) when UEs to be paged belong to multiple UE subgroups within the same PO. The same GWUSs can be reused within each PO subgroup since the different PO subgroups are non-overlapping. ”: [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0073]); In another exemplary embodiment, in step S101, the ENB obtains three PO subgroups based on EDRX-Profile-Index, in step S103, the ENB receives a paging message from MME, the paging message comprise another paging profile index (such as MPI) for assigning PO subgroup to UE ”: [0053]);
group (Fig. 5: group and subgroups: [0060]-[0067, [0069]-[0074]); “ As an further example, the PO assignment with the above new system information is illustrated in FIG. 2, the upper line is PF for WUS capable UE (every even SFN), and the lower line is PF for GWUS capable UE with some offset in assignment formula, the ENB treats all POs in the lower line as a PO subgroup for GWUS capable UE, and treats all POs in the upper line as a PO subgroup for WUS capable UE.”: [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indicating signal is at least one of a paging early indication (PEI) and a paging wake-up signal (WUS), configured in an idle/inactive mode to indicate one of a presence of a paging DCI or an absence of the paging DCI (see fig. 4 element 415: UE receives WUS from gNB: “UE 110 receives a WUS during the WUS occasion. As mentioned above, either DCI based wake-up signaling or reference signal based wake-up signaling may be implemented”: [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indicating signal is a reference signal configured in an idle/inactive mode to indicate one of a presence of a paging downlink control information (DCI) or an absence of the paging DCI (see fig. 4 element 415: UE receives WUS from gNB: “UE 110 receives a WUS during the WUS occasion. As mentioned above, either DCI based wake-up signaling or reference signal based wake-up signaling may be implemented”: [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 3 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 3, wherein the reference signal is at least one of a channel state indicator reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and wherein at least one of pattern, sequence and presence of the reference signal indicates one of a presence of a paging DCI or an absence of the paging DCI (“ In 415, the UE 110 receives a WUS during the WUS occasion. As mentioned above, either DCI based wake-up signaling or reference signal based wake-up signaling may be implemented. Although not depicted in the method 400, there may be scenarios in which the UE 110 does not receive a WUS during the WUS occasion. If this scenario occurs, in some embodiments, the UE 110 may monitor for paging in the conventional manner. In other embodiments, the network may configure a default state (e.g., wake-up or sleep) that the UE 110 is to utilize during the PO via RRC signaling or any other appropriate type of signaling.”: [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indicating signal is a DCI signal configured in an idle/inactive mode to indicate one of a presence of a paging DCI or an absence of the paging DCI (“introduction of GWUS to further improve the energy efficiency related to idle mode downlink reception ”: [0003]; “ interworking with WUS and GWUS can be realized by assigning different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, and UEs currently using WUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using GWUS, UEs currently using GWUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using WUS, thereby improving the efficiency of paging reception and reducing false wakeup. ”: [0070], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor
dividing a group of the plurality of user equipment associated with a common paging occasion (PO) into a plurality of paging sub-groups of the user equipment (paging subgroup based on UE profiles of some specific type (==pre-specified formula) : [0025]; “ identifying a paging occasion (PO) subgroup corresponding to a user equipment to be paged from the multiple paging occasion subgroups and selecting a paging occasion corresponding to the user equipment from the paging occasion subgroup according to the paging message; ”: [0005] ; “A unique GWUS identifies each UE subgroup, GWUSs associated with the different UE subgroups can be multiplexed (e.g., FDM, TDM, or CDM) when UEs to be paged belong to multiple UE subgroups within the same PO. The same GWUSs can be reused within each PO subgroup since the different PO subgroups are non-overlapping. ”: [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0073]);
assigning each of the paging sub-group of the plurality of paging sub-groups, a unique paging sub-group identity (“identifying a paging occasion subgroup corresponding to a user equipment from the multiple paging occasion subgroups, ”: [0010]“each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “For each paging profile index, the ENB configures PO subgroups of POs within the PO list within DRX cycle (s). The PO subgroups can be either explicitly indicated or implicitly determined (e.g., based on paging profile index). For example, EDRX-Profile-Index corresponds to three values “short-eDRX/med-eDRX/long-eDRX”, the ENB dividing POs within DRX cycle (2.56 seconds) into three PO subgroups mapped to each value of EDRX-Profile-Index, as shown in FIG. 3, wherein, number of Pos within the DRX cycle is 256 (One PO per radio frame), the first subgroup mapped to short-eDRX, the second subgroup mapped to med-eDRX, and the third subgroup mapped to long-eDRX. ”: [0046]; “In another exemplary embodiment, in step S101, the ENB obtains three PO subgroups based on EDRX-Profile-Index, in step S103, the ENB receives a paging message from MME, the paging message comprise another paging profile index (such as MPI) for assigning PO subgroup to UE ”: [0053]); and
associating the paging sub-group identity to the indicating signal to indicate one of presence or absence of a paging DCI for each paging sub-group of the plurality of paging sub-groups ( “transmitting a group based wake up signal (GWUS) associated with the paging occasion prior to the paging occasion if the user equipment currently uses group based wake up signal. ”: [0005]; “ GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in the system (such as NB-IoT or eMTC system), the parameter information includes an offset for GWUS, the ENB assigns different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, then, the ENB determines a PO subgroup for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE, and determines another PO subgroup for WUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for WUS ”: [0026]; “ENB dividing POs for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles into multiple PO subgroups based on the paging profile index, wherein each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “Wherein, POs for GWUS may be all or part of the POs within the at least one DRX cycles. As an example, there are some GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in NB-IoT, POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs in the PO subgroup for GWUS. As another example, all the UE in the system supports GWUS capability, all POs can be assigned for GWUS capable UEs, so POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs within DRX cycle. … Wherein value of a paging profile index maps to one range of value associated with the paging profile. For example, Mobility-Profile of UEs is divided into two types: stationary, mobility; “MPI=0” indicates that mobility profile is Stationary, “MPI=1” indicates that mobility profile is mobility. ”: [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, , XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 6 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 6, wherein the indicating signal is a reference signal configured in an idle/inactive mode to indicate one of a presence of a paging downlink control information (DCI) or an absence of the paging DCI (“introduction of GWUS to further improve the energy efficiency related to idle mode downlink reception ”: [0003]; “ interworking with WUS and GWUS can be realized by assigning different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, and UEs currently using WUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using GWUS, UEs currently using GWUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using WUS, thereby improving the efficiency of paging reception and reducing false wakeup. ”: [0070], [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 7, wherein the reference signal is at least one of a channel state indicator reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) and wherein at least one of pattern, sequence and presence of the reference signal indicates one of a presence of a paging DCI for a paging sub-group and an absence of the paging DCI for the paging sub-group (Fig. 5: group and subgroups: [0060]-[0067, [0069]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 9, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 6 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 6, wherein the indicating signal is a DCI signal configured in an idle/inactive mode to indicate one of a presence of a paging DCI for a paging sub-group and an absence of the paging DCI for the paging sub-group, wherein the DCI signal includes a bitmap comprising plurality of bits and each bit in the bitmap represents a paging sub-group (“introduction of GWUS to further improve the energy efficiency related to idle mode downlink reception ”: [0003]; “ interworking with WUS and GWUS can be realized by assigning different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, and UEs currently using WUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using GWUS, UEs currently using GWUS will not be woken up when paging UE (s) currently using WUS, thereby improving the efficiency of paging reception and reducing false wakeup. ”: [0070], [0071]); “, the PO subgroup for GWUS can be configured over a period spanning multiple DRX cycles, within this configuration period, POs in the PO subgroup for GWUS can be continuous, indicated with a starting PO and a subgroup length. Alternatively, PO subgroup can be indicated with a bitmap, a bitmap can also be used to indicate the subset of DRX cycles with reserved PO ”: [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 6 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit the paging sub-group identity to the plurality of user equipment of the paging sub-group using at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) signalling and a non-access stratum (NAS) signalling (“Paging may be used for any of variety of different reasons. For example, when camped on a cell of the 5G NR network, the UE may receive a paging message that is configured to trigger the UE to transition from a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state. ”: [0017]; RRC is used for paging: [0034]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 11, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine if the network entity supports transmitting the indicating signal (check whether Offset in supported in Group Wake-up signal (GWUS): [0025]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: enable/disable the indicating signal based on at least one of network load condition and power saving requirement of the user equipment (“the WUS received in 420 indicated that a paging transmission is not scheduled for the PO, the UE 110 may use the sleep mode of inactivity and conserve power during the PO”: [0053] ; power saving mode for UE: [0020]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 13, XU2327 teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: configure a new paging cycle based on preferred paging cycle received from the user equipment, using at least one of the DCI, medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), broadcast and RRC signalling (“When the UE 110 is camped on a cell and in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, the UE 110 may not be able to exchange data with the network. To exchange data with the network the UE 110 may transition from the RRC idle state to the RRC connected state. For example, while in RRC idle state or inactive state the UE 110 may listen for information such as but not limited to, primary synchronization signals (PSS) and secondary synchronization signals (SSS), Master Information Block (MIB), broadcast messages, System Information Block (SIB), WUS, paging messages, etc. In response, the UE 110 may issue a request to the network that indicates that the UE 110 wants to be moved to the RRC connected state. A successful transition from the RRC idle state or RRC inactive state to RRC connected state may include the exchange of messages between the UE 110 and the cell of the network. In the RRC connected state, a network context may be established between the cell of first network and the UE 110. Thus, the UE 110 may be assigned radio resources and the UE 110 may be able to exchange data with the network. ”: [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, XU2327 teaches, the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The network entity as claimed in claim 1, wherein the network entity is a base station or a core network (see fig. 2: eNB 120A in fig. 1 “ The base station (e.g., the gNB 120A) may include one or more communication interfaces to exchange data and/or information with camped UEs, the corresponding RAN, the cellular core network 130, the internet 140, etc. Further, the base station may include a processor configured to perform various operations. For example, the processor of the base station may be configured to perform operations related to paging and the exemplary wake-up signaling described herein. However, reference to a processor is merely for illustrative purposes. The operations of the base station may also be represented as a separate incorporated component of the base station or may be a modular component coupled to the base station, e.g., an integrated circuit with or without firmware. For example, the integrated circuit may include input circuitry to receive signals and processing circuitry to process the signals and other information. In addition, in some base stations, the functionality of the processor is split among two or more processors such as a baseband processor and an applications processor. The exemplary embodiments may be implemented in any of these or other configurations of a base station.”: [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 15, XU2327 teaches,
A method for wireless communication at a network entity (==gNB 120A ) ( group paging to reduce paging: : [0009]-[0012]; “FIG. 5 illustrates examples of the relationship between a WUS occasion and a PO when one WUS is configured to control one PO for one paging group according to various exemplary embodiments. ”: [0060], paging groups: [0009]-][0012]), comprising:
dividing a group of a plurality of user equipment (UE) associated with a common paging occasion (PO) into a plurality paging sub-groups (see fig. 7-9 where PO is divided by paging groups: PO for First Paging group,.. PO for Second Paging Groups : “WUS may indicate a common wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. Thus, if the WUS includes a wake-up indication the UEs of both paging groups will wake-up and enter the active mode of data exchange processing during their respective POs. In other embodiments, the WUS may indicate individual wake-up/sleep state for each paging group. For example, the WUS may include a set of bits. A first subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a first paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO and a second subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a second paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO. ”: “The timing diagram 810 includes a line 811 that represents time. The WUS occasion 812 may correspond to (N) paging groups and (x) consecutive POs for each paging groups. The timing diagram 810 shows POs 814, 816 that correspond to a first paging group and POs 818, 820 that correspond to a second paging group. ”: 0069]-[0074]);
transmitting the indicating signal at an indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to a transmission of a paging message ( aforesaid “WUS may be located at a predetermined offset from the PO and thus, once the PO is known the WUS occasion may be derived. In another example, the WUS occasion and/or PO location may be explicitly or implicitly indicated by the network using any appropriate type of signaling. Specific examples of the relationship between the WUS occasion and the PO will be described below with regard to FIGS. 5-9. ”: [0048]; aforesaid “WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]),
wherein the indicating signal indicates if at least one of the plurality of UE will be paged in next paging occasion (“ WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]; see figs 7-8 ; paging groups with offset/gaps: “WUS may indicate a common wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. Thus, if the WUS includes a wake-up indication the UEs of both paging groups will wake-up and enter the active mode of data exchange processing during their respective POs. In other embodiments, the WUS may indicate individual wake-up/sleep state for each paging group. For example, the WUS may include a set of bits. A first subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a first paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO and a second subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a second paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO. ”: [0069]-[0070]),
XU2327 does not expressively teach:
assigning a unique paging sub-group identity to each of the plurality of paging sub- groups;
associating the paging sub-group identity to an indicating signal.
SELVAGANAPATHY, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
assigning a unique paging sub-group identity to each of the plurality of paging sub- groups (“identifying a paging occasion subgroup corresponding to a user equipment from the multiple paging occasion subgroups, ”: [0010]“each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “For each paging profile index, the ENB configures PO subgroups of POs within the PO list within DRX cycle (s). The PO subgroups can be either explicitly indicated or implicitly determined (e.g., based on paging profile index). For example, EDRX-Profile-Index corresponds to three values “short-eDRX/med-eDRX/long-eDRX”, the ENB dividing POs within DRX cycle (2.56 seconds) into three PO subgroups mapped to each value of EDRX-Profile-Index, as shown in FIG. 3, wherein, number of Pos within the DRX cycle is 256 (One PO per radio frame), the first subgroup mapped to short-eDRX, the second subgroup mapped to med-eDRX, and the third subgroup mapped to long-eDRX. ”: [0046]; “In another exemplary embodiment, in step S101, the ENB obtains three PO subgroups based on EDRX-Profile-Index, in step S103, the ENB receives a paging message from MME, the paging message comprise another paging profile index (such as MPI) for assigning PO subgroup to UE ”: [0053]);
associating the paging sub-group identity to an indicating signal ( “transmitting a group based wake up signal (GWUS) associated with the paging occasion prior to the paging occasion if the user equipment currently uses group based wake up signal. ”: [0005]; “ GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in the system (such as NB-IoT or eMTC system), the parameter information includes an offset for GWUS, the ENB assigns different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, then, the ENB determines a PO subgroup for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE, and determines another PO subgroup for WUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for WUS ”: [0026]; “ENB dividing POs for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles into multiple PO subgroups based on the paging profile index, wherein each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “Wherein, POs for GWUS may be all or part of the POs within the at least one DRX cycles. As an example, there are some GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in NB-IoT, POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs in the PO subgroup for GWUS. As another example, all the UE in the system supports GWUS capability, all POs can be assigned for GWUS capable UEs, so POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs within DRX cycle. … Wherein value of a paging profile index maps to one range of value associated with the paging profile. For example, Mobility-Profile of UEs is divided into two types: stationary, mobility; “MPI=0” indicates that mobility profile is Stationary, “MPI=1” indicates that mobility profile is mobility. ”: [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches the invention of claim 15 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The method of claim 15, further comprising transmitting a network message to the plurality of UE before transmitting the indicating signal, wherein the network message comprises paging sub-groups information indicates how the paging sub-group identity will be provided to UE (“Paging may be used for any of variety of different reasons. For example, when camped on a cell of the 5G NR network, the UE may receive a paging message that is configured to trigger the UE to transition from a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state. ”: [0017]; RRC is used for paging: [0034]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 17, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches The method of claim 16, wherein the paging sub-groups information indicates whether the paging sub-group identity will be provided to UE with a radio resource control (RRC) and/or a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling, and/or paging sub- group identity will be determined by the UE using a pre-specified formula (paging subgroup based on UE profiles of some specific type (==pre-specified formula) : [0025]; “ identifying a paging occasion (PO) subgroup corresponding to a user equipment to be paged from the multiple paging occasion subgroups and selecting a paging occasion corresponding to the user equipment from the paging occasion subgroup according to the paging message; ”: [0005] ; “A unique GWUS identifies each UE subgroup, GWUSs associated with the different UE subgroups can be multiplexed (e.g., FDM, TDM, or CDM) when UEs to be paged belong to multiple UE subgroups within the same PO. The same GWUSs can be reused within each PO subgroup since the different PO subgroups are non-overlapping. ”: [0056]-[0065], [0069]-[0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, XU2327 teaches,
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1-2, Fig. 4, UE: ); (group paging to reduce paging: : [0009]-[0012]; “FIG. 5 illustrates examples of the relationship between a WUS occasion and a PO when one WUS is configured to control one PO for one paging group according to various exemplary embodiments. ”: [0060], paging groups: [0009]-][0012]),, comprising:
receiving an indicating signal from a network entity (==gNB 120A), at the indicating signal offset (ISO) prior to receiving a transmission of a paging message at a predetermined time message (==WUS/Wake-up Signal) to a plurality of user equipment (UE) (fig.1 UE 110 , Fig. Fig. 2 UE 110); reducing paging from gNB 120A to UE 110 in Fig. 1: reducing repetitive paging using a WUS for power consumption: [0037]); aforesaid UE receives paging when needed only to conserve power: [0054]; (see fig. 4, element 415; aforesaid UE receives WUS from gNB in Fig. 1: using DCI based wake-up signal (WUS), aforesaid UE receives WUS signal from gNB: [0050]; WUS transmitted by the gNB/Network: [0022]; “ To provide an example, consider a scenario in which eight UEs are in the same paging group and configured to use the WUS occasion set 920 and the PO 912. In this example, WUS occasion 922 is assigned to UE1 and UE5, WUS occasion 923 is assigned to UE 2 and UE 6, WUS occasion 924 is assigned to UE 3 and UE 7 and WUS occasion 925 is assigned to UE 4 and UE 8. ”:[0078]; “In some embodiments, a WUS may be used to indicate a wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. The timing diagram 710 includes a line 711 that represents time. In this example, the WUS occasion 712 is shown to include a WUS that is associated with PO 714 and PO 716. The PO 714 is assigned to a first paging group and the PO 716 is assigned to a second different paging group ”:[0068]- [0069]), (aforesaid “WUS may indicate that a paging transmission is not scheduled for a subsequent PO (==network parameter). During the subsequent PO, the UE may remain in the sleep mode of inactivity instead of waking up to use the active mode of data exchange processing because the WUS indicated that there no paging transmission scheduled for this PO.”: [0022]; Aforesaid “WUS may indicate that a paging transmission intended for the UE 110 is to be performed during the corresponding PO (==predetermine time). In another example, the WUS may indicate that a paging transmission is not scheduled for the UE 110.”: [0051]; WUS has upcoming paging information including scheduling paging message: [0054]);
( aforesaid “WUS may be located at a predetermined offset from the PO and thus, once the PO is known the WUS occasion may be derived. In another example, the WUS occasion and/or PO location may be explicitly or implicitly indicated by the network using any appropriate type of signaling. Specific examples of the relationship between the WUS occasion and the PO will be described below with regard to FIGS. 5-9. ”: [0048]; aforesaid “WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]),
decoding the indicating signal to determine if the UE will be paged in next paging occasion based on the indicating signal (“ WUS occasion may be located a preconfigured offset from the PO. The timing diagram 510 includes a line 511 that represents time. The timing diagram also shows a WUS occasion 512 preceding its corresponding PO 514 by a preconfigured offset 513 and WUS occasion 516 preceding its corresponding PO 518 by the preconfigured offset 517. ”: [0061]; see figs 7-8 ; paging groups with offset/gaps: “WUS may indicate a common wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. Thus, if the WUS includes a wake-up indication the UEs of both paging groups will wake-up and enter the active mode of data exchange processing during their respective POs. In other embodiments, the WUS may indicate individual wake-up/sleep state for each paging group. For example, the WUS may include a set of bits. A first subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a first paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO and a second subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a second paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO. ”: [0069]-[0070]); and
entering in a sleep mode upon determination that it will not be paged in the next paging occasion WUS may indicate a common wake-up/sleep state for multiple paging groups. Thus, if the WUS includes a wake-up indication the UEs of both paging groups will wake-up and enter the active mode of data exchange processing during their respective POs. In other embodiments, the WUS may indicate individual wake-up/sleep state for each paging group. For example, the WUS may include a set of bits. A first subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a first paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO and a second subset of one or more bits may be used to indicate whether a second paging group is to wake-up or sleep during its corresponding PO. ”: [0069]-[0070]).
XU2327 does not expressively teach:
wherein the decoding the indicating signal comprises determining if a paging sub-group identity associated with the indicating signal matches with paging sub-group identity of the UE, and wherein the paging sub-group identity indicates a paging sub-group with which the UE is associated.
SELVAGANAPATHY, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the decoding the indicating signal comprises determining if a paging sub-group identity associated with the indicating signal matches with paging sub-group identity of the UE (“identifying a paging occasion subgroup corresponding to a user equipment from the multiple paging occasion subgroups, ”: [0010]“each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “For each paging profile index, the ENB configures PO subgroups of POs within the PO list within DRX cycle (s). The PO subgroups can be either explicitly indicated or implicitly determined (e.g., based on paging profile index). For example, EDRX-Profile-Index corresponds to three values “short-eDRX/med-eDRX/long-eDRX”, the ENB dividing POs within DRX cycle (2.56 seconds) into three PO subgroups mapped to each value of EDRX-Profile-Index, as shown in FIG. 3, wherein, number of Pos within the DRX cycle is 256 (One PO per radio frame), the first subgroup mapped to short-eDRX, the second subgroup mapped to med-eDRX, and the third subgroup mapped to long-eDRX. ”: [0046]; “In another exemplary embodiment, in step S101, the ENB obtains three PO subgroups based on EDRX-Profile-Index, in step S103, the ENB receives a paging message from MME, the paging message comprise another paging profile index (such as MPI) for assigning PO subgroup to UE ”: [0053]), and wherein the paging sub-group identity indicates a paging sub-group with which the UE is associated groups ( “transmitting a group based wake up signal (GWUS) associated with the paging occasion prior to the paging occasion if the user equipment currently uses group based wake up signal. ”: [0005]; “ GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in the system (such as NB-IoT or eMTC system), the parameter information includes an offset for GWUS, the ENB assigns different Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE from WUS capable UE based on the offset for GWUS, then, the ENB determines a PO subgroup for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE, and determines another PO subgroup for WUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for WUS ”: [0026]; “ENB dividing POs for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles into multiple PO subgroups based on the paging profile index, wherein each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “Wherein, POs for GWUS may be all or part of the POs within the at least one DRX cycles. As an example, there are some GWUS capable UEs and some WUS capable UEs in NB-IoT, POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs in the PO subgroup for GWUS. As another example, all the UE in the system supports GWUS capability, all POs can be assigned for GWUS capable UEs, so POs for GWUS in this embodiment may be all POs within DRX cycle. … Wherein value of a paging profile index maps to one range of value associated with the paging profile. For example, Mobility-Profile of UEs is divided into two types: stationary, mobility; “MPI=0” indicates that mobility profile is Stationary, “MPI=1” indicates that mobility profile is mobility. ”: [0043]-[0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches the invention of claim 18 as set forth above. Further, SELVAGANAPATHY teaches, The method of claim 18, further comprising receiving a network message from the network entity before receiving the indicating signal, wherein the network message comprises paging sub-groups information indicates how the paging sub-group identity of the UE will be provided to UE (“identifying a paging occasion subgroup corresponding to a user equipment from the multiple paging occasion subgroups, ”: [0010]“each PO subgroup corresponding to different value of the paging profile index. ”: [0042]; “For each paging profile index, the ENB configures PO subgroups of POs within the PO list within DRX cycle (s). The PO subgroups can be either explicitly indicated or implicitly determined (e.g., based on paging profile index). For example, EDRX-Profile-Index corresponds to three values “short-eDRX/med-eDRX/long-eDRX”, the ENB dividing POs within DRX cycle (2.56 seconds) into three PO subgroups mapped to each value of EDRX-Profile-Index, as shown in FIG. 3, wherein, number of Pos within the DRX cycle is 256 (One PO per radio frame), the first subgroup mapped to short-eDRX, the second subgroup mapped to med-eDRX, and the third subgroup mapped to long-eDRX. ”: [0046]; “In another exemplary embodiment, in step S101, the ENB obtains three PO subgroups based on EDRX-Profile-Index, in step S103, the ENB receives a paging message from MME, the paging message comprise another paging profile index (such as MPI) for assigning PO subgroup to UE ”: [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of XU2327 to include the above recited limitations as taught by SELVAGANAPATHY. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce the false wake up of all the UEs associated to the Paging Occasion (PO) (SELVAGANAPATHY: [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, XU2327 in view of SELVAGANAPATHY teaches the invention of claim 19 as set forth above. Further, XU2327 teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein the paging sub-groups information indicates whether the paging sub-group identity will be provided to UE with a radio resource control (RRC) and/or a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling, and/or paging sub- group identity will be determined by the UE using a pre-specified formula signal (“Paging may be used for any of variety of different reasons. For example, when camped on a cell of the 5G NR network, the UE may receive a paging message that is configured to trigger the UE to transition from a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state. ”: [0017]; RRC is used for paging: [0034]-[0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/M Mostazir Rahman/ Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411