DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0088288 to Taira et al. in view of US 8,152,385 to de Jong et al.
Taira discloses the optical fiber connector comprising:
A first and second housing with a receiving space (14; figure 5), each with respective mating spaces (55a) and tail cap portions (56); and
A plurality of coupling components (21a, 21b) each with stopping portions (13) with various mating portions (50, 46 and 49; figure 11). Intermediate gear (13) rotates to secure the ferrule (paragraph 145).
As to claim 2, flexible arms with hooks are disclosed (49).
As to claims 3-4, the recesses are rectangular to accept the ferrule shown in figure 9. Recesses are shown as 38a which have corresponding portions in the housing.
As to claim 5, some portions are arced (figure 14).
As to claim 6, the intermediate gear can serve as the pressing member (figures 12-13). Further disclosed are stopping rings (paragraphs 14-15).
As to claims 7-8, portions shown in figure 23 serve as a partition plate that corresponds and pressed into main portion 51.
As to claim 10, one of the housing portions has a portion with a horizontal plane adapted to be higher than the other (unlabeled protrusion portions in figure 14 on the angled rear).
However, while Taira discloses the use of metal for various portions of the connector, Taira fails to disclose the first and second housing portions to be made of metal. Such a material is common in the art.
As to claim 9, a crimp ring is not disclosed.
De Jong discloses a crimp band (18) which is commonly used in the art to secure internal portions of the connector for bend control (see de Jong description for Figure 3). De Jong also discloses interchangeability of plastics with metals (column 6, lines 28-36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make a connector housing out of a known material such as metal to provide strength or heat resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IS 9,645,324 (internal stops 512 in figure 7).
US 7,588,373 (different housing shapes).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874