CTNF 18/827,238 CTNF 91462 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-03 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 160 ” has been used to designate both “relays” and “communication lines” . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office Action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jouper US10054646 . Regarding claim 9 , Jouper discloses a method (system-100 implements the method) of signal and power distribution to channels of a testing system for operating one or more hydraulic actuators to apply loads (loads-102) to a test article, comprising: providing power to the channels of the testing system with a pair of power supplies (power supply-103 and 104) connected to load share power (power source-101) provided to the testing system; monitoring the power supplies for proper operation (Col 2 line 8-39); and providing a signal indicative of operation of a power supply of the pair of power supplies outside of proper operation when detected. (Col 2 line 49-67) Regarding claim 11 , Jouper discloses a working power supply of the pair of power supplies assuming the shared load in the event of failure of an other of the pair of power supplies. (See Fig 2, Col 2 line 8-67). Regarding claim 13 , Jouper discloses providing the signal indicative of failure of the power supply of the pair of power supplies comprises providing the signal indicative of failure of the power supply of the pair of power supplies to an external controller. (Col 2 line 49-67) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jouper US10054646 in view of Buterbaugh et al US8217531 (hereinafter “Buterbaugh”) . Regarding claim 1 , Jouper discloses a power and signal distribution hub (System-100, Figs 1-2 and abstract) for providing power and operating signals to a plurality of channels of a testing system for operating one or more hydraulic actuators (power source-101 and circuit-106 deliver power and operating signals) to apply loads (loads-102) to a test article, comprising: a first power supply and a second power supply (power supply-103 and 104), connected to share power load of the testing system (Col 2 line 8-39), the first power supply and the second power supply configured to distribute electrical power to the plurality of channels of the testing system (Power supply-103 and 104 distribute power to loads-102); and a monitoring circuit (self-test control circuit-106) for power supply configured to monitor operation of the respective power supply (Col 2 line 8-39), and to provide a signal indicative of operation of its power supply outside of normal operation parameters of the power supply when detected (Col 2 line 49-67). However, Jouper fails to disclose a monitoring circuit for each power supply configured to monitor operation of its respective power supply. Buterbaugh discloses a monitoring circuit (Each power supply module-133 and 135 include a respective Fault monitoring logic-200) for each power supply configured to monitor operation of its respective power supply. (Col 3 line 13-Col 4 line 44) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Buterbaugh into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 2 , Jouper discloses a monitoring circuit (circuit-106) comprises a plurality of relays coupled to its power supply (See Fig 2, Col 2 line 8-67). However, Jouper fails to disclose each monitoring circuit (logics-200) comprises a plurality of relays coupled to its power supply. (Col 3 line 13- Col 9 line 45) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Buterbaugh into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 3 , Jouper in view of Buterbaugh discloses the hub according to claim 1. Furthermore, Jouper discloses the shared power load is assumed by the first power supply upon failure of the second power supply. Regarding claim 4 , Jouper in view of Buterbaugh discloses the hub according to claim 1. Furthermore, Jouper discloses both the first power supply and the second power supply (Power supply-103 and 104) are used to provide power for inrush current at startup of the testing system, and wherein in normal operation, a single power supply of the first power supply and the second power supply is capable of providing power for the testing system. (See Fig 2, Col 2 line 8-67). Regarding claim 10 , Jouper discloses a monitoring circuit (circuit-106) comprises a plurality of relays coupled to its power supply (See Fig 2, Col 2 line 8-67). However, Jouper fails to disclose monitoring is performed by a monitoring circuit (logics-200) for each power supply (modules-133 and 135) of the pair of power supplies, each monitoring circuit configured to monitor operation of its respective power supply, each monitoring circuit having a plurality of relays coupled to its power supply. (Col 3 line 13- Col 9 line 45) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Buterbaugh into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply to increase early fault detection . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jouper US10054646 in view of Buterbaugh et al US8217531 (hereinafter “Buterbaugh”) in further view of Catanese, Jr et al US5422808 (hereinafter “Catanese”) . Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh disclose the use of first and second power supplies. (See Col 3 line 13-Col 4 line 44 of Buterbaugh) However, the combination fails to disclose power supplies is electrically coupled to a solenoid for each channel, to a valve for each channel, and to control logic for each channel. Catanese discloses power supplies is electrically coupled to a solenoid for each channel, to a valve for each channel, and to control logic for each channel. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh disclose the power and signal distribution hub is configured to provide a signal indicative of failure of the first power supply to an external controller, and to receive instruction signals from the external controller. (See Col 2 line 49-67 of Jouper) However, the combination fails to disclose performing a controlled unload of a load on the test article in the testing system from each actuator, using the second power supply. Catanese discloses performing a controlled unload of a load on the test article in the testing system from each actuator, using the second power supply. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 7 , the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh disclose the power and signal distribution hub (See System-100, Figs 1-2 and abstract of Jouper). However, the combination fails to disclose the hub is configured to receive feedback signals for status of the controlled unload of the loads on the test article, and to provide a status signal of the controlled unload to the external controller. Catanese discloses the hub (See Fig 1 and 7) is configured to receive feedback signals for status of the controlled unload of the loads on the test article, and to provide a status signal of the controlled unload to the external controller. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 8 , the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh disclose the power and signal distribution hub (See System-100, Figs 1-2 and abstract of Jouper). However, the combination fails to disclose the hub is configured to receive an interlock unload signal from the external controller in the event the controlled unload fails, and to provide interlock unload power to each valve, solenoid, and control logic for each associated actuator of the testing system for an interlock unload of the load on the test article from each actuator. Catanese discloses hub is configured to receive an interlock unload signal from the external controller in the event the controlled unload fails, and to provide interlock unload power to each valve, solenoid, and control logic for each associated actuator of the testing system for an interlock unload of the load on the test article from each actuator. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into the combination of Jouper in view of Buterbaugh for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jouper US10054646 in view of Catanese, Jr et al US5422808 (hereinafter “Catanese”) . Regarding claim 12 , Jouper discloses the method according to claim 9. However, Jouper fails to disclose power further comprises providing power to a solenoid for each channel, to a valve for each channel, and to control logic for each channel. Catanese discloses power further comprises providing power to a solenoid for each channel, to a valve for each channel, and to control logic for each channel. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 14 , Jouper discloses the method according to claim 13. However, Jouper fails to disclose receiving instruction signals from the external controller to initiate a controlled unload of a load on a test article in the testing system. Catanese discloses receiving instruction signals from the external controller to initiate a controlled unload of a load on a test article in the testing system. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 15 , Jouper discloses the method according to claim 14. However, Jouper fails to disclose providing a status signal of the controlled unload to the external controller. Catanese discloses providing a status signal of the controlled unload to the external controller. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Regarding claim 16 , Jouper discloses the method according to claim 15. However, Jouper fails to disclose receiving an interlock unload signal from the external controller when the controlled unload fails; and providing interlock unload power to valves for actuators of the testing system for an interlock unload of the load on the test article from each actuator. Catanese discloses receiving an interlock unload signal from the external controller when the controlled unload fails; and providing interlock unload power to valves for actuators of the testing system for an interlock unload of the load on the test article from each actuator. (See Fig 1, 4-5 and 7, Col 4 line 39-Col 6 line 32 and Col 8 line 12-Col 12 line 36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Catanese into Jouper for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for independent monitoring and control of each power supply and components to increase early fault detection. Conclusion The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIGEL H PLUMB whose telephone number is (571)272-8886. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached at 571-272-4107. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (USA or CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 8 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 9 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 10 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/827,238 Page 11 Art Unit: 2855