DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification as filed does not disclose a channel which prevents rotation of the diaphragm assembly as claimed. The Examiner also notes that accordingly, this recitation will not be afforded the priority date of the parent application since it was not disclosed in the parent application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 16 recites “the linear motor” but line 14 only recites “a motor” and line 17 recites “the motor”. In claim 1 line 14 “a motor” would be clearer if written as --a linear motor--. In claim 1 line 17 “the motor” would be clearer if written as --the linear motor--.
In claims 2-10, line 1, “pump assembly” would be clearer if written as --pump system-- as first recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0051956 to Grip in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2014/0161644 to Weatherley.
Referring to claim 1, Grip teaches a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising:
a pump-valving assembly (2) including a chamber (8) and a set of ports (5, 6) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]);
a diaphragm assembly coupled to the chamber (8) and including an edge-mounted flexible diaphragm (4) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]);
wherein the diaphragm assembly and the pump-valving assembly (2) are configured as an integral pump assembly (when assembled they are an integral assembly) surrounded by a flange (16) having a pair of opposed sides (right and left sides as shown in Figures) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]);
a control housing (3) configured to removably and slidably couple to the integral pump assembly (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraph [0030] wherein at least portions 16 and 17 are slidably engaged), the control housing (3) including:
a channel having a pair of opposed sides (right and left sides as shown in Figures) configured to receive the flange (16) when the control housing (3) is slideably (at least axially slideably) coupled to the integral pump assembly (2) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]);
a push rod (10, 11, 13) configured to removably and slideably couple to the diaphragm assembly (2) when the control housing (3) is slideably coupled to the integral pump assembly (2) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]);
a linear motor (20, 15) coupled to the push rod (10, 11, 13) and configured to reciprocate the push rod (10, 11, 13) in an axial direction (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]); and
a controller system electrically coupled to the linear motor and configured to cause a desired operation of the linear motor (20, 15) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated below; paragraphs [0029]-[0033], wherein in order for the pump to operate as disclosed there must be a control system of some sort “electrically coupled to the linear motor and configured to cause a desired operation of the linear motor” as claimed).
[AltContent: textbox (Slot)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pump Housing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Right Side of Channel)][AltContent: textbox (Left Side of Channel )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Push Rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Head)][AltContent: textbox (Neck)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotation of Grip Figure 1.
Grip is silent as to whether or not the disclosed coupling prevents rotation. Weatherley teaches a pump comprising:
a control housing (6) configured to removably and slideably couple to an integral pump assembly (4), the control housing (6) including: a channel (16) having a pair of opposed sides configured to receive a flange (10) when the control housing (6) is slideably coupled to the integral pump assembly (4), and to prevent rotation of a diaphragm assembly (60) while the control housing (6) is coupled to the integral pump assembly (4) (Figures 1-8; paragraph [0024]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the connecting flange taught by Weatherley in order to use a coupling that allows for automatic alignment. Weatherley paragraph [0006].
Referring to claim 2, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Grip further teaches a system wherein:
the diaphragm assembly further comprises a coupler (9) having a slot (12) configured to slideably receive a head (11) and an upper portion (10) of the push rod (10, 11, 13) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated above; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]).
Referring to claim 3, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 2, as detailed above, and Grip further teaches a system wherein:
the integral pump assembly includes a pump housing having a neck in which the coupler (9) reciprocates (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated above; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]).
Referring to claim 4, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 3, as detailed above, and Grip further teaches a system wherein:
the neck configured to maintain axial and rotational alignment of the coupler (9) (Figures 1 and 2, Fig. 1 annotated below, Fig. 1 annotated above; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0051956 to Grip in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2014/0161644 to Weatherley and U. S. Patent 7,850,593 to Vincent.
Referring to claim 5, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but do not teach ball valves. Vincent teaches a system wherein:
a set of ports (60, 62) includes an inlet ball check valve (70) and an outlet ball check valve (72) (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 40-61).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the check valves taught by Vincent in order to control the flow of fluid in an out of the pump chamber during operation and prevent the reverse flow of fluid through the pump, or when shutdown, any flow.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0051956 to Grip in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2014/0161644 to Weatherley and U. S. Patent Publication 2004/0086397 to Bowen.
Referring to claim 6, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but are silent as to the details of the diaphragm. Bowen teaches a pump wherein:
an edge-mounted diaphragm (24) comprises three layers (Fig. 1, paragraph [0031]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the diaphragm layering taught by Bowen in order to cool the diaphragm (Bowen paragraph [0031]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0051956 to Grip in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2014/0161644 to Weatherley, U. S. Patent Publication 2018/0180038 to Centofante and U. S. Patent Publication 2008/0216898 to Grant.
Referring to claim 7, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but do not teach a system wherein the pump-valving assembly is preload sensitive and afterload sensitive. Centofante teaches a pump wherein:
the pump-valving assembly is preload sensitive (paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the preload sensitivity taught by Centofante in order to keep the pump full of fluid and make the pump self priming (paragraph [0030]).
Centofante also does not teach a system wherein the pump-valving assembly is afterload sensitive. Grant teaches a system wherein:
the pump-valving assembly is afterload sensitive (paragraph [0228]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the afterload sensitivity taught by Grant in order to prevent unsafe pressures (paragraph [0228]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0051956 to Grip in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2014/0161644 to Weatherley and U. S. Patent Publication 2004/0191098 to Wu.
Referring to claim 8, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and including wherein the control housing is removably secured to the integral housing, but do not teach compliant members between the flange and the control housing. Wu teaches a pump wherein:
a flange (on 10) has a set of compliant members (382) to physically bias the flange (on 10) in a housing (30) (Figures 2-4; paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump system taught by Grip with the ball detents taught by Wu in order to secure the integral pump assembly to the motor in such a way that also provides for radial alignment there between.
Referring to claim 9, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 8, as detailed above, and including wherein the control housing is removably secured to the integral housing, but do not teach compliant members between the flange and the control housing. Wu further teaches a pump wherein:
each compliant member (382) includes a spring (381) (Figures 2-4; paragraph [0035]).
Referring to claim 10, Grip and Weatherly teach a pulsatile fluid pump system comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and including wherein the control housing is removably secured to the integral housing, but do not teach compliant members between the flange and the control housing. Wu further teaches a pump wherein:
the set of compliant members (382) is included in a set of ball detents (38) (Figures 2-4; paragraph [0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dorfler and Algawi teach similar pump systems as the claimed system.
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746