DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 20 2011 100 015 in view of WO 2011/151440.
Regarding claim 1, DE ‘015 teaches a lift for handling glass panels, comprising:
a lift assembly, A;
the lift assembly operably connected to a platform, H,
a suction head assembly, S;
the suction head assembly, S, operably connected to the lift assembly, A;
the suction head assembly configured to selectively connect with one of the plurality of glass plates, not show;
the lift assembly configured to facilitate movement of the suction head to facilitate movement and positioning of the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels to a position for installation, see translated portion of the description, reproduced here: The invention relates to a device for handling a glass plate, in particular a multilayer glass package, with a pivoting crane, which has a column and a pivotable about a pivot bearing unit in the horizontal direction boom with longitudinal guide means. In the longitudinal guide means a suspension conveyor can be moved on the boom, which has a lifting unit. In turn, a gripping unit with activatable adhesives is attached to the lifting unit, in particular pneumatically actuated suction plates, for engagement with a surface of the glass plate.
The DE ‘015 reference does not teach that the lift assembly is connected to a mobile platform.
WO ‘440 teaches a system for installation of photovoltaic panels, comprising:
a mobile platform, 27;
a rack, 26;
the rack, 27, operably connected to the mobile platform, 27, and configured to hold a plurality of photovoltaic panels, 16;
and a lift assembly, 21.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the lift assembly taught by DE ‘015 on a mobile platform, as taught by WO ‘440 in order to achieve the predictable result of using the lift assembly of DE ‘015 in a mobile manner and in multiple locations.
Regarding claim 2, DE ‘015 teaches the lift assembly is configured to provide an upward counterbalance force, via lifting unit H2, to the suction head assembly, S, when the suction head assembly is connected with one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels.
Regarding claim 3, DE ‘01`5 teaches the lift assembly includes a pillar, A1, an arm, A3, and a lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the arm, A3, operably connects the pillar, A1, to the lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the lifting sleeve, H, is operably connected to the suction head assembly, S, see figure 1.
Regarding claim 4, DE ‘015 teaches the lift assembly includes a pillar, A1, an arm, A3, and a lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the arm, A3, operably connects the pillar, A1, to the lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the lifting sleeve, H, is operably connected to the suction head assembly, S;
wherein the arm is configured to rotate about the pillar, the arm rotates about pivot bearing A2, see figure 1.
Regarding claim 5, DE ‘015 teaches the lift assembly includes a pillar, A1, an arm, A3, and a lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the arm, A3, operably connects the pillar, A1, to the lifting sleeve, H;
wherein the lifting sleeve, H, is operably connected to the suction head assembly, S;
wherein the pillar, A1, arm, A3, and lifting sleeve, H, are configured to work together to apply a lifting force to suction head assembly, S, when attached to the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels, so that the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels is effectively weightless from the perspective of an installer, see figure 1.
Regarding claim 6, DE ‘015 teaches the suction head assembly, S, includes a plurality of suction cups positioned in a plane, see figure 1;
wherein the suction head assembly is configured to apply a vacuum to is configured to apply a vacuum to the plurality of suction cups to facilitate connection of the suction head assembly with the surface of the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels, see translated description of reference, reproduced here: A possible construction of a gripping unit S and an advantageously additionally attached operating device B for a person P are in 1 shown only schematically. Thus, the gripping unit S has a pivotable and rotatable support frame S1. At this extendable support arms S4 are mounted, the ends of which are equipped with activatable adhesives, in particular with pneumatic suction plates.
Regarding claim 7, DE ‘015 teaches a vacuum;
wherein the suction head assembly, S, includes a plurality of suction cups positioned in a plane, see figure 1;
wherein the vacuum is fluidically connected to the plurality of suction cups by a flexible tube;
wherein operation of the suction causes the head assembly to apply a vacuum to the plurality of suction cups to facilitate connection of the suction head assembly with a surface of the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels, see translated description of reference, reproduced here: A possible construction of a gripping unit S and an advantageously additionally attached operating device B for a person P are in 1 shown only schematically. Thus, the gripping unit S has a pivotable and rotatable support frame S1. At this extendable support arms S4 are mounted, the ends of which are equipped with activatable adhesives, in particular with pneumatic suction plates.
.
Regarding claim 8, DE ‘015 teaches the suction head assembly has a handle configured to facilitate repositioning of the suction head assembly and the one of the plurality of photovoltaic panels connected thereto, see figure 1.
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘015 teaches the suction head assembly is configured to pivot relative to the lift assembly, see translated description of reference, reproduced here: Thus, the gripping unit S has a pivotable and rotatable support frame S1. At this extendable support arms S4 are mounted, the ends of which are equipped with activatable adhesives, in particular with pneumatic suction plates. 1 shows the support frame S1 of the gripping unit S in a vertically pivoted position. Such is z. B. taken after gripping and lifting a glass plate and is particularly suitable as a transport position. For pivoting the support frame S1 between an approximately horizontal and a vertical end position is a tilting cylinder S3. For the execution of rotational movements, a rotary drive S2 is present.
Regarding claim 10, DE ‘015 teaches a control system, B;
wherein the control system is configured to control operation of the lift assembly and suction head assembly in response to user input, see translated description of reference, reproduced here: In an advantageous and in 1 already shown embodiment is attached to the gripping unit S an additional operating device B with a control panel B4. This can be taken by a person via side handles. The control panel is equipped with controls to control the functions of gripper unit S and overhead conveyor H. Displacements of the overhead conveyor and gripping unit with glass plate along the cantilever longitudinal guide means A31, and pivoting of these components with the cantilever over the pivot bearing unit may be caused by tensile and compressive forces manually introduced into the operator by a person P. The control panel B4 is connected via a holding bridge B1 directly to the gripping unit S.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. There are many examples among the prior art of systems for installation of photovoltaic panels that comprises the features of the claimed invention. Cited on the PTO-892 are additional examples of such system to show the general state of the prior art.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
3 June 2026