DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 19-26 in the reply filed on 8/13/26 is acknowledged. Species B2 is rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2012/0277820).
Regarding claims 19, 23, Wu discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 5, 6A-B shown above for example), including a method of treating a patient having a neural condition with symptomatic episodes (abstract, Paragraph 4), the method comprising: recording first neural activity while the patient is not experiencing a symptomatic episode (e.g. Figure 5: 74, No at 76); receiving an indication from a patient of a symptomatic episode (Figure 5: Yes at 76; Paragraphs 44-48, 58-67); recording second neural activity during the symptomatic episode (Figure 5: Yes at 76; Paragraphs 44-48, 58-67); identifying characteristic frequencies (Paragraphs 61, 63, 84, 92, 99, 103; Figures 6A-B) of the first neural activity (i.e. non-pathological frequencies) and characteristic frequencies of the second neural activity (i.e. pathological frequencies); selecting a characteristic frequency occurring only in the first neural activity (i.e. non-pathological frequency) and issuing neural stimulation to enhance neural activity at the selected characteristic frequency (Figure 5: 80; Figures 6A-B: entrainment to a non-pathological frequency).
Regarding claims 20, 24, Wu discloses transforms from a time to frequency domain as recited (Paragraph 61).
Regarding claims 21, 25, Wu discloses patient input as recited (Paragraphs 30, 52).
Regarding claims 22, 26, Wu discloses sensing neural activity as recited (Paragraphs 61, 63, 84, 92, 99, 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu 1 (US 2012/0277820) in view of Wu 2 (US 2012/0271375).
Regarding claims 21, 25, assuming arguendo that Wu 1 does not show patient input as recited, Wu 2 teaches using patient input indicating a symptomatic episode as recited (Paragraphs 41, 57), in order to determine if a symptomatic episode is actually occurring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu 1 as taught by Wu 2 to include using patient input as recited, in order to determine if a symptomatic episode is actually occurring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gupta (US 2012/0071947) shows stimulation to reinforce a favorable brain state.
Han (US 2022/0152399), Moffitt (US 2016/0082256), DeRidder (US 2016/0367812) show entraining towards nonpathological brain states.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796