DETAILED ACTION
1.This is a Final Office Action in response to applicant’s amendments filed on May 26, 2026. At this time, claims 1, 5, 12 and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 2, 9, 16-17 and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 2-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20-22 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the claims objection set forth for claims 2, 9,16, 17 and 20 in the previous office action.
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection set forth in the previous office action for claims 2 and 9.
Applicant’s cancellation for claim 9 is sufficient to overcome the claims rejection set forth in the previous office action.
The double patenting rejection set forth in the previous office action is maintained. See the rejection below.
Applicant argues with respect to independent claims 2, 9 and 16 that: I) Suh fails to teach or suggest a perimeter guard that proactively determines an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Suh discloses for each instruction, the processor checks the security tag of the input operands and generates a trap if the spurious value is used for certain operations. Table 2 summarizes the tag checks performed by the processor. The processor checks the five types of spurious values: instructions, load addresses, store addresses, jump tar gets, branch conditions. The Trap Control Register (TCR) that is set by the execution monitor based on the security policy determines whether a trap is generated (i.e., policy enforcement). In addition to the five checks that the processor performs, we add one explicit tag check instruction, BRT R1, offset. The instruction is a conditional branch based on the security tag. The branch is taken if the security tag of the source register is zero. Using this instruction, programs can explicitly check that critical values are not corrupted.
In addition, Suh discloses by restricting the use of spurious values as instructions, code pointers, and data pointers for stores, our policy can prevent attackers from injecting malicious code, arbitrary control transfers and arbitrary data corruption. Therefore, the attacks cannot obtain total control of the victim process. While we crafted our policy so that a security trap in dictates a violation of the security policy, traps may only indicate potential violations. For example, the policy can strictly track all dependencies, causing traps even on some legitimate uses. Then, the software handler can explicitly check if a bound-check has been performed or enforce any restrictions on the program behavior such as a) programs can only jump to the original code loaded from disk, or b) programs cannot modify a certain memory region based on spurious I/O, etc. We do not use these complex security policies to evaluate the security of our scheme because even the simple policy detects all attacks tested. The performance implication of tracking all dependencies is discussed in Section 6.
All of which corresponds to a perimeter guard that proactively determines an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced. For further details (See Suh, sections 3.4 and 3.5)
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998}; in re Goodman. 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); in re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1885): In re Van Qmum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982): In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970): and in re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1984, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of US Patent number 12130951. The conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application contains claims that are broader in scope than the claims of the patent number 12130951 and are anticipated by the claims 1 and 10.
This is a non- provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claims Comparison Table
Application Number 18/826,947
Patent Number 12130951
2. (New) A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: an input perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic for receiving a first input datum and a policy and generating an output datum and a corresponding data associated property associated with that output datum, wherein the output datum and the corresponding data associated property are generated based on the first input datum and the policy, wherein the input perimeter guard logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced, and wherein the input perimeter guard is coupled to a transformation unit and a property propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit and is adapted to: provide the generated output datum as a second input datum to the transformation unit, and provide the data associated property corresponding to the generated output datum to the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time the generated output datum is provided to the transformation unit..
1. A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: a transformation unit including first logic on a hardware processor for processing input data by applying a transform to a received input datum to generate an output datum corresponding to the received input datum, where the input datum is received at the transformation unit in association with code and the input datum is associated with an input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and a properties propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit, the properties propagation unit including second logic for receiving the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit and generate an output data associated property corresponding to the output datum generated by the transformation unit based on a policy associated with the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit, wherein the output data by the transformation unit and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit are generated at substantially the same time.
9.(New) A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: an output perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic coupled to a transformation unit and properties propagation unit, the logic adapted for: receiving an input datum from the transformation unit; receiving a corresponding data associated property associated with that input datum from the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time as the input datum; receiving a policy; generating an output datum based on a combination of the input datum and the data associated property or the policy, wherein the logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced.
1. A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: a transformation unit including first logic on a hardware processor for processing input data by applying a transform to a received input datum to generate an output datum corresponding to the received input datum, where the input datum is received at the transformation unit in association with code and the input datum is associated with an input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and a properties propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit, the properties propagation unit including second logic for receiving the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit and generate an output data associated property corresponding to the output datum generated by the transformation unit based on a policy associated with the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit, wherein the output data by the transformation unit and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit are generated at substantially the same time.
16.(New) A method for data driven secure computing, comprising: receiving, at an input perimeter guard of a computing system, a first input datum; receiving, at the input perimeter guard of the computing system, a policy; generating, by the input perimeter guard of the computing system, an output datum; generating, by the input perimeter guard of the computing system, a corresponding data associated property associated with that output datum, wherein the output datum and the corresponding data associated property are generated based on the first input datum and the policy; providing the generated output datum as input to a transformation unit coupled to the input perimeter guard; providing the data associated property corresponding to the generated output datum to a properties propagation unit coupled to the input perimeter guard at substantially the same time the generated output datum is provided to the transformation unit.
10. A method for data driven secure computing, comprising: at a transformation unit including first logic: processing input data by applying a transform to a received input datum to generate an output datum corresponding to the received input datum, where the input datum is received at the transformation unit in association with code and the input datum is associated with an input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and at a properties propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit and including second logic for receiving the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit: generating an output data associated property corresponding to, and synchronized with, the output datum is generated by the transformation unit based on a policy associated with the input data associated property associated with the input datum received at the transformation unit, wherein the output data by the transformation unit and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit are generated at substantially the same time.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of US Patent number 11645425. The conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application contains claims that are broader in scope than the claims of the patent number 11645425 and are anticipated by the claim 1.
This is a non- provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claims Comparison Table
Application Number 18/826,947
Patent Number 11645425
2. (New) A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: an input perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic for receiving a first input datum and a policy and generating an output datum and a corresponding data associated property associated with that output datum, wherein the output datum and the corresponding data associated property are generated based on the first input datum and the policy, wherein the input perimeter guard logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced, and wherein the input perimeter guard is coupled to a transformation unit and a property propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit and is adapted to: provide the generated output datum as a second input datum to the transformation unit, and provide the data associated property corresponding to the generated output datum to the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time the generated output datum is provided to the transformation unit..
1. A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: transformation unit logic including first logic for processing input data on a hardware processor by applying a transform to the input data to generate an output datum corresponding to an input datum of the input data received at the transformation unit, where each and every input datum received at the transformation unit has a corresponding input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and properties propagation unit logic distinct from the transformation unit logic, the properties propagation unit logic including second logic for receiving the input data associated property corresponding to the input datum received at the transformation unit and generate an output data associated property corresponding to and synchronized with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic by applying a relation to the input data associated property, wherein the relation is based on a policy defining a composability rule associated with the input data associated property, the output data associated property is generated with a subset of data required by the transformation unit logic in generating the output datum, and the synchronization of the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic comprises genera ting the output data by the transformation unit logic and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic at the same time.
9.(New) A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: an output perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic coupled to a transformation unit and properties propagation unit, the logic adapted for: receiving an input datum from the transformation unit; receiving a corresponding data associated property associated with that input datum from the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time as the input datum; receiving a policy; generating an output datum based on a combination of the input datum and the data associated property or the policy, wherein the logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced.
1. A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: transformation unit logic including first logic for processing input data on a hardware processor by applying a transform to the input data to generate an output datum corresponding to an input datum of the input data received at the transformation unit, where each and every input datum received at the transformation unit has a corresponding input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and properties propagation unit logic distinct from the transformation unit logic, the properties propagation unit logic including second logic for receiving the input data associated property corresponding to the input datum received at the transformation unit and generate an output data associated property corresponding to and synchronized with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic by applying a relation to the input data associated property, wherein the relation is based on a policy defining a composability rule associated with the input data associated property, the output data associated property is generated with a subset of data required by the transformation unit logic in generating the output datum, and the synchronization of the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic comprises genera ting the output data by the transformation unit logic and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic at the same time.
16.(New) A method for data driven secure computing, comprising: receiving, at an input perimeter guard of a computing system, a first input datum; receiving, at the input perimeter guard of the computing system, a policy; generating, by the input perimeter guard of the computing system, an output datum; generating, by the input perimeter guard of the computing system, a corresponding data associated property associated with that output datum, wherein the output datum and the corresponding data associated property are generated based on the first input datum and the policy; providing the generated output datum as input to a transformation unit coupled to the input perimeter guard; providing the data associated property corresponding to the generated output datum to a properties propagation unit coupled to the input perimeter guard at substantially the same time the generated output datum is provided to the transformation unit.
1. A system for data driven secure computing, comprising: a computing system including: transformation unit logic including first logic for processing input data on a hardware processor by applying a transform to the input data to generate an output datum corresponding to an input datum of the input data received at the transformation unit, where each and every input datum received at the transformation unit has a corresponding input data associated property distinct from that input datum and specific to that input datum; and properties propagation unit logic distinct from the transformation unit logic, the properties propagation unit logic including second logic for receiving the input data associated property corresponding to the input datum received at the transformation unit and generate an output data associated property corresponding to and synchronized with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic by applying a relation to the input data associated property, wherein the relation is based on a policy defining a composability rule associated with the input data associated property, the output data associated property is generated with a subset of data required by the transformation unit logic in generating the output datum, and the synchronization of the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic with the output datum generated by the transformation unit logic comprises genera ting the output data by the transformation unit logic and the output data associated property generated by the properties propagation unit logic at the same time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document, title “Secure Program Execution via Dynamic Information Flow Tracking “ by G. Edward Suh (Hereinafter Suh) in view of Suder US pat. No 20110066602.
2. Suh discloses a system for data driven secure computing, (See Suh, abstract; Dynamic information flow tracking protects programs against malicious software attacks by identifying spurious information flows from untrusted I/O and restricting the usage of the spurious information. We propose architectural support, called dynamic information flow tracking to track I/O inputs and monitor their use.) comprising: a computing system including:
an input perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic for receiving a first input datum and a policy and generating an output datum and a corresponding data associated property associated with that output datum, (See Suh sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: Our protection scheme consists of three major parts: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. In the processor, each register needs to be tagged. In the memory, data blocks with the smallest granularity that can be accessed by the processor are tagged separately…. The I/O interface in the module marks inputs from untrusted I/O channels as spurious. Finally, if the processor generates a trap, the handler checks if the trapped operation is allowed in the security policy. If so, the handler returns to the application… There are two mechanisms added to the processor core; dynamic information tracking and security tag checking. On each instruction, the information tracker determines whether the result should be spurious or not based on the authenticity of input operands and the security policy. In this way, the mechanism tracks spurious information flow. Section 3.3 describes flow tracking in detail. At the same time, the tag checker monitors the tags of input operands for every instruction that the processor exe cutes. If spurious values are used for the operations specified in the security policy, the checker generates a security trap so that the operation can be checked by the execution monitor.) wherein the output datum and the corresponding data associated property are generated based on the first input datum and the policy, (See Suh; section 3.1 and fig 3: There are two mechanisms added to the processor core; dynamic information tracking and security tag checking. On each instruction, the information tracker determines whether the result should be spurious or not based on the authenticity of input operands and the security policy. In this way, the mechanism tracks spurious information flow. Section 3.3 describes flow tracking in detail. At the same time, the tag checker monitors the tags of input operands for every instruction that the processor exe cutes. If spurious values are used for the operations specified in the security policy, the checker generates a security trap so that the operation can be checked by the execution monitor.) wherein the input perimeter guard logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced,(See Suh, sections 3.4 and 3.5; for each instruction, the processor checks the security tag of the input operands and generates a trap if the spurious value is used for certain operations. Table 2 summarizes the tag checks performed by the processor. The processor checks the five types of spurious values: instructions, load addresses, store addresses, jump tar gets, branch conditions. The Trap Control Register (TCR) that is set by the execution monitor based on the security policy determines whether a trap is generated (i.e., policy enforcement). In addition to the five checks that the processor performs, we add one explicit tag check instruction, BRT R1, offset. The instruction is a conditional branch based on the security tag. The branch is taken if the security tag of the source register is zero. Using this instruction, programs can explicitly check that critical values are not corrupted.) and wherein the input perimeter guard is coupled to a transformation unit (See Suh, SEE FIG 3 and section 3; the tag checker is the input perimeter guard and the ALU is the transformation unit; Table 1 summarizes how a new security tag is computed for different operations. First, the ALU operations can prop agate the spurious values through computation dependency. Therefore, for most ALU instructions, the result is spurious if any of the inputs are spurious and PCR[1] is set indicating the computation dependency should be tracked. Additions that can be used for pointer arithmetic operations are treated separately unless PCR [0] is set because they can often be used to legitimately combine authentic base pointers with spurious offsets. For special instructions used for pointer arithmetic (such as s4addq in Alpha), we only propagate the security tag of the base pointer, not the tag of the offset.) and a property propagation unit distinct from the transformation unit (See Suh, fig 3 and section 3.2 and section 4; the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. The tags for registers are initialized to be zero at program start-up. Similarly, all memory blocks are initially tagged with zero. The execution monitor tags the data with one only if they are from a potentially malicious input channel. The security tags are a part of program state, and should be managed by the operating system accordingly. On a con text switch, the tags for registers are saved and restored with the register values. The operating system manages a sepa rate tag space for each process, just as it manages a separate virtual memory space per process.) and is adapted to: provide the generated output datum as a second input datum to the transformation unit, (See Suh, section 3.3 and Table 1: Table 1 summarizes how a new security tag is computed for different operations. First, the ALU operations can prop agate the spurious values through computation dependency. Therefore, for most ALU instructions, the result is spurious if any of the inputs are spurious and PCR[1] is set indicating the computation dependency should be tracked. Additions that can be used for pointer arithmetic operations are treated separately unless PCR[0] is set because they can often be used to legitimately combine authentic base pointers with spurious offsets. For special instructions used for pointer arithmetic (such as s4addq in Alpha), we only propagate the security tag of the base pointer, not the tag of the offset. If it is not possible to distinguish the base pointer and the offset, the result is spurious only if both in puts are spurious. If PCR[0] is set, the pointer additions are treated the same as other computations. For load and store instructions, the security tag of the source propagates to the destination since the value is di rectly copied. In addition, the result may also become spurious if the accessed address is spurious and the corresponding PCR bits are set to track the load-address or store-address dependencies. We introduce two new instructions so that software mod ules, either the execution monitor or the application itself can explicitly manage the security tags. The SETT instruction sets the security tag of the destination register to an immediate value. The MOVT instruction copies the security tag from the source to destination. Finally, there can be instructions that require special tag propagations. In the x86 architecture, XOR’ing the same register is the default way to clear the register. Therefore, the result should be tagged as authentic in this case. Common RISC ISAs do not require this special propagation because they have a constant zero register. Note that we do not track any form of control dependency) and provide the data associated property corresponding to the generated output datum to the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time the generated output datum is provided to the transformation unit. (See Suh, section 3.3 and Table 1, Move a tag . and policy We introduce two new instructions so that software mod ules, either the execution monitor or the application itself can explicitly manage the security tags. The SETT instruc tion sets the security tag of the destination register to an immediate value. The MOVT instruction copies the security tag from the source to destination to make sure property and data move at the same timeSEE ALSO FIG 3.1: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. )
Suh does not explicitly disclose “ providing the data at the same time. However, Suder discloses providing the data at the same time. (See Suder, fig 2 and [0065-0068]; output 322 and output 320 provided simultaneously)
Suh and Suder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is hardware security. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suh with the teaching of Suder to include the feedback loop because it would have allowed additional security constraint.
3.The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the input perimeter guard is coupled between a computing component of the computing system and transformation unit, and the first input datum is provided from the computing component. (See Suh, section 3.1 and fig 3 ; the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. )
4. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the computing component comprises a network component, a storage component or an input/output component. (See Suh, section 3.1 and fig 3; processors, registers, memory and I/O )
6. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the data associated property is generated based applying the policy to the first input datum. (See Suh, section 3: The execution monitor is a software module that orchestrates our protection scheme and enforces the security pol icy.. At the same time, the tag checker monitors the tags of input operands for every instruction that the processor exe cutes. If spurious values are used for the operations specified in the security policy, the checker generates a security trap so that the operation can be checked by the execution monitor.)
8. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the policy specifies a relationship between the first input datum and the output datum. (See Suh sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: Our protection scheme consists of three major parts: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. In the processor, each register needs to be tagged. In the memory, data blocks with the smallest granularity that can be accessed by the processor are tagged separately)
9. Suh discloses a system for data driven secure computing, (See Suh, abstract; Dynamic information flow tracking protects programs against malicious software attacks by identifying spurious information flows from untrusted I/O and restricting the usage of the spurious information. We propose architectural support, called dynamic information flow tracking to track I/O inputs and monitor their use.) comprising: a computing system including: an output perimeter guard implemented via a hardware processor including logic coupled to a transformation unit and properties propagation unit, (See Suh sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: Our protection scheme consists of three major parts: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy , the I/O. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. ) the logic adapted for: receiving an input datum from the transformation unit; (See Suh, sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: The I/O interface in the module marks inputs from untrusted I/O channels as spurious. Finally, if the processor generates a trap, the handler checks if the trapped operation is allowed in the security policy. If so, the handler returns to the application… There are two mechanisms added to the processor core; dynamic information tracking and security tag checking. On each instruction, the information tracker determines whether the result should be spurious or not based on the authenticity of input operands and the security policy. In this way, the mechanism tracks spurious information flow.) receiving a corresponding data associated property associated with that input datum from the properties propagation unit at substantially the same time as the input datum; (See Suh, section 3.3 and Table 1, Move a tag . and policy we introduce two new instructions so that software mod ules, either the execution monitor or the application itself can explicitly manage the security tags. The SETT instruction sets the security tag of the destination register to an immediate value. The MOVT instruction copies the security tag from the source to destination to make sure property and data move at the same time SEE ALSO FIG 3.1: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy.)
receiving a policy; (See Suh, fig 3 and section 3: The execution monitor and the two hardware mechanisms provide a framework to check and restrict the use of spurious I/O inputs. The security policy determines how this framework is used by specifying the untrusted I/O channels, information flows to be tracked, and the restrictions on spurious value usage. One can have a general security policy that prevents most common attacks, or one can fine-tune the policy for each system or even for each application based on its security requirements and behaviors. The security policy defines legitimate uses of I/O values by specifying the untrusted I/O channels, information flows to be tracked (PCR), trap conditions (TCR), and software checks on a trap. If the run-time behavior of a program violates the security policy, the program is considered to be attacked. Ideally, the security policy should only allow legitimate operations of the protected program. The policy can be based either on a general invariant that should be followed by almost all programs or on the invariants for a specific application. Also, the restrictions defining the security policy can be based either on where spurious values can be used or on general program behavior.) generating an output datum based on a combination of the input datum and the data associated property or the policy. (See Suh, section 3.3 and Table 1, Move a tag . and policy We introduce two new instructions so that software mod ules, either the execution monitor or the application itself can explicitly manage the security tags. The SETT instruc tion sets the security tag of the destination register to an immediate value. The MOVT instruction copies the security tag from the source to destination to make sure property and data move at the same time See ALSO FIG 3.1: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy.) wherein the logic is further adapted for determining an enforcement action associated with the policy and the output datum to assure the policy is correctly enforced.
Suh does not explicitly disclose the properties propagation unit at the same time. However, Suder discloses the properties propagation unit at the same time. (See Suder, fig 2 and [0065-0068]; output 322 and output 320 provided simultaneously)
Suh and Suder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is hardware security. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suh with the teaching of Suder to include the feedback loop because it would have allowed additional security constraint.
10. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the output perimeter guard is coupled between the transformation unit and a computing component of the computing system and, and the output datum is provided as input to the computing component. (See Suh, section 3.1 and fig 3; the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. ) 11. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the computing component comprises a network component, a storage component or an input/output component. (See Suh, section 3.1 and fig 3; processors, registers, memory and I/O)
13. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the output datum is generated by applying the policy to the input datum. (See Suh, section 3: The execution monitor is a software module that orchestrates our protection scheme and enforces the security pol icy.. At the same time, the tag checker monitors the tags of input operands for every instruction that the processor exe cutes. If spurious values are used for the operations specified in the security policy, the checker generates a security trap so that the operation can be checked by the execution monitor.)
15. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the policy specifies a relationship between the input datum and the output datum. (See Suh sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: Our protection scheme consists of three major parts: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. In the processor, each register needs to be tagged. In the memory, data blocks with the smallest granularity that can be accessed by the processor are tagged separately)
16. As to claim 16 the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
17. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the input perimeter guard is coupled between a computing component of the computing system and the transformation unit, and the first input datum is provided from the computing component. (See Suh, fig 3 and section 3)
18. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the computing component comprises a network component, a storage component or an input/output component. (See Suh, section 3.1 and fig 3; processors, registers, memory and I/O)
20. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the corresponding data associated property is generated based applying the policy to the first input datum. (See Suh, section 3: The execution monitor is a software module that orchestrates our protection scheme and enforces the security policy. At the same time, the tag checker monitors the tags of input operands for every instruction that the processor exe cutes. If spurious values are used for the operations specified in the security policy, the checker generates a security trap so that the operation can be checked by the execution monitor)
22. The combination of Suh and Suder discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the policy specifies a relationship between the first input datum and the output datum. (See Suh sections 2, 3.1- 3.2 and 5 and fig 3: Our protection scheme consists of three major parts: the execution monitor, the tagging units (flow tracker and tag checker) in the processor, and the security policy. Figure 3 illustrates the overview of our protection scheme. In the processor, each register needs to be tagged. In the memory, data blocks with the smallest granularity that can be accessed by the processor are tagged separately)
Claims 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document, title “Secure Program Execution via Dynamic Information Flow Tracking “by G. Edward Suh (Hereinafter Suh) of Suder US pat. No 20110066602 in further view of Mossbarger, US20150244690.
7. The combination of Suh and Suder does not appear to explicitly disclose the system of claim 6, wherein applying the policy includes checking a cryptographic signature of the first input datum. However, Mossbarger discloses wherein applying the policy includes checking a cryptographic signature of the first input datum. (See Mossbarger, [0049-0054])
Suh, Studer and Mossbarger are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is hardware security. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Suh and Studer with the teaching of Mossbarger to include the policy enforcement because it would have allowed to prevent unauthorized user from accessing the system.
14. As to claim 14, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7. See the rejection of claim 7 above.
21. As to claim 21, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7. See the rejection of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Csefalvay, US20240202706, title “ Methods and systems for selecting quantisation parameters for deep neural networks using back-propagation.”
Schwartz, US7457473, title “ Method for block sequential processing.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Date: 08/07/2026
/JOSNEL JEUDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438