DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1–15 in application number 18827218. Claims 1–15 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because the semicolon (“;”) before the phrase “by modifying the engagement of the cam and the string based on the position of the servo motor” appears erroneous. This phrase is part of the previous clause and should not be separated by a semicolon, which are conventionally used to separate limitations rather than break up single limitations.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that claim 1 uses the transition term “including.” Per MPEP 2111.03, the transition term “including” is equivalent to the open-ended “comprising.”
The preamble of claim 8 is being interpreted as “In a guitar having a bender for altering the pitch of at least one string on the guitar, the improvement wherein the bender” with the transition work “comprises.” Thus, what follows “comprises” is the body of the claim and pertains only to the bender element rather than the guitar in the preamble.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a configuration unit” that performs the function “providing a configuration interface to recall, save, edit, or update a configuration” in claims 2 and 9. The configuration unit is described in 0051 and abbreviated “CU.” Paragraph 0051 and the following paragraphs also refer to Figs. 7 and 8 of the application. In combination, these portions of the disclosure clearly link the corresponding structure for the CU as a hand-held computer with various user interface options including a touch screen that can receive input from the user and create new or recall previously saved copendent information.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 1–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1–15. Claims 1 and 8 are replete with antecedent basis issues related to the elements “potentiometer,” “servo motor,” and “cam.” One of skill in the art would not be able to avoid infringement because the required number and required relationship among the potentiometer(s), servo motor(s), and cam(s) is inconsistent and unclear throughout the claim.
To address this issue, and as best understood by the examiner in view of the application as a whole, the examiner suggests incorporating amendments to claims 1 and 8 similar to the following:1
1. A bender for altering the pitch of a musical instrument including
a plurality of strings substantially independently adjustable by the bender, thereby enabling the strings to vibrate at a plurality of pitches;
at least one pedal or lever;
at least one linear potentiometer;
wherein each pedal or lever is associated with one linear potentiometer;
wherein responsive to movement of a pedal or lever, the associated linear potentiometer produces output voltage signals;
at least one servo motor;
at least one cam capable of engaging one of the strings;
wherein each servo motor is associated with one linear potentiometer and with one cam;
a logic controller configured and programmed to control the relationship between [[the]] each linear potentiometer output voltage signal and each servo motor such that [[the]] each servo motor moves the associated cam into and/or out of engagement with the associated string and thereby modifies the pitch of that string[[;]] by modifying the engagement of the associated cam and the string based on the position of the servo motor.
Regarding claims 3 and 10. Claims 3 and 10 each recite “wherein the pedal or lever is moved by a person.”
As discussed in MPEP 2173.05(p), a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to “[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages. . .to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data” was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs.
Claims 3 and 10 are indefinite because one of skill could not determine if infringement requires based on the structure of the bender, or upon a person moving the pedal or lever that is part of the bender structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1–4, 6–11, and 13–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 7,935,876 (West).
Regarding claims 1 and 8. West teaches:
1. A bender for altering the pitch of a musical instrument including and
8. In a guitar having a bender for altering the pitch of at least one string on the guitar, the improvement wherein the bender comprises:
(claim 1) a plurality of strings substantially independently adjustable by the bender, thereby enabling the strings to vibrate at a plurality of pitches; [Rotation of motors 60a-60h causes each motor’s respective actuator 30a-30h to move thereby causing the strings 14a-14h to move, which in turn results in a change in the pitch of strings 14a-14h. Each of the eight motor 60/actuator 30 pairs is capable of independent motion yet controller 52 provides a centralized control function for all independent movements. (West, c14:38–44)]
at least one pedal or lever; at least one linear potentiometer responsive to movement of a pedal or lever, the potentiometer being able to produce output voltage signals; [a more typical control means such as a musical instrument digital interface (MIDI) foot pedal, a variable potentiometer, or a series of control knobs, sliders, or switches. (West, c13:55–67)]
a servo motor associated with one or more potentiometers; [Motor 60 is shown as a 24-Volt DC servo motor with a rear shaft (not shown) that has been coupled to an encoder 62 (West, c16:17–18); FIG. 2 . . . specifically shows the flow of electrical signals, as represented by thin lines; electrical power, as represented by thick lines; and physical movement, as represented by double lines. Control signal generator 34 outputs signals to controller 52. Controller 52 sends power to motors 60a-60h and receives position information back from encoders 62a-62h. Rotation of motors 60a-60h causes each motor’s respective actuator 30a-30h to move thereby causing the strings 14a-14h to move, which in turn results in a change in the pitch of strings 14a-14h. (West, c14:32–41)]
NOTE: West teaches servo motors 60a-60h that are “associated with” the potentiometer controls in the form of knobs and pedals by way of the human input to the control mechanism that sends electrical power (i.e., voltage signals) to the motors. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “associated with” encompasses the servos and potentiometers being part of the same system, and that is how West teaches them.
at least one cam capable of engaging one of the strings; [The camming surface actuator comprises: (a) a tension transfer portion adapted to transfer string tension to a camming surface portion via at least one bearing means that rides on at least one camming surface; (b) a rotating portion which provides structural support for the camming surface portion and rotates about an axis of rotation when an input force is applied thereto; and (c) the camming surface portion which provides a significant load reduction by comprising at least one of an optimized variable ratio camming surface, a concave camming surface, and a combined variable ratio concave camming surface. (West, c6:43–54)]
a logic controller configured and programmed to control the relationship between the potentiometer voltage output and a servo motor such that the servo motor moves a cam into and/or out of engagement with the associated string and thereby modifies the pitch of that string; by modifying the engagement of the cam and the string based on the position of the servo motor. [Controller 52, control signal generator 34, and the user are all designated as being a part of an overall control system 51. Control signal generator 34 and controller 52 each have their own internal processing means 30 and memory (both of which are not shown). (West, c14:26–30); . Control signal generator 34 outputs signals to controller 52. Controller 52 sends power to motors 60a-60h and receives position information back from encoders 62a-62h. Rotation of motors 60a-60h causes each motor’s respective actuator 30a-30h to move thereby causing the strings 14a-14h to move, which in turn results in a change in the pitch of strings 14a-14h. (West, c14:32–41)]
Regarding claims 2 and 9. West teaches:
further including a configuration unit providing a configuration interface to recall, save, edit or update a configuration of the logic controller to set specific output voltages for the servo motor(s). [Setup mode is for executing a homing routine, tuning of home position pitch 135, defining and tuning of pitch stops 136, defining and editing pitch change operations 172, creating and updating compensation algorithms, and defining relationships between specific control elements of control signal generator means 34 and specific pitch change operations 172. . . .Once all actuators are positioned as desired, each pitch stop 136 within the pitch change operation 172 is tuned in the same way that it was defined originally, by simply moving the actuator until the pitch meets the target pitch then engaging, or virtually engaging via movement of control object 50 into an active zone 45, with control signal generator 34 to send a “store” (i.e., save) command, storing the current pitch as a pitch stop 136 in a specific memory location of controller 52. . . . pitch change operations 172 are created by the controller 34 and still others allow for creation of pitch change operations 172 in a computer . . . The final task available in setup mode is for creating and updating compensation algorithms. A compensation algorithm is any function, series of equations, lookup table, or empirically derived set of values that has as its input a pitch alteration request plus at least one other variable and as its output a compensated new motor position 160. As seen in FIG. 10 there are four basic types of compensation algorithms: operating conditions compensation 158a, tuning compensation 158b, deformation compensation 158c, and global compensation 158d. (West, c28:24–c30:63)]
Regarding claims 3 and 10. West teaches:
wherein the pedal or lever is moved by a person. [Examples of a manual pitch change operation 170 are chord changes initiated by pressing of buttons on a control signal generator, user controllable pitch tracking of one or multiple strings as a device such a MIDI continuous controller foot pedal is moved up and down, assignment of multiple virtual pedals on an optical controller as described (West, c26:32–38)]
Regarding claims 4 and 11. West teaches:
wherein a configuration setting is stored in digital memory onto the logic controller or removeable digital storage. [Once all actuators are positioned as desired, each pitch stop 136 within the pitch change operation 172 is tuned in the same way that it was defined originally, by simply moving the actuator until the pitch meets the target pitch then engaging, or virtually engaging via movement of control object 50 into an active zone 45, with control signal generator 34 to send a “store” (i.e., save) command, storing the current pitch as a pitch stop 136 in a specific memory location of controller 52 (West, c30:7–15)]
Regarding claims 6 and 13. West teaches:
wherein the relationship between the servo motor and the potentiometer is based on an instruction from the logic controller. [Control signal generator 34 outputs signals to controller 52. Controller 52 sends power to motors 60a-60h and receives position information back from encoders 62a-62h. Rotation of motors 60a-60h causes each motor’s respective actuator 30a-30h to move thereby causing the strings 14a-14h to move, which in turn results in a change in the pitch of strings 14a-14h. (West, c14:32–41); Setup mode is for executing a homing routine, tuning of home position pitch 135, defining and tuning of pitch stops 136, defining and editing pitch change operations 172, creating and updating compensation algorithms, and defining relationships between specific control elements of control signal generator means 34 and specific pitch change operations 172 (West, c28:24–29)]
Regarding claims 7 and 14. West teaches:
wherein there are servo motors and potentiometers in a number to operate with common guitars with between 6 to 10 strings. [Referring to FIGS. 1 and 5, stringed instrument 12 maybe a typical fan-fret acoustic guitar with 8 strings (West, c13:14–16)]
Regarding claim 15. West teaches:
The bender of claim 2 wherein the configuration unit communicates to the logic controller by means of a wireless connection. [Other variations on signal routing are also possible such as wireless communication between control signal generator 34 and controller 52. (West, c56:41–43)]
NOTE: A second rejection of claims 1 and 8 is being provided under 35 U.S.C. § 102 to show a less technically descriptive but more pictorial teaching of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Tele bender” linked by YouTube user “gr4yhound” and posted at https://imgur.com/a/tele-bender-a0ZlW, June 26, 2014 (TELEBENDER).
Regarding claims 1 and 8. Telebender teaches:
1. A bender for altering the pitch of a musical instrument including
8. In a guitar having a bender for altering the pitch of at least one string on the guitar, the improvement wherein the bender comprises:
[“we need finer control over our bends” (Telebender, p. 9)]
(claim 1) a plurality of strings substantially independently adjustable by the bender, thereby enabling the strings to vibrate at a plurality of pitches; [The strings will go straight through the hollow [bridge] screws and attach to the servos (Telebender, p. 2)]
at least one pedal or lever; [keyboard sustain pedals (Telebender, p. 9)]
at least one linear potentiometer responsive to movement of a pedal or lever, the potentiometer being able to produce output voltage signals; [I stripped out the internal circuitry from the pedal and instead put in a magnet and continuous ratiometric hall effect sensor. This provided a continuous, spring loaded potentiometer-like pedal at an extremely cheap price (and also very easy to build) (Telebender, p. 9)]
a servo motor associated with one or more potentiometers; [here is a working pedal assembly. The four little [blue] trim pot[entiometers] are used to adjust the upper limit of the bend, so things are in tune when the pedal is bottomed out (Telebender, p. 10)]
at least one cam capable of engaging one of the strings; [The remainder of the string goes around the cable pulling horn (i.e., cam), which is 10 mm offset from the center of the servo shaft (Telebender, p. 6); See the images on page 5 and 10 showing strings wrapped around these horns/cams, which are mounted to the servos, and attached to counterbalancing springs (Telebender, pp. 5 and 10)
a logic controller configured and programmed to control the relationship between the potentiometer voltage output and a servo motor(s) such that the servo motor moves a cam into and/or out of engagement with the associated string and thereby modifies the pitch of that string[[;]] by modifying the engagement of the cam and the string based on the position of the servo motor. [Still breadboarded and running of a variable lab supply, . . . here is a working pedal assembly. The four little trim pot[entiometer]s are used to adjust the limit of the bend, so things are in tune when the pedal is bottomed out (Telebender, p. 9); To control the servos, the microcontroller uses PWM. . . . The bottom waveform shows the PWM signal measured near the source in a version of the circuit (Telebender, p. 6)]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over West, as applied to claims 4 and 11 above, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0053494 (Pagliere).
Regarding claims 5 and 12. West teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 11 above. West further teaches that a user can setup and save pitch bend settings and home tuning changes (West c28:24–32; c32:17–18) and that the device is also capable of switching from one predetermined tuning to another. (
However, West does not explicitly or inherently teach wherein a copedent is stored on digital media and given a specific recallable identifier.
Nonetheless, Pagliere—which like the present invention is directed to digital control of pitch shifting mechanisms in stringed instruments—teaches:
wherein a copedent is stored on digital media and given a specific recallable identifier. [Copedents. Choosing to recall an existing, stored copedent and use it to play, the user can choose from a menu or scroll list of copedents stored in non-volatile memory (i.e., stored copendents are identifiable from one another). Then, choosing to “Play” (FIG. 13), the chosen copedent is used by the main control program to calculate virtual open string pitches and pedal/lever-altered pitches. Choosing to create a new copedent, the user can choose an existing, stored copedent that is similar to the copedent desired from a menu or scroll list of copedents stored in non-volatile memory. The user can then edit the values of this copedent and save it as a new copedent (FIG. 15). . . . Once copedents are saved, they may be grouped in a “bank” of several copedents to afford quick changes which might be used during a performance. While playing, a screen like that seen in FIG. 16 is displayed. The user may at any time touch the “button” for any of the copedents available in the bank, at which time the copedent will be swapped into working memory. From that point on (until another change is made), the newly chosen copedent will determine the virtual open string pitches and the pedal/lever changes as the user plays the instrument. (Pagliere 0140–0147)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the saved tuning settings in the memory of the pitch bending system taught by West to include specific copendent presets for selection by the user as taught by Pagliere. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this specific feature into West, which is already capable of switching among predetermined tunings, so the user/performer can more easily switch to specific tuning presets during a performance simply by choosing the appropriate one from a bank shown on a touch display as in Pagliere.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. The additional cited art, including but not limited to the excerpts below, further establishes the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention and shows the following was known:
A stringed bender attachment for selectively changing the tension imposed on a selected string of a string instrument of the guitar family including a frame attached to the instrument body opposite the neck of the instrument having mounted thereon a rod having an axis transverse to the axis of a selected string and a rocker arm pivotally mounted on the rod and having the end of the selected string anchored thereto. (Borisoff)
Referring now to FIG. 7, the flowchart illustrates the bend track routine 95 of FIG. 3 which is similar to the vibrato routine, except that the bend track is controlled by the instrument operator and the pitch is varied much more slowly. It simulates the bender bar 30 of a real guitar (which raises and lowers the pitch by raising or lowering the tension on the string), except that at the limits of the bender bar, the pitch delta is guaranteed to be 2 half steps. (Capps)
The PEG BENDER combines the ease of operation of the strap lever systems, with the ease of installation of the hip activated system, and the versatility of being installable on all four and five string banjos, four and five string mandolins, and guitars (acoustic or electric, except those with twelve strings or slotted peg heads). (HHHHiggins)
A popular innovation is the B-Bender which adjusts the tension on the B-string of guitars. Several variations on the B-Bender exist but the drawback is that only one string may be tensioned since the device is installed to affect only a single string and is not positionable so that different strings may be tensioned. (Davis)
In an embodiment of the invention which includes the intelligent pickup with strap button 110 attached to strap 112, the intelligent pickup may optionally be pre-programmed to emulate a well-known customized guitar commonly referred to as a “B-Bender” guitar. In a traditional customized B-bender guitar, when pressure is applied to the strap button by a stretching action on the guitar strap 112, a series of mechanical parts is activated, causing the B-string pitch to be raised. In the intelligent pickup version of the B-Bender, when the strap 112 applies pressure to the button 110, the pickup itself would be instructed to raise the pitch electronically. Advantageously, this allows the pitch to be precisely controlled, and also to be altered in any way desired. Still further, the pitch of any string—or even all strings—could be altered by the pickup, and not merely the B-string. (Owens)
It is known to convert the sound generated by a musical instrument into an electrical signal and to electronically process the signal in such electronic instruments as amplifiers, modulators, harmonizers, synthesizers and the like, in order to create a desired musical sound effect. For example, in the case of an electronic guitar, so-called “wah-wah” and “pitch bender” controllers are used to control the sound envelope. (Nielsen)
FIGS. 1 through 14 depict a first embodiment of a pitch alteration system 10 of the present invention which has been adapted for use with a stringed instrument 12. FIG. 1 shows a perspective view of pitch alteration system 10. FIG. 3 shows a perspective from the back of a stringed instrument 12 with the back of the instrument 12 removed to reveal the equipment inside. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 5, stringed instrument 12 may be a typical fan-fret acoustic guitar with 8 strings 14a, 14b, 14c, 14d, 14e, 14f, 14g, 14h, a body 16, a neck 18, a headstock 20, standard tuning pegs 22, a nut 24, and a bridge 26. A standard acoustic guitar saddle has been replaced by 8 individually moveable rocker saddles 28. Eight separate camming surface actuators 30a, 30b, 30c, 30d, 30e, 30f, 30g, 30h are barely showing protruding behind rocker saddles 28 in FIG. 1, whereas camming surface actuators 30a-30h are fully revealed in FIG. 3. Camming surface actuators 30a-30h are primarily contained within the body 16 and may comprise the detailed elements discussed below. Control cord 32 links a control signal generator 34 with the rest of pitch alteration system 10 via a control connection port 54 on a controller 52. Control signal generator 34 comprises a control unit 36, a control object 50, and a control object range 44. Control object range 44 is shown as clashed since it is not an actual part, but rather a range of positions into which control object 50 can be moved. (West)
A string bender includes a base portion configured to anchor a plurality of strings and to be removably (or releasably) mounted to a guitar body without requiring drilling or cutting of the guitar body. The string bender can also include at least one bar extending from the base portion in a direction substantially toward a top of the guitar body, the at least one bar being attached to at least one corresponding cam and disposed so as to be able to rotate relative to the base portion such that a rotation of the at least one bar causes a rotation of the cam and a change in tension of a string associated with the cam. The string bender can be constructed to bend one or more strings, for example the B and/or G strings. The string bender can also be constructed to fit a variety of guitar styles, such as the Gibson Les Paul-style and the Fender Telecaster-style guitars. (Baker)
The present disclosure addresses the aforementioned problems and limitations of the traditional pedal steel guitar, without altering the distinctive sound of the instrument, or the manner in which it is played. This is accomplished by providing a digitally pitch-shifted pedal steel guitar that implements a copedent through the use of controlled pitch-shifting by digital signal processing rather than through the use of a physical mechanism to change the tension of strings. The term copedent is a term of art used by pedal steel guitar players to describe how string tunings, foot pedals and knee levers are combined to effect different tunings of the instrument. Copedent information is often expressed in table form, showing what pitch is developed for each open string (unfretted or unstopped) for a given combination of pedal and knee lever engagements. Thus the digitally pitch-shifted pedal steel guitar of the present disclosure implements copedent operation by digital electronic means rather than by changing physical string tensions. (Pagliere)
where the present invention is generally referred to with numeral 10, it can be seen that the electronic circuitry 3 contained within the broken line corresponds to a conventional circuit for generating reference tones against which the signals from a pick up are compared. The outputs from comparators 2 are fed to motor drivers 30 which in the preferred embodiment are bipolar operational amplifiers. The outputs of drivers 30 are connected to motors 20 which are, in the preferred embodiment, reversible D.C. motors with permanent magnets. The motors 20 are mechanically coupled to the tail piece string tensioning mechanisms shown in FIGS. 2 and 3. (Minnick)
FIGS. 12 through 15 are electronic diagram for a simplified hardware versions of the present invention that provide only for manual rotation control, automatic tuning, monophonic vibratos, relative pitch polyphonic vibratos, a variety of pitch variation effects and an electronic continual function. The rotation, automatic tuning and frequency variation circuits are shown separately to indicate that each function is viable independently or in combination with each other and each provides advantages over the prior art. With this type of format all device electronics may be contained onboard thus eliminating the need for the offboard device electronic enclosure 17, depending upon the combination of circuits used. (Busley)
This invention provides a control system for automatically tuning a stringed musical instrument, utilizing a library of calibration functions to tune the instrument in a plurality of operating conditions without recalibration. The operating conditions can include changes in temperature and humidity, different sets of strings made with different materials and gauges, broken strings and the installation of a capo. Calibrations can also be provided for instruments of different makes and models, string lengths, body materials and actuator types. The control system is adapted for use in a stringed instrument having actuators attached to each string for changing the frequency of the string in response to a control signal. Each calibration function relates the frequency of a string to the actuator position of that string. The invention further provides an automatically tuned stringed instrument using the control system, and a method for tuning a stringed instrument. (Freeland)
An automatic tuning system for a stringed instrument is formed by a microprocessor operating hardware connected with one end portion of the several strings. The hardware principally comprises a reversible motor driving gears and a gear train selectively meshed by a solenoid for each string entrained over a saddle at the bridge position and underlying a double hinged tremolo system. An input sensor in the tuning module detects the tone of a plucked string and converts it to a square wave of the detected frequency, which is compared by the microprocessor with the closest adjacent intended frequency and energizes the solenoid for engaging the gear mechanism for tightening or loosening the string to obtain the required frequency. The user can override the automatic string tuning function for initially tightening a string or strings, and manually adjust the frequency of a string by a manually rotated knob on the head stock of the instrument. (Wynn)
In a piano . . . in accordance with another embodiment the present invention provides a method and system for precisely regulating the pitch of a vibratory string constructed of NiTi and/or other materials. An electrical current is selectively passed through each vibratory string, either individually in succession by means of a suitable current or voltage source and an electronic switch or variable impedance device(s), or in parallel using a voltage or current source and one or more suitable resistive ballast elements or variable impedance devices, or some combination of these techniques. Each wire is heated due to its electrical resistance to the current, whereby pitch regulation is achieved due to thermal expansion/contraction of the wire. Optional closed-loop feedback control may also be provided, as desired, using either sensed temperature and/or pitch as a feedback signal. (Barney)
The CPU circuit board is also designed to memorize the tuning to which the strings were last set, e.g., open A, open E, and the like, so that when the power is turned off, the system will still be set to that tuning when the power is turned back on. (Skinn)
A stringed musical instrument employs springs to apply tension to corresponding musical strings. Each spring is chosen and configured for its ability to impart a string tension generally matched to the appropriate tension of the string at perfect tune. Preferably, the spring is selected and arranged so that the tension in the string maintains at or near perfect tune even as the string elongates or contracts over time. In one embodiment, once a string is placed in appropriate tune, a mechanical visual indicator is set. As such, if tune of the string changes due to string elongation or contraction, the change is reflected by misalignment of the mechanical visual indicator even if the change cannot be aurally detected. Perfect tune can be reestablished by realigning the indicator. In another embodiment, a force modulating member is interposed between a spring and its corresponding musical string. The force modulating member is adapted so that the tension actually applied to the string by the spring is not linearly related to the force exerted by the spring as the spring changes in length. . . .the guitar may be electronically connected, via wire or wireless connection, to a computer system, and completion of the circuit may be detected by the computer system, which may control other effects. For example, in a stage show, certain lighting, pyrotechnic, or other effects may be computer-controlled. Upon detection of a signal from the guitar indicating string bending, the computer system thus can generate a lighting or other effect to enhance the aural effect already being generated by the guitar. (Lyles)
Although the invention is shown having pins pushing against the cams to rotate them, it is contemplated that other means of rotating the cams could be used such as a direct drive of the cams with a servo providing a rotational force or a force exerted through a series of gears such as to provide rotational movement in both directions of the cams, thus allowing the pins to be eliminated. In addition, it is possible that the driver or servo mechanism could sit higher on the headstock than the rest of the device, such as between the machine heads, and be connected to the cams via a linkage. (D’Arco)
[0009] 1) It is an object of the invention to provide an expressive vibrato device which bends chords while accurately maintaining relative pitch. [0010] 2) It is an object of the invention to provide a means of operating the device which allows smooth transitions from sharp to flat. [0011] 3) It is an object of the invention to provide a means of operating the device which provides tonal stability when the device is inactive. [0012] 4) It is an object of the invention to provide a means of operating the device which requires less effort and coordination than the prior art. [0013] 5) It is an object of the invention to provide a device which is easier to tune and maintains tune better than the prior art. (Deck)
This method and apparatus prevents improper string return by restraining an end portion of a string of a stringed instrument, such as a pedal steel guitar, free of longitudinal movement with changes in tension of the string from a predetermined level of string tension. The invention also involves applying tension force to the string operatively collinearly with a linear projection of an end portion of the string while maintaining an end portion of the string free of longitudinal movement with changes in string tension from a predetermined level of string tension. (Mullen)
A propeller pitch control mechanism that relies on potentiometer input and various wires and cams to adjust the pitch of the propeller blades using motors (Treseder)
The control system is designed to maintain the alignment of the individual sections with the next adjacent section. Boice utilizes antenna rods which make and break contact with a bare wire which stretches the length of the chain of sections to control the drive motors. Bower U.S. Pat. No. 3,394,729 utilizes a cam actuated switch to accomplish the alignment control. The cam is caused to rotate when the alignment adjacent sections vary. Kinkead U.S. Pat. No. 3.587,763 accomplishes the required control with a duplex switch which is mounted on one section and is actuated by a lever mechanism fixed to the adjacent section. Misalignment of the sections moves the lever which in turn operates the switch to effect the desired control. (Sage)
Conclusion
Patrick McAtee
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698
1 Note that there may be additional amendments required to address other issues in this office action and that any amendments presented in response to this office action will require reevaluation for compliance with statutory requirements for patentability under 35 U.S.C. §§ 101, 102, 103, and 112. Note also that any amendments to independent claims 1 and 8 may require amendment to the dependent claims for internal consistency.