DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Notification of invoking - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claims 1 – 9 are invoking 112(f) interpretation for reciting limitations such as “a first communication apparatus”, “a second communication apparatus”, “a communication unit”, “a control unit”, has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “apparatus” and “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to receive, transmit, switch” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-9 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification paragraphs 19-24 and figures 1-3 for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation. Thus, the above invoking 112(f) terms “a first communication apparatus”, “a second communication apparatus”, “a communication unit”, “a control unit” will be interpreted according to the structure definition provided in paragraphs 19-24 and figures 1-3.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo (US 20160132092 A1) and in view of Pannell (US Patent 11249541 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Joo discloses a communication system including a first communication apparatus [abstract: external apparatus] and a second communication apparatus [abstract: display apparatus],
wherein the first communication apparatus includes, a communication unit configured to transmit request information for requesting to switch a Wake On Lan (WOL) function to an enabled state or a disabled state and an activation packet to the second communication apparatus based on instruction information set by a user [abstract, 0010: The display apparatus includes a communicator configured to receive a power-on command from an external apparatus to perform a Wake On LAN (WOL) function and a controller configured to determine whether the WOL function is turned either on or off according to a network setting state][0011: The controller, in response to a network setting being performed by a user, may turn on the WOL function, and in response to a network setting not being performed by a user, turn off the WOL function][0011—19],
wherein the second communication apparatus includes, a communication unit configured to receive the request information and the activation packet from the first communication apparatus [abstract, 0010: The display apparatus includes a communicator configured to receive a power-on command from an external apparatus to perform a Wake On LAN (WOL) function and a controller configured to determine whether the WOL function is turned either on or off according to a network setting state][0067: If a power-on command is received from an external apparatus (for example, a smart phone, etc.) remotely through the communicator 210 or a power-on command is received through a remote controller, for example, and from the input unit 280 while a standby mode is maintained, the controller 290 may convert the mode of the display apparatus 200 from the standby mode to an operation mode][0011-0019], and
a control unit configured to switch the WOL function to the enabled state or the disabled state based on the request information received from the first communication apparatus [abstract, 0010: The display apparatus includes a communicator configured to receive a power-on command from an external apparatus to perform a Wake On LAN (WOL) function and a controller configured to determine whether the WOL function is turned either on or off according to a network setting state][0011-0019], and
wherein, in a case where the activation packet is received when an operation state of the second communication apparatus is a power saving state and the WOL function is enabled, the control unit performs processing for activating the second communication apparatus from the power saving state [0067: If a power-on command is received from an external apparatus (for example, a smart phone, etc.) remotely through the communicator 210 or a power-on command is received through a remote controller, for example, and from the input unit 280 while a standby mode is maintained, the controller 290 may convert the mode of the display apparatus 200 from the standby mode to an operation mode][0011-0019].
However, Joo does not explicitly disclose switches the WOL function of the second communication apparatus to the disabled state. Pannell discloses switches the WOL function [wake on frame mechanism] of the second communication apparatus to the disabled state of the second communication apparatus [an apparatus] to the disabled state [Col. 1 lines 32-58: an apparatus includes a central processing unit (CPU) … the switch comprises a wake-on-frame mechanism that is disabled when the CPU is in an active state and enabled when the CPU is in an inactive state].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Joo and Pannell together because they both directed to use the WOL function to activate the computing device. Pannell’s disclosing of switching the apparatus from the power saving state to the active state and switching the WOL function of the apparatus to the disabled state would allow Joo to achieve more power saving by disabling the WOL function when the apparatus is in active mode.
Regarding claim 2, Joo discloses the communication system according to claim 1, wherein the first communication apparatus further includes a storage unit configured to store the instruction information set by the user [abstract, 0010: The display apparatus includes a communicator configured to receive a power-on command from an external apparatus to perform a Wake On LAN (WOL) function] [0045-0048, 0067: (for example, a smart phone, etc.)].
Regarding claim 3, Joo discloses the communication system according to claim 2, wherein, in a case where the instruction information is stored in the storage unit after a connection between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus is started, the communication unit of the first communication apparatus transmits the request information based on the instruction information to the second communication apparatus [abstract, 0010: The display apparatus includes a communicator configured to receive a power-on command from an external apparatus to perform a Wake On LAN (WOL) function][0045-0048, 0067: (for example, a smart phone, etc.)].
Regarding claim 4, Joo discloses the communication system according to claim 3, wherein the instruction information includes a reset instruction for switching the WOL function of the second communication apparatus to the enabled state at a timing when the operation state of the second communication apparatus is an activated state [0013, 0020: in response to the WOL function being turned on, may control the power supply unit to apply standby power to the communicator while the display apparatus is in a standby mode or in an operation mode.].
Regarding claim 5, Joo discloses the communication system according to claim 4, wherein the control unit of the second communication apparatus switches the WOL function to the enabled state at a timing immediately after request information based on the reset instruction is received from the first communication apparatus state [0013, 0020: in response to the WOL function being turned on, may control the power supply unit to apply standby power to the communicator while the display apparatus is in a standby mode or in an operation mode.].
Regarding claim 8, Joo discloses the communication system according to claim 2, wherein the instruction information includes a restore instruction for switching the WOL function to the enabled state at a timing immediately before the operation state of the second communication apparatus is switched from an activated state to the power saving state [0013, 0020: in response to the WOL function being turned on, may control the power supply unit to apply standby power to the communicator while the display apparatus is in a standby mode or in an operation mode.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo (US 20160132092 A1) and in view of Pannell (US Patent 11249541 B1) and in further view of Itkin (US 20230297669 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Joo and Pannell do not explicitly disclose in a case where the activation packet is received when the operation state of the second communication apparatus is the activated state and the WOL function is enabled, the control unit of the second communication apparatus performs processing for reactivating the second communication apparatus.
Itkin discloses in a case where the activation packet is received when the operation state of the second communication apparatus is the activated state and the WOL function is enabled, the control unit of the second communication apparatus performs processing for reactivating the second communication apparatus [0017: the remote machine is to packetize the secure reset request to be detected using a Wake-on-LAN (WoL) detector][0036: when it is desired to reset (i.e., reboot) the DPU or one or more processors of the DPU].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Joo, Pannell and Itkin together because they directed to use the WOL function to activate the computing device. Itkin’s disclosing of the instruction information includes a reset instruction for switching the WOL function of the second communication apparatus to the enabled state at a timing when the operation state of the second communication apparatus is an activated state would allow Joo in view of Pannell to ensure the communication between two devices in a connected state.
Regarding claim 7, Itkin discloses the communication system according to claim 6, wherein the first communication apparatus further includes a control unit configured to, in a case where the instruction information including the reset instruction is stored in the storage unit, discard the instruction information including the reset instruction from the storage unit at a timing when the activation packet is transmitted to the second communication apparatus [0017, 0035-0038: reset request].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo (US 20160132092 A1) and in view of Pannell (US Patent 11249541 B1) and in further view of Karp et al (US Publication 20160134932 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Joo and Pannell do not disclose wherein the second communication apparatus is a camera.
In the same field, Karp discloses wherein the second communication apparatus is a camera [0234: the device service 84 may wake any subscribers of the request (e.g., smart devices 10A-10C and 10E, and/or structures 10D associated with the request) (block 256). In one embodiment, the devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) and/or structures 10D may be equipped with wake-on-LAN (WOL) functionality that enables a device to sleep until particular data packets are received at the WOL equipped device].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Joo, Pannell and Karp together because they directed to use the WOL function to activate the computing device. Karp’s disclosing of the device receives the WOL signal is a camera device would allow Joo in view of Pannell to expand the teachings onto specific camara area.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner (see MPEP § 2123).
/PHIL K NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176