DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they appear to be copies of photographs or CAD files, as they contain excessive grayscale shading. Details of the claimed invention are difficult to discern, and the drawings are not of sufficient quality so that all details are reproducible in the printed patent. See MPEP 608.02; 37 CFR 1.84.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller (US 2723493 A), hereafter referred to as “Stoller” in view of Greetham et al. (US 20150033620 A1), hereafter referred to as “Greetham”.
Regarding claim 1, Stoller teaches a method of growing an aerial mycelium material (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
pasteurizing a substrate (claim 8, col. 5, lines 40-59) in an at least one tool located at a select physical location to form a pasteurized substrate (col. 5, lines 40-59); and
inoculating the pasteurized substrate with a fungal inoculum in a targeted fashion in the at least one tool at the select physical location to form a pasteurized and inoculated substrate (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), such that the targeted fashion of inoculating results in mycelium growing from the pasteurized and inoculated substrate in a regular geometric distribution upon a surface of the pasteurized and inoculated substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68). Stoller further teaches incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to promote mycelial growth and form the mycelium (col. 6, lines 69-75, col. 7, line 74-col. 8, line 4), but does not explicitly teach the step of incubating to form the aerial mycelium. Stoller further does not explicitly teach harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate.
Greetham teaches a method (abstract) including incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to form the aerial mycelium (claim 7 and paragraph [0012]), and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate (paragraph [0012], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller, such that the step of incubating results in forming aerial mycelium, and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate, as taught by Greetham, in order to accommodate the user’s choice of desired end product (i.e., type of mushroom), and since it would have been obvious to try varying a known technique to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 1, and Stoller further teaches wherein the select physical location comprises a growth or incubation chamber (10; fig. 1), wherein the fungal inoculum is selected from a solid fungal inoculum (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), and wherein the inoculating comprises at least one of depositing the solid fungal inoculum onto a substrate contained in the at least one tool (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 3, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 1, and Stoller further teaches agitating the substrate to facilitate a more uniform distribution of the inoculum within the substrate in the at least one tool (col. 6, lines 22-46), wherein the agitating comprises at least one of a mixing method that traverses at least one dimension of the at least one tool to mix the substrate (col. 6, lines 22-46).
Regarding claim 4, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 1, and Stoller further teaches wherein the inoculating comprises a first and second inoculation step (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 5, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 4, and Stoller further teaches wherein the second inoculation step is accomplished by a punching action of a fungal inoculum to a different vertical level of the substrate as compared to a vertical level of the fungal inoculum from the first inoculation step (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 6, Stoller teaches a method of growing an aerial mycelium material (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
providing a substrate in an at least one growth rack or bed within a growth or incubation chamber (fig. 2);
pasteurizing the substrate in the at least one growth rack or bed within the growth or incubation chamber to form a pasteurized substrate (claim 8, col. 5, lines 40-59);
inoculating the pasteurized substrate, wherein inoculating comprises depositing a fungal inoculum in a targeted fashion in the rack or bed to form a pasteurized and inoculated substrate (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), such that the targeted fashion of depositing results in mycelium growing from the pasteurized and inoculated substrate in a regular geometric distribution upon a surface of the pasteurized and inoculated substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68). Stoller further teaches incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to promote mycelial growth and form the mycelium (col. 6, lines 69-75, col. 7, line 74-col. 8, line 4), but does not explicitly teach the step of incubating to form the aerial mycelium. Stoller further does not explicitly teach harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate.
Greetham teaches a method (abstract) including incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to form the aerial mycelium (claim 7 and paragraph [0012]), and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate (paragraph [0012], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller, such that the step of incubating results in forming aerial mycelium, and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate, as taught by Greetham, in order to accommodate the user’s choice of desired end product (i.e., type of mushroom), and since it would have been obvious to try varying a known technique to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding claim 7, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 6, and Stoller further teaches wherein the depositing of the fungal inoculum is in a pattern or geometric configuration within or upon the substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68).
Regarding claim 8, Stoller in view of Greetham Stoller teaches the method of claim 6, and Stoller further teaches wherein the depositing of the fungal inoculum comprises a first and second depositing step for depositing the fungal inoculum within or upon the substrate (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 11, Stoller teaches a method of growing an aerial mycelium material (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
providing a substrate in a tool within a growth or incubation chamber (fig. 2);
pasteurizing the substrate in the tool within the growth or incubation chamber to form a pasteurized substrate (claim 8, col. 5, lines 40-59);
inoculating the pasteurized substrate, wherein inoculating comprises depositing a fungal inoculum in a targeted fashion in the tool to form a pasteurized and inoculated substrate (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), such that the targeted fashion of depositing results in aerial mycelium growing from the pasteurized and inoculated substrate in a regular geometric distribution upon a surface of the pasteurized and inoculated substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68). Stoller further teaches incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to promote mycelial growth and form the mycelium (col. 6, lines 69-75, col. 7, line 74-col. 8, line 4), but does not explicitly teach the step of incubating to form the aerial mycelium. Stoller further does not explicitly teach harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate.
Greetham teaches a method (abstract) including incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to form the aerial mycelium (claim 7 and paragraph [0012]), and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate (paragraph [0012], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller, such that the step of incubating results in forming aerial mycelium, and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate, as taught by Greetham, in order to accommodate the user’s choice of desired end product (i.e., type of mushroom), and since it would have been obvious to try varying a known technique to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding claim 12, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 11, and Stoller further teaches wherein the tool is selected from the group consisting of a sheet, a rack, a bed, a tray, a container, a cage, a belt, and a carrier sheet (10; fig. 2 teaching a tank).
Regarding claim 13, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 11, and Stoller further teaches wherein the depositing comprises depositing the fungal inoculum in a regular geometric pattern along X-Y length and width planar directions of the substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68).
Regarding claim 14, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 11, and Stoller further teaches wherein the depositing comprises depositing the fungal inoculum in a regular geometric pattern along the Z depth direction of the substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68).
Regarding claim 15, Stoller teaches a method of growing an aerial mycelium material (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
pasteurizing a substrate in an at least one tool located at a select physical location to form a pasteurized substrate (claim 8, col. 5, lines 40-59);
inoculating the pasteurized substrate with a fungal inoculum in a targeted fashion in the at least one tool at the select physical location to form a pasteurized and inoculated substrate (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), such that the targeted fashion of inoculating results in mycelium growing from the pasteurized and inoculated substrate in a defined pattern or distribution upon a surface of the pasteurized and inoculated substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68). Stoller further teaches incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to promote mycelial growth and form the mycelium (col. 6, lines 69-75, col. 7, line 74-col. 8, line 4), but does not explicitly teach the step of incubating to form the aerial mycelium. Stoller further does not explicitly teach harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate.
Greetham teaches a method (abstract) including incubating the pasteurized and inoculated substrate to form the aerial mycelium (claim 7 and paragraph [0012]), and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate (paragraph [0012], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller, such that the step of incubating results in forming aerial mycelium, and harvesting the aerial mycelium from the substrate, as taught by Greetham, in order to accommodate the user’s choice of desired end product (i.e., type of mushroom), and since it would have been obvious to try varying a known technique to achieve a predictable result.
Claims 9-10, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller in view of Greetham as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Liao (CN 113597973 A), hereafter referred to as “Liao”.
Regarding claim 9, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 8, and Stoller further teaches wherein the first and second depositing steps are accomplished by two different depositing methods (claim 18; col. 6, lines 22-68 and col. 8, lines 45-50), wherein the two different depositing methods are accomplished by at least one of a selective head filler (col. 2, line 71-col. 3, line 3) whereby the fungal inoculum is deposited in a distinct pattern or geometric configuration within the substrate (col. 6, lines 22-68), but does not explicitly teach that the substrate comprises two layers of substrate.
Liao teaches a method (see attached machine translation, paragraphs [n0003]-[0015]) including two layers of substrate (machine translation, paragraph [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham to include two layers of substrate, as taught by Liao, in order to improve moisture retention.
Regarding claim 10, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 8, and Stoller further teaches comprising agitating one layer of substrate (col. 6, lines 22-46), but does not explicitly teach that the substrate comprises two layers of substrate.
Liao teaches a method (see attached machine translation, paragraphs [n0003]-[0015]) including two layers of substrate (machine translation, paragraph [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham to include two layers of substrate, as taught by Liao, in order to improve moisture retention.
Regarding claim 18, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the substrate comprises two or more layered substrates.
Liao teaches a method (see attached machine translation, paragraphs [n0003]-[0015]) including two layers of substrate (machine translation, paragraph [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham, such that the substrate includes two layers of substrate, as taught by Liao, in order to improve moisture retention.
Regarding claim 19, Stoller in view of Greetham and Liao teaches the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach wherein the defined pattern or distribution varies between the two or more layered substrates. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham and Liao, such that the defined pattern or distribution varies between the two or more layered substrates, in order to maximize growth, and because it would have been obvious to try varying distribution of fungal inoculum between various layers to improve colonization efficiency.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoller as applied above to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the defined pattern or distribution comprises a symmetrical pattern or distribution.
It is well settled, however, that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence. MPEP 2143. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham, such that the defined pattern or distribution comprises a symmetrical pattern or distribution, in order to achieve a faster and more uniform colonization, and because it would have been obvious to try a defined pattern or distribution comprises a symmetrical pattern or distribution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the defined pattern or distribution comprises an asymmetrical distribution.
It is well settled, however, that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence. MPEP 2143. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stoller in view of Greetham, such that the defined pattern or distribution comprises an asymmetrical distribution, in order to promote growth propagating naturally across the substrate, and because it would have been obvious to try a defined pattern or distribution comprises an asymmetrical distribution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As shown above, Stoller in view of Greetham teaches each and every limitation of independent claims 1, 6, 11, and 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643