Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3, “including,” should be “including:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/023088 to Jung et al (hereinafter Jung) in view of JP 2016-200294 to Tsufuku et al (hereinafter Tsufuku).
Jung discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 4(b) & 5): a vacuum adiabatic body including: a first plate 10; a second plate 35,70; a vacuum space 50 provided between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; an outer case 20 including a first portion that contacts the second plate 35,70 and a second portion that is spaced apart from the second plate 35,70; and a foam adiabatic material 90 including a part disposed between the second plate 35,70 and the second portion of the outer case 20; wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a support 30 provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space 50, and the support 30 includes a bar 31 extending between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70 to space a distance between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; (Claim 9). wherein the support 30 of the vacuum adiabatic body includes a support plate 35 (defined as plate 35 which contacts first plate 10) that is provided on the bar 31 and contacts the first plate 10; (Claim 10). wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a radiation resistance sheet 60 for reducing heat radiation between the first and second plates; (Claim 11). The refrigerator according to claim 1, further comprising an inner cover 85 coupled to the outer case 20 and a gasket 80 that is seated on the inner cover 85 and contacts a body 2 of the refrigerator 1, the body having a storage space, and wherein the outer case 20 and the inner cover 85 define an outer appearance of a door 3;
The differences being that Jung fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 1 of at least one first extension module that includes a first plate; a second plate including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a first direction; and a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate; wherein the at least one first extension module includes a support provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space, the support includes a bar extending in the firs direction between the first plate and the second plate; and wherein the second portion of the outer case is spaced apart from the second plate in the first direction; (ii) claims 9-10.
Tsufuku discloses a refrigerator comprising: a vacuum body including at least one extension module 30Cb (such as shown in Fig. 8(b)) that includes: a first plate; a second plate including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a first direction; and a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate; an outer case 10C including a first portion that contacts the second plate and a second portion that is spaced apart from the second plate; and a foam material 50C including a part disposed between the second plate and the second portion of the outer case; and wherein the second portion of the outer case is spaced apart from the second plate in the first direction.
Regarding (i), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Tsufuku, to modify Jung to include the limitations in (i) claim 1 of at least one first extension module that includes a first plate; a second plate including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a first direction; and a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate; wherein the at least one first extension module includes a support provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space, the support includes a bar extending in the firs direction between the first plate and the second plate; and wherein the second portion of the outer case is spaced apart from the second plate in the first direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding (ii) claims 9-10, since Jung, as modified in view of Tsufuku, discloses the at least one first extension module, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in (ii) claim 9 of wherein the support of the at least one extension module includes a support plate that is provided on the bar and contacts at least one of the first or second plate, and wherein the support plate extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction; and claim 10 of wherein the at least one first extension module includes a radiation resistance sheet for reducing heat radiation between the first and second plates, and wherein the radiation resistance sheet extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 2-6, 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 5372877 (hereinafter JP’877).
Jung, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above-listed claims.
However, JP’877 discloses a refrigerator comprising: a vacuum body 51f including (see below annotated Fig. 6) at least one first extension module, a second extension module extending in a direction that is different from an extending direction of the at least one first direction of the at least one first extension module; wherein the second extension module and the at least first extension module are provided as a single body; wherein the second extension module extends along a front surface of a housing and the at least one first extension module extends along a lateral surface of the housing; wherein the at least one first extension module includes a pair of first extension modules to face each other with respect to the second extension module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of JP’877, to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 2 of wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a second extension module extending in a direction that is different from an extending direction of the at least one first direction of the at least one first extension module; claim 3 of wherein the second extension module and the at least first extension module are provided as a single body; claim 4 of wherein the second extension module extends along a front surface of a door and the at least one first extension module extends along a lateral surface of the door; claim 5 of wherein the at least one first extension module includes a pair of first extension modules to face each other with respect to the second extension module with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 6, since Jung, as modified in view of JP’877, wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a second extension module extending in a direction that is different from an extending direction of the at least one first direction of the at least one first extension module, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 6 of further comprising another vacuum space provided in the second extension module, wherein the vacuum space and the another vacuum space communicate with each other to form a single vacuum space with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of JP’877, to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 8 of wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a second extension module, and wherein the at least one first extension module includes the bar extending in the first direction, and the second extension module includes another bar extending in a second direction that is different from the first direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 21, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of JP’877, to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 21 of wherein the second extension module includes a first plate, a second plate including a portion spaced apart from the first plate of the second extension module in a second direction that is different from the first direction and another vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 4417335 (hereinafter JP’335).
Jung, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 13 of further comprising an inner cover 85 coupled to the outer case 20; wherein the outer case 20 is made of a metal material ([47], lines 3-4, “[T]he first and second plate members 10 and 20 may be made of a stainless material capable of preventing corrosion and providing a sufficient strength.”). The differences being that Jung fails to clearly disclose the limitations recited in (i) claim 12; and (ii) claim 13 of the inner case is made of a nonmetal material to reduce heat transfer from the outer case.
However, JP‘335 discloses a refrigerator comprising: a gasket 21 that is seated on an inner cover of a door 20 and contacts a body 1 of the refrigerator, the body 1 having a storage space, wherein an energy nose (circular portion of gasket 21 that comes into contact with the body to define contact point 100) is provided in a space between the inner cover and the body of the refrigerator, to reduce heat transfer of the storage space of the body; wherein body comprises an outer case 3 made of a metal material (steel), and an inner case 4 made of a nonmetal material (synthetic resin) to reduce heat transfer from the outer case 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of JP‘335, to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in (i) claim 12 of wherein an energy nose is provided in a space between the inner cover and the body of the refrigerator, to reduce heat transfer of the storage space of the body; and (ii) claim 13 of the inner cover is made of a nonmetal material to reduce heat transfer from the outer case with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 2419685 to Yun et al (hereinafter Yun).
Jung, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations in claim 14.
However, Yun discloses a refrigerator comprising: a door having a cool air passage 120 and an ice maker 7 extending through an inner space defined by a vacuum insulated body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Yun, to modify Jung, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 14 of an air passage disposed in an inner region of a door, the inner region thermally insulated by the vacuum adiabatic body, wherein the foam adiabatic material is disposed at an outside of the inner region of the door with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Tsufuku and JP’877.
Jung discloses (Claim 15). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a vacuum adiabatic body including a first extension module, the first extension module including: a first plate 10; a second plate 35,70; a vacuum space 50 provided between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; a support 30 provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space 50 and including a bar 31 that extends between the first plate and the second plate and is configured to space the first plate apart from the second plate; and an outer case 20 provided outside the first extension module and configured to contact the second plate 35,70 of the first extension module, wherein the bar 31 provided in the first extension module extends in a first direction; (Claim 18) The refrigerator according to claim 15, wherein the vacuum adiabatic body includes a support plate 35 to contact the first plate 10, and wherein the support plate 35 incudes a first support plate 35 provided in the first extension module.
The differences being that Jung fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 15 of a second extension module including a first plate, a second plate, a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate, a support provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and including a bar that extends between the first plate and the second plate and is configured to space the first plate apart from the second plate, the outer case 20 provided outside the second extension module, and wherein the bar provided in the second extension module extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction; (ii) claim 16; and (iii) claim 18 of a second support plate provided in the second extension module.
Tsufuku discloses a refrigerator comprising: a vacuum body including at least one extension module 30Cb (such as shown in Fig. 8(b)) that includes: a first plate; a second plate including a portion spaced apart from the first plate in a first direction; and a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate; an outer case 10C including a first portion that contacts the second plate and a second portion that is spaced apart from the second plate; and a foam material 50C including a part disposed between the second plate and the second portion of the outer case; and wherein the second portion of the outer case is spaced apart from the second plate in the first direction.
Meanwhile, JP’877 discloses a refrigerator comprising: a vacuum body 51f including (see below annotated Fig. 6) at least one first extension module, a second extension module extending in a direction that is different from an extending direction of the at least one first direction of the at least one first extension module; wherein the second extension module and the at least first extension module are provided as a single body; wherein the second extension module extends along a front surface of a housing and the at least one first extension module extends along a lateral surface of the housing; wherein the at least one first extension module includes a pair of first extension modules to face each other with respect to the second extension module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art, in view of Tsufuku and JP ‘877, to modify Jung to include the limitations in (i) claim 15 of a second extension module including a first plate, a second plate, a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate, a support provided to reduce a deformation of the vacuum space and including a bar that extends between the first plate and the second plate and is configured to space the first plate apart from the second plate, the outer case 20 provided outside the second extension module, and wherein the bar provided in the second extension module extends in a second direction that is different from the first direction; (ii) claim 16 of wherein the first extension module and the second extension module share the vacuum space; and (iii) claim 18 of a second support plate provided in the second extension module with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2016/035492 to KATAGIRi et al discloses a refrigerator door comprising structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure (such as shown in Fig. 3).
HVT
October 5, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637