DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, despite the claim recitations are merely reworded to recite the same limitation in different language and some of the limitations have been grouped in a slightly different manner, the instant claims are broader than and thus anticipated by the patent claims. For examples:
Claims 1, the elements and limitations are anticipated by the patent claims 6 and 7.
Claims 2, the elements and limitations are anticipated by the patent claim 8.
Claims 3, the elements and limitations are anticipated by the patent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chemel et al. (US 2012/0235579).
Claim 1, Chemel discloses an interior lighting system (Figs. 36-40B), comprising:
a first interior lighting assembly (e.g., lighting fixture 3704, Fig. 37) including: a lens (see P[0201], [0461]…lens…) through which light may be projected; and a light source including a sheet (PCB 3012, Fig. 30) including one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs 3008, Fig. 30 and see P[0439]) arranged to project light through the lens;
a second vehicle interior lighting assembly (.g., e light fixture 3708, Fig. 37) including the same general components as the first vehicle interior lighting assembly, including a lens and a sheet including one or more LEDs (see Fig. 30, P[0439], 0201], [0461]); and
a controller including a device processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium (see P[0473]….a built-in processor……rule stored in a memory…) including instructions executable by the processor to control operation of the lighting assembly including controlling the first lighting assembly based on output of the second lighting assembly in real time ((see Fig. 40B and P[0494]).
Thus, Chemel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose the lighting system for a vehicle interior and the sheet is a flexible sheet. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and provide the lighting system inside a vehicle, since applicant has not disclosed that the system for illuminating a vehicle interior solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than providing light inside a vehicle, it appears that the lighting system of Chemel would perform equally well for illuminating vehicle interior. Furthermore, It would have to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the sheet as a flexible sheet, since it has been held to be withing the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice.
Claim 2, Chemel discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computer readable medium includes instructions for receiving lighting performance information from the second lighting assembly and controlling operation of the first lighting assembly based on the performance information regarding the second lighting assembly (information are received through sensors which can be on board the same lighting fixture or from different lighting fixture, see Fig. 40B and P[0494]).
Claim 3, Chemel discloses the system of claim 1, further including a sensor separate from the second lighting assembly configured to detect the output of the second lighting assembly; wherein the computer readable medium includes instructions for receiving lighting performance information regarding the second lighting assembly from the sensor and controlling operation of the first lighting assembly based on the performance information regarding the second lighting assembly (information are received through sensors which can be on board the same lighting fixture or from different lighting fixture, see Fig. 40B and P[0494]).
Claim 4, Chemel discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first lighting assembly includes one or more reflective components (see Figs. 41A-42B and P[0456]… total internal reflection and holographic diffuser….) configured to reflect additional light from the LEDs through the lens (each lighting fixture included a plurality of light bars which comprise a plurality of LEDs and TIR optics having holographic diffuser for reflection).
Claim 9, Chemel discloses a system for illuminating (Figs 36-40B) an interior, comprising:
a first lighting assembly (e.g., lighting fixture 3704, Fig. 37); a second lighting assembly (.g., e light fixture 3708, Fig. 37); and
a device processor (see P[0473],…a built-in processor…) and a non-transitory computer readable medium having instruction stored thereon (see P[0473]… an internal rule database. Sensor data may be shared from fixture-to-fixture via the mesh network, and the fixtures may independently act on sensor data based on the rules stored in a fixture memory…) and executable by the processor to perform the following steps:
receiving lighting performance information regarding the first lighting assembly (light information are sense from light sensor, see Figs. 40A-40B);
receiving lighting performance information regarding the second lighting assembly (light information are sense from light sensor, see Figs. 40A-40B);
making a determination that the second lighting assembly is not operating as intended (see Fig. 40B and P[0494]); and
adjusting operation of the first lighting assembly to at least partially compensate for a reduction in lighting performance of the second lighting assembly (see Fig. 40B and P[0494]).
Thus, Chemel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose the system for illuminating a vehicle interior. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and provide the lighting system inside a vehicle, since applicant has not disclosed that the system for illuminating a vehicle interior solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose other than providing light inside a vehicle, it appears that the lighting system of Chemel would perform equally well for illuminating vehicle interior.
Claim 10, Chemel discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the computer readable medium further includes instructions for: making a determination that the first lighting assembly is not operating as intended (see Fig. 40B and P[0494]); and
adjusting operation of the second lighting assembly to at least partially compensate for a reduction in lighting performance of the first lighting assembly (see Fig. 40B and P[0494]).
Claim 11, Chemel discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the lighting performance information received for the second lighting assembly is received from the second lighting assembly itself (see P[0494]… LED light bar failures may be identified via light sensors, onboard error detection…).
Claim 12, Chemel discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the lighting performance information received for the second lighting assembly is received from a sensor separate from the second lighting assembly (see P[0494]… When one fixture or part of a fixture fails, neighboring fixtures detect this (via sensing onboard or via notification over network)…).
Claims 15-18 are rejected as above claims 9-12 since the elements and limitations are similar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 13-14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Valentine, JR. et al. (US 2016/0214529) discloses a vehicle interior lighting system, comprising: a first vehicle interior lighting assembly including: a lens through which light may be projected; and a light source including a flexible sheet including one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged to project light through the lens; a second vehicle interior lighting assembly including the same general components as the first vehicle interior lighting assembly, including a lens and a flexible sheet including one or more LEDs; and a controller including a device processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions executable by the processor to control operation of the lighting assembly.
Hutson et al. (US 2020/0375016) disclose a lighting system, comprising: a first lighting assembly including: a lens through which light may be projected; and a light source including a flexible sheet including one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged to project light through the lens; a second lighting assembly including the same general components as the first vehicle interior lighting assembly, including a lens and a flexible sheet including one or more LEDs; and a controller including a device processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions executable by the processor to control operation of the lighting assembly including controlling the first lighting assembly based on output of the second lighting assembly in real time.
/ANH Q TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 12/22/25