DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nasrallah (US 20160031111 A1).
Referring to claim 1: Nasrallah discloses a knife accessory device (10) for cleaning a knife comprising:
a first scraper (14 and 16B) extending between a first end (1E Fig. 1-A inserted below) and second end (2E Fig. 1-A);
a second scraper (12 and 16A) extending between a third end (3E Fig. 1-A) and a fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A);
a connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) including the first end (1E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper (14 and 16B) connected to the third end (3E Fig. 1-A) of the second scraper (12 and 16A) such that the second end (2E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper faces the fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A) of the second scraper;
a magnet (18) within the second scraper (12 and 16A), the magnet configured to secure the device to the knife; and
a slot (slot between 12 and 14 shown in Fig. 2B) configured to receive a spine of a knife, the slot including an open end (open end between 2E and 4E) between the second end (2E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper (14 and 16B) and the fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A) of the second scraper (12 and 16A), the slot (slot between 12 and 14 shown in Fig. 2B) extending between the first scraper (14 and 16B) and the second scraper (12 and 16A) and the slot extending from the connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) to the open end (open end between 2E and 4E);
wherein the device is moveable on the spine of the knife from a first position (first position of blade closest to handle) to a second position (second position of blade opposite to handle), and the first scraper (14 and 16B) and the second scraper (12 and 16A) are configured to remove matter on a blade of the knife as the device moves on the spine of the knife (Abstract).
Referring to claim 3: Nasrallah discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) further comprises:
a resting surface (RS Fig. 1-A) extending between the first scraper (14 and 16B) and the second scraper (12 and 16A), the resting surface (RS Fig. 1-A) configured to abut the spine of the knife.
Referring to claim 4: Nasrallah discloses a knife accessory device (10) comprising:
a first scraper (14 and 16B) extending between a first end (1E Fig. 1-A) and second end (2E Fig. 1-A);
a second scraper (12 and 16A) extending between a third end (3E Fig. 1-A) and a fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A);
a connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) including the first end (1E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper (14 and 16B) connected to the third end (3E Fig. 1-A) of the second scraper (12 and 16A) such that the second end (2E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper (14 and 16B) faces the fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A) of the second scraper (12 and 16A);
a resting surface (RS Fig. 1-A) in the connection section (CS Fig. 1-A), the resting surface (RS Fig. 1-A) configured to abut a spine of the knife;
a magnet (18) within the second scraper (12 and 16A), the magnet configured to hold the device to the knife; and
a slot (slot between 12 and 14 shown in Fig. 2B) configured extending from the resting surface (RS Fig. 1-A) to an open end (open end between 2E and 4E) between the second end (2E Fig. 1-A) of the first scraper (14 and 16B) and the fourth end (4E Fig. 1-A)of the second scraper, the slot extending between the first scraper and the second scraper, and the slot configured to (4E Fig. 1-A) receive a blade of the knife;
wherein the device (10) is moveable along a spine of a knife from a first position (first position of blade closest to handle) to a second position (second position of blade opposite to handle).
Referring to claim 6: Nasrallah discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the first (14 and 16B) and second scraper (12 and 16A) are configured to extend from the spine of the knife which is received in the slot (slot between 12 and 14 shown in Fig. 2B), towards an edge of the blade of the knife.
Referring to claim 7: Nasrallah discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the first (14 and 16B) and second scrapers (12 and 16A) are configured to remove matter accumulated on the blade of the knife (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nasrallah (US 20160031111 A1) and Zeitlin (US 8584365 B2).
Referring to claim 2: Nasrallah discloses the device of claim 1, further comprises:
an outer surface (outer surface of CS Fig. 1-A) of the connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) and configured to receive force and move the device along the spine.
But is silent on specifically a cavity in the outer surface.
Zeitlin in an analogous knife scraper teaches a cavity (38 Figs. 6C and 6D) in the outer surface (30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nasrallah with the cavity as taught by Zeitlin for the purpose of having a suitable notch/groove to facilitate holding, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 5: Nasrallah discloses the device of claim 4, further comprises: an outer surface (outer surface of CS Fig. 1-A) of the connection section (CS Fig. 1-A) and configured to receive force and move the device along the spine.
But is silent on specifically a cavity in the outer surface.
Zeitlin in an analogous knife scraper teaches a cavity (38 Figs. 6C and 6D) in the outer surface (30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nasrallah with the cavity as taught by Zeitlin for the purpose of having a suitable notch/groove to facilitate holding, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723