DETAILED ACTION
This is the Final Office Action for application number 18/826,806 CLAMPING ASSEMBLY FOR MOUNTING SOLAR PANEL MODULES filed on 9/6/2024. Claims 1-18, 21 and 22 are pending. This Final Office Action is in response to applicant’s reply dated 5/28/2026. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 6,598,333 to Randazzo et al.
With regards to claims 1 and 9, the patent to Randazzo et al. teaches a device having a clamp base (30), a clip (50) movably connected to the clamp base, the clip being slidable within an opening (52) on a surface of the clamp base; and a biasing fastener (38) extending through the opening (See Figure 2) of the clamp base and connecting to the clip (36), the biasing fastener being configured to bias the clip with respect to the clamp base.
With regards to claim 2, Randazzo et al. teaches wherein the clamp base has a clamp opening through which the biasing fastener extends (See Figure 2) and wherein the clip is movable away from and toward the clamp base by movement extending along an axis of the biasing fastener through the opening.
With regards to claim 4, Randazzo et al. teaches wherein the clamp base includes a first protrusion (36) and a second protrusion (34) configured to engage a rail (10) extending inwardly toward each other in a same plane as the surface having the opening of the clamp base.
With regards to claim 5, Randazzo et al. teaches wherein the clip is configured to rotate is rotatable relative to the clamp base. (See Figure 2)
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s argument are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 10-18, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 3, the prior art does not teach wherein the clamp base further includes a panel support ledge that extends transversely from the surface having the opening on the clamp base, the panel support ledge extending so as to support a frame of the solar panel module when installed.
With regards to claim 6, the prior art does not teach wherein the opening in the surface of the clamp base is an elongated slot oriented such that the clip is configured to slide slidable along a longitudinal direction of the clamp base.
With regards to claim 7, the prior art does not teach wherein the biasing fastener includes a biasing component configured spring positioned around an axis of the biasing fastener to apply a force to the clip when the clip is pulled away from the clamp base.
With regards to claim 8, the prior art does not teach a pivoting fastener configured to extending through an end of the clamp base to connect the clamp base to a rail pivotally whereby the clamp base is pivotable with respect to the rail.
With regards to claim 10, the prior art does not teach wherein the clamp base includes a panel flange support wall including at least one clamp the opening through which the biasing fastener extends; and a first clamp sidewall and a second clamp sidewall that extend transversely away from the panel flange support wall.
With regards to claim 15, the prior art does not teach wherein the clip has a front lip extending along a first direction from a first side of a body of the clip; a back lip extending along the first direction from a second side of the body of the clip, the second side being opposite to the first side; a first grip extending along a second direction from a third side of the body of the clip; a second grip extending along the second direction from a fourth side of the body of the clip, the fourth side being opposite to the third side, the second direction being opposite to the first direction; and a first tab and a second tab extending downwards from the back lip, the first tab and a second tab being configured to engage with a return flange of a frame of the solar panel module.
With regards to claim 16, the prior art does not teach a plurality of stanchions stanchion attached to the plurality of rails, the plurality of stanchions being configured to provide additional support for the solar panel module rail.
With regards to claim 17, the prior art does not teach a plurality of ballast rail positioned across the plurality of rails rail.
With regards to claim 18, the prior art does not teach a plurality of pads pad positioned between the plurality of rails rail and a mounting surface.
With regards to claim 21, the prior art does not teach wherein the opening on the surface of the clamp base is a first opening, and the clamp base includes a second opening spaced longitudinally along the surface of the clamp base from the first opening, and wherein the biasing fastener is sized for accommodation within each of the first opening and the second opening.
With regards to claim 22, the prior art does not teach wherein the biasing member includes a spring positioned on a side of the clamp base opposite the clip, so as to create a biased force of the clip toward the surface of the clamp base.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Amy J. Sterling at telephone number 571-272-6823 or to Supervisor Jonathan Liu at 571-272-8227, if the examiner cannot be reached. The fax machine number for the Technology center is 571-273-8300 (formal amendments) or 571-273-6823 (informal communications only). Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Technology Center receptionist at 571-272-3600.
/AMY J. STERLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 7/28/26