Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 109192820A) in view of Zhang (CN 109049942A).
Zhao teaches a multilayer multicavity lamination system, the system comprising an input mechanism (5), a three-cavity lamination mechanism (4), and an output mechanism (6) in sequence (See Fig. 2; [0046]). The input mechanism (5) and output mechanism (6) read on the instantly claimed multi-layer feeding device and multi-layer finished product conveyance device, respectively. The three-cavity lamination mechanism (4) has multiple layers and includes a preliminary lamination device (10), a curing device (11), and a cooling device (12) (See Fig. 2; [0046]). The preliminary lamination device, curing device, and cooling device are each considered to be a “multi-layer lamination device” as claimed.
Regarding the limitation “wherein two adjacent multi-layer lamination devices are connected through a transitional conveyance device,” Zhao teaches a transfer system for transferring components between the preliminary lamination device (10), the curing device (11), and the cooling device (12) (See [0048]). The transfer system reads on the instantly claimed transitional conveyance device.
Zhao does not expressly disclose a transfer system comprising a support frame arranged between the lamination devices, wherein multiple roller groups are installed on the support frame and distributed at equal intervals from top to bottom as claimed.
Zhang teaches a lamination system, the system comprising a preheating mechanism (100), a lamination mechanism (200), and a cooling mechanism (300), wherein each mechanism within the system may include multiple layers arranged vertically (See Figures; [0054]-[0056]). The preheating mechanism, lamination mechanism, and cooling mechanism read on the instantly claimed at least two multi-layer lamination devices and correspond to the three-cavity lamination mechanism of Zhao. Zhang also teaches a conveying mechanism which conveys a component to be laminated through the lamination devices and therebetween, with an exemplary embodiment including a chain (410) which runs between the lamination devices (See Figures; [0063]-[0064]). Zhang discloses an alternative conveying mechanism which includes a conveying roller (See [0064]). Zhang also teaches that a conveying mechanism may be provided for each of the multiple layers of the lamination devices (See [0056]). Where a conveying roller is used in each vertically oriented layer, the structure of the claim is met. In particular, the conveying rollers form multiple roller groups which are vertically stacked at equal intervals. A support frame which supports the rollers from opposing sides is implicit in the reference because rollers must be axially supported on both of their ends to be rotationally mounted in the system. Any system component on which a plurality of such rollers can be rotatably mounted would read on the instantly claimed support frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide conveying rollers between the lamination devices of Zhao, with a conveying roller being present for each vertical layer within the devices, because Zhang teaches that conveying rollers were recognized in the prior art as being suitable for conveying components to be laminated through and between lamination devices (See Figures; [0053]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches that the input mechanism (5) and output mechanism (6) are each equipped with a lifting system (14) for ensuring components are lifted or lowered to a desired location for processing (See Figures; [0050]; [0055]). The lifting systems read on the instantly claimed lift conveyance devices associated with each of the feeding device and the finished product conveyance device.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches that the input mechanism and output mechanism may include a support frame (111), a transfer storage system (112) movably mounted on the support frame, and a lifting mechanism (113) configured to vertically move the transfer storage system, wherein the transfer storage system (112) comprises a transmission frame (121) on which synchronizing devices (125) such as synchronizing belts are mounted (See Figs. 4-7; [0061]-[0070]). The lifting mechanism (113), transmission frame (121), and synchronizing belts read on the instantly claimed elevator, lifting frames, and belt conveyor bodies, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, the system of Zhao includes three multi-layer lamination devices, as detailed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/12/2026, with respect to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claims have been amended to address all issues of indefiniteness. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art cannot obtain the invention of claim 1 based on the combination of Zhao and Zhang and would have no motivation to do so, in particular because Zhao and Zhang only teaches conveyance devices which operate within the lamination devices and fail to disclose a conveyance device which operates between two adjacent lamination devices as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the conveyance chain (410) of Zhang is clearly shown in the Figures to operate both within the lamination devices and between the lamination devices. When using the other conveyance devices of Zhang such as a conveyor belt or rollers, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that such conveyance devices would also be used both within and between the lamination devices.
Applicant also argues that the combination of Zhang and Zhao would render the invention of Zhao unsuitable for its intended purpose. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Zhang expressly recites rollers as being suitable conveyors for multi-layer lamination devices, as detailed above. Since Zhang teaches that rollers can be incorporated into such devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when including such rollers in the system of Zhao. The intended purposed of the invention of Zhao is to laminate solar cell modules, which the system would still perform successfully whether rollers, belts, chains, or other known conveyance techniques are used.
Applicant argues that the cleaning of a conveyor belts would be altered when substituting rollers into the system of Zhao, which would render the system unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. This is not persuasive, as the intended purpose of the system is not to clean a conveyor belt, but instead to laminate materials for solar cells. This function remains intact regardless of the type of conveyance used.
Applicant also argues that any changes to the system of Zhao would require redesigning the system and thereby increase costs. This argument is not persuasive because any costs, redesigns, or other factors involved in selecting various components for a lamination system would be routine matters for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider when determining what type of system to use. None of these particular conveyance devices render the system inoperable, but instead are known equivalents which one of ordinary skill in the art could select for the same purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily compare and contrast the pros and cons of each conveyance types, including associated costs, benefits or challenges associated with a particular system, and suitability for a particular application. These are routine considerations rather than issues which would render the system inoperable as asserted by the Applicant.
Applicant argues that the conventional technical means taught by both Zhao and Zhang provide conveyance within the lamination devices and not between them. As stated above, the figures of Zhang clearly show the conveyance chain (410) operating both within the lamination devices and between the lamination devices. Therefore it is conventional in the art not only to provide conveyance within the lamination devices, but also between them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746