DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdo (US 2018/0091244).
In regard to Claim 1:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, a quantum device comprising:
a filter (105_1 – 105_n) having a plurality of notches (Paragraphs 0029-0030) in a first frequency band (F1) lower than a second frequency band (F2; Paragraph 0035);
a first qubit (305_1) that resonates in the first frequency band (F1); and
a second qubit (305_2) that resonates in the second frequency band (F2),
wherein the first qubit (305_1) is input with a signal (150_1) having a frequency (F1) at which the first qubit (305_1) resonates via the filter (105_1) to control a state of the first qubit (305_1) when executing a one-qubit gating (Paragraph 0047), and is input with a signal (150_2) having a frequency (F2) at which the second qubit (305_2) resonates via the filter (105_2) to control a state of the second qubit (305_2) according to a quantum state of the first qubit (305_1) when executing a two-qubit gating (Paragraph 0047).
In regard to Claim 2:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, the quantum device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the filter (105_1 – 105_n) resonates between a resonant frequency (F1) of the first qubit (305_1) and a resonant frequency (F2) of the second qubit (305_2).
In regard to Claim 3:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, the quantum device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of notches (Paragraphs 0029-0030) includes a first notch having a first notch frequency (F1), and a second notch having a second notch frequency (F1) higher than the first notch frequency (F1; Paragraph 0035)) and lower than a resonance frequency of the filter (Paragraph 0029).
In regard to Claim 4:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, the quantum device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the filter (105_1 – 105_n) includes a first filter forming the first notch (105_1), and a second filter forming the second notch (105_2).
In regard to Claim 13:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, the quantum device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first qubit (305_1) resonates in a band between the plurality of notches (Paragraphs 0029-0030).
In regard to Claim 15:
Abdo discloses, in Figure 3, the quantum device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the filter utilizes Fano resonance (Paragraph 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdo (US 2018/0091244), in view of Bestwick (WO 2023/225171).
In regard to Claim 5:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 1 and 3-4 above, except for further comprising: a substrate including a first layer provided with the first filter and the second filter, and a second layer provided with the first qubit.
Bestwick discloses, in Figure 19C, further comprising: a substrate (1902, 1904) including a first layer (1904) provided with the first filter (1936) and the second filter (1924), and a second layer (1902) provided with the first qubit (1912).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the substrate and substrate layout taught by Bestwick with the quantum device taught by Abdo, in order to confine the qubit energy to the quantum processor chip, block signals at qubit operating frequencies, reduce losses from the qubit devices, improve lifetime of qubit modes, and improve coherence time and overall performance of the quantum processor module (Bestwick Paragraph 00244).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abraham et al. (US 2016/0112031) discloses a superconductor tunable notch filter. A Josephson junction filter array is connected to a coupling pad and connected to ground. The Josephson junction filter array includes a filter inductance. The Josephson junction filter array connected to the coupling pad forms a filter capacitance. A Josephson junction bias array is connected to the coupling pad and connected to a current source. The Josephson junction bias array includes a bias inductance. A transmission line is connected to the coupling pad in which connection of the transmission line and the coupling pad forms a coupling capacitance, such that the filter inductance and the filter capacitance connect to the transmission line through the coupling capacitance. The Josephson junction filter array includes a notch filter frequency that is tunable according to a magnitude of a current bias from the current source.
Bronn et al. (US 2016/0156356) discloses a superconductor circuit. A Δ circuit includes a first node connecting a Purcell capacitor to a qubit coupling capacitor, a second node connecting the Purcell capacitor to a readout coupling capacitor, and a third node connecting the qubit coupling capacitor to the readout coupling capacitor. A qubit is connected to the first node and has a qubit frequency. A readout resonator connects to the third node combining with the Purcell capacitor to form a filter. Capacitance of the Purcell capacitor is determined as a factor of the qubit frequency of the qubit and blocks emissions of the qubit at the qubit frequency. Capacitance of the Purcell capacitor causes destructive interference, between a first path containing Purcell capacitor and a second path containing both the qubit coupling capacitor and readout coupling capacitor, in order to block emissions of the qubit at the qubit frequency to the external environment.
Kelly (US 11,669,765) discloses a system that includes: a qubit; a qubit readout resonator arranged adjacent to the qubit to couple to the qubit; and a first filter arranged adjacent to the qubit readout resonator to couple to the qubit readout resonator, the first filter comprising: a common port arranged to receive both a qubit readout resonator input drive signal and a measurement output signal from the qubit readout resonator, wherein the first filter is configured to impede at least one measurement photon emitted from the qubit is disclosed.
Naaman (US 9,438,246) discloses multiplexed readout of qubits. The system comprises a plurality of bandpass (BP) filter resonant sections that are each coupled to a different respective point on a read line, wherein each BP filter resonant section is coupleable to a respective qubit through a respective qubit readout resonator. The system further comprises a plurality of tunable couplers, wherein each tunable coupler is coupled between a respective BP filter resonant section and a qubit readout resonator, and a coupling controller that controls the coupling strength of each qubit to the read line by controlling the impedance of each tunable coupler of the plurality of tunable couplers.
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896