DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 8 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,784. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2, 8 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,784 encompasses the limitations of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 and 17 of instant application. Moreover, omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the omission of an element and its functions is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same function as before In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SU et al PG PUB 2020/0187237.
Re Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, SU et al teaches receiving, by a UE (a device comprising a processor), DCI (control information) from a base station (a device comprising a processor) [0207] wherein the DCI includes HARQ process number field (a bitmap having n bits); defining any of values in the DCI as early termination one or more HARQ processes wherein each of the one or more HARQ processes corresponding to a transmission of a TB (transport block).
Re Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, SU et al teaches the DCI format of 6-0A or 6-0B [0207] to trigger the early termination of the one or more HARQ processes corresponding to transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8-10, 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SU et al PG PUB 2020/0187237 in view of MU PG PUB 2022/0217581.
Re Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, SU et al fails to explicitly teach “ each TB corresponds to 1 bit of RV in the control information upon a number of scheduled transport blocks being equal to two.”. However, MU teaches the RV field is 2N bits based on the number of TBs scheduled by the DCI [0063] wherein Table 3 teaches when the number of scheduled TBs is two, RV bits is two (each TB corresponds to 1 bit of RV). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented the compressing strategy in Table 3 to minimize the size of the DCI format. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, MU teaches the control information can be configured 16 bits [0063] wherein based on the compressed mode can be configured to 12 bits for scheduling the transport blocks.
Re Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, MU teaches in TABLE 3, the DCI (control information) can comprise a single bit of NDI upon a single transport block scheduled and wherein the DCI can comprise two bits of NDI upon two transport blocks being scheduled.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475