Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 9/6/24; 3/7/25 and 10/22/25. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (US 9,126,931)
With regards to instant claim 1, Kinoshita et al. teach a compound represented by formula
see compound FR4, col. 449,lines 26 +) in a crystalline form.
However Kinoshita et al. fail to teach the specific process, nonetheless teaches the process of preparing in as much to result in the claimed compound (see col. 428, lines 13+) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the crystalline with a reasonable expectation of success by practice the method with modification to result in the claimed process..
Double Patenting
Claim 1 - 7 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 - 16 of U.S. Patent 11,433,076, 10,350,214 (claims 1-24). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
Both sets of claims recite the same compound ie., 9-ethyl-6,6-dimethyl-8-(4-morpholin-4-yl-piperidin-1-yl)-11-oxo-6,11-dihydro-5H-benzo[b]carbazole-3-carbonitrile hydrochloride (see patented claim 14) wherein when the patented specification is used as a dictionary it describes the compound is a crystal (see Fig. I) wherein the process involves adding the compound represented by formula (I) drop wise in a solution mixture of ethanol and hydrochloric acid (containing 1 mole equivalent or more of hydrochloric acid to the compound and prepares as recited in col. 28, lines 62+.
Thus, the process of making is a set of precursor of the patented claims and therefore are part of the obvious variation of the instant claims.
In view of the foregoing, the patented claims and the current application claims are obvious variations
Claim 1 -7 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 - 4 of U.S. Patent 10,774,0067. although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
Both sets of claims refer to the same compound having the structure as
or the compound name as 9-ethyl-6,6-dimethyl-8-(4-morpholin-4-yl-piperidin-1-yl)-11-oxo-6,11-dihydro-5H-benzo[b]carbazole-3-carbonitrile hydrochloride. Per Examiners interpretation no distinguishing factor between the name and the patented claimed compound. The method of preparing, when the specification was used as a dictionary, it teaches the process recited by the instant claims. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the process taught by the specification of the instant to practice the instant claimed method
. Thus, the process of making is a set of precursor of the patented claims and therefore are part of the obvious variation of the instant claims. In view of the foregoing, the patented claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Claim 1 -7 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 - 9 of U.S. Patent 11, 098,037. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
The claims of the patent are directed to the process for preparing Alectinib hydrochloride, comprising the steps of: a) contacting Alectinib with a solvent selected from alcohols, halogenated solvents, and mixtures thereof; b) adding hydrochloric acid to the reaction mixture of step a); and c) isolating Alectinib hydrochloride
The claims of the instant are directed to a process of making a form III crystal of 9-ethyl-6,6-dimethyl-8-(4-morpholin-4-yl-piperidin-1-yl)-11-oxo-6,11-dihydro-5H-benzo[b]carbazole-3-carbonitrile, comprising adding a solution containing 9-ethyl-6,6-dimethyl-8-(4-morpholin-4-yl-piperidin-1-yl)-11-oxo-6,11-dihydro-5H-benzo[b]carbazole-3-carbonitrile dropwise to a liquid mixture of ethanol and hydrochloric acid, which contains 1 molar equivalent or more of hydrochloric acid relative to the 9-ethyl-6,6-dimethyl-8-(4-morpholin-4-yl-piperidin-1-yl)-11-oxo-6,11-dihydro-5H-benzo[b]carbazole-3-carbonitrile
When one of ordinary skill in the art considers the patented specification col. 22, teaches the preparation of alectinib having the same chemical name with that of the instant claim, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to practice the preparation to result in the instant claims.
In view of the foregoing, the patented claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Claim 1 -7 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 - 13 of U.S. Patent 11, 939,322. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
The patented claims are to a method of manufacturing
. The method of manufacturing can reasonable result in the claimed compound. Once the compound is the same and the process of manufacturing because the patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production.
No claims allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615
6/91/26