DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed 9/6/2024.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-20 are hereby examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 15 recite a “tight coil”. It is unclear what is required to be “tight” as this is a measure of degree.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katchur et al US 6,189,593.
In regard to claim 1, with reference to Figures 3-6, Katchur et al ‘593 discloses a rolling grille system (54, Fig. 3) comprising: a plurality of curved links (10’, Fig. 5), each curved link affixed to an adjacent curved link through a plurality of rods (46, Fig. 6), thereby forming a rolling curtain, wherein each curved link (10’) has substantially similar dimensions, and wherein the curved links cause the rolling curtain to have uniform gaps between each curved link; a bottom bar (bottommost rod 46) attached to a bottom end of the rolling curtain, wherein the bottom bar (bottommost 46) is configured to add horizontal rigidity to the rolling curtain; a barrel (64, Fig. 4) configured to receive the rolling curtain and coil the rolling curtain around an outer wall of the barrel, wherein the substantially similar dimensions of each curved link (10’) reduce a size of the coil by reducing a gap between each layer of the coil; and at least one vertical guide (56’, Fig. 4) configured to direct a vertical end of the rolling curtain when the rolling is opening or closing.
In regard to claim 2, Katchur et al ‘593 discloses wherein each curved link (10’) further comprises: a tab linkage extending from a first end of the curved link; and a notch linkage (formed by both 32’) extending from a second end of the curved link (10’), wherein the notch linkage includes two tubular sections (32’) spaced apart and configured to receive the tab linkage (shown below) of a second curved link, and wherein the tab linkage of the curved link couples, using the rod, to the notch linkage of the second curved link.
In regard to claim 3, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose a shoulder (shown above) positioned on the first end of the curved link (10’) and configured to receive the notch linkage (formed by both 32’) of a third curved linkage, wherein the shoulder reduces the uniform gap between linkages to decrease the size of the coil.
In regard to claim 4, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose an arched length extending from the tab linkage (shown above) to the notch linkage (formed by 32’), wherein the arched length defines a curvature of the curved link.
In regard to claim 5, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose, wherein a radius of the arched length (of 10’) and a radius of the barrel (64) determine the gap between each layer of the coil and an overall diameter of the rolling curtain when the rolling curtain is in a coiled position.
In regard to claim 9, Katchur et al ‘593 disclsoe a rolling grille comprising: a plurality of curved links (10’), each curved link affixed to an adjacent curved link through a plurality of rods (46), thereby forming a rolling grille curtain configured to form a tight coil when rolled, wherein each curved link (10’) has substantially similar dimensions to reduce a spacing formed between each layer of the tight coil, and wherein the curved links (10’) cause the rolling grille curtain to have uniform gaps between each curved link; and a bottom bar (bottommost 46) attached to a bottom end of the rolling grille curtain, wherein the bottom bar (bottommost 46) is configured to add horizontal rigidity to the rolling grille curtain to reduce the spacing between each layer of the tight coil.
In regard to claim 10, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose each curved link (10’) further comprises: a tab linkage (shown above) extending from a first end of the curved link; and a notch linkage (formed by both 32’) extending from a second end of the curved link, wherein the tab linkage of the curved link couples, using the rod (46), to the notch linkage of a second curved link.
In regard to claim 11, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose a shoulder (shown above) positioned on the first end of the curved link (10’) and configured to receive the notch linkage of a third curved linkage, wherein the shoulder reduces the uniform gap between linkages to decrease the size of the coil.
In regard to claim 12, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose an arched length extending from the tab linkage (shown above) to the notch linkage (formed by both 32’), wherein the arched length defines a radius of the curved link.
In regard to claim 15, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose a tight coil rolling grille system comprising: a plurality of curved links (10’), each curved link affixed to an adjacent curved link through a plurality of rods (46) thereby forming a rolling curtain configured to form the tight coil when rolled, wherein each curved link has substantially similar dimensions to reduce a spacing formed between each layer of the tight coil, and wherein the curved links (10’) causes the rolling curtain to have uniform gaps between each curved link; and a bottom bar (bottommost 46) attached to a bottom end of the rolling curtain, wherein the bottom bar is configured to add horizontal rigidity to the rolling curtain.
In regard to claim 16, Katchur et al ‘593 disclose wherein each curved link (10’) further comprises: a tab linkage (shown above) extending from a first end of the curved link; and a notch linkage (formed by both 32’) extending from a second end of the curved link, wherein the tab linkage (shown above) of the curved link (10’) couples, using the rod (46_, to the notch linkage of a second curved link.
In regard to claim 17 Katchur et al ‘593 disclose an arched length extending from the tab linkage (shown above) to the notch linkage (formed by both 32’), wherein the arched length defines a radius of the curved link.
In regard to claim 18 Katchur et al ‘593 disclose a barrel (64) configured to receive the rolling curtain and coil the rolling curtain around an outer wall of the barrel, wherein the substantially similar dimensions of each curved link (10’) reduce a size of the coil by reducing a gap between each layer of the coil on the barrel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katchur et al US 6,189,593 in view of Price et al WO2018/068019.
In regard to claim 6, Katchur et al ‘593 fail to disclose a motor system configured to rotate the barrel, wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the rolling grille and a size of the barrel.
Price et al ‘019 disclose a motor system (30, Fig. 1) configured to rotate the barrel, wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the rolling grille and a size of the barrel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include a motor system as taught by Price et al ‘019 for the purpose of providing a means to automatically retract and extend the grille without manual input, thus increasing the ease of use of the device.
In regard to claim 13, Katchur et al ‘593 a barrel (64) configured to receive the rolling curtain and coil the rolling curtain around an outer wall of the barrel (64), wherein the substantially similar dimensions of each curved link (10’)reduce a size of the coil by reducing a gap between each layer of the coil.
Katchur et al ‘593 fail to disclose a motor system configured to rotate the barrel, and wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the rolling grille and a size of the barrel. Price et al ‘019 disclose a motor system (30, Fig. 1) configured to rotate the barrel, wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the rolling grille and a size of the barrel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include a motor system as taught by Price et al ‘019 for the purpose of providing a means to automatically retract and extend the grille without manual input, thus increasing the ease of use of the device.
In regard to claim 19, Katchur et al ‘593 fail to disclose a motor system configured to rotate a barrel to open or close the tight coil rolling grille, wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the tight coil rolling grille and a size of the barrel, and wherein the rolling curtain wraps around the barrel when the tight coil rolling curtain is closing.
Price et al ‘019 disclose a motor system (30, Fig. 1) configured to rotate the barrel, wherein the motor system is sized based on a size of the rolling grille and a size of the barrel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include a motor system as taught by Price et al ‘019 for the purpose of providing a means to automatically retract and extend the grille without manual input, thus increasing the ease of use of the device.
Claims 7-8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katchur et al US 6,189,593 in view of Gregoriou US2017/0074039.
In regard to claim 7, Katchur et al ‘593 fails to disclose a photo eye configured to detect an obstruction in a path of the rolling grille, wherein a control panel prevents the rolling curtain from closing when the photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the photo eye is positioned at the bottom end of the rolling curtain; and a monitored light curtain configured to detect an obstruction in the path of the rolling grille, wherein the monitored light curtain stops and reverses the closing of the rolling grille.
With reference to Figure 2B, Gregoriou ‘039 discloses a photo eye (155a) configured to detect an obstruction in a path of the rolling grille, wherein a control panel (165) prevents the rolling curtain from closing when the photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the photo eye (155a) is positioned at the bottom end of the rolling curtain; and a monitored light curtain (paragraph [0031]) configured to detect an obstruction in the path of the rolling grille, wherein the monitored light curtain stops and reverses the closing of the rolling grille.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include the photo eye, control panel and light curtain as taught by Gregoriou ‘039 in order to provide a means to stop, reverse of slow down the door in the presence of an obstruction in order to provide a measure of increased safety for a user.
In regard to claim 8, Katchur et al ‘593 as modified by Gregoriou ‘039 discloses a second photo eye (155n) configured to detect the obstruction in the path of the rolling curtain, wherein the control panel prevents the rolling curtain from opening when the second photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the second photo eye is positioned at a top end of the rolling curtain.
In regard to claim 14, Katchur et al ‘593 fails to disclose a photo eye configured to detect an obstruction in a path of the rolling grille, wherein a control panel prevents the rolling grille curtain from closing when the photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the photo eye is positioned at the bottom end of the rolling grille curtain; and a second photo eye configured to detect the obstruction in the path of the rolling grille, wherein the control panel prevents the rolling grille curtain from opening when the second photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the second photo eye is positioned at a top end of the rolling grille curtain.
With reference to Figure 2B, Gregoriou ‘039 discloses a photo eye (155a) configured to detect an obstruction in a path of the rolling grille, wherein a control panel (165) prevents the rolling curtain from closing when the photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the photo eye (155a) is positioned at the bottom end of the rolling curtain; a second photo eye (155n) configured to detect the obstruction in the path of the rolling grille, wherein the control panel (165) prevents the rolling grille curtain from opening when the second photo eye detects the obstruction, and wherein the second photo eye (155n) is positioned at a top end of the rolling grille curtain.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include the photo eyes and control panel as taught by Gregoriou ‘039 in order to provide a means to stop, reverse of slow down the door in the presence of an obstruction in order to provide a measure of increased safety for a user.
In regard to claim 20, Katchur et al ‘593 fail to disclose at least one photo eye configured to detect an obstruction in a path of the tight coil rolling grille, wherein a control panel prevents the rolling curtain from opening or closing when the photo eye detects the obstruction.
With reference to Figure 2B, Gregoriou ‘039 discloses a least one photo eye (155n) configured to detect the obstruction in the path of the rolling grille, wherein a control panel (165) prevents the rolling grille curtain from opening when the second photo eye detects the obstruction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Katchur et al ‘593 to include the photo eye and control panel as taught by Gregoriou ‘039 in order to provide a means to stop, reverse of slow down the door in the presence of an obstruction order to provide a measure of increased safety for a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634