DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Re claims 19 and 20, they are method claims depend on a terminal claim 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 11, 14-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al (US 2021/0226759, “Takeda”).
Re claims 1, 10 and 18, Takeda discloses receiving/transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling information (paragraph [0056]) and information indicating a number of transmissions for a message in response to a PDSCH from a base station/to a terminal (paragraphs [0030] and [0059]); receiving/transmitting the PDSCH based on the PDSCH scheduling information from the base station/to the terminal (paragraph [0056]); and repeatedly transmitting the message in response to the PDSCH based on the number of transmissions for the message to the base station/from the terminal (figure 6; paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Re claims 2, 11 and 19, Takeda discloses determining instances based on time domain resource assignment (TDRA) information included in the PDSCH scheduling information (paragraph [0098]); and repeatedly transmitting the message in response to the PDSCH in the instances to the base station (figure 6; paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Re claims 5 and 14, Takeda discloses the message in response to the PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted by the terminal for which a RRC connection with the base station is not established (figure 6; paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Re claim 6, Takeda discloses determining one or more valid slots for transmitting the message; and repeatedly transmitting the message in the one or more valid slots to the base station (figure 6; paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Re claims 7 and 15, Takeda discloses the one or more valid slots are determined by considering at least one of a slot pattern (figure 6; paragraphs [0097] and [0098]) or a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block.
Re claims 8 and 16, Takeda discloses the information indicating the number of transmissions of the message is identified based on a downlink assignment index (DAI) field included in the DCI (paragraph [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Yang et al (US 2022/0104280, “Yang”).
Re claims 9 and 17, Takeda discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the PDSCH includes a message4 (Msg4) in a random access (RA) procedure, and the message is a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) of the Msg4. However, Yang discloses transmitting HARQ-ACK for the corresponding Msg4 PDSCH (paragraph [0401]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with Yang for the benefit of implementing traditional 4-step RACH procedure. One skill in the art would have been motivated to generate the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143.02).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467