DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0411082 (Delbosc) in view of US 2019/0186416 (Seka).
Regarding claim 1, Delbosc teaches a power converter for use with a fan engine for an aircraft (Fig. 1 shows power converters 38a-b, 40 for use with turboshaft engine 10 i.e. fan engine for an aircraft) [0110-0111, 0139], wherein the power converter comprises:
an electric-motor interface (Fig. 1 shows propulsive electric distribution network 32) for electrical connection to an electric motor (Fig. 1 shows electric machines MG BP, MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP) configured to be mechanically coupled to a driveshaft of the fan engine (Fig. 1 shows electric machines MG BP, MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP mechanically coupled to turboshaft engine 10) [0119-0120];
an inverting electric-motor power stage, having a DC side and an AC side (Fig. 1 shows inverters 38a-b, 40 having a DC side and an AC side) [0143-0144, 0180-0181],
wherein the AC side of the electric-motor power stage is electrically coupled to the electric-motor interface (Fig. 1 shows AC side of the inverters 38a-b and 40 are coupled to electric machines MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP and MG BP);
a thrust-reverser interface (Fig. 1 shows electric distribution network 76 dedicated to Thrust Reverser Actuation System) for electrical connection (thrust reverser actuation system has electrical connection to an actuator of the turboshaft engine 10 for actuating a thrust reverser surface of the turboshaft engine) [0173-0176];
an inverting thrust-reverser power stage, having a DC side and an AC side (Fig. 1 shows inverter 92 having a DC side and an AC side) [0180],
wherein the AC side of the thrust-reverser power stage is electrically coupled to the thrust-reverser interface (Fig. 1 shows AC side of the inverter 92 i.e. thrust-reverser power stage is electrically coupled to the electric distribution network 76 i.e. thrust-reverser interface);
a DC electrical connector comprising a positive voltage terminal and a negative voltage terminal for electrical connection to a DC bus of the aircraft (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC 82 electrically connected to electric distribution network 32 i.e. DC bus of aircraft) [0143]; and
circuitry that electrically couples the positive voltage terminal and the negative voltage terminal of the DC electrical connector to the DC side of the electric-motor power stage and to also the DC side of the thrust-reverser power stage (Fig. 1 shows circuitry that electrically coupled the terminals of the DC/DC 82 to the DC side of the inverters 38a-b and 40 and to the DC side of the DC/AC 92 i.e. thrust-reverser power stage).
However, Delbosc does not explicitly teach electrical connection to an electric actuator of the fan engine for actuating a thrust reverser surface of the fan engine.
However, Seka teaches electrical connection to an electric actuator of the fan engine for actuating a thrust reverser surface of the fan engine (Fig. 1 shows electrical connection of actuator 4 of the electric motor 3 i.e. fan engine for actuating a thrust-reverser surface of the motor 3) [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrical connection to an electric actuator of the fan engine for actuating a thrust reverser surface of the fan engine as taught by Seka in order to operate the aircraft safely.
Regarding claim 2, Delbosc teaches further comprising: a housing, wherein the housing contains the electric-motor power stage, the thrust-reverser power stage, and the circuitry that electrically couples the positive and negative voltage terminals of the DC electrical connector to the DC side of the electric-motor power stage and to the DC side of the thrust-reverser power stage (housing of the aircraft contains the electric motor DC/AC converters 38a-b, 40, DC/AC 92 and the circuitry that electrically couples the terminals of the DC/DC 82 to the DC side of the inverters 38a-b, 40 and to the DC side of the DC/AC 92).
Regarding claim 3, Delbosc teaches wherein each of the DC electrical connector, the electric-motor interface, and the thrust-reverser interface include an electrical socket or set of terminals (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC 82 i.e. DC electrical connector, electric machines MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP and MG BP i.e. the electric-motor interface and the electric distribution 78 i.e. thrust-reverser interface include a set of terminals).
Regarding claim 4, Delbosc teaches wherein the electric-motor power stage is a bidirectional power stage, configured to perform DC to AC conversion when the electric motor is operating in a motoring mode, and to provide AC to DC conversion when the electric motor is operating in an electricity-generating mode (Fig. 1 shows inverters DC/AC 38a-b, 40 are performing DC to AC conversion during the electric motors operating in motoring mode and to provide AC to DC conversion when the electric motors are operating in an generator mode) [0017-18, 0024-25, 0111-113].
Regarding claim 5, Delbosc teaches wherein the circuitry electrically connects the DC side of the electric-motor power stage in parallel with the DC side of the thrust-reverser power stage (Fig. 1 shows the circuitry electrically connects the DC side of the inverters DC/AC 38a-b and 40 in parallel with the DC side of the inverter DC/AC 92).
Regarding claim 8, Delbosc teaches configured for connection to a DC bus of the aircraft that operates at a voltage higher than 500V (Fig. 1 shows DC bus of aircraft operating at 540V to 1000V) [0143].
Regarding claim 10, Delbosc teaches further comprising: one or more further electric-motor interfaces for electrical connection to respective electric motors configured to be mechanically coupled to one or more further driveshafts of the fan engine, and comprising a respective further electric-motor power stage for each further electric-motor interface (Fig. 1 shows one or more electric machines MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP, MG BP configured to be mechanically coupled to one or more turboshaft engine i.e. driveshaft of the fan engine and comprising a respective further inverters DC/AC 38a-b, 40 for each further electric motor interface) [0111-112, 0139].
Regarding claim 12, Delbosc teaches an engine system (Fig. 1 shows turboshaft engine 10, 12) comprising: a power converter (Fig. 1 shows DC/AC 38a-b, 40) of claim 1; and the fan engine (Fig. 1 shows two turboshaft engines), wherein: the fan engine comprises the electric motor (Fig. 1 shows electric motors MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP, MG BP); the electric-motor interface is electrically coupled to the electric motor (Fig. 1 shows electric motors MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP, MG BP forming the electric-motor interface); and the thrust-reverser interface (Fig. 1 shows electric distribution network 78 to be the thrust reverser interface) [0175].
However, Delbosc does not explicitly teach fan engine comprises electric actuator; the thrust-reverser interface is electrically coupled to the electric actuator.
However, Seka teaches fan engine comprises electric actuator; the thrust-reverser interface is electrically coupled to the electric actuator (Fig. 1 shows electrical connection of actuator 4 of the electric motor 3 i.e. fan engine for actuating a thrust-reverser surface of the motor 3) [0043].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fan engine comprises electric actuator; the thrust-reverser interface is electrically coupled to the electric actuator as taught by Seka in order to operate the aircraft safely and efficiently during landing.
Regarding claim 13, Delbosc teaches wherein the fan engine is an electric fan engine or a hybrid-electric turbofan engine (electric machines MG1 HP, MG2 HP is electric turboshaft engine) [0112, 0139], and wherein the electric motor is arranged, when operating in a motoring mode, to generate thrust for propelling the aircraft forward (MG1 HP when operating in an motoring mode, generate thrust for propelling the aircraft forward) [0111-113, 0139].
Regarding claim 15, Delbosc teaches an aircraft comprising: the engine system of claim 12, wherein the aircraft comprises the DC bus and wherein the DC electrical connector is electrically connected to the DC bus of the aircraft (Fig. 1 shows aircraft comprising DC bus 32 and wherein DC/DC 82 is electrically connected to DC bus 32 of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 16, Delbosc teaches wherein each of the DC electrical connector, the electric-motor interface, and the thrust-reverser interface include an electrical socket or set of terminals (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC 82 i.e. DC electrical connector, electric machines MG1 HP, MG2 HP, PMG3 HP and MG BP i.e. the electric-motor interface and the electric distribution 78 i.e. thrust-reverser interface include a set of terminals).
Regarding claim 17, Delbosc teaches wherein the electric-motor power stage is a bidirectional power stage, configured to perform DC to AC conversion when the electric motor is operating in a motoring mode, and to provide AC to DC conversion when the electric motor is operating in an electricity-generating mode (Fig. 1 shows inverters DC/AC 38a-b, 40 are performing DC to AC conversion during the electric motors operating in motoring mode and to provide AC to DC conversion when the electric motors are operating in an generator mode) [0017-18, 0024-25, 0111-113].
Regarding claim 18, Delbosc teaches wherein the circuitry electrically connects the DC side of the electric-motor power stage in parallel with the DC side of the thrust-reverser power stage (Fig. 1 shows the circuitry electrically connects the DC side of the inverters DC/AC 38a-b and 40 in parallel with the DC side of the inverter DC/AC 92).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0411082 (Delbosc) in view of US 2019/0186416 (Seka) further in view of US 2005/0135126 (Gazel).
Regarding claim 6, Delbosc and Seka does not teach further comprising: a DC-link stage, electrically arranged between the DC connector and the DC sides of the electric-motor and thrust-reverser power stages, wherein the DC-link stage comprises a smoothing capacitor electrically coupled across the positive and negative voltage terminals of the DC electrical connector.
However, Gazel teaches a DC-link stage, electrically arranged between the DC connector and the DC sides of the electric-motor and thrust-reverser power stages, wherein the DC-link stage comprises a smoothing capacitor electrically coupled across the positive and negative voltage terminals of the DC electrical connector (Fig. 9 shows capacitor 49 arranged between the DC connector and the DC side of the electric motor 43 and thrust reverser power stages 1) [0017, 0047-48, 0090].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a DC-link stage, electrically arranged between the DC connector and the DC sides of the electric-motor and thrust-reverser power stages, wherein the DC-link stage comprises a smoothing capacitor electrically coupled across the positive and negative voltage terminals of the DC electrical connector as taught by Gazel in order to enable the weight and volume of the control system to be optimized.
Regarding claim 7, Delbosc teaches further comprising an EMI filter [0097].
However, Delbosc and Seka does not teach filter electrically connected between DC electrical connector and the DC-link stage.
However, Gazel teaches filter electrically connected between DC electrical connector and the DC-link stage (Fig. 10 shows filter 147 in between the DC electrical connector and the capacitor 149) [0005].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a filter electrically connected between DC electrical connector and the DC-link stage taught by Gazel in order to limit harmonic rejection associated with the switching of the inverter.
Claim(s) 9, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0411082 (Delbosc) in view of US 2019/0186416 (Seka) further in view of US 2018/0195464 (Abel).
Regarding claim 9, Delbosc and Seka does not teach further comprising: a shared FPGA, DSP or scalar processor, configured or programmed for controlling the thrust-reverser power stage and for controlling the electric-motor power stage.
However, Abel teaches further comprising: a shared FPGA, DSP or scalar processor, configured or programmed for controlling the thrust-reverser power stage and for controlling the electric-motor power stage (DSP and FPGA configured for controlling the thrust-reverser power stage and for controlling the electric motor power stage) [0047].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a shared FPGA, DSP or scalar processor, configured or programmed for controlling the thrust-reverser power stage and for controlling the electric-motor power stage as taught by Abel in order to perform parallel processing thereby driving the electric motor parallel to each other thereby ensuring safety in the aircraft flight.
Regarding claim 11, Delbosc and Seka does not teach further comprising: one or more further thrust-reverser interfaces for electrical connection to respective electric actuators of the fan engine for actuating one or more further thrust reverser surfaces of the fan engine, and comprising a respective further inverting thrust-reverser power stage for each further thrust-reverser interface.
However, Abel teaches further comprising: one or more further thrust-reverser interfaces for electrical connection to respective electric actuators of the fan engine for actuating one or more further thrust reverser surfaces of the fan engine [0011-13, 0028-0032], and comprising a respective further inverting thrust-reverser power stage for each further thrust-reverser interface [0035-0039].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one or more further thrust-reverser interfaces for electrical connection to respective electric actuators of the fan engine for actuating one or more further thrust reverser surfaces of the fan engine, and comprising a respective further inverting thrust-reverser power stage for each further thrust-reverser interface as taught by Abel in order to create a safer and more powerful propulsion on the aircraft.
Regarding claim 14, Delbosc and Seka does not teach wherein the thrust reverser surface is a surface of an internal or external thrust-reverser door, the door having an open state and a closed state and arranged to direct gas forwards from the fan engine when in the open state.
However, Abel teaches wherein the thrust reverser surface is a surface of an internal or external thrust-reverser door, the door having an open state and a closed state and arranged to direct gas forwards from the fan engine when in the open state [0024-27].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the thrust reverser surface is a surface of an internal or external thrust-reverser door, the door having an open state and a closed state and arranged to direct gas forwards from the fan engine when in the open state as taught by Abel in order for the doors to be used as the moveable thrust reverser components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant presents that the current references fails to teach the amended portion: circuitry that electrically couples the positive voltage terminal and the negative voltage terminal of the DC electrical connector to the DC side of the electric-motor power stage and also to the DC side of the thrust-reverser power stage.
Applicant further exemplifies the argument as: an embodiment of the power converter of claim 1 can be seen in Figure 3 of the application as filed, in which the inverting power stages for the spools (302, 312) and for the thrust reversers (322a, 322b) are all connected to the DC bus 110 via the same electrical connector (308)/Cables (306). Note that the arrangement in Figure 2 is said to be provided by way of contrast with Figure 3 rather than to show a claimed embodiment. It shows a contrasting arrangement that does not provide a driveshaft-motor interface and a thrust-reverser interface that are both coupled to the same DC electrical connector.
However, the Examiner would like to point to Fig. 1 shows circuitry that electrically coupled the terminals of the DC/DC 82 to the DC side of the inverters 38a-b and 40 and to the DC side of the DC/AC 92 i.e. thrust-reverser power stage.
Furthermore, the fact that the current claim language does not disclose the limitation as the Applicant is illustrating in the argument: in which the inverting power stages for the spools (302, 312) and for the thrust reversers (322a, 322b) are all connected to the DC bus 110 via the same electrical connector (308)/Cables (306). Current claim language reads the limitation “electrically couples” which is rather broad as a limitation and fails to accurately depict the structure of Figure 3 as is indicated in the Applicant’s argument. Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836