DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by May et al. (US PG Pub. 20060103811).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 19, May discloses an electronic apparatus comprising:
a projector (projection system 100 of fig. 1);
a driver (relative movement detector 222 of fig. 2);
memory storing one or more computer programs (computer; para. 0026); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the projector, the driver, and the memory (illustrated in figs. 2-5),
wherein one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to:
control the projector to project first content onto a projection surface (para. 0029; relative movement between a projector and a projected image or a projection surface),
based on the electronic apparatus moving from a first position (the first position is the position prior to the movement being detected by the relative movement detector 222) to a second position (second position is the position after the initial movement is detected),
identify a projection angle for the projection surface based on the second position (para. 0030; in determining where and how to adjust an image. Other information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image),
obtain second content by changing a screen form of the first content based on the second position and the projection angle (para. 0036; Image adjustment controller 226 produces the control inputs in response to a detection of relative movement between the projection system 200 and a projected image and/or a projection surface), and
based on the electronic apparatus moving from the first position to the second position by controlling the driver, control the projector to project the second content onto the projection surface (para. 0037; Image adjustment controller 226 generates the control inputs for the purpose of reducing image obfuscation that may otherwise result from relative movement between a projector and a projected image or a projection surface).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 20, May discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (para. 0113; The code may be stored on one or more volatile or non-volatile computer-readable media), cause the electronic apparatus to: identify an edge corresponding to a direction of movement of the electronic apparatus among a left edge and a right edge of a projection area onto which the first content is projected on the projection surface (para. 0049; an image capture device 402 receives visual information 404 from outside of the projection system. For example, an image capture device 402 may receive a reflection of a projected image or projected element (e.g., a point, shape, image edge or edges, or a border)), and identify the second position based on the identified edge (para. 0051; translator 408 may perform a correlation operation between a previously-stored appearance of a reference object and a more recently-captured appearance.).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, May discloses further comprising: a sensor (movement sensor 302 of fig. 3), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: identify a distance from the first position to the projection surface through the sensor (302), identify a distance from the first position to the identified edge based on a radial angle of the projector, and identify the second position based on the identified distance (para. 0042; Movement sensor 302 is intended to detect relative movement of the projection system, with respect to a reference object, and to produce sensor outputs 304, which indicate the detected movement. The term "reference object" is meant to include a projected image, a projected reference element, one or more physical objects, or a coordinate system. For example, a reference object may include an image or reference element that is projected by the projector system. Alternatively, a reference object may include one or more physical objects that are proximate to the projector system and para. 0050; one or more distance sensors may be included, which may detect a distance between the projection system and a projection surface or another object).
Regarding claim 4, May discloses wherein the distance from the second position to the identified edge is equal to or greater than a distance from the first position to the identified edge (para. 0051; translator 408 may perform a correlation operation between a previously-stored appearance of a reference object and a more recently-captured appearance. In another embodiment, translator 408 may determine relative differences between two or more reference objects. For example, but not by way of limitation, translator 408 may determine a relative difference between an image border and a wall socket or the border of a projection screen. Based on those differences, translator 408 may translate the outputs 406 into relative movement information 410, which indicates relative movement of the projection system with respect to the reference object; further, the because the second position may have changed with respect to the first position, then the second position greater than the first position. If the second position did not change from the first position, then the second position will be equal).
Regarding claim 5, May discloses wherein the projection angle includes an azimuth at the second position and an elevation angle at the second position (para. 0030; orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image), and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (para. 0113; The code may be stored on one or more volatile or non-volatile computer-readable media), cause the electronic apparatus to: identify an azimuth at the second position based on a distance from the first position to the projection surface (para. 0030; orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image), a distance from the first position to the second position (para. 0030; information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image), and a direction of movement of the electronic apparatus, and identify an elevation angle at the second position based on a distance from the first position to the projection surface, an elevation angle at the first position, and an azimuth at the second position (para. 0030).
Regarding claim 6, May wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (para. 0113; The code may be stored on one or more volatile or non-volatile computer-readable media), cause the electronic apparatus to: scale the second content based on a distance from the first position to the projection surface (para. 0053; "image adjustment" (and similar terms), as used herein, means to adjust the appearance of the image by translation (i.e., moving the image left or right and/or up or down), scaling (i.e., changing the image size and/or zooming), and/or warping (i.e., cause nonuniform scale adjustments to all or parts of the image)), a distance from the first position to the second position, a radial angle of the projector, and an azimuth at the second position (para. 0030; information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image).
Regarding claim 8, May discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (para. 0113; The code may be stored on one or more volatile or non-volatile computer-readable media), cause the electronic apparatus to: identify a plurality of third positions in a path from the first position to the second position (para. 0037; image adjustment controller 226, imaging pipeline 208, and/or image adjustment element 228 may consider other information to determine where and how to adjust an image; i.e. para. 0043; vibration, position change, orientation or attitude change, and/or other changes in position with respect to the reference object), and perform an operation of identifying the projection angle, an operation of changing the screen form, and a projection operation at each of the plurality of third positions (para. 0108; the movement detector also may provide other information about the characteristics of the movement (e.g., magnitude, direction, frequency, angle, etc.)).
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (US PG Pub. 20090059182).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Ha discloses an electronic apparatus (beam projection apparatus 100 of fig. 1) comprising:
a projector (projector 120 of fig. 1);
a driver (moving unit 132 of fig. 1);
memory storing one or more computer programs (control module 140 of fig. 1); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the projector (illustrated in fig. 1), the driver (illustrated in fig. 1), and the memory, wherein one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (illustrated in fig. 1), cause the electronic apparatus to:
control the projector to project first content onto a projection surface (para. 0036; it projects image beams onto the selected plane portion of the surrounding structures), based on the electronic apparatus moving from a first position to a second position (para. 0036; the moving unit 132 being controlled by the control module 140, the beam projection apparatus 100 is moved to a location that allows the image beams projected from the beam projector 120 to be incident on the whole selected plane portion, i.e., selected screen, of the surrounding structures and to a location at which a distance between the beam projection apparatus 100 and the selected plane portion of the surrounding structures is within a focusable range and at the same time the distance between the beam projection apparatus 100),
identify a projection angle for the projection surface based on the second position, obtain second content by changing a screen form of the first content based on the second position and the projection angle (para. 0055; In order to prevent image distortion, the direction and the angle of the image beams are adjusted to be perpendicularly incident on the screen by controlling the beam projector actuator 133 at the location), and
based on the electronic apparatus moving from the first position to the second position by controlling the driver (132), control the projector to project the second content onto the projection surface (para. 0036; FIG. 3b, after the beam projection apparatus 100 of the present invention is moved to select the plane portion of the surrounding structures, it projects image beams onto the selected plane portion of the surrounding structures).
Regarding claim 9, Ha discloses wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (illustrated in fig. 1), cause the electronic apparatus to: identify that the electronic apparatus is moving from the first position to the second position (para. 0036; This is to move the beam projection apparatus 100 to an optimum location for displaying images on the selected screen) based on at least one of a charging state of the electronic apparatus, a temperature of the electronic apparatus, a type of the first content, a number of users around the electronic apparatus, or positions of the users (para. 0036; Among the locations calculated above, locations to which the robot cannot move because of obstacles are excluded. In addition, a position of the beam projector 120 is adjusted to accurately display images on the selected plane portion of the surrounding structures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US PG Pub. 20090059182).
Regarding claim 7, Ha discloses wherein the driver (132) comprises:
a first driver configured to move the electronic apparatus (illustrated in fig. 3B); and
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (control module 140), cause the electronic apparatus to:
control the first driver to move the electronic apparatus from the first position to the second position (para. 0036; the moving unit 132 being controlled by the control module 140, the beam projection apparatus 100 is moved to a location that allows the image beams projected from the beam projector 120 to be incident on the whole selected plane portion, i.e., selected screen, of the surrounding structures and to a location at which a distance between the beam projection apparatus 100 and the selected plane portion of the surrounding structures is within a focusable range and at the same time the distance between the beam projection apparatus 100), and
Ha fails to teach a second driver configured to control a projection direction of the projector, based on the electronic apparatus being located in the second position, control the second driver so that the projector projects the second content based on the projection angle; however, increasing the number of beam projectors will allow for more projected images.
Regarding claim 16, Ha discloses further comprising: determining whether there is an obstacle on a movement path to the second position (para. 0036; the locations calculated above, locations to which the robot cannot move because of obstacles).
Ha does not explicitly teach identifying a straight-line distance as an optimal movement path, and wherein, when there is an obstacle, identifying a shortest path to the second position while avoiding the obstacle as the optimal movement path; however, in para. 0036 Ha discloses excluding locations to which the robot/projection device cannot move; as a result, Ha’s control module is capable of determining an optimum path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the beam projection device of Ha to identify the shortest path or the most optimal path because it would keep the projected images within a focusable range because the beam projection apparatus has a maximum distance of focusable range (Ha; para. 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Ha discloses identifying the projection angle (para. 0012; a location that allows displaying images on the selected plane portion, projecting image beams and adjusting a direction and an angle of the projected image beams so that the projected image beams are perpendicularly incident on the selected plane portion).
Ha does not explicitly teach identifying an optimal movement path; however, in para. 0036 Ha discloses excluding locations to which the robot/projection device cannot move; as a result, Ha’s control module is capable of determining an optimum path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the beam projection device of Ha to identify the shortest path or the most optimal path because it would keep the projected images within a focusable range because the beam projection apparatus has a maximum distance of focusable range (Ha; para. 0036).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (US PG Pub. 20060103811) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kadota (JP 2019036055A).
Regarding claim 10, May discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a projector (projection system 100 of fig. 1); a driver (relative movement detector 222 of fig. 2); memory storing one or more computer programs (computer; para. 0026); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the projector, the driver, and the memory (illustrated in figs. 2-5), wherein one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: control the projector to project first content onto a projection surface (para. 0029; relative movement between a projector and a projected image or a projection surface), based on the electronic apparatus moving from a first position (the first position is the position prior to the movement being detected by the relative movement detector 222) to a second position (second position is the position after the initial movement is detected), identify a projection angle for the projection surface based on the second position (para. 0030; in determining where and how to adjust an image. Other information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image).
May fails to teach wherein the projector comprises: a first projector; and a second projector, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: control the first projector to project the first content onto the projection surface, and control the second projector to project third content onto another projection surface.
Kadota discloses wherein the projector comprises: a first projector (projector 100a of fig. 1); and a second projector (projector 100b of fig. 1), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (pg. 3 2nd para.; information processing apparatus 200 is, for example, a personal computer (PC), and controls each of the first to third projection apparatuses 100a, 100b, and 100c connected via the network 50), cause the electronic apparatus to: control the first projector to project the first content onto the projection surface (projection apparatus 100a projects information to projection screen 150a; pg. 3 3rd para.), and control the second projector to project third content onto another projection surface (second projection apparatus 100b projects information to projection screen 150b which is capable of being placed onto a different surface; pg. 3 3rd para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection apparatus of May with the multi-projection apparatus of Kadota in order to perform multi-projection displaying one image as a whole (Kadota; pg. 2 6th para.).
Regarding claim 11, May discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a projector (projection system 100 of fig. 1); a driver (relative movement detector 222 of fig. 2); memory storing one or more computer programs (computer; para. 0026); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the projector, the driver, and the memory (illustrated in figs. 2-5), wherein one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: control the projector to project first content onto a projection surface (para. 0029; relative movement between a projector and a projected image or a projection surface), based on the electronic apparatus moving from a first position (the first position is the position prior to the movement being detected by the relative movement detector 222) to a second position (second position is the position after the initial movement is detected), identify a projection angle for the projection surface based on the second position (para. 0030; in determining where and how to adjust an image. Other information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image).
May fails to explicitly teach wherein the third content includes a control screen for controlling the first content, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to identify the second position so that the control screen is provided in front of a user.
Kadota discloses wherein the third content includes a control screen for controlling the first content (image processing apparatus 200 is, for example, a personal computer (PC); PC computers typically have a control screen; illustrated in fig. 1), and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the control screen is provided in front of a user (illustrated in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection system of May with the user control browser of Kadota in order to provide an user friendly experience.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (US PG Pub. 20060103811) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chong et al. (US PG Pub. 20200082496).
Regarding claim 12, May discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a projector (projection system 100 of fig. 1); a driver (relative movement detector 222 of fig. 2); memory storing one or more computer programs (computer; para. 0026); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the projector, the driver, and the memory (illustrated in figs. 2-5), wherein one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic apparatus to: control the projector to project first content onto a projection surface (para. 0029; relative movement between a projector and a projected image or a projection surface), based on the electronic apparatus moving from a first position (the first position is the position prior to the movement being detected by the relative movement detector 222) to a second position (second position is the position after the initial movement is detected), identify a projection angle for the projection surface based on the second position (para. 0030; in determining where and how to adjust an image. Other information may include, for example, distances, orientations, and/or angles between the projection system and a projection surface or image).
May fails to teach wherein an area corresponding to the first content on the projection surface overlaps with an area corresponding to the second content by less than a preset error.
Chong discloses alignment system for a projection device wherein an area corresponding to the first content (para. 0051; first projector 111 projects a first portion 115 of an image) on the projection surface (projection surface 145 of fig. 1) overlaps (overlap area 120 of fig. 1) with an area corresponding to the second content (para. 0051; second projector 112 projects a second portion 116 of the image) by less than a preset error (para. 0111; a check is performed to determine if the change in re-projection error is less than or equal to a pre-defined threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the image projection device of May with the system of Chang in order to ease the aligning process of the projected content on a projection surface (Chong; para. 0004).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US PG Pub. 20090059182) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kikazawa (JP 2017032679A).
Regarding claim 18, Ha discloses identify the projection angle (para. 0030; beam projector actuator 133 is used to change and adjust a direction and an angle.
Ha fails to teach wherein a preset interval is determined based on at least one of a computational speed of the electronic apparatus or a movement speed of the electronic apparatus.
Kikazawa discloses an image projection method wherein a preset interval is determined based on at least one of a computational speed of the electronic apparatus or a movement speed of the electronic apparatus (pg. 15 1st para.; the control signal is transmitted to the subject apparatus 100 so that the timing at which the movement of the right arm 103 of the subject apparatus 100 is completed matches the timing at which the projector 300 projects the image whose shape has been corrected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Ha with the control system of Kikazawa in order to project an image during the time of movement that is free of image distortion.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 26 June 2026
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882