DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/826,665 filed on 05/14/2026. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11, 13-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112801004) (Please see Chen_CN112801004A_Translation), in view of Rappaport et al. (US 2003/0221192), in view of Li (US 2018/0075304), in view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0167055), and further in view of
Consider claims 1 and 20, Chen teaches a video playback method performed by a terminal device and a video playback apparatus, comprising a memory for storing instructions and at least one processor for executing the instructions (Abstract, Fig.13, Paragraph 0206-0209) to:
present a video interface, the video interface being configured for displaying at least one piece of video content (Fig.1, Paragraph 0097 teaches an intelligent device capable of playing video, such as a mobile phone, tablet computer, etc. Paragraph 0100 teaches video player rendering on the display a current frame image of the video displayed on the video interface. Fig.3, Paragraph 0106 teaches video interface 10 of a video player includes a video display area 20, where the video display area 20 displays a current frame image), the video interface including an operation management area configured for displaying at least one video clip (Paragraph 0136 teaches displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0137 teaches preset area of the video interface may be a page top area, a page middle area, and a page bottom area of the video interface);
present at least one recognized recognition object in the operation management area of the video interface in response to an object recognition operation triggered for the at least one piece of video content, each recognition object corresponding to one video clip of the at least one video clip, each video clip of the at least one video clip being captured from the at least one piece of video content (Paragraph 0136 teaches displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0137 teaches preset area of the video interface may be a page top area, a page middle area, and a page bottom area of the video interface. Paragraph 0138 teaches after selection of at least one face, determining a target face from faces to be selected, and performing face analysis on the target face, screening at least one video clip comprising the target face from a video corresponding to the video interface, and then displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0140-0142 teaches alternatively displaying each of the video clips in a preset area of the video interface in a play list mode); and
play the at least one video clip in the operation management area according to a set of playback rules (Paragraph 0138 teaches it should be noted that, when displaying each video segment, a continuous frame of each video segment may be displayed, that is, each video segment is displayed in a dynamic form, or a first frame of each video segment may be displayed, that is, each video segment is displayed in a static form. Paragraph 0141 teaches a alternatively display video clips in a playlist form where video interface further displays a play/pause control, where users can directly click the video clip for preview play).
Chen does not explicitly teach the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip being displayed at the same time, and the at least one video clip comprises video clips captured from video content different from the at least one piece of video content;
video clip having environmental background information removed and the recognition object retained.
In an analogous art, Rappaport teaches at least one video clip comprises video clips captured from video content different from at least one piece of video content (Abstract teaches video clip is captured from a television broadcast on each of a plurality of channels. Captured video clips are provided to a display interface which displays captured video clips within a focus area of a user interface. Paragraph 0078 teaches video clips may be captured for available or designated channels. Fig.13, Paragraph 0099 teaches video clips are captured locally within an STB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen to include at least one video clip comprises video clips captured from video content different from at least one piece of video content, as taught by Rappaport, for the advantage of enabling user(s) to view multiple desired/interested contents at the same time, allowing them to quickly decide and gain access to them when desired.
Chen and Rappaport do not explicitly teach the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip being displayed at the same time;
video clip having environmental background information removed and the recognition object retained.
In an analogous art, Li teaches video clip having environmental background information removed and a recognition object retained (Abstract, Paragraph 0007, 0019 teaches separating a background and a foreground of a video. Where the target object and its background in the video can be identified, and next the background can be removed. Taking the target out of an existing video by removing the background, creating a video clip with a transparent background).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen and Rappaport to include video clip having environmental background information removed and a recognition object retained, as taught by Li, for the advantage of providing a system and method for removing the background from a video in conventional technology (Li – Paragraph 0005), creating a video clip with a transparent background (Li – Paragraph 0019), further highlighting and bring greater attention to the desired object.
Chen, Rappaport, and Li do not explicitly teach the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip being displayed at the same time.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip being displayed at the same time (Fig.3, Paragraph 0054, 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, and Li to include at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip being displayed at the same time, as taught by Hong, for the advantage of enabling the user to continue viewing the full video content, while being able to easily perceive thumbnail(s) pertaining to the video at a glance, allowing them to ascertain desired information, while still continuing to enjoy content.
Consider claim 13, Chen teaches a video playback method performed by a server, the method (Abstract, Paragraph 0209) comprising:
receiving an object recognition request triggered for at least one piece of video content; performing an object recognition on the at least one piece of video content (Paragraph 0099 teaches a user first touch operation on a current frame image of the video interface, and marking at least one face to be selected in the current image frame. Paragraph 0100 teaches face may be face of an actor. Paragraph 0101-0103 teaches responding to the first touch operation, performing face recognition on a current frame image of the video interface, and marking at least one face to be selected, wherein the at least one face to be selected can be marked in a face recognition frame mode. Paragraph 0105-0106 teaches selection of at least one face from multiple faces presented. Paragraph 0115 teaches when user watches a video, first touch operation for video interface is input, a face recognition mode is entered, where current frame image is subjected to face recognition. A second touch operation may select at least one face to be selected, to determine target face from at least one face to be selected. Paragraph 0138 teaches face analysis using a face recognition algorithm)
acquiring recognition objects matching the object recognition request, the object recognition request being transmitted by a client in response to an object recognition operation triggered for the at least one piece of video content; capturing video clips with the corresponding recognition objects retained in the at least one piece of video content, each recognition object corresponding to one video clip; and transmitting the recognition objects and the corresponding video clips to the client to enable the client to present at least one recognized recognition object in an operation management area of a video interface (Paragraph 0136 teaches displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0137 teaches preset area of the video interface may be a page top area, a page middle area, and a page bottom area of the video interface. Paragraph 0138 teaches after selection of at least one face, determining a target face from faces to be selected, and performing face analysis on the target face, screening at least one video clip comprising the target face from a video corresponding to the video interface, and then displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface), and playing at least one video clip in the operation management area according to a preset playback rule (Paragraph 0138 teaches it should be noted that, when displaying each video segment, a continuous frame of each video segment may be displayed, that is, each video segment is displayed in a dynamic form, or a first frame of each video segment may be displayed, that is, each video segment is displayed in a static form. Paragraph 0141 teaches alternatively display video clips in a playlist form where video interface further displays a play/pause control, where users can directly click the video clip for preview play), the video interface being configured for displaying the at least one piece of video content (Fig.1, Paragraph 0097 teaches an intelligent device capable of playing video, such as a mobile phone, tablet computer, etc. Paragraph 0100 teaches video player rendering on the display a current frame image of the video displayed on the video interface. Fig.3, Paragraph 0106 teaches video interface 10 of a video player includes a video display area 20, where the video display area 20 displays a current frame image).
Chen does not explicitly teach capturing video clips with environmental background information removed and corresponding recognition objects retained; and
the video interface being configured for displaying the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip at the same time, wherein the at least one video clip comprise video clips captured from video content different from the at least one piece of video content.
In an analogous art, Rappaport teaches wherein at least one video clip comprise video clips captured from video content different from at least one piece of video content (Abstract teaches video clip is captured from a television broadcast on each of a plurality of channels. Captured video clips are provided to a display interface which displays captured video clips within a focus area of a user interface. Paragraph 0078 teaches video clips may be captured for available or designated channels. Fig.13, Paragraph 0099 teaches video clips are captured locally within an STB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen to include wherein at least one video clip comprise video clips captured from video content different from at least one piece of video content, as taught by Rappaport, for the advantage of enabling user(s) to view multiple desired/interested contents at the same time, allowing them to quickly decide and gain access to them when desired.
Chen and Rappaport do not explicitly teach capturing video clips with environmental background information removed and corresponding recognition objects retained; and
the video interface being configured for displaying the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip at the same time.
In an analogous art, Li teaches capturing video clips with environmental background information removed and corresponding recognition objects retained (Abstract, Paragraph 0007, 0019 teaches separating a background and a foreground of a video. Where the target object and its background in the video can be identified, and next the background can be removed. Taking the target out of an existing video by removing the background, creating a video clip with a transparent background).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen and Rappaport to include capturing video clips with environmental background information removed and corresponding recognition objects retained, as taught by Li, for the advantage of providing a system and method for removing the background from a video in conventional technology (Li – Paragraph 0005), creating a video clip with a transparent background (Li – Paragraph 0019), further highlighting and bring greater attention to the desired object.
Chen, Rappaport, and Li do not explicitly teach the video interface being configured for displaying the at least one piece of video content and the at least one video clip at the same time.
In an analogous art, Hong teaches video interface being configured for displaying at least one piece of video content and at least one video clip at the same time (Fig.3, Paragraph 0054, 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, and Li to include video interface being configured for displaying at least one piece of video content and at least one video clip at the same time, as taught by Hong, for the advantage of enabling the user to continue viewing the full video content, while being able to easily perceive thumbnail(s) pertaining to the video at a glance, allowing them to ascertain desired information, while still continuing to enjoy content.
Consider claim 2, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein presenting the at least one recognized recognition object in the operation management area of the video interface in response to the object recognition operation triggered for the at least one piece of video content comprises: presenting, in the operation management area in response to the object recognition operation triggered for a first video content currently played on the video interface, at least one recognition object recognized from a current playback picture of the first video content (Chen - Paragraph 0136 teaches displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0137 teaches preset area of the video interface may be a page top area, a page middle area, and a page bottom area of the video interface. Paragraph 0138 teaches after selection of at least one face, determining a target face from faces to be selected, and performing face analysis on the target face, screening at least one video clip comprising the target face from a video corresponding to the video interface, and then displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0140-0142 teaches alternatively displaying each of the video clips in a preset area of the video interface in a play list mode. Paragraph 0174 teaches performing face identification on a current frame image of a video interface in response to first touch operation, and marking at least one face to be selected in the current frame image); or
presenting, in the operation management area in response to the object recognition operation triggered for the video interface, at least one recognition object recognized from a second video content, each piece of the second video content being in a content library associated with the video interface and meeting an automatic recognition rule.
Consider claim 3, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the presenting, in the operation management area in response to the object recognition operation triggered for the first video content currently played on the video interface, the at least one recognition object recognized from a current playback picture of the first video content (Chen - Paragraph 0136 teaches displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0137 teaches preset area of the video interface may be a page top area, a page middle area, and a page bottom area of the video interface. Paragraph 0138 teaches after selection of at least one face, determining a target face from faces to be selected, and performing face analysis on the target face, screening at least one video clip comprising the target face from a video corresponding to the video interface, and then displaying each video clip in a preset area of the video interface. Paragraph 0140-0142 teaches alternatively displaying each of the video clips in a preset area of the video interface in a play list mode. Paragraph 0174 teaches performing face identification on a current frame image of a video interface in response to first touch operation, and marking at least one face to be selected in the current frame image) comprises:
performing the object recognition operation in response to a preset operation performed on a target object in the current playback picture, and presenting the recognized recognition object in the operation management area; or performing the object recognition operation in response to a triggering operation on a picture recognition control at a related position of the first video content, and presenting the at least one recognition object in the current playback picture in the operation management area (Chen - Paragraph 0010-0011, 0101-0103, 0112, 0115; Paragraph 0136, 0138, 0140-0142).
Consider claim 4, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein before the presenting, in the operation management area in response the object recognition operation triggered for the video interface, the at least one recognition object recognized from a second video content, the method further comprises: presenting prompt information of a recognition result of the object recognition operation in the video interface through an incompletely expanded operation management area; and presenting, in the operation management area, the at least one recognition object recognized from the second video content comprises: presenting, in response to an expansion operation on the operation management area in an expanded operation management area, the at least one recognition object recognized from the second video content (Chen - Paragraph 0106-0111, 0115-0118).
Consider claim 6, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein before the presenting, in the operation management area in response to the object recognition operation triggered for the video interface, the at least one recognition object recognized from a second video content, the method further comprises: presenting a rule setting interface; and acquiring, in response to an input operation on the rule setting interface, an automatic recognition rule inputted through the rule setting interface (Chen - Paragraph 0106-0111, 0115-0118).
Consider claim 7, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the method further comprises: presenting at least one playback setting option in response to a playback setting operation triggered for the operation management area; and playing, in the operation management area in response to a selection operation on a target option in the at least one playback setting option based on a playback rule corresponding to the target option, a video clip of the at least one video clip matching the playback rule (Chen – Paragraph 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148; Paragraph 0164-0172).
Consider claim 8, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the method further comprises: performing, in response to a first specified operation triggered for at least one recognition object in the operation management area, a corresponding processing logic on a video clip corresponding to the at least one recognized recognition object, the first specified operation being at least one of a playback control operation or a content processing operation on the video clip (Chen – Paragraph 0112, 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148).
Consider claim 9, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the performing, in response to the first specified operation triggered for the at least one recognition object in the operation management area, the corresponding processing logic on the video clip corresponding to the at least one recognized recognition object comprises: presenting, in response to management operations triggered for recognition objects in the operation management area, at least one first operation control on each of the recognition objects; and performing, in response to the first specified operation triggered for any first operation control in the at least one first operation control, the corresponding processing logic on a video clip of a recognition object corresponding to the first operation control (Chen – Paragraph 0112, 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148).
Consider claim 11, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the method further comprises: presenting a collection interface in response to a collection viewing operation triggered based on the operation management area, the collection interface displaying at least one collected recognition object and a corresponding video clip; and performing, in response to a second specified operation triggered for any collected recognition object in the at least one collected recognition object in the collection interface, a corresponding processing logic on a video clip corresponding to the collected recognition object, the second specified operation being at least one of a playback control operation or a content processing operation on a video clip (Chen – Paragraph 0112, 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148).
Consider claim 14, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein after the acquiring and before the capturing, the method further comprises: transmitting confirmation information for recognized recognition objects to the client to enable the client to display identifier information of the recognized recognition objects in the operation management area (Chen – Paragraph 0022-0023, 0055-0056, 0130-0132).
Consider claim 15, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the capturing comprises: in response to receiving a confirmation request returned by the client for one recognition object, capturing video clips with the environmental background information removed and the recognition object retained in the video content, the confirmation request being transmitted by the client in response to a confirmation operation on the recognition object (Chen – Paragraph 0209; Paragraph 0107-0109, 0111, 0117-0118, 0138; Li - Abstract, Paragraph 0007, 0019).
Consider claim 16, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein if the object recognition request comprises an automatic recognition rule uploaded by the client, the performing and acquiring comprise: selecting, based on the automatic recognition rule from a content library associated with the video interface, video content meeting the automatic recognition rule; and performing an object recognition on the selected video content, and acquiring a recognition object matching the automatic recognition rule (Chen - Paragraph 0106-0111, 0115-0118; Paragraph 0121-0124).
Consider claim 17, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein transmitting the recognition objects and the corresponding video clips to the client comprises: transmitting the recognition objects and the corresponding video clips to the client according to a specified order, the specified order being associated with the automatic recognition rule (Chen – Paragraph 0209; Paragraph 0112, 0141-0142, 0148).
Consider claim 19, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach a video playback apparatus, comprising a memory for storing instructions and at least one processor for executing the instructions to perform the steps of claim 13 (Chen - Fig.13, Paragraph 0206-0209).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112801004) (Please see Chen_CN112801004A_Translation), in view of Rappaport et al. (US 2003/0221192), in view of Li (US 2018/0075304), in view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0167055), and further in view of Gerhard et al. (US 2007/0126741).
Consider claim 5, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein before presenting, in the operation management area in response to the object recognition operation triggered for the first video content currently played on the video interface, the at least one recognition object recognized from the current playback picture of the first video content, the method further comprises: pausing playback of the first video content in the video interface, and presenting identifier information of the recognized recognition objects in the current playback picture; and presenting, in response to confirmation operations on the recognition objects in the recognized at least one recognition object, the recognition objects moving to the operation management area, and displaying the recognition objects in the operation management area (Chen - Paragraph 0106-0111, 0115-0118, 0124).
Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong do not explicitly teach animation effects of the objects moving to area.
In an analogous art, animation effects of objects moving to area (Paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong to include animation effects of objects moving to area, as taught by Gerhard, for the advantage of providing added visual flair and indications to better draw user’s attention, to highlighted objects of importance.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112801004) (Please see Chen_CN112801004A_Translation), in view of Rappaport et al. (US 2003/0221192), in view of Li (US 2018/0075304), in view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0167055), and further in view of Cassidy et al. (US 2012/0296739).
Consider claim 10, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach video clip of a recognition object; the video clip corresponding to the recognition object (Chen – Paragraph 0136-0138), but do not explicitly teach wherein if the first specified operation is a program return operation in the content processing operation, performing, in response to the first specified operation triggered for any first operation control in the at least one first operation control, the corresponding processing logic on the clip of an object corresponding to the first operation control comprises:
jumping from the operation management area to the video interface based on the program return operation; and
continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object corresponding to the first operation control belongs in the video interface.
In an analogous art, Cassidy teaches wherein if the specified operation is a program return operation in the content processing operation, performing, in response to a first specified operation triggered for any first operation control in at least one first operation control, corresponding processing logic on a clip of an object corresponding to the first operation control comprises: jumping from an operation management area to a video interface based on the program return operation; and continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object corresponding to the first operation control belongs in the video interface (Fig.2, Paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong to include wherein if the specified operation is a program return operation in the content processing operation, performing, in response to a first specified operation triggered for any first operation control in at least one first operation control, corresponding processing logic on a clip of an object corresponding to the first operation control comprises: jumping from an operation management area to a video interface based on the program return operation; and continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object corresponding to the first operation control belongs in the video interface, as taught by Cassidy, for the advantage of providing convenient access to desired locations within the content, enabling user(s) to jump to specific sections of content, quickly and effectively, allowing them to continue to fully consume content.
Consider claim 12, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach wherein the collection interface further comprises a second operation control related to collected recognition objects (Chen – Paragraph 0112, 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148); and
performing, in response to the second specified operation triggered for any collected recognition object in the at least one collected recognition object in the collection interface, the corresponding processing logic on the video clip corresponding to the collected recognition object comprises: the collected recognition object, the video clip corresponding to the collected recognition object (Chen – Paragraph 0136-0138; Paragraph 0112, 0141; Fig.7, Paragraph 0144-0148).
Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong do not explicitly teach the second specified operation being a program return operation; and
the performing, in response to a second specified operation triggered for any object in the at least one object in the collection interface, a corresponding processing logic on a clip corresponding to the object comprise:
jumping from the collection interface to a video interface in response to the program return operation triggered for the second operation control related to the object, and continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object belongs in the video interface.
In an analogous art, Cassidy teaches a second specified operation being a program return operation; and performing, in response to a second specified operation triggered for any object in at least one object in a collection interface, a corresponding processing logic on a clip corresponding to the object comprise: jumping from the collection interface to a video interface in response to the program return operation triggered for the second operation control related to the object, and continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object belongs in the video interface (Fig.2, Paragraph 0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong to include a second specified operation being a program return operation; and performing, in response to a second specified operation triggered for any object in at least one object in a collection interface, a corresponding processing logic on a clip corresponding to the object comprise: jumping from the collection interface to a video interface in response to the program return operation triggered for the second operation control related to the object, and continuing to play video content to which the clip corresponding to the object belongs in the video interface, as taught by Cassidy, for the advantage of providing convenient access to desired locations within the content, enabling user(s) to jump to specific sections of content, quickly and effectively, allowing them to continue to fully consume content.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112801004) (Please see Chen_CN112801004A_Translation), in view of Rappaport et al. (US 2003/0221192), in view of Li (US 2018/0075304), in view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0167055), in view of Cassidy et al. (US 2012/0296739), and further in view of Liu (CN110225369) (Please see Liu_CN110225369B_Translation).
Consider claim 18, Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong teach a specified video clip (Chen – Paragraph 0136-0138).
Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong do not explicitly teach where the method further includes:
receiving a program return request transmitted by the client for a specified clip;
recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip based on historical request data of the specified clip; and
feeding back the playback position to the client to enable the client to continue to play video content to which the specified clip belongs in the video interface based on the playback position.
In an analogous art, Cassidy teaches where method further includes: receiving a program return request transmitted by a client for a specified clip; recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip; and enable the client to continue to play video content to which the specified clip belongs in the video interface based on the playback position (Fig.2, Paragraph 0041; Paragraph 0034-0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, Li, and Hong to include where method further includes: receiving a program return request transmitted by a client for a specified clip; recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip; and enable the client to continue to play video content to which the specified clip belongs in the video interface based on the playback position, as taught by Cassidy, for the advantage of providing convenient access to desired locations within the content, enabling user(s) to jump to specific sections of content, quickly and effectively, allowing them to continue to fully consume content.
Chen, Rappaport, Li, Hong, and Cassidy do not explicitly teach recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip based on historical request data of the specified clip; and
feeding back the playback position to the client to enable the client to continue to play video content.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip based on historical request data of the specified clip; and feeding back the playback position to the client to enable the client to continue to play video content (Paragraph 0072-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chen, Rappaport, Li, Hong, and Cassidy to include recognizing a playback position associated with the specified clip based on historical request data of the specified clip; and feeding back the playback position to the client to enable the client to continue to play video content, as taught by Liu, for the advantage of enabling the system to accurately determine the exact point of desired clips, allowing the system to play out and consume the exact point in the full content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425