DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/826,820, Angle-Adjustable Music Stand, filed on September 6, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs 1-3 in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. However, claim 4 is drawn to a non-elected species (Fig. 4). Hence, claim 4 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Design Patent No. 704,486 to Cho.
Cho ‘486 discloses a music stand comprising: a sheet music board (Fig. 8) and a support frame (Fig. 2 – top portion) wherein the support frame comprises an adjusting component with at least one degree of freedom (rotate); the sheet music board is connected to the adjusting component; and the adjusting component is configured to adjust an angle of the sheet music board with respect to the support frame.
Regarding claim 2, Cho ‘486 discloses wherein the adjusting component comprises a first accessory (socket – cavity) and a second accessory (ball); and a first end of the first accessory is rotatably connected to a first end of the second accessory (ball and socket).
Regarding claim 3, Cho ‘486 discloses wherein the first accessory is defined with a cavity (socket); and the first end of the second accessory is rotatably mounted in the cavity (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Cho ‘486 discloses wherein the second accessory comprises a ball joint, the ball joint comprises a connecting rod and a ball (Fig. 2 – top portion) disposed on a first end of the connecting rod and the ball is capable of being mounted in the cavity (see Figs 9-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho ‘486 in view of U.S. Design Patent No. 255,459 to Corder.
Cho ‘486 fails to disclose wherein the support frame also comprising a fixing assembly, a first end of the fixing assembly is connected to the adjusting component, and a second end of the fixing assembly is connected to a carrier for carrying the music stand. Nevertheless, Corder ‘459 discloses a fixing assembly (fixing plate with a fastening belt). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tripod of Cho ‘486 with a fixing plate as taught by Corder ‘459 because one would have a motivation to provide a wrist mounted to carry the music stand.
Regarding claim 7, Cho ‘486 in view of Corder ‘459 discloses wherein the fixing assembly comprises a fixing plate (plate) and a fastening belt (straps), a first end of the fixing plate is provided with a bending portion (Corder ‘459 -Fig. 1) and a second end of the fixing plate is defined with at least one strip shaped hole (slot); the fastening belt is limited between the strip shaped hole and the bending portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the end of the bending portion is a hook shaped structure bent upward.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0061197 – ball and socket bracket (for music stand)
U.S. Patent No. 9,622,572 – Instrument Music Holder
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 March 7, 2026