DETAILED ACTION
The previous rejections over Pirouz et al. (US 2018/0171258) in view of Carrick et al. (US 7,285,516) or over Hahn et al. (US 2017/0240832) in view of Carrick et al. (US 7,285,516) were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14, 18 – 46, 49 – 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Biase (US 2013/0225462) in view of Pirouz et al. (US 2018/0171258) and further in view of Carrick et al. (US 7,285,516)
In regard to claim 1, Di Biase teaches terpene derived compounds in lubricants etc. [0001]. The terpene comprises a functionalized compound made by reacting a functionalized monomer or polymer with terpene, and wherein the functionalized monomer can comprises one or more functional groups such as carboxylic acid group, hydroxyl group, amino group, carbonyl group, cyano group or mixtures thus providing 5 functional groups (Fv = 5) as claimed [0008]. Terpenes are inherently isoprene homopolymers. Also, the terpenes can be terpene oligomers/homopolymers such as diterpenes, triterpenes, tetraterpenes (C40H64), and polyterpenes having many isoprene units such as natural rubber [0088, 0101]. Natural rubber is known to be cis- 1,4-isoprene homopolymer having molecular weights of from 100,000 to 1,000,000 which provides the claimed limitation.
Functionality distribution is calculated as follows:
Since Fmax-Fmin is the difference of Fv for higher molecular weight and lower molecular weight monomers; if the polymer is a homopolymer, it appears that the difference would be about 0 (i.e., Fd = 0).
The functionalized terpene is useful in lubricants and/or functional fluids and may be used as base oil or functional additive [0521]. The terpene is mixed with any Group I to V base oil at amounts of from 1 to 99% in the composition [0524]. The lubricant can comprise other known additives such as dispersants, detergents, antioxidants etc. [0531]. Overbased detergents can be calcium or magnesium detergents having metal ratio of from an excess of 1 to about 40 which provides calcium detergent having tbn overlapping the claimed range [0532]. The dispersant can be succinimide such as polyisobutenyl succinimide (PIBSA-PAM) [0534]. An additive concentrate can comprise one or more of the additives at from about 0.1% to about 99% [0545].
The composition is useful as engine oil, transmission oil, etc. [0527]. When the terpene is used as dispersant it can be present at from 0.01 to about 20%, and as detergent, it can be present at from 0.01 to 50%, and the base oil is present at greater than 60% or greater than 75% and have kinematic viscosity at 100℃ (Kv100) of up to 35 cSt such as from about 5 to about 20 cSt [0529, 0530]. Thus, the conventional dispersant and detergents which are non-terpene can be present in such amounts and in amounts that overlap the claimed limitations, absent the amounts of base oil, terpene additives.
The molecular weight of the PIBSA PAM dispersant, amounts of phosphorus or sulfur in the composition and the Kv100 of the composition are not particularly recited.
Pirouz teaches lubricant composition such as engine oils similar to Di Biase [abstract, 0217]. The composition comprises greater than 50% of base oil [0039, 0040]. It can comprise one or more sulfonate, phenate, salicylate, salixarate etc., detergents of metals such as calcium and magnesium etc., having tbn of from about 200 to about 400, and multifunctional additives and other optional detergent, dispersants etc. [0171 – 0175, 0212, 0213].
Thus, persons of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have obvious to have used the additives of Di Biase, such as the functionalized polymer, as additive or as multifunctional additives in the composition of Pirouz, as Pirouz allows for the use of such ingredients in the composition.
Pirouz teaches the detergent is present in the oil such as engine oil in amounts of from about 0 to 10%, and the metal ratio of the metal to the substrate is 1:1 which would be expected to provide calcium and magnesium contents overlapping the claimed range [0176].
While the actual amounts of calcium and magnesium are not recited, Carrick which similarly recites engine oils comprising calcium and magnesium detergents such as sulfonates and phenates teaches compositions having calcium in amounts of 0.2759% (2759 ppm), 0.2265% (2265 ppm) from the detergents, and magnesium in amounts of 0.330% (330 ppm) from the detergents which makes the claimed limitations obvious (column 17, Table 1; columns 19 & 20, Table 1 and Example 4).
Thus, at least in view of Carrick, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were filed would have found it obvious to have used calcium and magnesium detergents that provides calcium and magnesium in amounts of the claims in the engine oils of Pirouz, as Carrick teaches such amounts are suitable.
Pirouz teaches the composition can comprise one or more dispersants such as alkenyl succinimides with alkenyl groups such as polyisobutylene having molecular weight ranges of from about 350 to 50,000 or about 5000 or up to about 3000 thus providing the lower or higher molecular weight PIBSA-PAM of the claim [0179]. The dispersants may be post-treated with boron, urea, etc. [0192]. The dispersant is one or more, such as mixtures of two or more and present at up to 20% such as from 0.1% to 20% by weight [0195].
The lubricant has a sulfur content of from 1% or less or from about 0.001% to 0.5%, the phosphorus content is from about 0.2% or less or from about 50 ppm up to 1000 ppm, and the sulfated ash is present at from about 2% or less, or from about 0.05% to about 0.9% by weight of the composition [0064].
Pirouz teaches the composition which is prepared from low viscosity oil such as 5.13 cSt, but fails to particularly recite the kinematic viscosity of the composition [0233, Table 3]. However, Carrick teaches 10W30 engine oils which are oils having from about 4 to about 9 cSt (Example 1). Thus, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have prepared the composition of Pirouz to have the viscosity grade recited by Carrick, as Carrick recites useful viscosity grade for engine oils.
Since Pirouz in view of Di Biase and Carrick teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts it would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
In regard to claim 2, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition which may comprise borated dispersant as previously stated. Pirouz teaches boron compounds such as borated dispersants (i.e., PIBSA-PAM) are used at amounts to provide from 0.01 to 8% in the composition as discussed in US 5,883,057 by Roell, Jr. et al. which Pirouz incorporates by reference [0170]. It is unclear if the recited amount is for the boron itself or for the borated compound. Roell teaches borated dispersant which comprises boron at 1.9% [Example l-6]. Thus, even if the amounts of from 0.01 to 8% is taken as the amount of the boron compound, since the compound can have about 2% of boron, the amount of boron in the oil would be from about 2 ppm to about 1600 ppm, when the borated dispersant used in Pirouz is the one recited by Roell.
In regard to claim 3, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated. Since Pirouz teaches one or more dispersants, the higher molecular weight PIBSA-PAM can be absent.
In regard to claim 4, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches base oil Group I to V oils as previously stated and is present at from 50% or from 60% or from 70% or greater than about 90% in the composition [0158].
In regard to claims 5, 6, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 7, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches a composition of 10% polymer in oil and having a HTHS viscosity in the claimed range [0235 – 0238, Tables 4, 5].
In regard to claims 8 – 10, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed ingredients in the recited amounts and would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
In regard to claim 11, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches the additives of the claims [0219, Table 2].
In regard to claim 12, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches the composition having zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate which provides the phosphorus level of the claims as previously discussed [0165].
In regard to claim 13, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches the antioxidant such as amine, phenols, and sulfurized olefins in amounts of from 0 to 20% [0159 – 0164].
In regard to claims 14, 15, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches molybdenum dithiocarbamate such as Molyvan 2000 which are molybdenum dialkyl dithiocarbamates as friction modifier and which provides molybdenum in amounts of from 0.5 ppm to 2000 ppm [0202 – 0206]. An amount of 0.5 ppm provides a composition that is substantially free of molybdenum. Also, the optional presence of the molybdenum compound allows for the composition to be free of molybdenum.
In regard to claims 18 – 21, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches the composition which can have a polymer different from each of the ones recited in each claim.
In regard to claim 22, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition. Pirouz teaches the composition of the claim such as a heavy-duty diesel and spark ignition engine oil [0062].
In regard to claim 23, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed limitation as previously stated.
In regard to claim 24, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts useful as heavy-duty diesel oil and which will be expected to have the properties of the claim, or at least make it obvious.
In regard to claim 25, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition which can be in the form of a concentrate as previously stated. Pirouz in view of Di Biase teaches the presence of the functionalized polymer in concentrate in amounts overlapping the claimed range as previously stated. The amounts of diluent and other additive components, when used in the concentrate, would generally be present at amounts overlapping the claimed ranges as the amounts in the fully formulated oil also overlaps the claimed ranges [0221]. The concentration of other ingredients will be expected to increase by a similar order of magnitude as the concentration of the polymer increase in the concentrate as compared to the fully formulated oil.
In regard to claim 26, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed ingredients for use in engines and thus provides or the method of lubricating an engine with the composition by supplying the oil into the engine.
In regard to claims 27 – 31, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition and provide for the method of lubricating engines as previously stated. The engines are diesel, gasoline, mixed diesel/biofuel, heavy duty diesel, natural gas, alcohol fuel etc. [0062]. Thus, the diesel meets the limitation of at least one of renewable or non-renewable diesel as claimed. The use of the composition in the engine would intrinsically provide the method of improving wear performance and engine cleanliness when the oil having the claimed ingredients is supplied into the engine.
In regard to claims 32 – 46, 49 – 59, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the composition having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and thus provides the method of making the composition and which would be expected to have similar properties as the claims as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 60, Pirouz, Di Biase and Carrick teach the claimed composition. Pirouz teaches the presence of one of more friction modifiers including amine salts of molybdenum compounds, i.e., molybdenum-amine complex [0202 – 0206].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771