DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0247339 A1) in view of Mai et al. (CN 105971390 A) and Patel (US 2005/0072063 A1).
Lee discloses a foldable tent, comprising: a frame body, wherein the frame body comprises: a plurality of legs (121, 122), a top rod (111, 112), a first component comprising X-shaped hinge rods (elements 140 along perimeter of tent), a second component comprising X-shaped hinge rods (elements 140 extending across the interior of tent), and a sleeve seat (114); wherein the plurality of legs are connected through the first component (as seen in FIG. 2), the first component is connected to the top rod through the second component (as seen in FIG. 2, outer elements 140 are connected to inner elements 140 via joints 141); the sleeve seat is disposed on the top rod (as seen in FIGS. 2, 4 and 5), and the second component is connected to the sleeve seat (FIG. 2); the sleeve seat is configured to move upwards to make the plurality of legs approach the top rod, thereby to fold the frame body (as seen in FIGS. 3 and 5), and move downwards to make the plurality of legs move outward, thereby to unfold the frame body (as seen in FIG. 2 and 4); the sleeve seat comprises a positioning shaft (152), and the top rod defines a hole position cooperating with the positioning shaft (not labelled but as clearly seen in FIG. 10, 152 passes through 111 and 112); and when the positioning shaft is connected to the hole position, the frame body is in an unfolded state (as seen in FIG. 10); wherein the sleeve seat further comprises a seat body (lower portion of 114 to which elements 140 are pivotally connected), and a pipe sleeve (portion extending upwards onto which element 150 is fixed), the pipe sleeve is disposed in a center of the seat body and the pipe sleeve is configured for the top rod to pass through (as shown in FIG. 10, elements 112 and 112 pass through center of 114), a shaft hole (not labelled, but center hole through 114 through which elements 111 and 112 pass) in the pipe sleeve is in a rectangular shape (all the elements shown in the figures are rectangular shaped and therefore any holes, such as hole 125 seen in FIG. 9, would be rectangular in shape to match the shape of the elements which pass through them), a periphery of the seat body defines at least two evenly distributed pipe slots (cross-sectional view of slots seen in FIG. 10) configured to connect the second telescopic component (FIG. 10), and the pipe sleeve defines a positioning hole (not labeled) configured to insert the positioning shaft (as seen in FIG. 10, 152 extends from 150 through the pipe sleeve and then through elements 111 and 112).
Lee is silent on the details of the connection means between the second telescopic components and the pipe slots. Patel teaches a foldable tent comprising some joints (136) which include pipe slots (located between elements 210 and 215), wherein two opposite slot walls (210, 215) of each pipe slot define a screw hole (located on wall 215) and a through hole (hole 205 located on wall 210), respectively (as discussed in paragraph 31, threaded bolt 510 passes through 205 and is screwed directly into the hole on 215, therefore the hole must be a screw hole). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include a through hole and a screw hole on the walls of the pipe slots, as taught by Patel, so the second components could be easily attached to the pipe slots in the sleeve seat using a commonly found fastening mechanism (screw/threaded bolt).
Lee lacks the positioning shaft being controlled by a button located on the pipe sleeve. Mai et al. teaches a foldable tent comprising a plurality of sleeve elements which lock relative to the elongated elements there are sleeved thereon. For example, similar to Lee, Mai et al. teaches a sleeve seat (12) comprising: a pipe sleeve (12.1); a positioning shaft (12.5) and a pull ring (12.2). Additionally, Mai et al. also teaches a sleeve seat (13) comprising: a pipe sleeve (13.1); a positioning shaft (13.3); and a button (13.2), wherein a middle part of the button is rotatably connected to the pipe sleeve through a pivot (13.6), and wherein an end of the button is connected to the positioning shaft (via 13.4), and a torsion spring (13.5) is sleeved on the pivot and abuts against the pipe sleeve and the button (as seen in FIGS. 17 and 18, one end of the torsion spring rests upon the pipe sleeve and another end of the torsion spring rests on the button); wherein the torsion spring applies an elastic force to keep the positioning shaft (2) inserted into the pipe sleeve (as seen in FIG. 17), and pressing the button allows the positioning shaft to withdraw from the pipe sleeve and disengage from the hole position (6.1 ) of a rod (6; as seen in FIG. 18, when the end of button 13.2 is pressed inward in the direction of the arrow, the positioning shaft 13.3 is withdrawn from rods 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include a locking mechanism comprising a button, pivot and torsion spring, as taught by Mai et al., as an equivalent alternative to the pull ring that would provide the same function and yield the same result.
Claim 6: Lee is discussed above but is silent on the dimensions of the elements. However, it would have been obvious to make the height of the pipe sleeve in the range of 5cm to 15cm since it has generally been recognized that changes in size involve only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 137.
Claim 8: Lee is discussed above but is silent on the materials used to form the elements. However, it would have been obvious to make the positioning shaft of stainless steel since it has generally been recognized that selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding the method used to make the sleeve seat, it is noted that if the final product (a one-piece sleeve seat structure) is the same or very similar to the device of the present invention, then it could have been formed by the same method (in this case, injection-molding). See §2113 of MPEP for explanation of product-by-process claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that substituting Mai’s mechanism into Lee “would require redesigning Lee’s central member to receive and support Mai’s operating member, pivot, spring and positioning shaft while retaining Lee’s central sliding and frame-connection features” (page 6, Remarks). Applicant asserts that the Office Action “did not address the different supporting structures in which the respective mechanisms operate” (page 6, Remarks).
In response, it is noted that both the telescoping mechanism taught on the supporting leg in Mai and the central member of Lee are very similar in design. Specifically, both are comprised of two telescoping, hollow tubes with a square cross-section (members 5 and 6 in Mai; members 111 and 112 in Lee) that are surrounded by an operating member having a square cross-section (13.1 in Mai; top portion of element 114 which includes locking member 150 in Lee). As such, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to understand how the locking device taught in FIGS. 13-18 of Mai could easily be used on the central member of Lee given their extremely similar structures.
Applicant further argues the Office Action does not “explain how Mai's height-adjustment assembly would be incorporated into the exterior of Lee's central pipe sleeve so that the middle part of the button is rotatably connected to the pipe sleeve, the end of the button is connected to the positioning shaft, the torsion spring is sleeved on the pivot and abuts against the pipe sleeve and the button, and pressing the button withdraws the positioning shaft from the pipe sleeve and disengages it from the hole position of the top rod, as required by amended claim 1” (pages 6-7, Remarks).
In response, since only the top portion of element 114 that includes locking device 150 in Lee would be modified, the rest of the structure of 114 (the lower portion to which the second components are attached thereto) would not be altered. Again, given the similarities of the structures (hollow square cross-section) of the operating member of Mai and the top portion of element 114 that includes locking device 150 in Lee, it would be a simple substitution to replace members 150-152 of Lee with members 13.1.1, 13.2, 13.3, 13.5 and 13.6. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that modifying the locking device of Lee with the locking device of Mai is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Applicant argues the Office Action “does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have replaced or reconfigured Lee's existing central pivotal connections using Patel's corner-joint arrangement” (page 7, Remarks). In response, it is noted that one of ordinary skill would see the advantages of having second components that can easily be removed/replaced from the central member of Lee so that if a portion of the second component breaks, said portion can easily just be unscrewed using common tools that most people already own, thus reducing the cost associate with replacing the entire foldable tent versus just a small portion. Applicant further argues the Office Action lacks an explanation of “how Patel's arrangement would have been implemented at those connections while preserving Lee's existing central sliding and folding operation” (page 7, Remarks). As Applicant already admits, “Patel broadly states that its disclosed fasteners may be used in different types of gazebo frame joint” (page 7) and since the corner-joints of Patel have two X-shaped hinge rod components (130) coming together at an angle of 90 degrees relative to each other (see FIG. 2) and the central sleeve seat of Lee has four X-shaped hinge rod components coming together at an angle of 90 degrees relative to each component directly adjacent thereto, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to see how the central sleeve seat of Lee could be modified to incorporate the connection means taught by Patel.
Applicant argues that the references do not “explain how both mechanisms would be integrated into the same central sleeve-seat structure while maintaining Lee's central sliding and folding operation”. Given the locking device of Mai would be added to the upper portion of element 114 and the connection means of Patel would be added to the lower portion of element 114, they would not interfere with one another. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the combination of Lee with Mai and Patel would still be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DNJ/Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636