DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jacobsen et al. (US 8320727, hereby referred as Jacobsen).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobsen teaches the following:
a radio frequency (RF) device (column 10, lines 10-33), comprising:
a first network structure comprising a first composite, the first composite including a first RF tunable material (column 10, lines 4-9; column 14, line 53 – column 15, line 21; the first material); and
a second network structure interpenetrating the first network structure, the second network structure comprising a second composite including a second RF tunable material (column 10, lines 4-9; column 14, line 53 – column 15, line 21; the second or third material);
wherein the first and second network structures are sized and positioned to control an RF tuning ability (column 10, lines 34-66; column 14, lines 53 – 59).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobsen as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first RF tunable material is the same as the second RF tunable material (column 15, lines 20-21).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobsen as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first network structure and the second network structure are equally sized and shaped (column 5, line 61 – column 6, line 20; column 15, lines 20-21; as shown in figures 1-2, 8-9).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobsen as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first and second RF tunable materials comprise one or more of: one or more performance materials; one or more additional additives; and one or more spacing materials (column 14, line 60 – column 15, line 19).
Regarding claim 7, Jacobsen as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the one or more performance materials comprise one or more of a ferroelectric additive, a ferromagnetic additive, a liquid crystal additive, a phase change additive, an elastic additive, a semiconductor material, and a semiconductor component (column 14, line 60 – column 15, line 19).
Regarding claim 9, Jacobsen as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the one or more additional additives comprise one or more of titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, oxides, nitrates, and nitrides (column 14, line 60 – column 15, line 19).
Regarding claim 13, Jacobsen as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein a spacing between the first network structure and the second network structure is provided by an actuator (this claim is a product-by-process claim and "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the product is the same and there is a spacing between the two network structures, this limitation would be taught by Jacobson).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 8320727, hereby referred as Jacobsen) in view of Boyce et al. (US 2021/0316501, hereby referred as Boyce).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobsen as referred in claim 1 teaches the RF device with the exception for the following:
wherein the first network structure and the second network structure each comprise gyroids.
Boyce suggests the teachings of an interpenetrating network structure that comprises double gyroids (paragraph [0005]). It is also well known in the polymer science that gyroids arise naturally that can provide a high modulus and superior conductivity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the first network structure and the second network structure of Jacobsen to comprise gyroids, specifically double gyroids, as suggested by the teachings of Boyce and as known in the polymer science which can provide a high modulus and superior conductivity.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jacobsen and Boyce as referred in claim 4 teaches the following:
wherein the first and second structures form a double gyroid lattice (Boyce, paragraph [0005], as explained in claim 4).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 8320727, hereby referred as Jacobsen) in view of Locke et al. (US 2014/0316073, hereby referred as Locke).
Regarding claim 8, Jacobsen as referred in claim 7 teaches the RF device with the exception for the following:
wherein the one or more performance materials comprise one or more of barium strontium titanite (BST), yttrium iron garnet, gallium antimony tellurium (Ga-Sb-Te), and vanadium dioxide.
However, Jacobsen does teach various materials could be used (column 14, line 60 – column 15, line 19).
Locke suggests the teachings of an interpenetrating network structure (paragraph [0013]) wherein the one or more performance materials comprise one or more of barium strontium titanite (BST), yttrium iron garnet, gallium antimony tellurium (Ga-Sb-Te), and vanadium dioxide (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the one or more performance materials of Jacobsen to comprise one or more of barium strontium titanite (BST), yttrium iron garnet, gallium antimony tellurium (Ga-Sb-Te), and vanadium dioxide as suggested by the teachings of Locke in order to get the desired composite structure the radio frequency (RF) filter (Jacobsen, column 10, lines 10-33)(Locke, paragraph [0018]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 8320727, hereby referred as Jacobsen).
Regarding claim 10, Jacobsen as referred in claim 9 teaches the RF device with the exception for the following:
wherein the one or more additional additives are sized between about 1 nanometer (nm) and 20 micrometers (µm).
However, Jacobsen does teach that the material may include nanoparticles (column 14, lines 10-11) which are generally in the range from 1 to 100 nanometers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the one or more additional additives of Jacobsen to be sized between about 1 nanometer (nm) and 20 micrometers (µm) as suggested by the teachings of Jacobsen and knowledge in the art to get the desired composite structure, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 8320727, hereby referred as Jacobsen) in view of Vella et al. (US 2023/0122929, hereby referred as Vella).
Regarding claim 11, Jacobsen as referred in claim 6 teaches the RF device with the exception for the following:
wherein the one or more spacing materials comprise one of a magnetostrictive material and a piezoelectric material.
Vella suggests the teachings of wherein the one or more spacing materials comprise one of a magnetostrictive material and a piezoelectric material (paragraphs [0045] and [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Jacobsen include one or more spacing materials comprising of one of a magnetostrictive material and a piezoelectric material as suggested by the teachings of Vella which can be used to fill up the pore space between the two interpenetrating composite structures (paragraphs [0008]-[0009], [0045], and [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Jacobsen as referred in claim 6 teaches the RF device with the exception for the following:
wherein the spacing material is positioned to modify a geometric shape of the RF device.
Vella suggests the teachings of wherein the spacing material is positioned to modify a geometric shape of the RF device (paragraphs [0045] and [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Jacobsen include spacing material that is positioned to modify a geometric shape of the RF device as suggested by the teachings of Vella which can be used to fill up the pore space between the two interpenetrating composite structures (paragraphs [0008]-[0009], [0045], and [0055]).
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845