Status of the claims
Claim(s) 1, 9, 19 is/are amended. Currently claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lagow et al (20210378487).
Regarding claim 9, Lagow, Fig. 9A-9C, Para 107, discloses valve assembly for a medical device (endoscope), comprising: a valve body having an air inlet passage (Fig 9A, air in), an air outlet passage (fig 9B, air out), a water inlet passage (water in), and a water outlet passage (water out); a valve cap 414 positioned above the valve body; a spring member 412 made entirely of a degradable material (Para 107, thermoplastic), the spring member 412 positioned between the valve cap 414 and the valve body such that, when the valve cap is pushed downward (fig 9C) relative to the valve body, the spring member applies upward force against the valve cap; and a valve stem 416 connected to the valve cap and configured to translate within the valve body between an upper position and a lower position, the valve stem comprising a side wall and a central lumen (air passage Fig 9A) extending from an air inlet in the side wall of the valve stem 416 to the air hole in the valve cap 414.
As to claim 19, the degradable material is a polymer (thermoplastic, Para 107) with a high degradation rate (compared to non-degrading alloys).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagow et al (20210378487).
Lagow as modified fails to disclose valve stem and spring made of materials claimed. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made valve stem and spring in the device disclosed by Lagow as modified using the materials claimed since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagow et al (20210378487) in view of Jensrud et al (20200397229 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 6, Lagow, Fig. 9A-9C, discloses a valve assembly for a medical device (endoscope), comprising: a valve body having an air inlet passage (Fig 9A, air in), an air outlet passage (fig 9B, air out), a water inlet passage (water in), and a water outlet passage (water out); a valve cap 414 positioned above the valve body; a spring member 412 positioned between the valve cap and the valve body such that, when the valve cap is pushed downward relative to the valve body, the spring member applies upward force against the valve cap; and a valve stem 416 connected to the valve cap and configured to translate within the valve body between an upper position and a lower position, the valve stem comprising a side wall and a central lumen (air passage Fig 9A) extending from an air inlet in the side wall of the valve stem 416 to the air hole in the valve cap 414, the valve stem made entirely of a degradable material (Para 107).
Lagow disclose unitary valve stem 416 but fails to disclose valve stem made of stainless steel (Fe) metal. Jensrud (Para 17) teaches a similar valve with valve stem made of steel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Lagow with valve stem made of stainless steel Ferrous metal as taught by Jensrud as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute vale stem material yielding predictable results of providing a relatively rigid valve stem.
As to claims 2-5, 7-8, Lagow as modified fails to disclose valve stem and spring made of materials claimed. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made valve stem and spring in the device disclosed by Lagow as modified using the materials claimed since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that “Paragraph [0060] notes, ‘[W]e define 'degradation' as physical and/or chemical changes to a component that occur over time due to the component's exposure to an environment’ … not all thermoplastics are degradable materials ” are not persuasive since the exclusive definition of “degradation” in Para 60, “physical and/or chemical changes … due to … exposure to an environment” is so broad that it encompasses all matter earth. All thermoplastics are degradable when exposed to appropriate degrading environment.
Applicant’s arguments that “Degradable materials .. defined in paragraph [0062] as metal and non-metal materials that have a higher degradation rate” are not persuasive since Para 62 says: “Both metal and non-metal materials that have a higher degradation rate are “degradable” materials”. This is not seen as giving an exclusive definition of degradable material. Rather it gives examples of degradable materials.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753