DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 10/1/2026 wherein claims 11-15 and 20 are canceled and claims 1-10, 16-19, and 21-22 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kippel et al. (US 2018/0355776) in view of Rizkalla (US 2025/0043735), Driscoll et al. (US 2009/0107119), and Kippel (US 2017/0182442).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Kippel ‘778 teaches (Figures 1-2) a gas turbine engine (12) being operable at different load conditions (Paragraph 0012), the gas turbine engine (12) having a compressor (Paragraph 0013) and standby or lag fan (44) of a tempering air system (38) of a selective catalytic reduction system (within 22; see Figure 1) coupled to the gas turbine engine (12).
Kippel ‘778 does not teach increasing the efficiency or extending a turndown range of a gas turbine engine, comprising: reducing an output of the gas turbine engine by a predetermined percentage in part-load operation; and turning on the standby or lag fan; wherein the standby or lag fan is powered by the gas turbine engine such that turning on the standby or lag fan creates a parasitic load on the gas turbine engine; wherein the parasitic load of the standby or lag fan reduces the output of the gas turbine engine by at least part of the predetermined percentage, or venting air of the standby or lag fan to the atmosphere instead of introducing air into the selective catalytic reduction system.
Rizkalla teaches (Figures 1-8) reducing the output of a gas turbine engine (10) by a predetermined percentage in part-load operation (during turndown; see Paragraph 0024), comprising: closing a plurality of inlet guide vanes (13) to reduce an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0024) and introducing a flow of cooling air (via 32) into the exhaust of the gas turbine (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0029) to reduce the output of the gas turbine engine by at least part of a predetermined percentage (an additional 10% to 15%; see Paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kippel ‘778 to increase the efficiency or extending a turndown range of a gas turbine engine when an output of the gas turbine engine is to be reduced by a predetermined percentage in part-load operation, comprising: closing a plurality of inlet guide vanes to reduce an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine and introducing a flow of cooling air, by turning on Kippel’s cooling air fan, to reduce the output of the gas turbine engine by at least part of the predetermined percentage, as taught by Rizkalla, in order to reduce airflow that facilitates maintaining a fuel/air ratio of the gas turbine engine at optimum levels for low emission operation and to reduce the overall exhaust gas temperature downstream of the mixing of the hot exhaust gas air with the cooler air to operate with an increased exhaust gas temperature to facilitate additional turndown (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029 of Rizkalla). Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the standby or lag fan is powered by the gas turbine engine such that turning on the standby or lag fan creates a parasitic load on the gas turbine engine or venting air of the standby or lag fan to the atmosphere instead of introducing air into the selective catalytic reduction system.
Driscoll teaches that a parasitic load on the combustion engine may be controlled to increase the exhaust gas temperature (Paragraph 0044) and also teaches that fans, air compressors, air conditioners, etc., may be connected to the engine and can create the parasitic load on the engine (Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kippel in view of Rizkalla to have the fan be powered by the gas turbine engine such that turning on the standby or lag fan creates a parasitic load on the gas turbine engine, as taught by Driscoll, in order to control the parasitic load to increase the exhaust gas temperature (Paragraph 0044 of Driscoll) since increasing the exhaust gas temperature of the gas turbine engine facilitates achieving additional turndown (see Paragraph 0029 of Rizkalla). Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla and Driscoll the step of venting air of the standby or lag fan to the atmosphere instead of introducing air into the selective catalytic reduction system.
Kippel ‘442 teaches (Figures 1-3) a gas turbine engine (12) and an exhaust processing system (22), wherein air (air to 122) from a standby or lag fan (123A, 123B, or 123C) is vented to the atmosphere (see Paragraph 0041 and Figure 2) instead of introducing the air (air to 12) into the selective catalytic reduction system (46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla and Driscoll to include venting air of the standby or lag fan to the atmosphere, as taught by Kippel ‘442, in order to control the flow of air to a tempering air injection grid (see Paragraphs 0040-0041 of Kippel ‘442). It is further noted that a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the tempering air system as taught by Kippel ‘778) for another (in this case, the tempering air system as taught by Kippel ‘442) to obtain predictable results (in this case, introduce tempering air into the exhaust path to cool the exhaust gas) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Regarding Claim 17, Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 does not teach, as discussed so far, the step of maintaining a plurality of inlet guide vanes in at least a partially open position to maintain an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine when the standby or lag fan is turned on.
Eroglu teaches (Figures 1-11) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) including variable inlet guide vanes (14), closing (see Paragraph 0022) a plurality of inlet guide vanes (14) to reduce an airflow to a compressor (1) of the gas turbine engine (see Figure 1), thereby reducing the load (see Paragraphs 0018-0022); and opening (opening the position of the inlet guide vanes; see Paragraphs 0089-0098 and Figures 5, 6, 7) the plurality of inlet guide vanes (14) to increase the airflow to the compressor (1), thereby increasing the load (see Paragraphs 0018-0022).
Rizkalla teaches (Figures 1-8) that introducing a flow of cooling air (via 32) into the exhaust of the gas turbine (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0029) reduces the output of the gas turbine engine by a percentage by increasing the exhaust gas temperature (see Paragraph 0029).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the gas turbine engine’s load can be reduced by either increasing a flow of cooling air into the exhaust of the gas turbine, as taught by Rizkalla, or by decreasing the airflow to the compressor by closing the vanes, as taught by Eroglu. Thus, it would have been common knowledge or common sense to maintain the position of the inlet guide vanes in a partially open position to maintain an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine when the cooling air is introduced into the exhaust gas duct so that the reduction in load caused by the increase in the flow of cooling air into the exhaust of the gas turbine can be compensated for by increasing the load with increased airflow into the compressor if it was desired to maintain a load output. A patent examiner may rely on "common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference") and In re Zurko, 258 F.3d 1379, 1383, 1385, 59 USPQ2d 1693 at 1695, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (clarifying that a factual foundation is needed in order for an examiner to invoke "good common sense" in a case in which "basic knowledge and common sense was not based on any evidence in the record"). The Federal Circuit implicitly acknowledged in Perfect Web that the kind of strict evidence-based teaching, suggestion, or motivation required in In re Lee, 277 F.3d 1338, 1344, 61 USPQ2d 1430, 1434 (Fed. Cir. 2002), is not an absolute requirement for an obviousness rejection in light of the teachings of KSR. The Federal Circuit explained that "[a]t the time [of the Lee decision], we required the PTO to identify record evidence of a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine references." However, Perfect Web went on to state that even under Lee, common sense could properly be applied when analyzing evidence relevant to obviousness. Citing DyStar Textilfarben GmbH v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 80 USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 2006), and In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 78 USPQ2d 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2006), two cases decided shortly before the Supreme Court’s decision in KSR, the Federal Circuit noted that although "a reasoned explanation that avoids conclusory generalizations" is required to use common sense, identification of a "specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference" is not. See also B/E Aerospace, Inc. v. C&D Zodiac, Inc., 962 F.3d 1373, 1380-81, 2020 USPQ2d 10706 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (stating that "the Board’s invocation of common sense was properly accompanied by reasoned analysis and evidentiary support" to show why it would be obvious to incorporate a second recess to receive an airplane seat support). But see Arendi v. Apple, 832 F.3d 1355, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (finding that the Board had not provided a reasoned analysis, supported by the evidence of record, for why "common sense" taught the missing process step).
Regarding Claim 18, Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Kippel ‘778 teaches (Figures 1-2) the gas turbine engine (12) having a compressor (Paragraph 0013) and standby or lag fan (44) of a tempering air system (38) of a selective catalytic reduction system (within 22; see Figure 1) coupled to the gas turbine engine (12).
Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 does not teach, as discussed so far, the step of closing a plurality of inlet guide vanes to reduce an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine before the standby or lag fan is turned on.
RIzkalla teaches (Figures 1-8) closing a plurality of inlet guide vanes (13) to reduce an airflow to a compressor (16) of the gas turbine engine (10) before the cooling air is introduced into the exhaust of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 to close the plurality of inlet guide vanes to reduce an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine before the cooling air is introduced into the exhaust of the gas turbine, as taught by Rizkalla, in order to maintain an appropriate fuel/air ratio for the engine when the load is decreased below the base load (Paragraph 0044 of Rizkalla).
Regarding Claim 22, Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kippel ‘778 further teaches (Figures 1-2) a standby or lag fan (44) of a tempering air system (38) of a selective catalytic reduction system (within 22; see Figure 1) coupled to the gas turbine engine (12).
As discussed above, Rizkalla teaches (Figures 1-8) reducing the output of a gas turbine engine (10) by a predetermined percentage in part-load operation (during turndown; see Paragraph 0024) and introducing a flow of cooling air (via 32) into the exhaust of the gas turbine (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0029) to reduce the output of the gas turbine engine by at least part of a predetermined percentage (an additional 10% to 15%; see Paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kippel ‘778 in view of Rizkalla, Driscoll, and Kippel ‘442 to increase the efficiency or extending a turndown range of a gas turbine engine comprising: reducing an output of the gas turbine engine by a predetermined percentage in part-load operation; closing a plurality of inlet guide vanes to reduce an airflow to a compressor of the gas turbine engine and introducing a flow of cooling air, by operating Kippel’s cooling air fan, to reduce the output of the gas turbine engine by at least part of the predetermined percentage, as taught by Rizkalla, in order to reduce airflow that facilitates maintaining a fuel/air ratio of the gas turbine engine at optimum levels for low emission operation and to reduce the overall exhaust gas temperature downstream of the mixing of the hot exhaust gas air with the cooler air to operate with an increased exhaust gas temperature to facilitate additional turndown (Paragraphs 0024 and 0029 of Rizkalla).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 21 are allowed.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach, in combination with the other limitations of the independent claims: “the gas turbine engine produces, with the plurality of inlet guide vanes in the more open position, a same net output as was produced with the plurality of inlet guide vanes closed before turning on the standby or lag fan, the same net output corresponding to the output reduced by the predetermined percentage” (Claim 1, lines 14-17 and Claim 19, lines 4-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2026, regarding claims 16-18 and 22, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Rizkalla reduces output by extracting high-pressure air at the compressor discharge which is not compatible with Kippel’s fan drawing ambient air into the tempering air grid. Applicant therefore argues that turning on Kippel’s fan would not reduce output. In response, it is noted that Rizkalla teaches that mixing hot exhaust gas with cooler air reduces overall exhaust gas temperature downstream from the mixing and, therefore, the gas turbine engine may be operated with an increased exhaust gas temperature, such as an exhaust gas temperature that is higher than an inlet gas temperature limit of the HRSG. Rizkalla further teaches that increasing the exhaust gas temperature of the gas turbine engine turbine turndown facilitates achieving additional turndown. Therefore, Rizkalla teaches that the additional turndown is achieved by mixing hot exhaust gas with cooler air. Kippel teaches mixing hot exhaust gas with cool air using fans 123. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is refuted by the prior art.
Applicant additionally argues that Driscoll uses engine exhaust-system controls to increase exhaust temperature when a condition associated with reductant decomposition is recognized, while the purpose of Kippel is to cool the exhaust gas before it reaches the catalysts and, therefore, the two references have inconsistent rationales. In response, it is noted that Driscoll is not being applied to teach using engine controls to increase exhaust gas temperature. Instead Driscoll is relied upon for teaching the concept that a parasitic load on the combustion engine can be controlled and that fans connected to the engine create the parasitic load (Paragraphs 0024 and 0044 of Driscoll).
Applicant further argues that the prior art does not teach venting the air of a standby or lag fan to the atmosphere instead of introducing the air into the selective catalytic reduction system. In response, Kippel ‘442 teaches (Figures 1-3) a gas turbine engine (12) and an exhaust processing system (22), wherein air (air to 122) from a standby or lag fan (123A, 123B, or 123C) is vented to the atmosphere (see Paragraph 0041 and Figure 2) instead of introducing the air (air to 12) into the selective catalytic reduction system (46). Kippel’ 442 clearly depicts that the location where the air is being vented (at 122) is positioned upstream of the selective catalytic reduction system (46). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is refuted by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741