DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 21 April 2026. Claim(s) 4-14 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 4, cancelled claim(s) 1-3 and new claim(s) 5-14.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘instrument holder’ ) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the ends" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the ends" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the instrument holder further comprises a motor interconnected between the track and the instrument holder” is indefinite since the motor is part of the instrument holder but is claimed to be in between the track and an itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carol et al. (US 2001/0039422A1, “Carol”).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Carol discloses a surgical head clamp and robotics platform capable of securing a head of a patient and positioning an instrument relative to the head, the surgical head clamp and robotics platform includes a frame (146;Fig. 1) capable of at least partially receiving the head of a patient. The frame includes a plurality of pins (150 and two pin bracket/carriage; Fig. 3; [0052]) movably disposed in the frame. Each pin is capable of adjustably extending toward the head of the patient relative to the frame for immobilizing the head of the patient in the frame (Figs. 1, 3). A robotic arm (16; Fig. 1) mounted adjacent to the frame and including an elongated arcuate track (104;[0042]). The robotic arm is capable of rotating about an axis passing through the ends of the arcuate track via prove alignment ball (86) [0042]. An instrument holder (106) is capable of holding the instrument (24) and is movably mounted to the track [0042] to advance the instrument holder on a curvilinear path in both directions along the track and capable of selectively positioning the instrument holder and instrument relative to the frame and head of the patient [0042].
Regarding claim 9, Carol discloses that the frame is in a plane and the instrument holder is offset from the plane to minimize interference with imaging access or surgical to the head of the patient (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carol in view of Stratton et al. (US 2012/0065496A1, “Stratton”).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Carol does not disclose that the robotics platform is formed of PEEK, titanium, polymer, carbon fiber, ceramic, glass-filled polymer or other composite, other non-ferromagnetic materials compatible with MRI and x-ray imaging.
In the same field of endeavor, stereotaxic devices, Stratton teaches a stereotaxic device formed of MRI compatible material, ceramic or glass-filled polymer material [0050]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the device of Carol with the material, as taught by Stratton, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one material for another for the predictable result of providing a material that is stiff and MRI compatible [0050].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barbier et al. (US 4,360,028) and Appenrodt et al. (US 2008/0269777A1) disclose an instrument holder disposed on a track.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771