DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Final Rejection office action in response to application Serial No. 18/826/631. Claim(s) 1-26 have been examined and fully considered.
Claims 1, 6, 11-12 and 16 have been amended. Claims 2-4 and 17-19 have been canceled. Claims 21-26 have been newly added.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-16, and 20-26 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of CN202310495117.0 filed 05/05/2023 and CON of PCT/CN2024/071214 filed 01/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments/Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited passages of Wang have not been shown to disclose a first preset value of temperature or a second preset value of temperature, where the second preset value is greater than the first preset value, much less controlling the braking force output based on whether the current temperature of the brake disc is less than or equal to the first preset value, or the current temperature is greater than or equal to the second preset value as recited in claim 1.”. Examiner points to Paragraph [0102] to address where the current wheel ratios illustrates where the second preset value that is greater than the first preset value as present slip ratios. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Onoda et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/034381.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bin Wang (CN107303820A; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Wang”.
Regarding [claim 6], Wang discloses a control apparatus (“a main controller 1”) for an electric vehicle (“hub motors 7”), wherein the electric vehicle comprises a drive system (“hub motors 7”), and the drive system comprises at least one drive motor (“hub motors 7”) and at least one motor controller (see, Paragraph [0056]: “The second braking subsystem includes a second brake controller 6”); and the motor controller is configured to control the drive motor to output driving force in response to the electric vehicle running in a driving state; or the motor controller is configured to control the drive motor to output braking force to a wheel connected to the drive motor in response to the electric vehicle running in a braking state (see, Paragraphs [0045]; and [0056]-[0057]: “In a specific implementation, when the second brake controller 6 controls the hub motor 7 to generate the corresponding braking torque, it can utilize the relationship between the control voltage of the hub motor, the wheel speed, and the output torque of the hub motor. Based on the total target braking torque allocated to the wheel and the wheel speed, it can calculate the corresponding control voltage of the hub motor 7 and control the output torque of the hub motor 7 through the control voltage of the hub motor 7. At this time, the output torque of the hub motor 7 can be either braking torque or driving torque, which is determined by the main controller 1”); and the electric vehicle comprises a braking system (“a brake disc 3”), the braking system comprises four actuators (“a reducer 5”), each actuator of the four actuators comprises a brake disc, the four actuators are configured to output the braking force, four brake discs comprise two front brake discs and two rear brake discs, the two front brake discs comprise a left front brake disc and a right front brake disc, the two rear brake discs comprise a left rear brake disc and a right rear brake disc, and the four brake discs respectively correspond to four wheels of the electric vehicle (see, Paragraphs [0051]-[0053]: “As can be seen from Figure 2, the corresponding motor braking angular displacement A can be obtained based on the current brake disc temperature T of the wheel and the total target braking torque F distributed to the wheel. By controlling the braking angular displacement A of the motor, the nut in the lead screw nut structure 4 can be moved forward to increase braking force or backward to decrease braking force, thereby generating the corresponding target braking torque. This avoids the influence of noise and vibration and improves the accuracy of braking. Furthermore, since the target braking torque is not generated during the process, the judgment of the output torque value can be avoided due to the impact current generated when the motor first reverses, thus further improving the accuracy of braking.”), wherein
the control apparatus comprises at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
output a control signal of the drive system to control the drive system to reduce braking force output in response to a temperature of a brake disc corresponding to at least one wheel connected to the drive motor being less than or equal to a first preset value,
wherein the motor controller is configured to receive the control signal of the drive system and control the drive motor to reduce the braking force output (see, Figures 2-6; Paragraphs [0014]-[0015]: “Optionally, the first slave brake controller controls the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake according to the allocated total target braking torque, including: the first slave brake controller calculates the angular displacement of the corresponding motor in the wheel based on the current temperature of the brake disc of the wheel and the total target braking torque allocated to the wheel, and controls the output torque of the electromechanical brake by controlling the angular displacement of the corresponding motor.”; and [0106]: “as shown in FIG6, the calculation unit 53 may further include: a brake disc temperature calculation subunit 533. The brake disc temperature calculation subunit 533 is adapted to calculate the current temperature of the brake disc of each wheel based on the current vehicle speed, the vehicle acceleration, the current slip ratio of each wheel, and the adhesion coefficient between the vehicle and the road surface, and send the result to the first slave brake controller, which then controls the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake based on the current brake disc temperature of each wheel”); or
output a control signal of the drive system to control the drive system to increase braking force output in response to a temperature of a brake disc corresponding to at least one wheel connected to the drive motor being greater than or equal to a second preset value that is greater than the first preset value (see, Paragraph [0102]: “The judging subunit 523 is adapted to judge that the wheels are in emergency braking when the receiving unit receives the braking request signal and the current slip ratios of the wheels are respectively greater than the corresponding preset slip ratios. dynamic state.”*** Examiner interprets where the current wheel ratios illustrates where the second preset value that is greater than the first preset value as present slip ratios****), wherein the motor controller is configured to receive the control signal of the drive system and control the drive motor to increase the braking force output (see, Figures 2-6; Paragraph [0008]: “controlling the operating state of the hub motors based on the battery SOC signal and the wheel speed signals of each wheel, and distributing the total target braking torque of each wheel according to the different operating states of the hub motors, and sending the distributed total target braking torque of each wheel to the corresponding slave brake controllers, which then control the output torque of the corresponding motors according to the distributed total target braking torque; wherein the slave brake controllers include: a first slave brake controller and a second slave brake controller, the first slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake according to the distributed total target braking torque, and the second slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding hub motor according to the distributed total target braking torque.”; and [0053]: “As can be seen from Figure 2, the corresponding motor braking angular displacement A can be obtained based on the current brake disc temperature T of the wheel and the total target braking torque F distributed to the wheel. By controlling the braking angular displacement A of the motor, the nut in the lead screw nut structure 4 can be moved forward to increase braking force or backward to decrease braking force, thereby generating the corresponding target braking torque. This avoids the influence of noise and vibration and improves the accuracy of braking. Furthermore, since the target braking torque is not generated during the process, the judgment of the output torque value can be avoided due to the impact current generated when the motor first reverses, thus further improving the accuracy of braking.”; and [0106]: “as shown in FIG6, the calculation unit 53 may further include: a brake disc temperature calculation subunit 533. The brake disc temperature calculation subunit 533 is adapted to calculate the current temperature of the brake disc of each wheel based on the current vehicle speed, the vehicle acceleration, the current slip ratio of each wheel, and the adhesion coefficient between the vehicle and the road surface, and send the result to the first slave brake controller, which then controls the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake based on the current brake disc temperature of each wheel” ***Examiner notes that the claims 6 to 8; Figures 1-3, discloses the subject matter of claim language providing braking force by the control signal of the drive system and control the drive motor ***).
As to [claim 7], Wang teaches the control apparatus according to claim 6. Wang discloses wherein the drive system comprises a front-drive motor, the front-drive motor is connected to two front wheels of the electric vehicle, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the drive system to reduce the braking force output in response to a temperature of at least one front brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the drive system to increase the braking force output in response to a temperature of at least one front brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value (see, Figures 2-6; Paragraph [0008]: “controlling the operating state of the hub motors based on the battery SOC signal and the wheel speed signals of each wheel, and distributing the total target braking torque of each wheel according to the different operating states of the hub motors, and sending the distributed total target braking torque of each wheel to the corresponding slave brake controllers, which then control the output torque of the corresponding motors according to the distributed total target braking torque; wherein the slave brake controllers include: a first slave brake controller and a second slave brake controller, the first slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake according to the distributed
total target braking torque, and the second slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding hub motor according to the distributed total target braking torque.”; and [0052]: “in order to more accurately control the braking torque of the electromechanical brake, the first slave brake controller 2 can utilize the relationship between "brake disc temperature - target braking torque - motor braking angular displacement" to calculate the angular displacement of the corresponding motor in the wheel based on the current brake disc temperature of the wheel and the total target braking torque distributed to the wheel, and then control the output torque of the electromechanical brake by controlling the angular displacement of the corresponding motor.”; and [0053]: “As can be seen from Figure 2, the corresponding motor braking angular displacement A can be obtained based on the current brake disc temperature T of the wheel and the total target braking torque F distributed to the wheel. By controlling the braking angular displacement A of the motor, the nut in the lead screw nut structure 4 can be moved forward to increase braking force or backward to decrease braking force, thereby generating the corresponding target braking torque. This avoids the influence of noise and vibration and improves the accuracy of braking. Furthermore, since the target braking torque is not generated during the process, the judgment of the output torque value can be avoided due to the impact current generated when the motor first reverses, thus further improving the accuracy of braking.”; [0054]: “It should be noted that the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel can be calculated by the main controller 1 and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2, or it can be obtained by the first slave brake controller 2 itself and calculated, or it can be calculated by other devices or equipment and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2. There are no restrictions on how the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel is obtained.”; and [0106] ***Examiner notes that the claims 6 to 8; Figures 1-3, discloses the subject matter of claim language***).
As to [claim 8], Wang discloses the control apparatus according to claim 6. Wang discloses wherein the drive system comprises a rear-drive motor, the rear-drive motor is connected to two rear wheels of the electric vehicle, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the drive system to reduce the braking force output in response to a temperature of at least one rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the drive system to increase the braking force output in response to a temperature of at least one rear brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value (see, Figures 2-6; Paragraph [0008]: “controlling the operating state of the hub motors based on the battery SOC signal and the wheel speed signals of each wheel, and distributing the total target braking torque of each wheel according to the different operating states of the hub motors, and sending the distributed total target braking torque of each wheel to the corresponding slave brake controllers, which then control the output torque of the corresponding motors according to the distributed total target braking torque; wherein the slave brake controllers include: a first slave brake controller and a second slave brake controller, the first slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake according to the distributed
total target braking torque, and the second slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding hub motor according to the distributed total target braking torque.”; and [0052]: “in order to more accurately control the braking torque of the electromechanical brake, the first slave brake controller 2 can utilize the relationship between "brake disc temperature - target braking torque - motor braking angular displacement" to calculate the angular displacement of the corresponding motor in the wheel based on the current brake disc temperature of the wheel and the total target braking torque distributed to the wheel, and then control the output torque of the electromechanical brake by controlling the angular displacement of the corresponding motor.”; and [0053]: “As can be seen from Figure 2, the corresponding motor braking angular displacement A can be obtained based on the current brake disc temperature T of the wheel and the total target braking torque F distributed to the wheel. By controlling the braking angular displacement A of the motor, the nut in the lead screw nut structure 4 can be moved forward to increase braking force or backward to decrease braking force, thereby generating the corresponding target braking torque. This avoids the influence of noise and vibration and improves the accuracy of braking. Furthermore, since the target braking torque is not generated during the process, the judgment of the output torque value can be avoided due to the impact current generated when the motor first reverses, thus further improving the accuracy of braking.”; [0054]: “It should be noted that the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel can be calculated by the main controller 1 and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2, or it can be obtained by the first slave brake controller 2 itself and calculated, or it can be calculated by other devices or equipment and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2. There are no restrictions on how the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel is obtained.”; and [0106] ***Examiner notes that the claims 6 to 8; Figures 1-3, discloses the subject matter of claim language***).
As to [claim 9], Wang discloses the control apparatus according to claim 6. Wang discloses the wherein the drive system comprises four drive motors, the four drive motors are respectively connected to the four wheels of the electric vehicle, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the drive system to reduce the braking force output of the drive motor connected to the wheel corresponding to the brake disc whose temperature is less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the drive system to increase the braking force output of the drive motor connected to the wheel corresponding to the brake disc whose temperature is greater than or equal to the second preset value (see, Figures 2-6; Paragraph [0008]: “controlling the operating state of the hub motors based on the battery SOC signal and the wheel speed signals of each wheel, and distributing the total target braking torque of each wheel according to the different operating states of the hub motors, and sending the distributed total target braking torque of each wheel to the corresponding slave brake controllers, which then control the output torque of the corresponding motors according to the distributed total target braking torque; wherein the slave brake controllers include: a first slave brake controller and a second slave brake controller, the first slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding electromechanical brake according to the distributed
total target braking torque, and the second slave brake controller controlling the output torque of the corresponding hub motor according to the distributed total target braking torque.”; and [0052]: “in order to more accurately control the braking torque of the electromechanical brake, the first slave brake controller 2 can utilize the relationship between "brake disc temperature - target braking torque - motor braking angular displacement" to calculate the angular displacement of the corresponding motor in the wheel based on the current brake disc temperature of the wheel and the total target braking torque distributed to the wheel, and then control the output torque of the electromechanical brake by controlling the angular displacement of the corresponding motor.”; and [0053]: “As can be seen from Figure 2, the corresponding motor braking angular displacement A can be obtained based on the current brake disc temperature T of the wheel and the total target braking torque F distributed to the wheel. By controlling the braking angular displacement A of the motor, the nut in the lead screw nut structure 4 can be moved forward to increase braking force or backward to decrease braking force, thereby generating the corresponding target braking torque. This avoids the influence of noise and vibration and improves the accuracy of braking. Furthermore, since the target braking torque is not generated during the process, the judgment of the output torque value can be avoided due to the impact current generated when the motor first reverses, thus further improving the accuracy of braking.”; [0054]: “It should be noted that the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel can be calculated by the main controller 1 and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2, or it can be obtained by the first slave brake controller 2 itself and calculated, or it can be calculated by other devices or equipment and then sent to the first slave brake controller 2. There are no restrictions on how the temperature of the brake discs of each wheel is obtained.”; and [0106] ***Examiner notes that the claims 6 to 8; Figures 1-3, discloses the subject matter of claim language***).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 16 and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiya et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0272230; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Sekiya” in view of Onoda et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/034381.6), hereinafter, referred to as “Onoda”, and in view of Eckert et al. (Pub. No.: US 2003/0216849; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Eckert”.
Regarding [claim 1], Sekiya discloses a braking system for an electric vehicle (see, Abstract; Paragraph [0057]: “Vehicular braking apparatuses according to various embodiments of the present invention will now be described in detail with reference to the drawings. FIG. 1 schematically shows the configuration of a vehicle on which a vehicular braking apparatus 10”),
wherein the braking system comprises a controller (“electronic control unit 51”) and four actuators, each actuator of the four actuators comprises a brake disc, four brake discs comprise two front brake discs and two rear brake discs, the two front brake discs comprise a left front brake disc and a right front brake disc, the two rear brake discs comprise a left rear brake disc and a right rear brake disc, the controller is configured to receive a braking signal of the braking system and output four control signals, the braking signal of the braking system indicates total braking force output by the braking system, the four control signals are respectively used to control the four actuators to output braking force that is adjusted based on temperatures of the four brake discs (see, Figures 1-2, 12; Paragraphs [0058]; [0062]; [0081]: “As shown in FIG. 1, these sensors 41 to 45 are connected to an electronic control unit 51 of an electric control apparatus 50. The electronic control unit 51 includes a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc. as main components, and controls operations of the brake units 11, 12, 13, and 14 by executing various programs including a program which will be described later. Therefore, a drive circuit 52 which operates and controls the brake hydraulic pressure control section 20 is connected to the output side of the electronic control unit 51” and [0082]: “The vehicle behavior stabilization apparatus 60 is an apparatus for suppressing unstable vehicle behavior by properly changing the braking forces applied to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 by the brake unit 11, 12, 13, and 14.” and [0142]-[0144]), wherein the controller is configured to control an actuator corresponding to a brake disc whose temperature is less than or equal to a first preset value to increase braking force output (see, Figures 8 and 15; and Paragraphs [0090]: “In step S13, the electronic control unit 51 determines whether or not each of the temperatures T detected by the temperature sensors 42, 43 assembled to the brake units 13, 14 of the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 is equal to or lower than a previously set, predetermined temperature Ts. The temperature Ts is determined on the basis of the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4 such that the temperature Ts coincides with the lower limit temperature of the above-mentioned optimum temperature range. When each of the detected temperatures Tis equal or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 makes a "Yes" determination, and proceeds to step S14”; [0134]: “More specifically, for example, in a situation where the internal space temperatures T of the drum brake units 15, 16 approach the upper limit temperature of the optimum temperature range (temperature Tu shown in FIG. 4), the electronic control unit 51 decreases (to zero) the braking forces of the drum brake units 15, 16 in order to restrain the generation of friction heat, and increases the braking forces of the brake units 13, 14 for coordination. Furthermore, for example, in a situation where the internal space temperatures T of the drum brake units 15, 16 are close to the lower limit temperature of the optimum temperature range (that is, the predetermined temperature Ts), the electronic control unit 51 increases the braking forces of the drum brake units 15, 16 in order to generate friction heat more, and decreases the braking forces of the brake units 13, 14 for coordination ;” and [0145]: “In this second modification as well, the electronic control unit 51 executes the braking-force-distribution changing program as in the case of the above-described first and second embodiments. However, the second modification slightly differs from these embodiments in the processing of steps S13, S14 and S15 in the braking-force-distribution changing program shown in FIG. 5. Notably, in this second modification as well, as will be described later, the above described steps S20 and step S21 of the braking-force-distribution changing program of the second embodiment having been described with reference to FIG. 8 can be omitted.” [0146]: “Specifically, in this second modification, the temperature sensors 42, 43 detect the temperatures T of the corresponding brake discs. Therefore, in step S13 in the second modification, the electronic control unit 51 determines whether or not the temperatures T of the brake discs detected by the temperature sensors 42, 43 are equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts.”), wherein a sum of the braking force output by the four actuators is equal to the total braking force indicated by the braking signal of the braking system (see, Paragraph [0196]: “Meanwhile, when the detected water temperature Tw or the detected oil temperature Ty is higher than the predetermined temperature TwuS or the predetermined temperature Tyu, the electronic control unit 51 can change the braking force distribution in accordance with the second braking force map such that the proportion (ratio) of the braking forces of the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 to the total braking force required to realize the demanded deceleration Gd becomes greater than the proportion (ratio) of the braking force of the brake unit 19 to the total braking force. By virtue of this configuration, the detected water temperature Tw or the detected oil temperature Ty can be prevented from increasing excessively, and the engine 71 and the transmission 72 can be operated properly”); or
the controller is configured to control an actuator corresponding to a brake disc whose temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset value to reduce braking force output, wherein a sum of the braking force output by the four actuators is equal to the total braking force indicated by the braking signal of the braking system (Figures 8 and 15; and Paragraphs [0102]: “In step S15, the electronic control unit 51 applies braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 by referring to a second braking force map indicated by a solid line in FIG. 7. That is, in this case, the internal space temperatures T of the brake units 13, 14 for the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 have already become higher than the predetermined temperature Ts, and the thermoelectric conversion section 31 can perform thermoelectric conversion efficiently. If the internal space temperatures T of the brake units 13, 14 increase excessively; in other words, if the heating side of the thermoelectric conversion section 31 is heated excessively, as is apparent from the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4, the thermoelectric conversion efficiency drops”; [0132] and [0149]: “Further, in step S15 in this second modification, which is performed when the electronic control unit 51 determines in the above-described step S13 that the internal space temperatures T are higher than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 applies braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 in accordance with the second braking force map shown in FIG. 7. Specifically, in accordance with the second braking force map, the electronic control unit 51 operates the brake units 11, 12 ( disc brake units) for the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2, and operates the brake units 13, 14 (disc brake units) for the left and right rear wheels RW1,RW2”); and wherein the left front brake disc and the right rear brake disc respectively correspond to a left front actuator and a right rear actuator, and the controller is configured to: control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to increase the braking force output in response to a temperature of the left front brake disc or the right rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to a temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value (See, Paragraph [0128]-[0130]: “Specifically, in step S14 in this first modification, which is performed when the electronic control unit 51 determines in the above-described step S13 that the internal space temperatures T are equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 operates the drum brake units 15, 16 preferentially in accordance with the first braking force map shown in FIG. 6. Specifically, in order to increase the internal space temperatures T of the drum brake units 15, 16, the electronic control unit 51 operates only the drum brake units 15, 16 in accordance with the first braking force map to thereby apply braking forces to the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2. That is, in this case, the proportion of the braking forces of the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 is rendered zero”; and [0135]: “That is, since the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 ( disc brake units) can apply braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 while securing an excellent cooling performance, the vehicle can be decelerated in a state in which vehicle behavior is stabilized considerably.”; and [0136]: “Moreover, the brake units 15, 16 include brake drums which rotate together with the brake discs of the brake units 13, 14. Therefore, the thermoelectric conversion sections 31 provided in the brake units 15, 16 collect thermal energy within the internal spaces and convert it to electric energy. Thus, the thermoelectric conversion sections 31 can cool the brake discs of the brake units 13, 14 via the brake drums. Since this configuration allows a reduction of the heat capacities of the brake units 13, 14, for example, the size of the brake units 13, 14 can be reduced”; [0137]).
As Sekiya disclose wherein the left front brake disc and the right rear brake disc respectively correspond to a left front actuator and a right rear actuator, however, additionally Onoda teaches
…wherein the left front brake disc and the right rear brake disc respectively correspond to a left front actuator and a right rear actuator (see, Abstract; Figures and Paragraphs [0046]: “each wheel 10 1-10 4 is provided with brake mechanisms 30 1, 30 2.30 3, 30 4, respectively. For example, each brake mechanism 30 1-30 4 is well-known braking devise Such as a disc brake or a drum brake. These brake mechanisms 301-304 are connected to a brake actuator 35 and a piston or a brake shoe (not shown in figure) of the brake caliper operate by oil pressure supplied from the brake actuator 35 and cause the braking force in each wheel 10 1 10 4.”), and the controller (see, “an electronic control unit 40”) is configured to: control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to increase the braking force output to the left front disc and the right rear disc respectively in response to a temperature of the left front brake disc or the right rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value(see. Paragraph [0052]-[0057]: “The ECU 40 terminates the braking/driving force distribution control routine after having calculated requested torques T 1-T 4 for each wheel in step S13. And, similar processing is repeated in a scheduled period. The ECU 40 controls the operation of the inverter 25 based on requested torques T 1-T 4 for each wheel calculated by this braking/ driving force distribution control routine so that each in wheel motor 20 1-20 4 generates requested torques T 1 T4 for each wheel.”; and [0061]: “For example, the left wheel requested torque T left and the right wheel requested torque T right may set in half of the total requested torque T total, respectively. Alternatively, it is possible to provide a steering angle sensor 44 to show in FIG. 1 in broken line, and to set a right and left wheel distribution ratio Rirl (O-Rrl-1) depending on the steering angle 0 detected by steering angle sensor 44 and the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 43, and to define the left wheel requested torque T left as the value that multiplied Rrl by the total requested torque T total and the right wheel requested torque T right as the value that multiplied (1-Rrl) by the total requested torque T total.”);
or control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to reduce the braking force output to the left front disc and the right rear disc respectively in response to a temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value (see. Paragraph [0052]-[0057]: “The ECU 40 terminates the braking/driving force distribution control routine after having calculated requested torques T 1-T 4 for each wheel in step S13. And, similar processing is repeated in a scheduled period. The ECU 40 controls the operation of the inverter 25 based on requested torques T 1-T 4 for each wheel calculated by this braking/ driving force distribution control routine so that each in wheel motor 20 1-20 4 generates requested torques T 1 T4 for each wheel.”; and [0061]: “For example, the left wheel requested torque T left and the right wheel requested torque T right may set in half of the total requested torque T total, respectively. Alternatively, it is possible to provide a steering angle sensor 44 to show in FIG. 1 in broken line, and to set a right and left wheel distribution ratio Rirl (O-Rrl-1) depending on the steering angle 0 detected by steering angle sensor 44 and the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 43, and to define the left wheel requested torque T left as the value that multiplied Rrl by the total requested torque T total and the right wheel requested torque T right as the value that multiplied (1-Rrl) by the total requested torque T total.”; also see [0064]-[0065]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to a vehicle braking/ driving force control device for controlling a driving force or a braking force to produce with each wheel of the vehicle individually as taught by Onoda. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to conveying improvement of the vehicle stability is planned by distributing the braking/ driving force into each wheel (see, [0079]), and where the vehicle stability can be improved to distribute the braking/driving force between four wheels in consideration of the load balance as well as the thermal margin (see, Paragraph [0091]).
Additionally Eckert teaches
…. output four control signals, the braking signal of the braking system indicates total braking force output by the braking system, the four control signals are respectively used to control the four actuators to output braking force that is adjusted based on temperatures of the four brake discs (see. Paragraph [0029]-[0031]: “Central control unit 4 is preferably adapted to compare the determined temperatures of wheel brakes 18, 26 of the vehicle wheels of front axle FA and rear axle RA with one another and with a preset temperature limit value”), wherein the controller (“Central control unit 4”) is configured to control an actuator corresponding to a brake disc whose temperature is less than or equal to a first preset value to increase braking force output, wherein a sum of the braking force output by the four actuators is equal to the total braking force indicated by the braking signal of the braking system (see, Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0021]; and [0031]-[0039] *** Paragraphs teaches the subject matter wherein a system and method for controlling brake actuation energy in an electronically controlled vehicle brake system***); or the controller is configured to control an actuator corresponding to a brake disc whose temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset value to reduce braking force output, wherein a sum of the braking force output by the four actuators is equal to the total braking force indicated by the braking signal of the braking system (see, Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0021]; and [0031]-[0039] *** Paragraphs teaches the subject matter wherein a system and method for controlling brake actuation energy in an electronically controlled vehicle brake system***).
As Sekiya discloses application of the braking forces, characterized by comprising first
braking force application means for applying braking force against rotation of a wheel by means of friction, the first braking force application means including heat collection means for collecting thermal energy generated by the friction; second braking force application means for applying braking force against rotation of a wheel by means of friction; temperature detection means for detecting a temperature which changes as a result of application of frictional braking force by the first braking force application means.
And Onoda conveying a vehicle braking/ driving force control device for controlling a driving force or a braking force to produce with each wheel of the vehicle individually.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further implement more brake actuation energy into the wheel brakes having lower temperatures and less brake actuation energy (i.e., than before the limit value was
reached) into the wheel brakes having higher temperatures, which can have a neutral effect on total braking power or, if necessary, cause a reduction in total braking power as taught by Eckert. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide an improved system and method for controlling brake actuation energy that compensate for the zero differential slip control objective of the EBS when appropriate to prevent overheating of vehicle wheel brakes during braking and undesired reduction in braking power (see, Paragraph [0002]).
As to [claim 5], the combination Sekiya, Onoda, and Eckert teaches the braking system according to claim 1.
Sekiya discloses wherein the right front brake disc and the left rear brake disc respectively correspond to a right front actuator and a left rear actuator, and the controller is configured to: control the right front actuator and the left rear actuator to increase the braking force output in response to the temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the right front actuator and the left rear actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to the temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being less than or equal to the second preset value (see, Paragraph [0090]: “In step S13, the electronic control unit 51 determines whether or not each of the temperatures T detected by the temperature sensors 42, 43 assembled to the brake units 13, 14 of the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 is equal to or lower than a previously set, predetermined temperature Ts. The temperature Ts is determined on the basis of the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4 such that the temperature Ts coincides with the lower limit temperature of the above-mentioned optimum temperature range. When each of the detected temperatures Tis equal or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 makes a "Yes" determination, and proceeds to step S14.”; and [0106]: “the thermoelectric conversion section 31, which constitutes the electric power collection
section 30, can be provided in the brake units 13, 14, which are excellent in heat retention. Through execution of the braking-force-distribution changing program, the electronic control unit 51 operates the brake units 13, 14 preferentially in accordance with the first braking force map to thereby apply braking forces to the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2, when the detected temperature T of the inner space of each brake unit 13, 14 is equal to or lower than the
predetermined temperature Ts; i.e., when a predetermined condition is satisfied.”).
Regarding [claim 16], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 16 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 20], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 21], the combination Sekiya, Onoda, and Eckert teaches the braking system according to claim 1. Sekiya teaches wherein each of the temperatures of the four brake discs is measured by a temperature sensor (see, Abstract; “temperature sensors 42, 43.” Paragraph [0080]: “The temperature sensors 42, 43, which serve as temperature detection means, are assembled to the brake units 13, 14, respectively. As shown in FIG. 3, each of the temperature sensors 42, 43 detects the temperature T within the internal space which changes as a result of application of frictional braking force by the brake unit 13, 14, and outputs a signal representing the detected temperature T. Each of the temperature sensors 42, 43 outputs the signal representing the detected temperature T via an unillustrated transmitter and an unillustrated receiver.”).
As to [claim 22], the combination Sekiya, Onoda, and Eckert teaches the braking system according to claim 1. As Sekiya discloses “a vehicular braking apparatus”, however, Onoda teaches wherein the braking system is a centralized control braking system (see, Paragraph [0068]: “FIG. 4 represents a braking/driving force distribution control routine performed by the ECU 40 as the second embodiment. In this the braking/driving force distribution control routine, the processing of step S12 of the first embodiment have been changed to steps S21, S22, S23, and other processing (S11, S13) is the same in the case of the first embodiment.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to a vehicle braking/ driving force control device for controlling a driving force or a braking force to produce with each wheel of the vehicle individually as taught by Onoda. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to conveying improvement of the vehicle stability is planned by distributing the braking/ driving force into each wheel (see, [0079]), and where the vehicle stability can be improved to distribute the braking/driving force between four wheels in consideration of the load balance as well as the thermal margin (see, Paragraph [0091]).
As to [claim 23], the combination Sekiya, Onoda, and Eckert teaches the braking system according to claim 1. Sekiya discloses wherein the braking system is an electro-mechanical braking (EMB) system (see, Paragraph [0127]: “Each of the drum brake units 15, 16 includes a brake drum which rotates together with the brake disc of the brake unit 13 or 14, and a back plate fixed to, for example, a rear axle. Furthermore, each of the drum brake units 15, 16 includes an unillustrated actuator, Such as a Solenoid or an electric motor, which is electromagnetically operated and controlled by the electronic control unit 51 of the electric control apparatus 50 via the drive circuit 52.”).
As to [claim 24], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 21, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 25], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 22, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 26], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 23, therefore claim 20 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of “Seyika” (Pub. No.: US 2011/0272230).
As to [claim 10], Wang discloses the control apparatus according to claim 6. As Wang discloses “adjustment of braking torque through the motor controller”, however, Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a vehicle braking signal and output a control signal of the braking system, the vehicle braking signal indicates total braking force output by the drive system and the braking system, the control signal of the braking system comprises four actuator control signals, and the four actuator control signals are respectively used to control the four actuators to output the braking force; and the at least one processor is configured to adjust, based on temperatures of the four brake discs when the electric vehicle runs in the braking state, braking force output by the drive system and the braking system , wherein a sum of the braking force output by the drive system and the braking system is equal to the total braking force indicated by the vehicle braking signal.
However, Sekiya teaches
wherein the at least one processor (“electronic control unit 51”) is configured to receive a vehicle braking signal and output a control signal of the braking system, the vehicle braking signal indicates total braking force output by the drive system and the braking system, the control signal of the braking system comprises four actuator control signals, and the four actuator control signals are respectively used to control the four actuators to output the braking force (see, Figures 1-2, 12; Paragraphs [0058]; [0062]; [0081]: “As shown in FIG. 1, these sensors 41 to 45 are connected to an electronic control unit 51 of an electric control apparatus 50. The electronic control unit 51 includes a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc. as main components, and controls operations of the brake units 11, 12, 13, and 14 by executing various programs including a program which will be described later. Therefore, a drive circuit 52 which operates and controls the brake hydraulic pressure control section 20 is connected to the output side of the electronic control unit 51” and [0082]: “The vehicle behavior stabilization apparatus 60 is an apparatus for suppressing unstable vehicle behavior by properly changing the braking forces applied to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 by the brake unit 11, 12, 13, and 14.” and [0142]-[0144]); and the at least one processor is configured to adjust, based on temperatures of the four brake discs when the electric vehicle runs in the braking state, braking force output by the drive system and the braking system (see, Paragraph [0196]: “Meanwhile, when the detected water temperature Tw or the detected oil temperature Ty is higher than the predetermined temperature TwuS or the predetermined temperature Tyu, the electronic control unit 51 can change the braking force distribution in accordance with the second braking force map such that the proportion (ratio) of the braking forces of the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 to the total braking force required to realize the demanded deceleration Gd becomes greater than the proportion (ratio) of the braking force of the brake unit 19 to the total braking force. By virtue of this configuration, the detected water temperature Tw or the detected oil temperature Ty can be prevented from increasing excessively, and the engine 71 and the transmission 72 can be operated properly”), wherein a sum of the braking force output by the drive system and the braking system is equal to the total braking force indicated by the vehicle braking signal (see, Figures 8 and 15; and Paragraphs [0102]: “In step S15, the electronic control unit 51 applies braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 by referring to a second braking force map indicated by a solid line in FIG. 7. That is, in this case, the internal space temperatures T of the brake units 13, 14 for the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 have already become higher than the predetermined temperature Ts, and the thermoelectric conversion section 31 can perform thermoelectric conversion efficiently. If the internal space temperatures T of the brake units 13, 14 increase excessively; in other words, if the heating side of the thermoelectric conversion section 31 is heated excessively, as is apparent from the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4, the thermoelectric conversion efficiency drops”; [0132] and [0149]: “Further, in step S15 in this second modification, which is performed when the electronic control unit 51 determines in the above-described step S13 that the internal space temperatures T are higher than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 applies braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 in accordance with the second braking force map shown in FIG. 7. Specifically, in accordance with the second braking force map, the electronic control unit 51 operates the brake units 11, 12 ( disc brake units) for the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2, and operates the brake units 13, 14 (disc brake units) for the left and right rear wheels RW1,RW2”).
As Wang discloses the electromechanical braking system where the first brake controller
is located has good stability and high braking strength, while the hub motor braking system
where the second brake controller is located has fast response speed and high braking
accuracy.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify the electronic control unit 51 executes the braking-force-distribution changing program as in the case of the above-described first and second embodiments as taught by Seyika. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey the improving the conversion efficiency of the thermoelectric conversion section 31 without decreasing the braking forces produced by the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14. (see, Paragraph [0123]).
As to [claim 11], Wang in view of Seyika teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10.
Sekiya further teaches wherein actuators corresponding to the two front brake discs are front actuators (see, Paragraph [0083]; [0136]), and the at least one processor is configured to: control the front actuator to increase the braking force output in response to the temperature of the at least one front brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the front actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to the temperature of the at least one front brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value.
As to [claim 12], Wang in view of Sekiya teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10. Seyika further teaches wherein actuators corresponding to the two rear brake discs are rear actuators, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the rear actuator to increase the braking force output in response to the temperature of the at least one rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value (see, Paragraph [0144]-[0146]); or control the rear actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to the temperature of the at least one rear brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value.
As to [claim 13]. Wang in view of Sekiya teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10. Sekiya further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control an actuator corresponding to the brake disc whose temperature is less than or equal to the first preset value to increase the braking force output (see, Paragraph [0083]: “the electronic control unit 51 determines a braking force demanded by the driver; i.e., determines a target deceleration Gd of the vehicle. Notably, the target deceleration Gd of the vehicle is determined on the basis of the braking operation quantity of the brake pedal BP and a predetermined relation therebetween such that the target deceleration Gd increases as the braking operation quantity increases. Once the target deceleration Gd of the vehicle is determined, the electronic control unit 51 acquires the deceleration G detected by the longitudinal acceleration sensor 41, and controls the operation of the brake hydraulic pressure control section 20 such that the detected deceleration G becomes equal to the target deceleration Gd. Thus, proper brake
hydraulic pressures are supplied to the wheel cylinders Wfl, Wfr, Wrl, Wrr, whereby the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 operate so as to apply braking forces to the left and right front wheels
FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2”; and [0090]: “In step S13, the electronic control unit 51 determines whether or not each of the temperatures T detected by the temperature sensors 42, 43 assembled to the brake units 13, 14 of the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 is equal to or lower than a previously set, predetermined temperature Ts. The temperature Ts is determined on the basis of the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4 such that the temperature Ts coincides with the lower limit temperature of the above-mentioned optimum temperature range. When each of the detected temperatures Tis equal or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 makes a "Yes" determination, and proceeds to step S14” ***As Sekiya discloses the medications of first and second embodiments, the electronic control unit 51 executes the braking-force-distribution changing program as in the case first and second embodiments where the subject matter of claim is met***); or control an actuator corresponding to the brake disc whose temperature is greater than or equal to the second preset value to reduce the braking force output.
As to [claim 14]. Wang in view of Sekiya teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10. Sekiya further teaches wherein the left front brake disc and the right rear brake disc respectively correspond to a left front actuator and a right rear actuator, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to increase the braking force output in response to a temperature of the left front brake disc or the right rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the left front actuator and the right rear actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to a temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being greater than or equal to the second preset value (See, Paragraph [0128]-[0130]: “Specifically, in step S14 in this first modification, which is performed when the electronic control unit 51 determines in the above-described step S13 that the internal space temperatures T are equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 operates the drum brake units 15, 16 preferentially in accordance with the first braking force map shown in FIG. 6. Specifically, in order to increase the internal space temperatures T of the drum brake units 15, 16, the electronic control unit 51 operates only the drum brake units 15, 16 in accordance with the first braking force map to thereby apply braking forces to the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2. That is, in this case, the proportion of the braking forces of the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 is rendered zero”; and [0135]: “That is, since the brake units 11, 12, 13, 14 ( disc brake units) can apply braking forces to the left and right front wheels FWl, FW2 and the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 while securing an excellent cooling performance, the vehicle can be decelerated in a state in which vehicle behavior is stabilized considerably.”; and [0136]: “Moreover, the brake units 15, 16 include brake drums which rotate together with the brake discs of the brake units 13, 14. Therefore, the thermoelectric conversion sections 31 provided in the brake units 15, 16 collect thermal energy within the internal spaces and convert it to electric energy. Thus, the thermoelectric conversion sections 31 can cool the brake discs of the brake units 13, 14 via the brake drums. Since this configuration allows a reduction of the heat capacities of the brake units 13, 14, for example, the size of the brake units 13, 14 can be reduced”; [0137]).
As to [claim 15], Wang in view of Sekiya teaches the control apparatus according to claim 10. Sekiya further teaches wherein the right front brake disc and the left rear brake disc respectively correspond to a right front actuator and a left rear actuator, and the at least one processor is configured to: control the right front actuator and the left rear actuator to increase the braking force output in response to a temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being less than or equal to the first preset value; or control the right front actuator and the left rear actuator to reduce the braking force output in response to a temperature of the right front brake disc or the left rear brake disc being less than or equal to the second preset value (see, Paragraph [0090]: “In step S13, the electronic control unit 51 determines whether or not each of the temperatures T detected by the temperature sensors 42, 43 assembled to the brake units 13, 14 of the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2 is equal to or lower than a previously set, predetermined temperature Ts. The temperature Ts is determined on the basis of the dimensionless performance index shown in FIG. 4 such that the temperature Ts coincides with the lower limit temperature of the above-mentioned optimum temperature range. When each of the detected temperatures Tis equal or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts, the electronic control unit 51 makes a "Yes" determination, and proceeds to step S14.”; and [0106]: “the thermoelectric conversion section 31, which constitutes the electric power collection section 30, can be provided in the brake units 13, 14, which are excellent in heat retention. Through execution of the braking-force-distribution changing program, the electronic control unit 51 operates the brake units 13, 14 preferentially in accordance with the first braking force map to thereby apply braking forces to the left and right rear wheels RWl, RW2, when the detected temperature T of the inner space of each brake unit 13, 14 is equal to or lower than the predetermined temperature Ts; i.e., when a predetermined condition is satisfied.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 03/13/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663