Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Urbanek (US20140080467 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
Urbanek discloses A method comprising:
identifying, by a mobile operator or an independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that provides a mobile telecommunication enhancement for clients of the mobile operator ([0025] a service provider may, through an enhanced configuration process, add customization and configuration as needed at the time of service activation of the mobile device), an application programming interface that integrates the mobile operator with the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation (fig. 3, 202-206. [0052] At block 202, an activation message may be received from a generic mobile device to register with a service provider … the generic mobile device may be associated with a service provider from the service providers as indicated by the activation message … determine the service provider for the mobile phone 12… determine the pre-configured functions/applications on the mobile phone 12. [0025] a service provider may, through an enhanced configuration process, add customization and configuration as needed at the time of service activation of the mobile device. Note: the service provider is the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation) such that the application programming interface enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to proactively edit a field of an authoritative profile that is maintained by the mobile operator and that is specific to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation or is specific to a client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement ([0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. [0024] enabled or disabled, for example based on criteria such as the intended or potential providers of the generic mobile device [0029] receive an activation message from a mobile phone 12 … by looking up … a phone number of the first mobile phone 12, an electronic serial number of the first mobile phone 12, a mobile subscriber number (MSN) of the first mobile phone 12, other identifying information of the first mobile phone 12, or combinations thereof. Such identifying information may be included in the activation message. Thus, the application 46 may identify the service provider and a plurality of service features provided by the service provider. [0025] During the device activation, the device may be customized for a provider using the OMA DM protocol by enabling, adding, or reconfiguring the functions and applications appropriate for that provider. Note: activated phone number, serial number, or MSN is authoritative profile; disable/add or reconfigure is edit a field of an authoritative profile); and
providing or accessing, by the mobile operator or the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that provides the mobile telecommunication enhancement for clients of the mobile operator ([0025] a service provider may, through an enhanced configuration process, add customization and configuration as needed at the time of service activation of the mobile device), the application programming interface that integrates the mobile operator with the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation such that the application programming interface enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to proactively edit the field of the authoritative profile that is maintained by the mobile operator and that is specific to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation or is specific to the client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement (fig. 5 [0055] in response to the activation message … the service objects may be processed to enable at least some of the functions that support a plurality of service features of the service provider and disable the remaining functions that support other service.[ 0025] During the device activation, the device may be customized for a provider using the OMA DM protocol by enabling, adding, or reconfiguring the functions and applications appropriate for that provider [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features. [0024] enabled or disabled, for example based on criteria such as the intended or potential providers of the generic mobile device. [0029] receive an activation message from a mobile phone 12 … by looking up … a phone number of the first mobile phone 12, an electronic serial number of the first mobile phone 12, a mobile subscriber number (MSN) of the first mobile phone 12, other identifying information of the first mobile phone 12, or combinations thereof. Such identifying information may be included in the activation message. Thus, the application 46 may identify the service provider and a plurality of service features provided by the service provider. Note: enable, add or reconfigure is providing or accessing)
Regarding to claim 2:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the mobile telecommunication enhancement comprises a cable-television option, a secure Wi-Fi Internet connection option, an international calling option, a cloud storage option, a Voice Over Internet Protocol option, a streaming content service membership option, or a device insurance option ([0065] various other peripherals also may be included to provide additional functions, e.g., radio and television reception. [0027] provides a wireless communication link to the mobile phone 12. [0031] voice call functions, call roaming functions … data transfer functions, Internet or web browsing functions, television/video streaming functions, music streaming functions, cloud access functions),
Regarding to claim 3:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the field of the authoritative profile comprises a specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as a bolton to the authoritative profile that is specific to the client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement ([0025] enhanced configuration process, add customization … activation of the mobile device. [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. [0039] modify pre-existing activation status mappings or lists or generate new activation status mappings on the mobile device 12 to indicate which of the embedded functions and applications are switched on and which are switched off. Note: function/applications or service features is bolton; Flags indicated functions/applications should be turned on or off is specification. See spec [0121-0122] add/remove a bolton 420 … a bolton is being added or removed … a bolton service . [0095] the specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as the bolton … a status of the bolton is switched)
Regarding to claim 4:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 3, further comprising the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation editing the field of the authoritative profile comprising the specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as the bolton to the authoritative profile that is specific to the client to which the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation is providing the mobile telecommunication enhancement such that a status of the bolton is switched ([0025] enhanced configuration process, add customization … activation of the mobile device. [0029] receive an activation message … an electronic serial number of the first mobile phone 12, a mobile subscriber number (MSN) of the first mobile phone 12, other identifying information of the first mobile phone 12, or combinations thereof. Such identifying information may be included in the activation message [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off.. [0039] modify pre-existing activation status mappings or lists or generate new activation status mappings on the mobile device 12 to indicate which of the embedded functions and applications are switched on and which are switched off. Note: function/applications or service features is bolton; Flags indicated functions/applications should be turned on or off is specification. See spec [0121-0122] add/remove a bolton 420 … a bolton is being added or removed … a bolton service . [0095] the specification of whether the mobile telecommunication enhancement has been applied as the bolton … a status of the bolton is switched).
Regarding to claim 5:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface provides the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with limited read/write access to an internal database that the mobile operator relies on as part of the mobile operator providing telecommunication services to the client ([0023] The server may determine which of the device's pre-configured functions and applications support the service features of the service provider and hence enable such functions and applications on the device … If the pre-configured functions/applications are already enabled on the device, then the server may not change such functions/applications. The server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. Note: the server only disable functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider but the server may not change such functions/applications is limited read/write access).
Regarding to claim 6:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface is configured such that the application programming interface authenticates the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation prior to enabling the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to proactively edit the field of the authoritative profile (fig. 4 402-406. [0052] At block 202, an activation message may be received from a generic mobile device to register with a service provider … block 204, the generic mobile device may be associated with a service provider from the service providers as indicated by the activation message … [0053] [0053] At block 206, one or more OMA service objects may be sent to customize the generic mobile device according to the service provider, where the one or more OMA service objects enable or disable each of the pre-configured functions on the generic mobile device to support one or more service features available by the service provider)
Regarding to claim 7:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface provides a graphical user interface to streamline a process of onboarding the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation with the mobile operator such that configuring how the mobile operator and the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation are integrated is performed by the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation ([0026] the generic mobile device by a user, for example by using an interface for configuring the device and/or applications. [0005] the generic mobile device is pre-configured to support a plurality of functions. The method also comprises associating the generic mobile device with a service provider from the service providers as indicated by the activation message … enable or disable each of the pre-configured functions on the generic mobile device to support one or more service features available by the service provider. [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features).
Regarding to claim 9:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify preferences that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation has for subscribing to outbound communications from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation ([0022] During the activation, the device may register with a service provider, and the configuration server may customize the device based on the selected service provider's available service features. [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. Note: register to the service provider that add, reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features is enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify preferences)
Regarding to claim 10:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the application programming interface enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify preferences that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation has for subscribing to outbound communication from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation such that the preferences can vary according to different values of different respective variables including an event variable and a platform variable ([0022] During the activation, the device may register with a service provider, and the configuration server may customize the device based on the selected service provider's available service features. [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. [0033] The function may be pre-configured with parameters that determine the type of service (MMS or SMS) and the address (e.g., uniform resource identifier (URI) or Internet Protocol (IP) address) of the service to launch. [0045] the generic mobile phone 12 has an Android.TM. execution platform installed, and the preconfigured functions and applications may be certified for use on the Android.TM. execution platform. Since the pre-configured functions and applications are certified for the execution platform, they do not need to be recertified for a specific generic mobile phone model associated with a specific service provider. Note: register to the service provider that add, reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features is enables the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation to dynamically specify preferences; flags/parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications is an event variable; parameters that determine the type of service (MMS or SMS) and the address (e.g., uniform resource identifier (URI) or Internet Protocol (IP) address) of the service is a platform variable)
Regarding to claim 11:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 10, wherein the event variable specifies between changes in a status of the client ([0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. [0032] a plurality of flags or indicators that map to the pre-configured functions and applications and that are set to indicate enabled functions/applications or that are not set to indicate disabled functions/applications. Alternatively, other schemes may be used to indicate enabled and disabled pre-configured functions).
Regarding to claim 12:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 11, wherein the event variable specifies between changes in the status of the client at least in part by specifying a switch from active to suspended status, a switch revoking suspension, a switch activating service, a switch deactivating service, a switch transferring to a distinct mobile network, or a switch from one device using a first mobile operating system platform and a second device having a second and distinct mobile operating system platform (([0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. [0032] a plurality of flags or indicators that map to the pre-configured functions and applications and that are set to indicate enabled functions/applications or that are not set to indicate disabled functions/applications. Alternatively, other schemes may be used to indicate enabled and disabled pre-configured functions).
Regarding to claim 13:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface translates between data structures for fields that record mobile service operation details in a format that the mobile operator uses internally and second data structures for corresponding fields that record corresponding mobile service operation details in a distinct format that the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation uses internally (fig. 2. [0049] FIG. 2 illustrates an embodiment of levels of device configuration hierarchy 100 that display how the customization process can take a generic device and transform it into a customized device. The hierarchy 100 may comprise a plurality of generic mobile phones 102, which may branch off at a first level to a plurality of first service brand mobile phones 112 and a plurality of second service brand mobile phones 114. The first service brand mobile phones 112 may then branch off into a plurality of first customized mobile phones 122 and a plurality of second customized mobile phones 124. The second service brand mobile phones 114 may also branch off into a plurality of third customized mobile phones 126 and a plurality of fourth customized mobile phones 128. [0023] The server may determine which of the device's pre-configured functions and applications support the service features of the service provider and hence enable such functions and applications on the device. The service features may include voice calling options, roaming options, messaging options, or other operational features and options for the different providers … the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. Note: transform a generic device into a plurality of branded and customized mobile phones, wherein the server enable, disable, add or reconfigure pre-configured functions and applications that support/conflict with the server is translates between data structures; pre-configured functions and applications are data structures )
Regarding to claim 14:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the application programming interface enables the mobile operator to generate a data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation that indicates outbound communication preferences of the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation based on input from the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation regarding outbound communication from the mobile operator to the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation ([0024] The functions, applications, and other features (such as feel and look configurations) across the different customizations or versions may be embedded in the firmware delivered with the generic mobile device. [0032] The pre-configured functions and applications may be initially turned on or turned off using one or more activation status tables or other mapping data structures, for example in one or more files stored or accessed on the mobile device 12. [0023] the server may also disable other functions/applications on the device that may not be needed or may conflict with the service features of the service provider. In some cases, the server may add or reconfigure function/applications on the device to support the service features … the objects may include flags that indicate whether corresponding functions/applications should be turned on or off. The objects may also include some parameters that may be used to add or reconfigure function/applications on the device appropriately. Note: the firmware delivered with the generic mobile device or pre-configured functions and applications in one file stored or accessed on the mobile device turned on/off is generate a data serialization language specification file; functions or applications are outbound communication preferences; server may also disable other functions/applications on the device is input from the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation)
Regarding to claim 15:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the application programming interface generates a mapper file based on the data serialization language specification file for the independent mobile telecommunication enhancement operation and a distinct source data serialization language specification file for the mobile operator (0024] The functions, applications, and other features … embedded in the firmware delivered with the generic mobile device. [0032] The pre-configured functions and applications may be initially turned on or turned off using one or more activation status tables or other mapping data structures, for example in one or more files stored or accessed on the mobile device 12. The activation status tables or data structures may be used to indicate which pre-configured functions and applications are turned on and which are turned off. For instance, the activation status table may comprise a plurality of flags or indicators that map to the pre-configured functions and applications and that are set to indicate enabled functions/applications or that are not set to indicate disabled functions/applications).
Regarding to claim 17:
Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable
Regarding to claim 18:
Rejection rationale for claim 2 is applicable
Regarding to claim 19:
Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable
Regarding to claim 20:
Rejection rationale for claim 2 is applicable
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbanek (US20140080467 A1), in view of Money (US 20040009761).
Regarding to claim 8:
Urbanek teaches The method of claim 1,
Urbanek does not explicitly disclose wherein the mobile operator charges for the mobile telecommunication enhancement and also for providing telecommunication service to the client in a same statement
Money teaches wherein the mobile operator charges for the mobile telecommunication enhancement and also for providing telecommunication service to the client in a same statement ([0004] A user is commonly charged a flat rate for a set number of minutes of airtime on the cellular wireless network. The user may be billed additional charges for long-distance calls, "roaming" outside their home area … The user is then billed in accordance with the terms of the service contract. [0018] profile information, including billing information [0008] The profile information may define a communication unit, and it may define at least two billing modes. [0071 the profile information might indicate that the first scenario occurs when the mobile station 100 uses up to a threshold number of communication units, and the second scenario occurs when the mobile station 100 uses more than the threshold number of communication units).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Money and apply them on the teachings of Urbanek to further implement wherein the mobile operator charges for the mobile telecommunication enhancement and also for providing telecommunication service to the client in a same statement. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide the user may be billed additional charges for long-distance calls, "roaming" outside their home area wherein the billing information may define a communication unit, and it may define at least two billing modes (Money, [0004] [0008).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbanek (US20140080467 A1), in view of Porras (US 20240251248).
Regarding to claim 16:
Urbanek discloses The method of claim 14,
Urbanek does not explicitly disclose wherein the data serialization language specification file comprises a YAML file.
Porras teaches wherein the data serialization language specification file comprises a YAML file ([0091-0092] encode signatures 535 with programmable language, such as YAML, JSON, etc. For example, YAML is a human-readable language to express structural data, and has been widely adopted in many platforms to describe network policies and configurations … YAML encoded signatures are illustrated. To add a custom attack signature)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Porras and apply them on the teachings of Urbanek to further implement wherein the data serialization language specification file comprises a YAML file. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide encode signatures with programmable language, such as YAML, JSON, etc. to add a custom attack signature (Porras, [0091-0092).
Conclusion
/HIEN V DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449