Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 20, Line 3: Change “communications” to – communicates --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Eligibility - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are deemed to not recite any abstract ideas in the areas of mental processes, mathematical concepts, or certain methods of organizing human activity. Thus, Claims 1-20 are eligible under 35 USC § 101.
Claims 1-21 claim an invention different from that of U.S. Pat. No. 12,097,432. Thus there is no double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-13, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a1)(a2) as being anticipated by CN 111773724 to Netease Hangzhou Network Co. Ltd (Netease).
In Reference to Claims 1, 20 and 21
Netease discloses a system, method and CRM for detecting collision points within game maps during gameplay ([0124, 0139-0141]), the system comprising:
a communication interface that communicat[es] over a communication network [0139], wherein the communication interface receives a controller input sent from a client device [client device [0139], wherein the controller input concerns a movement of an avatar within a virtual space corresponding to a game map (player sends commands [0139], controlling the character in the game scene [0146], collision in the game map [0179]), wherein the virtual space includes one or more objects (objects [0005, 0006, 0146-0147]); and
a processor that executes instructions stored in memory, wherein the processor executes the instructions to ([processor and memory [0124]):
identify an input vector corresponding to {concerning} the movement of the avatar based on the controller input from client device over the network (using graphical user interface [0071, 0074], control character in game scene [0012]);
identify a collision point associated with at least one of the objects located in the virtual space {game map} along a trajectory of the avatar based on the identified input vector (ray [0010], intersection points [0011, 0013-0014]); and
generate an anchor point at the identified collision point (adding markers [0005, 0076]), wherein the anchor point allows for a set of one or more interactions with the avatar (climbing, crossing, traversing [0005-0006], jumping [0100]), and wherein the anchor point allows for a different set of one or more interactions with a different avatar (where the intersection of the points are a function of character height, then the intersection points are different for each controlled character [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 3
Netease discloses a wall by identifying that an angle of a normal vector at the collision point on the object is within a tolerance (wall protrusion [0101], based on a normal [0027, 0046] and angle [0091, 0184]).
In Reference to Claim 4
Netease discloses identifying the collision point is further based on a starting location of the avatar (origin [0184, 0246]).
In Reference to Claims 5 and 6
Netease discloses determining that the object is a wall by offsetting the starting location of the avatar and the collision point on the object downward and determining a top of the object by offsetting the starting location of the avatar and the collision point on the object upwards (for each of these Netease determines for a wall [0038-0039], a height [0103, 0203] relative to a threshold [0040] which is understood to be adjusting the starting location of the ray based on the character starting point and determining a top based on determining the height).
In Reference to Claim 7
Netease discloses determining an area at the top of the object ([target virtual area [0158]), wherein generating the anchor point is further based on the determined area extending at least a threshold distance (close area based on a determined range [0158, 0174]).
In Reference to Claims 8 and 9
Netease discloses a threshold distance is based upon one or more aspects of the avatar (height and width [0243]).
In Reference to Claim 10
Netease discloses wherein the different set of the one or more interactions is based on a different size of the different avatar (because the ray and intersection points are based on character height and width, the anchor point can be for any character [0247]).
In Reference to Claim 12
Netease discloses identifying when the at least one object is positioned within a threshold distance to the avatar in the virtual space as the avatar travels within the virtual space in accordance with the controller input (threshold distance “d” [0247]).
In Reference to Claim 13
Netease discloses identifying at least one facing on the object that is normal to a vector of travel associated with the avatar (the normal is established based on a climbing surface [0221]).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 2 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art is silent as to the ray being a vector, or a velocity, or identifying a recession on the at least one facing, wherein the identified recession includes a lip and a receded area above the lip; determining that the recession is a ledge based on one or more properties of the receded area. The closest art as to U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2001/0046896 to Miyamoto teaches of navigating characters about a narrow ledge but not of determining an anchor point. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0273333 to Ciszewski teaches of movement in a virtual world to include climbing a ledge and of determining collisions but is silent as to along a trajectory from an input vector. U.S. Pat. No. 2019/0388786 to D’Angelo teaches of character movements and collision detection but is silent as to generating anchor points.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is in the Notice of References Cited.
11. Interviews may be available depending on the stage of prosecution and provided via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/PAUL A D'AGOSTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715