DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang (CN218978815A) in view of Zhang (CN116616642A).
Regarding Claim 1, Sang teaches a robot cleaner station (Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (Ref. 1, Fig. 1);
a seating assembly (Ref. 11, Fig. 1-2) configured to accommodate a robot cleaner (Fig. 1, [n0032] describes the robot cleaner entering the chamber);and
a dust collector (Ref. 2&12, Fig. 2) configured to empty dust of the robot cleaner ([n0035&n0042-n0043]).
Sang fails to explicitly teach a drawer configured to be drawn out from the housing, and the dust collector being configured to be drawn out of the housing with the seating assembly when the drawer is drawer out. Zhang teaches a robot cleaner station with a housing and seating assembly and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Zhang further teaches a robot cleaner station (Ref. 400, Fig. 1) that is configured as a drawer that is drawn out from the housing (Fig. 3&5, [0018], examiner notes the robot cleaner station itself comprises a “drawer” since the cleaner station is pulled out of the housing), a dust collector (Ref. 412, Fig. 5) being configured to be drawn out of the housing with the seating assembly when the drawer is drawer out (Fig. 3&5, [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robot cleaner station, as taught by Sang, to have a drawer configuration to pull out said cleaning station in the device, as taught by Zhang, to provide a convenient method of servicing the robot cleaning station mounted within the housing of a cabinet/base station.
Regarding Claim 2, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Sang further teaches wherein the dust collector includes:
a dust collector housing (Ref. 12, Fig. 2);
a dust bag configured to collect the dust of the robot cleaner ([n0042] describes a dust bag); and
a dust bag drawer configured to be drawn out from the dust collector housing ([n0042] describes a dust bag drawer), the dust bag drawer being configured to accommodate the dust bag ([n0042] describes a dust bag in a dust bag drawer).
Regarding Claim 4, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang as modified further teaches wherein a direction in which the dust bag drawer is drawn out is parallel to a direction in which the drawer is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the dust bag drawer is drawn out parallel to a direction since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust bag drawer).
Regarding Claim 5, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the drawer further includes a drawer side wall (Fig. 1, shows a drawer side wall (15) on the left and right side of the housing (1)) configured to move between outer wall surfaces of the housing (Fig. 1-2), and
wherein the dust bag is located between the drawer side wall and the seating assembly (11, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches dust collecting motor configured to generate a suction force to collect dust stored in a dust bin of the robot cleaner ([n0043] describes a vacuuming system and is old and well known to have a motor),
wherein, when the drawer is drawn out, the dust collecting motor is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the drawer is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust collecting motor).
Regarding Claim 7, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches a duster washer (Ref. 3,4,5, Fig. 1) configured to wash a duster of the robot cleaner ([n0033]), wherein, when the drawer is drawn out, the duster washer is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the drawer is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust washer).
Regarding Claim 8, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches a detergent container (Ref. 3, Fig. 2) configured to store a detergent (examiner notes the limitation is interpreted as intended use and the tank (3) is interpreted as capable of being a detergent container due to being able to store a liquid), wherein, when the drawer is drawn out, the detergent container is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the drawer is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the detergent container).
Regarding Claim 9, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein a direction in which the detergent container is drawn out is parallel to a direction in which the drawer is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the detergent container is drawn out parallel to a direction since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the detergent container).
Regarding Claim 10, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the drawer further includes a drawer side wall (Fig. 1, shows a drawer side wall (15) on the left and right side of the housing (1)) configured to move between outer wall surfaces of the housing (Fig. 1-2),
wherein the dust collector includes a dust bag configured to collect the dust of the robot cleaner ([n0042] describes a dust bag), and
wherein the dust bag is located between the drawer side wall and the seating assembly (11, Fig. 1),
Regarding Claim 13, Sang teaches A robot cleaner station (Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (Ref. 1, Fig. 1) including an opening (Fig. 1 front end);
a seating assembly (Ref. 11, Fig. 1-2) configured to accommodate a robot cleaner (Fig. 1, [n0032] describes the robot cleaner entering the chamber).
Sang fails to explicitly teach a drawer configured to be drawn out through the opening of the housing, a seating assembly configured to be drawn out together with the drawer, the seating assembly being unexposed to an outside of the robot cleaner station when the drawer is located inside the housing, and the seating assembly being exposed to the outside of the robot cleaner station when the drawer is drawn out of the housing. Zhang teaches a robot cleaner station with a housing and seating assembly and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Zhang further teaches a robot cleaner station (Ref. 400, Fig. 1) that is configured as a drawer that is drawn out from an opening of the housing (Fig. 3&5, [0018], examiner notes the robot cleaner station itself comprises a “drawer” since the cleaner station is pulled out of the housing), the seating assembly (Ref. 420, Fig. 5) configured to be drawn out with the drawer (Fig. 3&5, [0018]), the seating assembly being unexposed to an outside of the robot cleaner station when the drawer is located inside the housing (Fig. 1), and the seating assembly being exposed to the outside of the robot cleaner station when the drawer is drawn out of the housing (fig .3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robot cleaner station, as taught by Sang, to have a drawer to pull out said cleaning station in the device, as taught by Zhang, to provide a convenient method of servicing the robot cleaning station mounted within the housing of a cabinet/base station.
Regarding Claim 14, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches a pair of side walls (Fig. 1, right & left side, the side at the surface (16)) configured to have the robot cleaner accommodated therebetween ([n0032]);
an entrance (Fig. 1 annotated below, [n0032]) configured to allow the robot to enter and exit the robot cleaner station ([n0032]). Zhang further teaches a door (Ref. 200, Fig. 1) rotatably coupled to the pair of side walls (Fig. 3), the door being configured to open and close the entrance ([n0030], the door being configured to be drawn out when the drawer is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the door is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the door). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robot cleaner station, as taught by Sang, with a door, as taught by Zhang, to fully contain a robotic vacuum cleaner within the cabinet housing to save space and to reduce noise and dust from escaping the robot cleaner station when docked.
Regarding Claim 15, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the robot cleaner station further comprises a dust bag drawer ([n0042] describes a dust bag drawer), the dust bag drawer being configured to be drawn out of the housing ([n0042] describes a dust bag drawer is removable from the drawer, further Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the dust bag drawer is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust bag drawer).
Regarding Claim 16, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the dust bag drawer is configured to be drawn out of the housing when the drawer is drawn out of the housing. (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the dust bag drawer is drawn out of the robot cleaning station since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire drawer is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust bag drawer).
Regarding Claim 17, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the robot cleaner station further comprises a detergent container (Ref. 3, Fig. 2) configured to store a detergent (examiner notes the limitation is interpreted as intended use and the tank (3) is interpreted as capable of being a detergent container due to being able to store a liquid), the detergent container being configured to be drawn out of the housing (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the drawer is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the detergent container), and
wherein, when the drawer is drawn out of the housing, the dust bag drawer and the detergent container are drawn out of the housing (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the dust bag drawer and the detergent container is drawn out of the robot cleaning station since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire drawer is pulled out as a unit which includes the dust bag drawer and the detergent container)
Regarding Claim 18, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and Sang further teaches an entrance (Fig. 1 annotated below, [n0032]) configured to allow the robot to enter and exit the robot cleaner station ([n0032]). Zhang further teaches a door (Ref. 200, Fig. 1) rotatably coupled to the pair of side walls (Fig. 3), the door being configured to open and close the entrance ([n0030], the door being configured to be drawn out when the drawer is drawn out (Fig. 1-2, Sang, examiner notes the door is drawn out since Sang as modified by Zhang would have provided the entire robot cleaner station is pulled out as a unit which includes the door). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the robot cleaner station, as taught by Sang, with a door, as taught by Zhang, to fully contain a robotic vacuum cleaner within the cabinet housing to save space and to reduce noise and dust from escaping the robot cleaner station when docked.
Regarding Claim 19, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18, as described above, and given the teaching of the door of Zhang, Sang as modified further teaches wherein the dust bag drawer (12) is disposed at a first side of the door (Fig. 1-2, Sang, right side) and the detergent container (3) is disposed at a second side of the door (Fig. 1-2, Sang, left side) opposite to first side of the door (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18, as described above, and given the teaching of the door of Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the dust bag drawer and the detergent container are configured to be drawn out independently of the drawer being drawn out (Sang, [n0042] describes the dust bag drawer is placed inside the drawn and capable of being drawn out from the housing and examiner notes the term "drawn out" is interpreted as emptied, [n0033] describes the detergent container (3) can has water be drawn out by the pump (4)) , and wherein the door is fixed to the drawer (Fig. 1&3, Zhang).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang as modified as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Shao (CN107259815A).
Regarding Claim 3, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the dust bag drawer (12) further includes:
a dust bag drawer body (Ref 12, Fig. 1-2, the compartment that would comprise the body), opposite side surface of the dust bag drawer (Fig. 1-2 left and right sides).
Sang as modified fails to explicitly teach a pair of drawer rails located on opposite side surfaces of the dust bag drawer body, the pair of drawer rails being configured to guide a movement of the dust bag drawer body. Shao discloses a cabinet with removable inserts and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to move a drawer in and out of a cabinet. Shao teaches a drawer (Ref. 14, Fig. 1) having a pair of slide rails (Ref. 12&13, fig. 1) in order to move the drawer into and out of the cabinet (Fig .1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the dust bag drawer body, as taught by Sang as modified, to have drawer rails on opposite side surfaces, as taught by Shao, to provide an easier way to move the drawer into and out of a cabinet housing.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang as modified as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubenstein (2017/0262028).
Regarding Claim 11, Sang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and given the teaching of drawing out the robot cleaner station, as taught by Zhang, Sang further teaches wherein the drawer further includes a drawer side wall (Ref. 16, Fig. 1-2 left and right sides, Sang) configured to move between outer wall surfaces of the housing ([n0014] describes the housing located within the outer walls of a washing machine). Sang as modified fails to explicitly teach a wire organizer coupled to the drawer side wall, a portion of an outer circumferential surface the wire being configured to contact a hose or an electric wire. Rubenstein teaches a drawer and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to move a drawer and keep it organized. Rubenstein further teaches a wire organizer (Ref. 118, Fig. 2) coupled to a drawer side wall (Ref. 102, Fig. 1), a portion of an outer circumferential surface the wire (Ref. 112, Fig. 1-2) being configured to contact a hose or an electric wire (Ref. 110, Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the drawer side wall, as taught by Sang as modified, with a wire organizer, as taught by Rubenstein, to provide an organized cable wire management system for a sliding drawer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang as modified as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Shao (CN107259815A).
Sang as modified fails to explicitly teach a drawer rail located on the drawer side wall, the drawer rail being configured to guide a movement of the drawer side wall. Shao discloses a cabinet with removable inserts and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonable pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to move a drawer in and out of a cabinet. Shao teaches a drawer (Ref. 14, Fig. 1) having a drawer rail (Ref. 12, fig. 1) located on the drawer side wall (Fig. 1) , the drawer rail being configured to guide a movement of the drawer side wall (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the dust bag drawer body, as taught by Sang as modified, to have drawer rail on the drawer side, as taught by Shao, to provide an easier way to move the drawer into and out of a cabinet housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Li (2023/0029165), Buehler (2018/0368646), and Ebrahimi Afrouzi (2024/0142994) teach
robot cleaner stations in cabinets and can be considered analogous art because they are within the
same field of endeavor.
should be directed to DANA L POON whose telephone number is (571)272-6164. The examiner can
normally be reached on General: 6:30AM-3:30PM.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts
to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be
reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or
proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be
obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for
unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the
Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you
would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated
information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723