CTNF 18/827,134 CTNF 87557 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 9 and its depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 introduces a first-first margin electrode, a second-first margin electrode, a first-second margin electrode, and a second-second margin electrode that are disposed in the margin portions. However, claim 6 introduces first and second margin electrodes in a margin portion. It is unclear if the margin electrodes of claim 9 are different from the margin electrodes of claim 6. The claim will be examined as best understood. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bultitude et al. (US Patent 8,125,762) . In re claim 1, Bultitude discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (16 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.2) including a capacitance formation portion including first and second internal electrodes (first internal electrodes 22, 26 and second internal electrodes 24, 28 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.12) disposed alternately in a first direction with a dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Abstract, Figure 4A), the capacitance formation portion having an uppermost end in the first direction on which the first internal electrode (22 – Figure 4A) is disposed and a lowermost end in the first direction on which the second internal electrode (28 – Figure 4A) is disposed, a first cover portion (portion of 16 above 22 – Figure 4A) disposed on an upper surface of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, the first cover portion including a first cover electrode (34 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.19), and a second cover portion (portion of 16 below 28 – Figure 4A) disposed on a lower surface of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, the second cover portion including a second cover electrode (36 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.19), the body having first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of 16 – Figure 4A) opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces (left and right surfaces of 16 – Figure 4A) connected to the first and second surfaces, the third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction (Figure 4A), and fifth and sixth surfaces (left and right surfaces of 16 – Figure 4B) connected to the first to fourth surfaces, the fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 4); a first external electrode (14 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.11) disposed on the third surface (right surface of 16 – Figure 4A), the first external electrode connected to the first internal electrode (22, 26 – Figure 4A) and the first cover electrode (34 – Figure 4A); and a second external electrode (12 – Figure 4A, col.5 l.11) disposed on the fourth surface (left surface of 16 – Figure 4A), the second external electrode connected to the second internal electrode (24, 28 – Figure 4A) and the second cover electrode (36 – Figure 4A), wherein, when average sizes of the first internal electrode (22, 26 – Figure 4A), the second internal electrode (24, 28 – Figure 4A), the first cover electrode (34 – Figure 4A), and the second cover electrode (36 – Figure 4A) in the third direction are Wi1, Wi2, Wc1, and Wc2, respectively, Wc1-Wi1 > 80 μm and Wc2-Wi2 > 80 μm are satisfied (Figure 4B shows that the cover electrodes 32, 36 and therefore, 34 and 38 have a width spanning to the edges of shield electrodes [40, 42, 58, 51, col.5 l.28]. Bultitude further discloses a gap [108 – Figure 4C, col.5 l.37] separating the internal electrode layer and the shield electrode. Bultitude further discloses the gap can be up to 0.070 inches to provide improved dielectric breakdown [col.7 ll.15-22]. Therefore, the cover electrodes [32, 34, 36, 38 – Figure 4A] are at least 80 µm greater in width than the internal electrodes [22, 24, 26, 28 – Figure 4A].) In re claim 2, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein, in the first direction, an entire portion of the first internal electrode (22, 26 – Figure 4A) overlaps the first cover electrode (34 – Figure 4A) (Figure 4B), and an entire portion of the second internal electrode (24, 28 – Figure 4A) overlaps the second cover electrode (36 – Figure 4A) (Figure 4B). Note that the entirety of the internal electrodes are overlapped by the cover electrodes as shown in Figures 4A and 4B. In re claim 4, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses the first cover portion (portion of 16 above 22 – Figure 4A) includes a plurality of first cover electrodes (32, 34 – Figure 4A), and the second cover portion (portion of 16 below 28 – Figure 4A) includes a plurality of second cover electrodes (36, 38 – Figure 4A). In re claim 5, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 4, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein the plurality of first cover electrodes (32, 34 – Figure 4A) in the first cover portion (portion of 16 above 22 – Figure 4A) includes two to six first cover electrodes (Figure 4A), and the plurality of second cover electrodes (36, 38 – Figure 4A) in the second cover portion (portion of 16 below 28 – Figure 4A) includes two to six second cover electrodes (Figure 4A). In re claim 6, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein the body includes a margin portion (portion of 16 to the left of 22, 24 and portion of 16 to the right of 22, 24– Figure 4A, Figure 4B) disposed on side surfaces of the capacitance formation portion in the third direction (Figure 4B), and the margin portion includes a first margin electrode (42 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C, col.5 l.28) connected to the first external electrode (14 – Figure 4A, Figure 4C), and a second margin electrode (40 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C, col.5 l.28) spaced apart from the first margin electrode (Figure 4C), the second margin electrode connected to the second external electrode (12 – Figure 4A, Figure 4C). In re claim 7, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein the first and second margin electrodes (40, 42 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C) are disposed to be substantially coplanar with the first internal electrode (22 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C) or the second internal electrode (24 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B) (col.5 ll.36-44). In re claim 8, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein, in the first direction, an entire portion of the first margin electrode (42 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C) overlaps the first cover electrode (32, 34 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B) (Figure 4C), and an entire portion of the second margin electrode (40 – Figure 4B, Figure 4C) overlaps the second cover electrode (36, 38 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B) (Figure 4C). In re claim 9, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein the margin portion includes first and second margin portions (portions of 16 to the left and right of 22, 24 – Figure 4B, Figure 4A) respectively disposed on one surface and the other surface of the capacitance formation portion in the third direction (Figure 4A, Figure 4B), the first margin portion includes a first-first margin electrode (upper 42 – Figure 4C, Figure 4B) connected to the first external electrode (14 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C), and a second-first margin electrode (upper 40 – Figure 4C, Figure 4B) spaced apart from the first-first margin electrode (Figure 4C), the second-first margin electrode connected to the second external electrode (12 – Figure 4C, Figure 4A), and the second margin portion includes a first-second margin electrode (lower 42 – Figure 4C, Figure 4B) connected to the first external electrode (14 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C), and a second-second margin electrode (lower 40 – Figure 4C, Figure 4B) spaced apart from the first-second margin electrode (Figure 4C), the second-second margin electrode connected to the second external electrode (12 – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C). In re claim 10, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 9, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein an entire size including an average size of the first-first margin electrode in the third direction, the average size of the first internal electrode in the third direction, an average size of the first-second margin electrode in the third direction, an average size of a space between the first-first margin electrode and the first internal electrode in the third direction, and an average size of a space between the first-second margin electrode and the first internal electrode in the third direction is substantially equal to Wc1 (See Figure 4B; The entire width of the cover electrode [32, 34, 36,38 – Figure 4A, 4B] spans the width of the margin electrodes and the internal electrode [40, 42, 22 – Figure 4B, Figure 4A]). In re claim 15, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein, when sizes in the third direction of a region of the first cover electrode (34, 32 – Figure 4A) in either side not overlapping the first internal electrode are b1 and b2, respectively, b1>0 and b2>0 are satisfied, and b1 and b2 are substantially equal to each other (Figure 4B; Note that the cover electrode is evenly distributed on either side of the internal electrode layers disposed below.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bultitude et al. (US Patent 8,125,762) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2020/0411243) . In re claim 11, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses wherein the first and second margin electrodes (40, 42 – Figure 4C, Figure 4B) are disposed to be substantially coplanar with the first internal electrode (22 – Figure 4C), and an average size of a space between the first margin electrode and the first internal electrode in the third direction (108 – Figure 4C, col.5 l.55) is Gs1 and 1 μm ≤ Gs1 are satisfied (col.7 ll.15-22). Bultitude does not disclose when the average size of the first internal electrode in the third direction is Wi1, an average size of the first margin electrode in the third direction is Ws1, 0.01 ≤ Ws1/Wi1 ≤ 0.50. Kim discloses adjusting the size of the margin electrode in the third direction is correlated to the frequency of warpage cracks (¶124). Further, it is well-known in the art that adjusting the width of the internal electrodes is directly correlated to the capacitance of the device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the width of the margin electrode and the internal electrode to create a desirable balance between overall capacitance and mechanical strength of the device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re claim 12, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses an average size of a space between the second margin electrode and the first internal electrode in the third direction (108 – Figure 4C, col.5 l.55) is Gs2 and 1 μm ≤ Gs2 are satisfied (col.7 ll.15-22). Bultitude does not disclose when an average size of the second margin electrode in the third direction is Ws2, 0.01 ≤ Ws2/Wi1 ≤ 0.50 is satisfied. Kim discloses adjusting the size of the margin electrode in the third direction is correlated to the frequency of warpage cracks (¶124). Further, it is well-known in the art that adjusting the width of the internal electrodes is directly correlated to the capacitance of the device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the width of the margin electrode and the internal electrode to create a desirable balance between overall capacitance and mechanical strength of the device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bultitude et al. (US Patent 8,125,762) in view of Berolini et al. (US Publication 2020/0243260) . In re claim 13, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude further discloses Bultitude wherein, when an average size of the body in the second direction is Lb, an average size of the first margin electrode in the second direction is Ls1, and an average size of the second margin electrode in the second direction is Ls2, Ls1/Lb ≤ 0.50 and Ls2/Lb ≤ 0.50 are satisfied (See Figure 4C; The shield electrodes do not extend past the middle of the ceramic layer.). Bultitude does not disclose 0.01 ≤ Ls1/Lb and 0.01 ≤ Ls2/Lb are satisfied. Berolini discloses that a capacitive region (125, 126 – Figure 2B, ¶104) can be formed between electrodes (110 – Figure 2B, ¶83) on the same plane (Figure 2B), and adjusting the distance between the electrodes creates a desired capacitance (¶120). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the length of the margin electrodes of Bultitude to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re claim 14, Bultitude discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 6, as explained above. Bultitude does not disclose when an average size of a space between the first margin electrode and the second margin electrode in the second direction is Gs3, 1 μm ≤ Gs3 is satisfied. Berolini discloses that a capacitive region (125, 126 – Figure 2B, ¶104) can be formed between electrodes (110 – Figure 2B, ¶83) on the same plane (Figure 2B), and adjusting the distance between the electrodes creates a desired capacitance (¶120). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the distance between the margin electrodes of Bultitude to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the length of the first cover electrode is longer than the first internal electrode in the second direction, and the length of the second cover electrode is longer than the second internal electrode in the second direction. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamato et al. (US Publication 2021/0366658) Figure 17 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ARUN RAMASWAMY whose telephone number is (571)270-1962. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 2 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 3 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 4 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 5 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 6 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 7 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 8 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 9 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 10 Art Unit: 2848 Application/Control Number: 18/827,134 Page 11 Art Unit: 2848