DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 29 December 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “… wherein the A-block comprises …” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 has been canceled and previously described “…a hydrophobic hydrocarbon A-block and a hydrophilic B-block.” However, the recent amendments filed 29 December 2025 have deleted this claim. Parent claim 1 does not recite an “A-block.”
Claim 15 recites the limitation “… wherein the B-block is …” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 has been canceled and previously described “…a hydrophobic hydrocarbon A-block and a hydrophilic B-block.” However, the recent amendments filed 29 December 2025 have deleted this claim. Parent claim 1 does not recite a “B-block.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14-19, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravesen; Per Otto Børresen et al. (US 20120219742 A1) in view of Rolf; David et al. (US 20140141048 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gravesen discloses an intermittent catheter comprising a hollow polymeric tubular body (¶ [0017] The article may be any medical hollow tube article … a urine catheter; ¶ [0022] The invention also relates to the use of a medical article … the urethra; ¶ [0031] FIG. 3 shows a first example of a medical article);
comprising a polymer being a derivative of at least one polyolefin material (¶ [0008] Thus, a medical article is provided, comprising a thermoplastic polymer as a basis material and an amphiphilic block copolymer possessing both hydrophilic and lipophilic properties and comprising a main block being hydrophobic and another block being hydrophilic; ¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … a first polymer acting as a basis material 4 … The thermoplastic basis material 4 may be selected from the group of Polyolefin, Polyvinylchloride (PVC) … or a combination thereof; ¶ [0041] In a hydrophobic basis polymer, such as polyolefin, SEBS-, SIS- and SBC-elastomers as a first polymer; ¶ [0048] The thermoplastic base material 4 could for instance be Accurel.TM., Styroflex.TM., Styrolux.TM., Mediprene.TM., Meliflex.TM. or Estane.TM., which are all thermoplastic polymers commercially available);
wherein the catheter further comprises at least one amphiphilic additive (¶ [0007], the amphiphilic block copolymer may be a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2).sub.a where "a" is 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 or 25, and a B-block, said B-block being hydrophilic; ¶ [0045], amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3; ¶ [0046] The amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3 could be either Irgasurf.TM. or Unithox.TM., which are both commercially available copolymers);
wherein the polymer and at least one amphiphilic additive are in the form of a mixture (¶ [0012] By mixing the first polymer with an amphiphilic block copolymer, an article having an inherent lubricious property is obtained; ¶ [0024] mixing a granulate blend of a first polymer being a thermoplastic or thermo-curing polymer and a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer; ¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … The polymer mixture comprises a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer 2, 3 which is mixed in a first polymer acting as a basis material 4).
Although Gravesen describes the embodiment of Fig. 3 as an airway tube or suction catheter (¶ [0049]), Fig. 3 shows a catheter that more closely resembles an intermittent urinary catheter. Fig. 3 appears to have been mislabeled. The catheter of Fig. 3 includes a proximal funnel or handle, an elongate tubular body with a lumen and a distal tip with inlet holes. These features apply to an intermittent urinary catheter instead of an airway tube, which appears in Fig. 4.
Gravesen is silent whether the polymer is negatively charged or becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH greater than 2. Rolf discloses hydrophilic coatings for medical devices (¶ [0004], [0012], [0034], FIG. 5, a coating of an anion-containing species (a coating of a carboxyl-containing species 120 is shown) may be provided on a medical device substrate 110);
comprising an intermittent catheter comprising a hollow polymeric tubular body (¶ [0037], catheters including urological catheters);
comprising a polymer that is negatively charged or that becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH greater than 2 (¶ [0032] Other techniques … argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces. See, e.g., J. P. Lens et al., "Preparation of heparin-like surfaces by introducing sulfate and carboxylate groups on poly(ethylene) using an argon plasma treatment," J. Biomater. Sci. Polymer Edn., vol. 9, pp. 357-373, 1998; ¶ [0034], This coating 120 may then be ionically crosslinked to a sulf(on)ated species 210);
said polymer being a derivative of a polyolefin material (¶ [0042], Specific examples of organic materials include polymers (biostable or bioerodable) and other high molecular weight organic materials … and polyether ether ketones, polyolefin homopolymers and copolymers, including polyalkylenes such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polybutylenes (such as polybut-1-ene and polyisobutylene), polyolefin elastomers (e.g., santoprene)).
Rolf applies a low-friction coating to an existing polymeric catheter (¶ [0019] By virtue of their high negative (anionic) charge the preceding materials are very hydrophilic and can be used to form lubricious, bioerodible coatings; ¶ [0043], lubricious coatings for medical devices). A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Gravesen with Rolf’s negatively charged polymer by constructing Gravesen’s catheter and then applying Rolf’s argon plasma treatment and negatively charged coating. One would be motivated to modify Gravesen with Rolf’s negatively charged polymer since Gravesen calls for constructing the catheter from hydrophobic thermoplastics (¶ [0037], The thermoplastic basis material 4 may be selected from the group of Polyolefin, Polyvinylchloride (PVC), polyurethane (PUR), Polyolefin, Styrene-butadiene copolymer (SBC), Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene copolymer (SEBS) and thermoplastic elastomers, or a combination thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Gravesen with Rolf’s negatively charged polymer in order to reduce friction on the catheter’s surface.
Regarding claim 21, Gravesen discloses an intermittent catheter comprising a hollow polymeric tubular body (¶ [0017] The article may be any medical hollow tube article … a urine catheter; ¶ [0022] The invention also relates to the use of a medical article … the urethra; ¶ [0031] FIG. 3 shows a first example of a medical article);
comprising a polymer, said polymer being a derivative of at least one polyolefin material (¶ [0008] Thus, a medical article is provided, comprising a thermoplastic polymer as a basis material; ¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … a first polymer acting as a basis material 4 … The thermoplastic basis material 4 may be selected from the group of Polyolefin, Polyvinylchloride (PVC), polyurethane (PUR), Polyolefin, Styrene-butadiene copolymer (SBC), Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene copolymer (SEBS) and thermoplastic elastomers, or a combination thereof; ¶ [0048] The thermoplastic base material 4 could for instance be Accurel.TM., Styroflex.TM., Styrolux.TM., Mediprene.TM., Meliflex.TM. or Estane.TM.);
wherein the catheter further comprises at least one amphiphilic additive that is an A-B block copolymer (¶ [0007], the amphiphilic block copolymer may be a hydrocarbon chain block … and a B-block, said B-block being hydrophilic; ¶ [0045], amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3; ¶ [0046] The amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3 could be either Irgasurf.TM. or Unithox.TM.);
comprising an A-block comprising a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH-2(CH2CH2)a, where "a" is 9-25 (¶ [0007], the amphiphilic block copolymer may be a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2).sub.a where "a" is 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 or 25, and a B-block, said B-block being hydrophilic); and
a hydrophilic B-block, wherein the B-block is a hydrophilic oligomer comprising between 2 and 10 monomer units derived from monomers selected from the group consisting of: alkylene oxides, alkylene glycols, epihalohydrins, unsaturated carboxylic acids, alkylene imines, lactones, vinyl alcohol, and vinyl alkanoates (¶ [0037], The hydrophilic B-block is a hydrophilic oligomer, i.e. a homo- or co-oligomer, consisting of between 2 and 10 monomer units derived from monomers selected from the group of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, epichlorhydrin, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, ethylene imine, caprolactone, vinyl alcohol and vinyl acetate);
wherein the polymer and at least one amphiphilic additive are in the form of a mixture (¶ [0012] By mixing the first polymer with an amphiphilic block copolymer, an article having an inherent lubricious property is obtained; ¶ [0024] mixing a granulate blend of a first polymer being a thermoplastic or thermo-curing polymer and a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer; ¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … The polymer mixture comprises a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer 2, 3 which is mixed in a first polymer acting as a basis material 4).
Gravesen lacks a negatively charged polymer. Rolf discloses hydrophilic coatings for medical devices (¶ [0004], [0012], [0034], FIG. 5, a coating of an anion-containing species … species 120);
comprising a hollow polymeric tubular body (¶ [0037], catheters including urological catheters);
comprising a polymer that is negatively charged or that becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH greater than 2, said polymer being a derivative of at least one polyolefin material (¶ [0032] Other techniques … argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces. See, e.g., J. P. Lens et al., "Preparation of heparin-like surfaces by introducing sulfate and carboxylate groups on poly(ethylene) using an argon plasma treatment," J. Biomater. Sci. Polymer Edn., vol. 9, pp. 357-373, 1998; ¶ [0034], This coating 120 may then be ionically crosslinked to a sulf(on)ated species 210; ¶ [0042], Specific examples of organic materials include polymers (biostable or bioerodable) and other high molecular weight organic materials … and polyether ether ketones, polyolefin homopolymers and copolymers, including polyalkylenes such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polybutylenes (such as polybut-1-ene and polyisobutylene), polyolefin elastomers (e.g., santoprene)).
Rolf reduces friction on a catheter surface by applying a negatively charged, hydrophilic coating (¶ [0019], [0043]). Regarding the rationale and motivation to modify Gravesen with Rolf’s negatively charged polymer, see the discussion of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2 and 14-16, Gravesen discloses an intermittent catheter wherein the polymer is or comprises a derivative of at least one material that is independently selected from the group consisting of: polyolefins, polyesters, polyacrylates, polyamides, polyether block amide, thermoplastic vulcanizates, thermoplastic copolyesters, thermoplastic polyamides, fluororubber, water disintegrable or enzymatically hydrolysable material, and combinations, blends or co-polymers of any of the above materials (¶ [0037], The thermoplastic basis material 4 may be selected from the group of Polyolefin, Polyvinylchloride (PVC), polyurethane (PUR), Polyolefin, Styrene-butadiene copolymer (SBC), Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene copolymer (SEBS) and thermoplastic elastomers, or a combination thereof);
the at least one additive is an A-B block copolymer comprising a hydrophobic hydrocarbon A-block and a hydrophilic B-block (¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … The amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3 is a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2).sub.a … and a hydrophilic B-block);
the A-block comprises a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2)a where "a" is 5-25, and preferably 9-25 (¶ [0007], the amphiphilic block copolymer may be a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2).sub.a where "a" is 10 … 24 or 25; ¶ [0037], The amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3 is a hydrocarbon chain block of the formula CH3CH2(CH2CH2).sub.a where "a" is 10 … 24 or 25);
the B-block is a hydrophilic oligomer comprising between 2 and 10 monomer units optionally derived from at least one monomer independently selected from the group consisting of: alkylene oxides, alkylene glycols, epihalohydrins, unsaturated carboxylic acids, alkylene imines, lactones, vinyl alcohol, and vinyl alkanoates (¶ [0037], The hydrophilic B-block is a hydrophilic oligomer, i.e. a homo- or co-oligomer, consisting of between 2 and 10 monomer units derived from monomers selected from the group of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, epichlorhydrin, acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, ethylene imine, caprolactone, vinyl alcohol and vinyl acetate);
the at least one additive is homogenously distributed with the polymer (¶ [0023], a method for manufacturing a medical tube; ¶ [0024] mixing a granulate blend of a first polymer being a thermoplastic or thermo-curing polymer and a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer, and; ¶ [0025] injection moulding or extrusion of the medical article).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Gravesen does not explicitly disclose that the additive comprises an outer surface layer. However, Gravesen discloses that the additive is mixed or blended with the main polymer before injection molding the catheter (¶ [0023], a method for manufacturing a medical tube; ¶ [0024] mixing … a first polymer … and a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer, and; ¶ [0025] injection moulding or extrusion of the medical article). This implies that the additive will extend homogenously through the entire structure of the body including its outer surface.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 19 and 22, Gravesen lacks a negatively charged polymer or ionisable moiety. Rolf discloses a catheter wherein the polymer is negatively charged or becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH of greater than 2, at and/or on a surface, and preferably an outer surface of the body, more preferably at least 50% of the outer surface of the body (¶ [0032] Other techniques … argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces. See, e.g., J. P. Lens et al., "Preparation of heparin-like surfaces by introducing sulfate and carboxylate groups on poly(ethylene) using an argon plasma treatment," J. Biomater. Sci. Polymer Edn., vol. 9, pp. 357-373, 1998; ¶ [0034], This coating 120 may then be ionically crosslinked to a sulf(on)ated species 210);
wherein the catheter polymer comprises at least one moiety that is negatively charged or becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH of greater than 2. wherein the at least one moiety is present in the intermittent catheter polymer at a total concentration of at least 0.5 wt.% (¶ [0032] Other techniques … argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces. See, e.g., J. P. Lens et al., "Preparation of heparin-like surfaces by introducing sulfate and carboxylate groups on poly(ethylene) using an argon plasma treatment," J. Biomater. Sci. Polymer Edn., vol. 9, pp. 357-373, 1998; ¶ [0033], anionic species may be held on the surface by other mechanisms including, cohesive mechanisms);
a method of manufacturing a catheter comprising the step of: incorporating a moiety into an intermittent catheter polymer comprising at least one polyolefin material, wherein the moiety is negatively charged or becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH of greater than 2 (¶ [0006], methods of forming such devices; ¶ [0032] Other techniques … argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces. See, e.g., J. P. Lens et al., "Preparation of heparin-like surfaces by introducing sulfate and carboxylate groups on poly(ethylene) using an argon plasma treatment," J. Biomater. Sci. Polymer Edn., vol. 9, pp. 357-373, 1998; ¶ [0033], anionic species may be held … cohesive mechanisms);
wherein the polymer comprises at least one ionisable moiety, preferably at least one deprotonatable moiety, that becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH of greater than 2; wherein the polymer that is negatively charged or that becomes negatively charged when wetted with an aqueous medium having a pH greater than 2 is the polymer of the catheter body (¶ [0032], a carboxylated surface may be formed using a plasma treatment process … to functionalize a substrate surface with carboxyl groups).
Regarding the moieties being present on at least 50% of the outer surface area of the body and at least 50% of the moieties being on the outer surface of the body, Rolf discloses a treatment that applies negatively charged groups to the catheter’s outer surface (¶ [0032], argon plasma treatment may be employed to create sulfate and carboxylate groups on substrate surfaces).
Rolf also calls for reducing friction on the catheter’s surface (¶ [0043], due to the highly charged nature of the coatings the present disclosure, they are hydrophilic and thus suitable for use as lubricious coatings for medical devices). In order for the coating to serve as a lubricant, it must be present at a tissue contact surface, which includes the catheter’s outer surface. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply Rolf’s moieties on at least 50% of the outer surface, and to apply at least 50% of the moieties on the outer surface.
Rolf reduces friction at a catheter’s outer surface by coating it with negatively charged molecules (¶ [0005], [0012], [0019], [0045], [0050]). Regarding the rationale and motivation to modify Gravesen with Rolf’s negatively charged polymer or ionisable moiety, see the discussion of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Gravesen discloses that the hollow polymeric tubular body is formed through melt-extruding or injection-moulding the mixture (¶ [0037], The sample is made of granulate comprising the first polymer 4 and the second polymer being the amphiphilic block copolymer 2, 3 in a suitable mixture and is delivered in granulate which, during a normal moulding or extrusion process, is heated and formed into the article in question; ¶ [0038] Thus, the first and the second polymer are mixed … Subsequently, the mixture is moulded or extruded into a tube-shaped article; ¶ [0039] The first and the second polymer are comprised in the same compound so that each granulate comprises both the first and the second polymer before moulding or extrusion of the article. Moulding or extruding the article from one mixture of the first and second polymer eliminates the subsequent process of coating the article).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 29 December 2025 regarding the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14-19, 21 and 22 as amended, under 35 USC § 103 over Gravesen and Rolf, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejections are maintained. New claims 24 and 25 are rejected over Gravesen and Rolf.
Applicant submits that the cited sections of Rolf teach away from the presently amended claim 1, which recites that "the polymer and at least one amphiphilic additive are in the form of a mixture" (remarks p. 2). Applicant reasons that Rolf requires the application as a coating … See Rolf paragraph [0044] (remarks p. 3).
Examiner responds that Gravesen explicitly discloses a polymer and amphiphilic additive that are mixed together (¶ [0012] By mixing the first polymer with an amphiphilic block copolymer, an article having an inherent lubricious property is obtained; ¶ [0024] mixing a granulate blend of a first polymer being a thermoplastic or thermo-curing polymer and a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer; ¶ [0037] FIG. 1 … The polymer mixture comprises a second polymer being an amphiphilic copolymer 2, 3 which is mixed in a first polymer acting as a basis material 4).
Rolf is not necessarily cited as teaching a mixing step, but rather as teaching a plasma treatment process that applies sulfate and carboxylate groups to a catheter’s outer surface (¶ [0032]).
Gravesen and Rolf appear to construct a catheter in the same manner as Applicant, namely by:
Mixing a polyolefin material and an amphiphilic additive (¶ [0021], [0024], [0026], [0045]); and
Treating the catheter’s outer surface to introduce a moiety with corona treatment, plasma treatment, flame treatment or radiation treatment (¶ [0080], [0081], [0124]).
In this case, Gravesen is cited as teaching a catheter comprising a mixture of a polyolefin material and an amphiphilic additive, and Rolf is cited as teaching a plasma treatment that incorporates a negatively charged moiety into a polyolefin material.
Applicant asserts that new claims 24 and 25 are in condition for allowance at least for depending from an allowable base claim, among other reasons (remarks p. 4). Examiner notes that new claims 24 and 25 are rejected over Gravesen, which explicitly discloses that the hollow polymeric tubular body is formed through melt-extruding or injection-moulding the mixture (¶ [0037], [0038], [0039]).
Conclusion
Tel 571-272-2590
Fax 571-273-2590
Email Adam.Marcetich@uspto.gov
The Examiner can be reached 8am-4pm Mon-Fri.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Adam Marcetich/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781