DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/02/2026, with respect to
Objection to the title
Objection to the specification
Rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112 (b) /2nd
have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and rejection have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/02/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kakadjian et al. (US 2009/0200033 A1) ,
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2014/0262297 A1) ("Huang" herein), and
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zelenev et al. (US 2019/0100689 A1)
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in set forth below.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Russum (US 2020/00131431 ) (“Russum” herein).
Claim 1
Russum discloses a method for recovering hydrocarbons, comprising: introducing a surfactant formulation to porous media, [0005-0009]
the surfactant formulation comprising a Surfactant A and a Surfactant
wherein:
each of R¹, R², and R³ of Surfactant A is methyl; R⁴ of Surfactant A is an alkyl group having 4 to 18 carbon atoms; X of Surfactant A is bromide or chloride; R⁵ of Surfactant B is an alkyl group having 6 to 15 carbon atoms; and n of Surfactant B is from 1 to 20; [0029, 00032, 0034] and recovering hydrocarbons from the porous media. [0007-0008]
Claim 2
Russum discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: R⁴ of Surfactant A is an alkyl group having 4 to 14 carbon atoms; R⁵ of Surfactant B is an alkyl group having 6 to 15 carbon atoms; and n of Surfactant B is from 1 to 20. [00032, 0034]
Claim 3
Russum discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: Surfactant A comprises trimethyloctylammonium bromide, trimethyloctylammonium chloride, dodecyltrimethylammonium bromide, dodecyltrimethylammonium chloride, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, cetyltrimethylammonium chloride, trimethyloctadecylammonium bromide, or trimethyloctadecylammonium chloride;
R⁵ of Surfactant B is an alkyl group having 9 to 14 carbon atoms; and n of Surfactant B is from 8 to 18. [00032, 0034]
Claim 4
Russum discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a volume ratio of Surfactant B to Surfactant A in the surfactant formulation is from about 50:50 to about 99:1. [0029, 00032, 0034]
Claim 5
Russum discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a volume ratio of Surfactant B to Surfactant A in the surfactant formulation is from about 70:30 to about 99:1. [0029, 00032, 0034]
Claim 6
Russum discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed in a tight oil reservoir, in a conventional oil reservoir, in a hydraulically fractured tight oil reservoir, or on a tight porous media. [0008-0009, 0022, 0042-0043]
Claim 7
Russum discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the method is performed in the hydraulically fractured tight oil reservoir.[0008-0009, 0022, 0042-0043]
Claim 8.
Russum discloses the method of claim 7, wherein, prior to the introducing the surfactant formulation to the porous media, the method further comprises: creating fractures in rock formations in a tight oil reservoir; and propping the fractures open by administering a proppant to form the hydraulically fractured tight oil reservoir.[0008-0009, 0022, 0042-0043]
Conclusion
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 05/18/2026