DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing of 9/6/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites “a first mount extending along a first longitudinal axis; a first antenna positioned in the first mount and extending at an oblique angle relative to the first longitudinal axis; a second mount extending along a second longitudinal axis; and a second antenna positioned in the second mount and extending at an oblique angle relative to the second longitudinal axis”.
These limitations of claim 9 fails to comply with written description requirement; The limitation(s),
“a first mount extending along a first longitudinal axis; a first antenna positioned in the first mount and extending at an oblique angle relative to the first longitudinal axis; a second mount extending along a second longitudinal axis; and a second antenna positioned in the second mount and extending at an oblique angle relative to the second longitudinal axis”; are not described in the specification or at least the examiner is unable to find support for the claimed subject matter.
Therefore, this subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 10-15 are rejected for their dependencies on claim 9.
Claim 16 recites; “a first antenna having a first free end and a first connecting end configured to receive a first cable, wherein the first free end extends toward the upper portion of the housing; and a second antenna having a second free end and a second connecting end configured to receive a second cable, wherein the second free end extends toward the lower portion of the housing”.
These limitations of claim 16 fails to comply with written description requirement; The limitation(s), “a first antenna having a first free end and a first connecting end configured to receive a first cable, wherein the first free end extends toward the upper portion of the housing; and a second antenna having a second free end and a second connecting end configured to receive a second cable, wherein the second free end extends toward the lower portion of the housing” are not described in the specification or at least the examiner is unable to find support for the claimed subject matter.
Therefore, this subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 17-20 are rejected for their dependencies on claim 16.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9,12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,009,922. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present claims is/are broader and generic to all that is recited in claims of the US patent 11,009,922. For instance, present claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1+7 of the patent no. 11,009,922. Claims 2-6,7,8 are anticipated by claims 2-6,9,12 respectively of the patent.
U.S. Patent No. 11,009,922 claims
Present application claims
1. An intelligent electronic device for monitoring power usage of an electrical circuit comprising: a housing; at least one sensor coupled to the electric circuit, the at least one sensor measures at least one parameter of the electrical circuit and generates at least one analog signal indicative of the at least one parameter; at least one analog to digital converter coupled to the at least one sensor, the at least one analog to digital converter receives the at least one analog signal and converts the at least one analog signal to at least one digital signal; at least one processor that receives the at least one digital signal and calculates at least one power parameter of the electrical circuit; a first antenna having a first length and disposed at a first position of the housing; a second antenna having a second length and disposed at a second position of the housing, such that the second antenna is disposed a predetermined distance apart from the first antenna, the first antenna and the second antenna being positioned in parallel planes along their respective lengths and at a predetermined angle relative to each other; and a communication device that receives the calculated at least one power parameter and wirelessly transmits the calculated at least one power parameter to a remote computing device via the first antenna and/or the second antenna.
4. The intelligent electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first antenna is disposed on an inner surface of the housing at the first position and the second antenna is disposed on the inner surface of the housing at the second position.
6. The intelligent electronic device of claim 4, wherein the first antenna mount includes a first slot for receiving the first antenna and the second antenna mount includes a second slot for receiving the second antenna, the first slot and the second slot configured such that the first antenna extends lengthwise at the predetermined angle relative to the second antenna.
7. The intelligent electronic device of claim 6, wherein the predetermined angle is about 90 degrees.
1. An intelligent electronic device for monitoring power usage of an electrical circuit comprising: a housing; at least one sensor connected to the housing and configured to be coupled to an electric circuit, the at least one sensor configured to measure at least one parameter of the electrical circuit and generate at least one analog signal indicative of the at least one parameter; at least one analog to digital converter coupled to the at least one sensor, the at least one analog to digital converter receives the at least one analog signal and converts the at least one analog signal to at least one digital signal; at least one processor that receives the at least one digital signal and calculates at least one power parameter of the electrical circuit; a first antenna disposed at a first position of the housing and extending in a first plane; and a second antenna disposed at a second position of the housing and extending in a second plane parallel to the first plan, wherein the second antenna is oriented substantially 90 degrees to the first antenna.
Claims 1-4,7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10,21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,641,052. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present claims is/are broader and generic to all that is recited in claims of the US patent 11,641,052. For instance, present claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1+9 of the patent no. 11,641,052. Present Claims 2,3,4,7,8 are anticipated by claims 1,21,19,8,10 respectively of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2015/0192625) in view of Kagan (US 2007/0096765).
Regarding claim 1:
Sato discloses an intelligent electronic device for monitoring power usage of an electrical circuit (abstract; figures) comprising:
a housing (as shown in figures; see fig 1, [outer and inner cases 2, 3]; and device shown in figure 6; para 20, 22,45);
at least one sensor connected to the housing and configured to be coupled to an electric circuit, the at least one sensor configured to measure at least one parameter of the electrical circuit and generate at least one analog signal indicative of the at least one parameter (para 15, partially reproduced with emphasis {…including a power measuring unit configured to measure an amount of the power} [here power measuring unit is interpreted as sensor, that measures the parameter]; 4 in figures 1-3,6; 10 in fig 4);
a first antenna disposed at a first position of the housing and extending in a first plane (see 21 in figure 6); and
a second antenna disposed at a second position of the housing and extending in a second plane parallel to the first plan, wherein the second antenna is oriented substantially 90 degrees to the first antenna (antenna 24 in figure 6; para 47 {…a first antenna section 21, a second feeding point 23 and a second antenna section 24…}; para 49,52; see antennas 21, 24 in figure 6, [the first and second antennas 21, 24 are at an angle or perpendicular to each other, for instance as substantially 90 degrees is same lengthwise, that is the angle remains same for the length of antennas measured from anywhere lengthwise]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that at least one analog to digital converter coupled to the at least one sensor, the at least one analog to digital converter receives the at least one analog signal and converts the at least one analog signal to at least one digital signal; at least one processor that receives the at least one digital signal and calculates at least one power parameter of the electrical circuit.
However, Kagan in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for an intelligent electronic device where the device comprises at least one analog to digital converter coupled to the at least one sensor, the at least one analog to digital converter receives the at least one analog signal and converts the at least one analog signal to at least one digital signal (14 in figure 1, coupled to 12; para 24); at least one processor that receives the at least one digital signal and calculates at least one power parameter of the electrical circuit (16,18 in figure 1; para 24-25; and see throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Kagan in order to provide intelligent electronic device for converting analog signals to digital signal for further processing and transmitting wirelessly the consumption data without physical contact [10,15] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 4:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above and further discloses that the first antenna is disposed on an inner surface of the housing at the first position and the second antenna is disposed on the inner surface of the housing at the second position (as shown in figure 6, antennas 21 and 24; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 5:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above and discloses the antenna mounted internally (para 4,35), Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Sato would obviously provide a first antenna mount and a second antenna mount, the first antenna mount configured to mount the first antenna to the inner surface of the housing at the first position and the second antenna mount configured to mount the second antenna to the inner surface of the housing at the second position, for antennas to be mounted on the inner surface of the meter.
Claims 2,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2015/0192625) in view of Kagan (US 2007/0096765) as above, and further in view of Lagnado et al. (US 2011/0151811).
Regarding claim 2:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first antenna is configured as a main antenna and the second antenna is configured as a diversity antenna.
However, Lagnado in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for a device with selectable antennas wherein the first antenna is configured as a main antenna and the second antenna is configured as a diversity antenna (para 3, 13; para 16,20 {first antenna is selected as the primary antenna and the second antenna serves as the diversity antenna}; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Lagnado in order to provide antennas as main and diversity antenna to cover the frequency bands and improve performance of the device [5,16] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 7:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that the second antenna is spaced from the first antenna by a distance corresponding to about 0.25 of the wavelength of the antennas.
However, Lagnado in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for a device with selectable antennas where the second antenna is spaced from the first antenna by a distance corresponding to about 0.25 of the wavelength of the antennas (para 3, 13 [1/frequency]; and throughout). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Lagnado in order to provide antennas with corresponding distance is determined by a wavelength of the signal (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2015/0192625) in view of Kagan (US 2007/0096765) as above, and further in view of Sato (US 2017/0085969) [Sato ‘969 hereinafter].
Regarding claim 3:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first position is opposite to the second position.
However, Sato ‘969 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for a device where the first position is opposite to the second position (figure 4 [antenna 224 position is opposite to antenna 225]; para 35,38; and throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Sato ‘969 in order to provide first and second antennas along opposite sides with insulation from other components to prevent performance degradation and correlation [48,53] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2015/0192625) in view of Kagan (US 2007/0096765) as above, and further in view of Podduturi (US 2011/0063172).
Regarding claim 6:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above and that antennas are configured such that the first antenna extends lengthwise at the predetermined angle relative to the second antenna (as in figure 6; para 47); except for specifically teaching that the first antenna mount includes a first slot for receiving the first antenna and the second antenna mount includes a second slot for receive the second antenna.
However, Podduturi in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for meter antennas where the first antenna mount includes a first slot for receiving the first antenna and the second antenna mount includes a second slot for receive the second antenna (para 97, 127,128; and throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Podduturi to provide optimized conformal antennas to meter (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2015/0192625) in view of Kagan (US 2007/0096765) as above, and further in view of Feldman et al. (US 8,177,580).
Regarding claim 8:
Sato discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the housing is a socket type meter housing.
However, Feldman in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for meters wherein housing is a socket type meter housing (figure 7; column 4 lines 24-30; and throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Feldman in Sato to providing a meter adapter that may be easily installed to keep the meter powered, and easy to remove by coupling a utility meter to a socket (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Conclusion
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631