DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species E, claims 1, 8-14, 17-25 in the reply filed on 8/19/26 is acknowledged. Species D, F, G, and H are rejoined.
Regarding the election, for clarity of record, Examiner notes Applicant elected Species E, sound processor for impulse frequency, claims 9-10 (see Page 5, five lines from bottom). However, Applicant’s comments on the election of Species E as the “second processor for impulse parameter adjustment, e.g. claims 9-12”, would normally be considered nonresponsive, because it groups together Species E, F, and G, which were identified in the previous restriction requirement as patentably distinct species (MPEP § 821.03). Applicant is required to elect a single (i.e. only one) species. No groupings of patentably indistinct species were identified in the restriction requirement. Applicant’s own grouping putting Species E, F, and G together into one group amounts to an argument that those claims are all generic, and would thus constitute a nonresponsive reply. However, to expedite prosecution, and in light of the prior art, Species D, F, G, and H are rejoined.
Applicant asserts the various parameter adjustments are not structurally distinct species because it is merely a software distinction on identical hardware. This is not persuasive because the different parameters require different hardware/software configurations. For example, a reference disclosing only frequency adjustment would not read on a claim reciting a waveform adjustment. Nevertheless, these particular species have been rejoined in light of the prior art.
Applicant asserts mutual exclusivity means that the presence of one species must preclude the presence of another, and asserts that the secondary circuit board can simultaneously include all the features at once. This is not persuasive because the claims are indeed mutually exclusive because they do not overlap in scope.
Applicant further asserts the species merely describe different functions, and are not structurally distinct because they use the same secondary circuit board. This is not persuasive because the different functions require different hardware/software configurations. For example, a reference disclosing only a secondary circuit for communications would not read on a charging circuit.
Applicant further asserts there is no search burden. However, search burden has already been established in the previous action. Each species requires a separate search. For example, a reference disclosing only a secondary circuit with display adjustment would not read on a secondary circuit for authorization.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-7, 15, 16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/19/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8-14, 17-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 3: “the target location” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 1, last line: “the main circuit board” lacks proper antecedent basis. Examiner suggests reciting the “primary” circuit board.
Claim 19: Unclear what is the delineation between the energy source and the signal generator, since the energy source was already previously recited as being configured to generate the electrical impulse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-14, 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staats (US 2022/0323745) in view of Brodard (US 4,919,139).
Regarding claim 1, Staats discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figure 1 shown above for example), including a system for stimulating a nerve within a user (Figure 1), the system comprising: a stimulator comprising an electrode configured for contacting the outer skin surface at, or near the target location (Figure 1); an energy source coupled to the stimulator and configured to generate at least one electrical impulse and to transmit the at least one electrical impulse transcutaneously from the electrode through the outer skin surface of the user to a selected nerve in the user adjacent to, or near, the target location (Figure 1); wherein the energy source comprises a primary circuit board that includes a processor and a computer-readable data storage device storing program instructions that, when executed by the processor, the program instructions generate the electrical impulse (Figure 1: 330).
Further regarding claim 1, Staats does not disclose a removable secondary circuit board as recited. However, Brodard teaches a secondary circuit board removably coupled to the main circuit board (Figure 1: removable program cartridge 6; abstract), in order to easily load new therapy programs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staats as taught by Brodard to include a removable secondary circuit board as recited, in order to easily load new therapy programs.
Regarding claims 8-14, the removable program cartridge of Brodard includes parameter adjustments as recited (Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 5).
Regarding claims 17-19, Staats discloses a housing, electrode, and signal generator as recited (Figure 1).
Regarding claims 20-23, Staats discloses the same stimulation parameters as recited (Paragraph 24; Figures 2B-C).
Regarding claim 24, Staats discloses the vagus nerve as recited (abstract).
Regarding claim 25, Staats discloses contacting a neck as recited (Figure 7).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 22, 23, 46, 48, 49 of copending Application No. 18897210 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant application
Copending application
1
20, 46
8
22, 48
9
23, 49
Claims 1, 10-14, 17-25 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11-20, 23, 24, 38-46, 49 of copending Application No. 18897210 in view of Brodard (US 4,919,139). These copending application claims recite substantially the same subject matter except for the removable secondary circuit board. However, Brodard teaches a secondary circuit board removably coupled to the main circuit board (Figure 1: removable program cartridge 6; abstract), in order to easily load new therapy programs, including various parameter adjustments (Col. 4, line 65 to Col. 5, line 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application as taught by Brodard to include a removable secondary circuit board as recited, in order to easily load new therapy programs.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application
Copending application
1, 10-14
1, 20, 23, 24, 46, 49
17
11
18
12, 38
19
13, 39
20
14, 40
21
15, 41
22
16, 42
23
17, 43
24
18, 44
25
19, 45
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Simon (US 2023/0059748) shows a nerve stimulation device.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796